Mr Roberts
Jan 15 2008, 10:00
DUNDEE CHIEF executive Dave MacKinnon last night questioned the “morality” of First Division rivals Hamilton Accies’ move to open talks with star striker Derek Lyle, writes Ian Roache.
Correspondence from the New Douglas Park side arrived at Dens yesterday, informing them of their intention to discuss a pre-contract agreement with Lyle. Dundee’s dismay at the prospect of losing the frontman deepened when news of Accies’ action appeared to be leaked in the west.
Hamilton, of course, sit three points ahead of the Dark Blues in the race for promotion to the Premier League and would see the recruitment of their competitors’ frontman as a massive psychological boost. Also, it is the last thing boss Alex Rae and his squad need in the build-up to tonight’s Scottish Cup fourth round tie at Huntly.
The episode has left MacKinnon querying Hamilton’s motive. “You have to question the morality of approaching your promotion rivals to speak to one of their players at such a delicate stage of the season,” he said. “It perhaps tells you more about their squad than ours that they feel the need to do this
How is this any different to him being smart and cut-throat in raping Clyde for McHale last season and McKeown this season? Does it really matter that Clyde are not pushing for promotion? or is it only big and clever when you're the one doing the signing?
Perhaps this is MacKinnon losing it big style and we should be expecting a Keegan style "I'd just love it if they (Hamilton) lost" speech. Or perhaps he can't handle it when his best striker thinks that joining Hamilton is his best chance of SPL football.
a hypocritical w@nker......
Monster
Jan 15 2008, 10:08
Or the 'morality' of his EssPeeEll 2 idea that was going to kill off a dozen clubs.
The p***k.
Swampy
Jan 15 2008, 10:11
No doubt the Derry boys will be out in force to say that he's been misquoted.
EastFootball
Jan 15 2008, 10:12
Clyde aren't the second team involved in (what is by all accounts) a 2-horse race for the title.
I'm sure if Clyde (or even St Johnstone or Dunfermline) had made an approach, he wouldn't have batted an eyelid.
Swampy
Jan 15 2008, 10:14
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 15 2008, 10:12)

Clyde aren't the second team involved in (what is by all accounts) a 2-horse race for the title.
I'm sure if Clyde (or even St Johnstone or Dunfermline) had made an approach, he wouldn't have batted an eyelid.
So that's alright then.
Jacobite_Dundee
Jan 15 2008, 10:15
Oh, come on. It's the sort of thing Chief Execs are supposed to come out with for the media. It's sly by Hamilton, as we're in direct league competiton at the moment (and that's an admiring 'sly', not a critical one).
But I'm not sure, over a pint, whether MacKinnon would be so 'moralistic' about this situation.
Trevor
Actually I think you'll find that your lot are the 'second' team involved in the two horse race.
So what if it's a team you are challenging, there is no embargo on moves between the clubs and why should Accies not pursue a player they are interested in just because he plays for the our only rivals in the race for the title.
McKinnon's statement is idiotic in the extreme. Dundee have benefited from the pre contract rules so can't go complaining and crying "ohh the morality of it all" when they lose out. Utterly pathetic.
Mr Roberts
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 15 2008, 10:12)

why does that then question Hamilton's morality?
If after weeks of public talks Hamilton were to laugh and tell Lyle to piss off, then you can question the morality of their approach. But if Hamilton are serious about signing him then you can't argue with it.
EastFootball
Jan 15 2008, 10:17
QUOTE (Swampy @ Jan 15 2008, 10:14)

So that's alright then.
Yep

QUOTE (Trevor @ Jan 15 2008, 10:15)

