I remember a few Albion fans saying they didn't exactly hold Mr Leckie in the highest regard. Can anyone tell me why that is?
Stewarty, I seem to remember you giving a reason at the time.
Fife Saint
Jan 14 2008, 20:01
Life is too short.
Raving On
Jan 14 2008, 20:05
You sure? I think Leckie is thought of highly at Forthbank; he certainly seems to like us enough.
Paul Nugent must be about his favourite player in the world. A few years ago he was calling for Nuggets to be called into the Scotland under-21 side and then described his goal against Airdrie in the playoffs last season as "world class" - which, in fairness, it was.
I like Leckie a lot.
The Pacey Winger
Jan 14 2008, 20:07
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jan 14 2008, 20:01)

Life is too short.
So is Bill Leckie, but I think he is sound. Any time he has spoken of the Binos it has been very favourable.
Fife Saint
Jan 14 2008, 20:10
Must admit his enthusiasm when covering diddy games midweek are great. He at least makes them SEEM exciting.
Larbert_Par
Jan 14 2008, 20:40
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jan 14 2008, 20:10)

Must admit his enthusiasm when covering diddy games midweek are great. He at least makes them SEEM exciting.
Aye.
I like his work, one of the few things I would actually make a point of reading in the Sun.
AlbionMan
Jan 14 2008, 20:48
QUOTE (The Pacey Winger @ Jan 14 2008, 20:07)

So is Bill Leckie, but I think he is sound. Any time he has spoken of the Binos it has been very favourable.
He is a St Mirren supporter and has had a soft spot for us since we lost to them to be relegated 10 years ago, and save St M at the same time.
Powerhouse
Jan 14 2008, 21:27
Lecki does seem to have a soft spot for us, recall the season we were promoted from fiv 1 he wrote features about us about 12 times that season. I think he can come out with some crazy thoughts from time to time, but hey who doesnt
Think some of the ill feeling from Binos is due to his negative response when contacted regards the Your City Your Team campaign a few years a go
GreenOak_Ton
Jan 14 2008, 21:31
Hes good reporting on diddy teams because he supports a diddy team himself.He might be a skunk but hes a football man through and through.He says it how he sees it when it comes to oldfirm and panders to neither of them.
As both the bigot brothers hate him then hes the man for me.If you read this Mr Leckie please dont ever give up on exposing the oldfirm for what they are...SCUM!
StewartyMac
Jan 14 2008, 21:45
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 14 2008, 19:41)

I remember a few Albion fans saying they didn't exactly hold Mr Leckie in the highest regard. Can anyone tell me why that is?
Stewarty, I seem to remember you giving a reason at the time.
We were running an initiative to attract more fans to Forthbank a year or so back. It was a fully fledged campaign, and was well organised. We thought we'd chance our arm to see if we could get the national press interested, and as Leckie often comes across as a champion of the diddy clubs, I contacted him about it. In truth, it was a long shot anyway, and I wasn't really expecting anything, but he was a total knob about it.
He went way down in my estimation after that.
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Jan 14 2008, 21:45)

he was a total knob about it.
Care to expand?
StewartyMac
Jan 14 2008, 22:10
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 14 2008, 21:57)

Care to expand?
He wrote a quite scathing email back about how he would only get involved if it was a properly organised event.
This was after my original email had quite clearly laid out all our plans. When I responded to let him know this, he just ignored it. And I never heard from him again.
I'm not bothered now, but I was kinda miffed at the time. Not because I was seriously expecting any kind of coverage, but his attitude was apalling. I think he likes to be the voice of the smaller clubs as long as it's on his own terms.
In the end, the coldest day in history in Stirling done more damage to our 'campaign' than any sports journalist.
ali_le_point
Jan 14 2008, 23:56
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 14 2008, 19:41)

Women's troubles.
port-ton
Jan 15 2008, 02:16
even though he supports " them " he's still an excellent football journalist, one of only two in scotland in my opinion along with gordon waddell in the sunday mail.
gypoarmy
Jan 15 2008, 02:53
What is it with c/nald Jags fans and Bill Leckie

I just dont get it!
Ray Vaughn
Jan 15 2008, 09:08
Bill Leckie is all about Bill Leckie. If he's not the centre of the event, he's not interested. AS bad a Jim Traynor, but in a different way to Traynor (who just tries to be well known by being ignorant to folk.)
Leckie is a Grade A c**t, he's a Hun.
Skyline Drifter
Jan 15 2008, 09:17
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Jan 14 2008, 22:10)

He wrote a quite scathing email back about how he would only get involved if it was a properly organised event.
This was after my original email had quite clearly laid out all our plans. When I responded to let him know this, he just ignored it. And I never heard from him again.
I'm not bothered now, but I was kinda miffed at the time. Not because I was seriously expecting any kind of coverage, but his attitude was apalling. I think he likes to be the voice of the smaller clubs as long as it's on his own terms.
In the end, the coldest day in history in Stirling done more damage to our 'campaign' than any sports journalist.

I like Bill Leckie. I like the stuff he writes and I've met him a couple of times at events he's got involved in to help Queens or player testimonials and he seems a very decent guy.
That said, I do find it odd for such a champion of the underdog and lower divisions, apart from his annual forays into the Scottish Cup, you very rarely see him actually do a report on a lower league game. I've been going to press boxes in first division matches for several years now and I've met a lot of "known" journalists but never seen Leckie at one. Might just be coincidence of course.
Jill Speckie only goes to lower league games when it's a biggie like a playoff game or a chance to win the league or a former Infirm diddy making their debut.
QUOTE (drs @ Jan 15 2008, 09:13)

Might be a lot of things but he is not a Hun
StewartyMac
Jan 15 2008, 11:31
QUOTE (Pgmsc @ Jan 15 2008, 09:26)

Might be a lot of things but he is not a Hun
He let it slip on TalkSport (I think) once..fairly recently in fact, maybe last summer?
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Jan 15 2008, 11:31)

He let it slip on TalkSport (I think) once..fairly recently in fact, maybe last summer?
Have known him since primary School followed The Midden everywhere
QUOTE (gypoarmy @ Jan 15 2008, 02:53)

What is it with c/nald Jags fans and Bill Leckie

I just dont get it!
What do you mean?
David W
Jan 15 2008, 12:13
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jan 15 2008, 09:17)

I like Bill Leckie. I like the stuff he writes and I've met him a couple of times at events he's got involved in to help Queens or player testimonials and he seems a very decent guy.
That said, I do find it odd for such a champion of the underdog and lower divisions, apart from his annual forays into the Scottish Cup, you very rarely see him actually do a report on a lower league game. I've been going to press boxes in first division matches for several years now and I've met a lot of "known" journalists but never seen Leckie at one. Might just be coincidence of course.
In fairness, he's been at quite a few Challenge Cup games, commentating on most of them for Radio Scotland. His knowledge of our level of football always shines through on those.
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Jan 15 2008, 11:31)

No he never. The ignorant guy on Talksport assumed he was a hun and Leckie reacted quite angrilly to it in fact. Im a big fan of Leckie, a true football man who likes to stick it up the Old Firm at any opportunity. A lot of touchy Jags fans on PTFC.net hate him because he has the cheek to have a go at us from time to time. They really need to grow up. I enjoy his comentary of lower league games, he sounds as if he actually wants to be there and makes even the dullest games sound interesting. One of the few decent football columnists in Scottish tabloids, thats for sure.
Larbert_Par
Jan 15 2008, 13:10
QUOTE (drs @ Jan 15 2008, 09:25)

Jill Speckie only goes to lower league games when it's a biggie like a playoff game or a chance to win the league or a former Infirm diddy making their debut.
To be fair though, as one of his paper's main sports journalists, its only natural he'll be sent to cover Premier League games as thats what gets the bigger coverage. Obviously big games in the lower divisions get more coverage than a run of the mill league game- simple fact of life.
Good shout with whoever mentioned Gordon Waddell. Always enjoy reading his stuff at the weekend, and even though he's a F*lkirk fan, he talks a lot of sense.
...apart from when he called all 3rd Division fans racist after writing shit without fact checking first and then backtracked when the facts were pointed out to him but not in the paper.
Gordon Waddell is the worst "journalist" in Scotland.
port-ton
Jan 15 2008, 15:04
QUOTE (drs @ Jan 15 2008, 13:17)

...apart from when he called all 3rd Division fans racist after writing shit without fact checking first and then backtracked when the facts were pointed out to him but not in the paper.
Gordon Waddell is the worst "journalist" in Scotland.
all 3rd division fans ARE racist though. i thought that was common knowledge.
academical
Jan 15 2008, 15:16
Four seasons ago, when Morton were in mid-collapse, and Accies were enjoying the most exciting finish to a season in years, Leckie stuck his oar in.
He wrote that it would be better if Morton got promoted to the first division instead of Hamilton, because of their big support.
Prior to that I was undecided about him. Since then I have regarded him as a prize fool.
port-ton
Jan 15 2008, 15:26
QUOTE (academical @ Jan 15 2008, 15:16)