Actually I think you'll find that your lot are the 'second' team involved in the two horse race.
From our point of view, you're the second team.
From your point of view, we're the second team.
If St Johnstone had been only a couple of points behind, from their fans point of view their they would be the first team etc...
So what if it's a team you are challenging, there is no embargo on moves between the clubs and why should Accies not pursue a player they are interested in just because he plays for the our only rivals in the race for the title.
Nobody has said there is.
But there's a difference between was is "legal" and what is moral.
McKinnon's statement is idiotic in the extreme. Dundee have benefited from the pre contract rules so can't go complaining and crying "ohh the morality of it all" when they lose out. Utterly pathetic.
And yet again someone misses the point.
Any of the other 8 teams - fine, no problem.
Hamilton - it is morally questionable.
EastFootball
Jan 15 2008, 10:19
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 15 2008, 10:15)

why does that then question Hamilton's morality?
If after weeks of public talks Hamilton were to laugh and tell Lyle to piss off, then you can question the morality of their approach. But if Hamilton are serious about signing him then you can't argue with it.
Who says they are serious?
Someone listed all their strikers in another thread - doesn't look to me like they need another. They could just take a gamble on signing him, paying his wages and not playing him with the whole move simply to take a striker away from the closest rivals.
dee4life
Jan 15 2008, 10:20
Have to agree here mckinnon,s statement is ridiculous.Hamilton have done nothing wrong and we have did the same to clyde the last 2 seasons.If he has signed a pre-contract with accies it is down to lyle and his timing if true is all wrong,he could have stuck it out at dens and left in the summer.It is a blow but not the end of the world I expected the maestro to leave in january and he signed on again.
Swampy
Jan 15 2008, 10:23
Hamilton aren't the first team to attempt to buy up the opposition - Livi did it as well (granted by cheating their way into admin... who else did that again?)
Mr Roberts
Jan 15 2008, 10:26
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 15 2008, 10:19)

Who says they are serious?
That all depends of if he signs or not.......
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 15 2008, 10:19)

could just take a gamble on signing him, paying his wages and not playing him with the whole move simply to take a striker away from the closest rivals.

But... He's only agreeing to join them in the summer, not now. Why should Hamilton give good money to their nearest rivals when the will get him for free in the summer?
sonofjenova
Jan 15 2008, 10:31
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 15 2008, 10:00)

How is this any different to him being smart and cut-throat in raping Clyde for McHale last season and McKeown this season? Does it really matter that Clyde are not pushing for promotion? or is it only big and clever when you're the one doing the signing?
Perhaps this is MacKinnon losing it big style and we should be expecting a Keegan style "I'd just love it if they (Hamilton) lost" speech. Or perhaps he can't handle it when his best striker thinks that joining Hamilton is his best chance of SPL football.
I concur fully.
Why the hell do chief executives continually emerge with thick-as-mince comments like this? There are some right morons at the top levels of clubs these days
Captain_Sensible
Jan 15 2008, 10:47
Oh dear. Dundee getting raped on and off the field by the likes of Hamilton Accies!

What a diddy club!
Trevor
Jan 15 2008, 10:49
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 15 2008, 10:17)

Why is it morally questionable? Lyle has rejected a contract offer from Dundee, his contract is up at the end of the season, Accies have opened talks with him which both they and Lyle are entitled to do in the last six months of his contract and Accies have even had the decency to contact Dundee and inform them of the talks (which I may be wrong but I don't believe they are under any obligation to do so).
Is anything under hand or illegal taking place, well no, not in the slightest. Should Accies give a flying f**k about dmagaing Dundee's title challenge hopes by signing one of their players, absolutely not. If Offiong's contract was up at the end of the season would you not want Dundee to be opening talks with him to sign on a pre contract?
Everything that has been done appears to be entirely legal and above board. Clyde are in real danger of getting relegated yet you see no moral ambiguity by snapping up one of their best players on a pre contract?
Mr Roberts
Jan 15 2008, 10:51
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 15 2008, 10:17)

So you think stealing McKeown and relegating Clyde isn't immoral?
perhaps you should get a new moralitymeter™?
EastFootball
Jan 15 2008, 10:51
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 15 2008, 10:26)