Four seasons ago, when Morton were in mid-collapse, and Accies were enjoying the most exciting finish to a season in years, Leckie stuck his oar in.
He wrote that it would be better if Morton got promoted to the first division instead of Hamilton, because of their big support.
Prior to that I was undecided about him. Since then I have regarded him as a prize fool.
The mans a legend!
its fact that the first division would have been better that year if we'd got promoted, if we had we'd have been top of the league this year while no doubt you'd have been were we are just now.
academical
Jan 15 2008, 15:29
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jan 15 2008, 15:26)

The mans a legend!
I knew that would get a reaction!
(I deleted the rest of your post because it was shit)
gypoarmy
Jan 15 2008, 15:46
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 15 2008, 12:09)

What do you mean?
Pretty sure he was involved with a mutal friend of both of us!
QUOTE (gypoarmy @ Jan 15 2008, 15:46)

Pretty sure he was involved with a mutal friend of both of us!
Oh, really? I may know who you're referring too...
gypoarmy
Jan 15 2008, 16:24
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 15 2008, 16:08)

Oh, really? I may know who you're referring too...

I think you do , But ive to scrub it! Just been texted to ask what im playing at....whoops! so forget i said anythin
QUOTE (gypoarmy @ Jan 15 2008, 16:24)

I think you do , But ive to scrub it! Just been texted to ask what im playing at....whoops! so forget i said anythin

And I was just told something extremely interesting about you, but, because I'm such a nice guy, I'll spare your blushes.
gypoarmy
Jan 15 2008, 16:31
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 15 2008, 16:27)

And I was just told something extremely interesting about you, but, because I'm such a nice guy, I'll spare your blushes.

Would that be the fact i used to fo to Firhill with my uncle! Damn i feel so dirty!
QUOTE (gypoarmy @ Jan 15 2008, 16:31)

Would that be the fact i used to fo to Firhill with my uncle! Damn i feel so dirty!

She didn't mention anything about you having to go under duress...
gypoarmy
Jan 15 2008, 16:39
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 15 2008, 16:34)

She didn't mention anything about you having to go under duress...

Nah i never , always had a good time to be honest! It was either Firhill or Ibrox....hmmmm
Seek and ye shall find salvation. It's not too late, son.
gypoarmy
Jan 15 2008, 16:46
Thats what i did! I saw the light! I only went to 3 games , Caley in the scottish cup , Rangers at Hampdon and Airdrie in the leauge , many moons ago, Im not allowed to forget it by my own support , now i have your lot onto me too

ah weeeel
port-ton
Jan 15 2008, 16:47
QUOTE (academical @ Jan 15 2008, 15:29)

I knew that would get a reaction!
(I deleted the rest of your post because it was shit)

f**k you.
that was my first ever attempt at a wind-up and you didnt bite
im not cut out for the cut-throat world of p&b
StewartyMac
Jan 15 2008, 17:11
I know for a fact Leckie reads this forum, I wonder if his ego is suitably massaged yet.
The Pacey Winger
Jan 15 2008, 17:40
The fact that Waddell is a F*lkirk fan makes him a prize tit in my book
Waspie
Jan 15 2008, 18:14
QUOTE (drs @ Jan 15 2008, 09:25)

Must say Ive seen him at the Recs for midweek games down the years which were hardly crucial encounters. He lays the 'champion of the wee clubs' stuff on a bit thick but at least he covers the lower leagues. It was also through the Sun with him as sports editor starting to cover the SFL that the Record also started doing more stuff on our Scottish football outside the top flight. He is f*ck all like Jim Traynor anyway, at least Leckie knows something about the SFL.
GreenOak_Ton
Jan 15 2008, 18:42
QUOTE (drs @ Jan 15 2008, 10:13)

Hes skunk through and through.Dont ever mistake a genuine Midden fan for a fake one like Chic Young.
If youre a true Bino then shame on you for calling Leckie a Hun.
QUOTE (GreenOak_Ton @ Jan 15 2008, 18:42)

Hes skunk through and through.Dont ever mistake a genuine Midden fan for a fake one like Chic Young.
If youre a true Bino then shame on you for calling Leckie a Hun.
Hi Bill! * Waves to Bill
Steak & Barley
Jan 15 2008, 19:57
Like most other Ton fans above I've a lot of time for Bill Leckie. Quite strange considering he's a dirty Paisley b*****d.
Programme Contributor
Jan 15 2008, 20:17
I met him sitting in the stand at thr Recs a few years ago and complimentied him on his 'Penthouse and Pavement' book which incidentaly is a great read.
Saw him a few months later and he said hello. A nice guy with a genuine love of all of Scottish football
Kenny_Jnr
Jan 15 2008, 20:25
He's a very good, enthusiastic commentator, wish they'd give him some bigger games to do.
Fife Saint
Jan 15 2008, 21:04
"Inventive armoury of set-piece plays that St Johnstone have".
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.