But... He's only agreeing to join them in the summer, not now. Why should Hamilton give good money to their nearest rivals when the will get him for free in the summer?
Actually, you're right. But that makes it worse.
Sign him on a pre-contract and put Dundee in a position whereby they probably won't want to play him in
any game. Dundee continue to pay his wages, but they're a striker down.
Win-win.
That's where the imorality argument comes in - it's not about signing on a pre-contract; it's about signing a player that the club will more than likely not be able to play in ANY games due to his heart lying elsewhere.
With Clyde, it's different. The only games where Hendry will probably not want to play McKeown are the ones against us.
port-ton
Jan 15 2008, 10:52
when the hell did morality come into trying to win the one place back into the premier league?
i think there should be a new rule all accross scotland that you cant buy a player from the team directly above or below you. that'll stop everyone greeting.
even if it isnt a serious bid, Alex Ferguson has won plenty of league titles in england largely down to mind games, if it helps get you to the big time then so what.
in saying that i do think its a serious bid and hamilton should be able to sign whoever they want.
Mr Roberts
Jan 15 2008, 10:57
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 15 2008, 10:51)

Actually, you're right. But that makes it worse.
Sign him on a pre-contract and put Dundee in a position whereby they probably won't want to play him in any game. Dundee continue to pay his wages, but they're a striker down.
Win-win.
That's where the imorality argument comes in - it's not about signing on a pre-contract; it's about signing a player that the club will more than likely not be able to play in ANY games due to his heart lying elsewhere.
But why should Hamilton give a flying f**k about preserving Dundee's faltering promotion push???
If Lyle thinks his best chance of SPL football is with Hamilton, surely that must tell you something about the Dundee Dressing Room?
EastFootball
Jan 15 2008, 10:59
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 15 2008, 10:57)

But why should Hamilton give a flying f**k about preserving Dundee's faltering promotion push???
They shouldn't. Of course they shouldn't. But they shouldn't set about attempting to destroy it either.
Oh, and I hardly think 3 points behind with 15 games to go is "faltering"

If Lyle thinks his best chance of SPL football is with Hamilton, surely that must tell you something about the Dundee Dressing Room?
No, Lyle thinks his best chance of increased wages is with Hamilton.
Mr Roberts
Jan 15 2008, 11:00
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jan 15 2008, 10:52)

i think there should be a new rule all accross scotland that you cant buy a player from the team directly above or below you. that'll stop everyone greeting.
so three clubs seperated by goal difference. the top and the bottom of the three can swap players but the one in the middle can't deal with either?
run along.. playtime's nearly over....
Mr Roberts
Jan 15 2008, 11:05
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 15 2008, 10:59)

Oh, and I hardly think 3 points behind with 15 games to go is "faltering"

Lyle and MacKinnon obviously do.
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 15 2008, 10:59)

No, Lyle thinks his best chance of increased wages is with Hamilton.
Surely he'd have chosen to go to Gretna then, or stay at Dens on the improved contract he was offered?
Do you REALLY think that Hamilton can afford to pay more than you and Gretna?
Oh Dear...
Really, you must do better.
port-ton
Jan 15 2008, 11:18
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 15 2008, 11:00)

so three clubs seperated by goal difference. the top and the bottom of the three can swap players but the one in the middle can't deal with either?
run along.. playtime's nearly over....

wow, i'd have thought the biggest user of sarcasm on this board would be able to get blatant sarcasm
you are human after all
espescially since given the context the rest of my post was said in any idiot could have seen it was sarcasm, maybe you should join me back in class when playtime is over.
Mr Roberts
Jan 15 2008, 11:20
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jan 15 2008, 11:18)

wow, i'd have thought the biggest user of sarcasm on this board would be able to get blatant sarcasm

I'm not just any old idiot you know.
I'm special. My mum said so.
Baz Mac
Jan 15 2008, 11:52
I cant believe none of the Dundee fans have made the obvious point, that if Lyle signs a pre contract with Hamilton, he's going to want to be playing SPL football next year with them...
Jacobite_Dundee
Jan 15 2008, 11:54
QUOTE (Baz Mac @ Jan 15 2008, 11:52)

I cant believe none of the Dundee fans have made the obvious point, that if Lyle signs a pre contract with Hamilton, he's going to want to be playing SPL football next year with them...
I think that's fairly obvious - that's why we've got an issue as to what we do with him for the rest of his contract...
Do keep up!
port-ton
Jan 15 2008, 11:56
QUOTE (Jacobite_Dundee @ Jan 15 2008, 11:54)

I think that's fairly obvious - that's why we've got an issue as to what we do with him for the rest of his contract...
Do keep up!

none/all are basically the same thing
Bigmouth Strikes Again
Jan 15 2008, 12:01
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 15 2008, 11:20)

I'm not just any old idiot you know.
I'm special. My mum said so.
You're certainly special alright. A special prize pr1ck!
mcjimbob_dfc
Jan 15 2008, 12:06
Lets face it though, he's going to be suspended for 1/3 of the remaining games. I say, f**k, let him go and warm the Accies bench. We're in the market for a new striker anyway.
The actual loss of the player isn't the problem here - he's not the best we have. The problem is the fact that it's accies that are in for him. Had it been us and the perth saints up challenging and they had done similar then it would be the same problem.
The thing is, the more we get wound up by it, the more it works in Hamiltons favour. It's very clever tactics from Billy Reid. Simple as that. I guarantee it that he won't take him in January and Lyle will stay at Dens. The issues we have with that are...
1) He'll have a vested interest in Dundee NOT getting to the SPL.
2) He'll be getting paid by us thus taking up valuable wage budget space.
3) Possible dressing room disruption/disruption to Rae's plans
It all, of course, comes down to whether Hamilton genuinely want him or whether they are just at it and whether Lyle is professional enough to remember who is paying him.
Is it clever tactics by Reid - Undoubtedly
Is it immoral - Possibly
Would I care if it was the other way round (say, Dundee were in for Offiong) - No
LET THE GAMES BEGIN!
scottdeeuk
Jan 15 2008, 12:07
All that Accies are wanting to achieve by offering DL a contract is some upset in the Dundee camp and we as fans reacting to this are helping to aid it, i must say i think that Hamilton have been very clever in setting up these mind games but can u honestly see DL transfering for a big club like ours to a wee glasgow team who have achieved nowt in the past..would be a step backards for him...! McKinnon was right in what he has said, there is no way u can compare our transfers from clyde, doesnt look as tho we will get the defender till the summer so cant see how that will effect clyde in any major way. I genuinley hope that DL stays, he surley must see how far Dundee have come over the past 2 years and if not then im sure a club of our stature will be able to attract a more then able replacement...
Never seen Any world cup winners wearing the "hoops" haha!
Oh and the only reason accies want DL is because Offiongs on his way!!!
Baz Mac
Jan 15 2008, 12:10
QUOTE (Jacobite_Dundee @ Jan 15 2008, 11:54)

Do keep up!

You people are savage.
Up wi the bonnets
Jan 15 2008, 12:11
Lyle is not a great player, the only reason he is getting a game is because our other strikers are not producing the goods. By all means Hamilton you can have him.
You Hamilton fans are so deluded. Dundee have just finished playing Dunfermline, St Johnstone,QOS and Partick all of which are in the top half of the league
Hamilton have drawn against Stirling and clyde in their last four games (also Brechin in the cup)
Hamilton are faltering just like everyone in Scotland has predicted.
to be just 3 points behind at this point is decent considering our run of fixtures over the Xmas period. We now can go on to play the "easier " fixtures while you lot have the "harder" fixtures
I look forward to being 3 points ahead of you over achieving top flight deprived people very soon.lol
Mr Roberts
Jan 15 2008, 12:11
QUOTE (scottdeeuk @ Jan 15 2008, 12:07)

All that Accies are wanting to achieve by offering DL a contract is some upset in the Dundee camp and we as fans reacting to this are helping to aid it, i must say i think that Hamilton have been very clever in setting up these mind games but can u honestly see DL transfering for a big club like ours to a wee glasgow team who have achieved nowt in the past..would be a step backards for him...! McKinnon was right in what he has said, there is no way u can compare our transfers from clyde, doesnt look as tho we will get the defender till the summer so cant see how that will effect clyde in any major way. I genuinley hope that DL stays, he surley must see how far Dundee have come over the past 2 years and if not then im sure a club of our stature will be able to attract a more then able replacement...

0.7/10
better but still a shit windup.
academical
Jan 15 2008, 12:16
QUOTE (Up wi the bonnets @ Jan 15 2008, 12:11)

Lyle is not a great player, the only reason he is getting a game is because our other strikers are not producing the goods. By all means Hamilton you can have him.
You Hamilton fans are so deluded. Dundee have just finished playing Dunfermline, St Johnstone,QOS and Partick all of which are in the top half of the league
Hamilton have drawn against Stirling and clyde in their last four games (also Brechin in the cup)
to be just 3 points behind at this point is decent considering our run of fixtures over the Xmas period. We now can go on to play the "easier " fixtures while you lot have the "harder" fixtures
I look forward to being 3 points ahead of you over achieving top flight deprived people very soon.lol
I feel your pain.
badger_whacker
Jan 15 2008, 12:32

Never seen Any world cup winners wearing the "hoops" haha!Oh and the only reason accies want DL is because Offiongs on his way!!! 
Right, lets sign has been world cup players. Get Romario on the phone! Get on the phone to the crediters, we're gonna need them aswell.
Go phone a dodgy lawyer who has links to a war criminal, his help will come in handy attracting spectacled internationals!
Oh, and mind phone the liquidators, we'll DEFINETLY need them.
Nice try son
birdeeman
Jan 15 2008, 12:33
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 15 2008, 10:26)

do you think before you type anything? fair enough lyle could take a gamble and sign a pre contract for the summer! now where does that leave him with dundee for the rest of the season? not much incentive there for him to shoot dundee to spl is there? ok he has to agree to a better deal a gamble on his part, but hamilton have effectivley taken a striker out of the running at dens for the last 4 months of the season!!
Up wi the bonnets
Jan 15 2008, 12:42
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 15 2008, 12:32)

Right, lets sign has been world cup players. Get Romario on the phone! Get on the phone to the crediters, we're gonna need them aswell.
Go phone a dodgy lawyer who has links to a war criminal, his help will come in handy attracting spectacled internationals!
Oh, and mind phone the liquidators, we'll DEFINETLY need them.
Nice try son 
or the alternative, bubble away in the diddy leagues!!
badger_whacker
Jan 15 2008, 12:46
QUOTE (Up wi the bonnets @ Jan 15 2008, 12:42)

or the alternative, bubble away in the diddy leagues!!
I'll be expecting a blog from you, starting next season, detailing exactly how that feels.
Up wi the bonnets
Jan 15 2008, 12:50
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 15 2008, 12:46)

I'll be expecting a blog from you, starting next season, detailing exactly how that feels.
Why dont you just show us your saturday entries in your diary for the duration of your life. We will be able to get the details now.
David W
Jan 15 2008, 12:56
QUOTE (Up wi the bonnets @ Jan 15 2008, 12:11)

Points v Top Half:
Hamilton: 18 in 9 games.
Dundee: 16 in 10 games.
Points v Bottom Half:
Hamilton: 27 in 12 games.
Dundee: 26 in 11 games.
Incidentally, 10/2 = 5. 5 does not equal 6.
Fast_Action
Jan 15 2008, 13:01
Back on topic. Dave McKinnon for me is one of the good guys of Scottish football. I base that on all that he did for us when he was at Clyde. But even apart from that, one cannot help but feel that this guy is caring and will give his all for his club. He is at the helm of Dundee, and as such, they are reaping the rewards of his passion.
I do wish that he would tackle the issue of sectarianism in their support, but then again, Rome was not built in a day.
I have never seen anything about this guy to suggest hypocrisy on his part, and would play my part in defending the same Mr McKinnon. A good guy that Dundee are blessed in having run their club.
I confess that having Mr Roberts on ignore, I have not felt the need to read his drivel - but the title of the thread makes me want to respond nonetheless.
Up wi the bonnets
Jan 15 2008, 13:07
QUOTE (David W @ Jan 15 2008, 12:56)

Points v Top Half:
Hamilton: 18 in 9 games.
Dundee: 16 in 10 games.
Points v Bottom Half:
Hamilton: 27 in 12 games.
Dundee: 26 in 11 games.
Incidentally, 10/2 = 5. 5 does not equal 6.
I like your investigation! although the point i was trying to get across is that Dundee arguably have the easier fixture ahead having just played the harder ones.
I and noone else can deny that Hamilton have done well to get into this position but over the last month have faltered against the two bottom teams!!!!!! (also Brechin) Your study shows results from the whole campaign so far. My study showed more recent form.
Garrowhillclyde
Jan 15 2008, 13:15
With losing mr Lyle, I reckon that this is Dundee acting at long last to rid themselves of the orange element at their club.
Boom Boom.
birdeeman
Jan 15 2008, 13:21
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 15 2008, 13:01)

Back on topic. Dave McKinnon for me is one of the good guys of Scottish football. I base that on all that he did for us when he was at Clyde. But even apart from that, one cannot help but feel that this guy is caring and will give his all for his club. He is at the helm of Dundee, and as such, they are reaping the rewards of his passion.
I do wish that he would tackle the issue of sectarianism in their support, but then again, Rome was not built in a day.
I have never seen anything about this guy to suggest hypocrisy on his part, and would play my part in defending the same Mr McKinnon. A good guy that Dundee are blessed in having run their club.
I confess that having Mr Roberts on ignore, I have not felt the need to read his drivel - but the title of the thread makes me want to respond nonetheless.
there is a thread just for the bitter idiots like you in general nonsense! please use it or lose it! off you pop.
here's the link just for you
fannies who want to talk about sectarianism all the time post here you are welcome.
SouthLanarkshireWhite
Jan 15 2008, 13:26
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 15 2008, 10:00)

For once I agree. He was specifically asked not to put out anything on Craig McKeown's pre contract, but did it within hours to try and force Clyde to let him go immediately.
Twice now at least he has being deceitful with Clyde. Not the person many believe him to be.
Trevor
Jan 15 2008, 13:29
QUOTE (Up wi the bonnets @ Jan 15 2008, 13:07)

I like your investigation! although the point i was trying to get across is that Dundee arguably have the easier fixture ahead having just played the harder ones.
I and noone else can deny that Hamilton have done well to get into this position but over the last month have faltered against the two bottom teams!!!!!! (also Brechin) Your study shows results from the whole campaign so far. My study showed more recent form.
Against Brechin we had a much changed side and had a perfectly legitimate goal chopped off (as the TV cameras proved and as the referee has since admitted). True we drew 0-0 at home to the leagues two bottom sides but then I seem to remember your lot losing 1-0 to Clyde and drawing 2-2 with Stirling Albion, both at home. We're certainly not firing on all cylinders but we are unbeaten in 6 games and have only conceded 1 goal in those 6 matches. We have only conceded 2 goals at home all season, a record only matched by Celtic in the entire U.K. We should be further ahead but the fact that despite dropping points at home we still increased our lead over Dundee would suggest our title challenge aint going too badly.
I find it bizarre that Dundee fans think Accies would waste a two year decent wages contract on Lyle just to mess with Dundee. I believe that Reid genuinely wants the player and the fact that he plays for our nearest title challengers is by the by.
birdeeman
Jan 15 2008, 13:31
QUOTE (Trevor @ Jan 15 2008, 13:29)

Against Brechin we had a much changed side and had a perfectly legitimate goal chopped off (as the TV cameras proved and as the referee has since admitted). True we drew 0-0 at home to the leagues two bottom sides but then I seem to remember your lot losing 1-0 to Clyde and drawing 2-2 with Stirling Albion, both at home. We're certainly not firing on all cylinders but we are unbeaten in 6 games and have only conceded 1 goal in those 6 matches. We have only conceded 2 goals at home all season, a record only matched by Celtic in the entire U.K. We should be further ahead but the fact that despite dropping points at home we still increased our lead over Dundee would suggest our title challenge aint going too badly.
I find it bizarre that Dundee fans think Accies would waste a two year decent wages contract on Lyle just to mess with Dundee. I believe that Reid genuinely wants the player and the fact that he plays for our nearest title challengers is by the by.
this was away.
Trevor
Jan 15 2008, 13:33
I stand corrected!
SouthLanarkshireWhite
Jan 15 2008, 13:34

Quite simply if McKeown gets injured he loses his move, so he takes no chances second half of the season potentially. Worse, if he was say a player like McHale (which he isn't) he could invent a back problem or thigh strain and sit out the rest of the season to make sure he is fit to sign.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.