Mr Roberts
Jan 14 2008, 18:03
Hot one from the Sports desk,
Derek Lyle is currently in talks with Hamilton, I'm unsure if thats for signing this window or a preseason for the summer (not knowing when his contract is up at Dundee)
Todd_is_God
Jan 14 2008, 18:04
Is this good news? I really don't know.
Ludo *1
Jan 14 2008, 18:06
Seriously doubt it as Rae quashed any rumours about him leaving to Gretna.
Plus unless the moneys too good to refuse why would we sell one of our top strikers to our promotion rivals
Ludo *1
Jan 14 2008, 18:07
Also how many rumours off your "sports desk" have really came true?
Mr Roberts
Jan 14 2008, 18:09
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Jan 14 2008, 18:07)

Also how many rumours off your "sports desk" have really came true?
most of them
Ludo *1
Jan 14 2008, 18:10
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 14 2008, 18:09)

most of them

Prove it
EastFootball
Jan 14 2008, 18:11
Uh-huh...
And pray tell why Hamilton would sign any Dundee player, or vice versa? Think about it...
Mr Roberts
Jan 14 2008, 18:18
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Jan 14 2008, 18:10)

Prove it
My last prophetic prediction was Wallner joining Hamilton on loan, a full day before it was announced elsewhere.
I have now confirmed that Lyle has indeed signed a precontract to join Hamilton. He will join them in the Summer as backup/support for Offiong. But I'm sure he might be joining sooner in the same way your Clyde defender will be joining sooner......
It's amusing that I know more about the comings and goings of your team than you do.
I've heard this one too, in fairness.
Ludo *1
Jan 14 2008, 18:22
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 14 2008, 18:18)

My last prophetic prediction was Wallner joining Hamilton on loan, a full day before it was announced elsewhere.
I have now confirmed that Lyle has indeed signed a precontract to join Hamilton. He will join them in the Summer as backup/support for Offiong. But I'm sure he might be joining sooner in the same way your Clyde defender will be joining sooner......
It's amusing that I know more about the comings and goings of your team than you do.
Wheres the proof of the WHOLE day before nonsense about Wallner where was your post?
If you are right and Del boy does join the Accies then I shall give credit to you for proving me wrong but as of yet I am 99.99% positive your bluffing!
Dee-funked
Jan 14 2008, 18:41
Why would we turn down a swap deal, Lyle for McMenamin, but let him go to Hamilton?? Surely the Gretna deal would be more in our interests as we'd be getting a good replacement. Strange one IMO.
Mr Roberts
Jan 14 2008, 18:43
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Jan 14 2008, 18:22)

If you are right and Del boy does join the Accies then I shall give credit to you for proving me wrong but as of yet I am 99.99% positive your bluffing!
well prepare to be 99.9% wrong then.
i'jm sure that there must be a 'source' at your club who can confirm this off the record (if needs be)
Mr Roberts
Jan 14 2008, 18:48
QUOTE (Dee-funked @ Jan 14 2008, 18:41)

Why would we turn down a swap deal, Lyle for McMenamin, but let him go to Hamilton?? Surely the Gretna deal would be more in our interests as we'd be getting a good replacement. Strange one IMO.
Lyle doesn't want to go to Gretna and be relegated and he doesn't have to now. Dundee can't sell to (or swap him) to Gretna becase he's already agreed to join a club he wants to go to.
Dundee don't want him to go to Hamilton, but it's a precontract agreement so Dundee have no say in the matter. Lyle wants to go to Hamilton for next season. Perhaps he feels this is his best chance of prolonged first team football in the SPL.
dazzle-dfc
Jan 14 2008, 19:00
lets hope so
Mr Roberts
Jan 14 2008, 19:03
QUOTE (dazzle-dfc @ Jan 14 2008, 19:00)

lets hope so

why else do you think he's been stalling on a new contract at Dens?
Trevor
Jan 14 2008, 19:10
In fairness to Mr Roberts I remember him posting about Wallner a day before it happened and initially thinking he was talking pish only for it to come true.
dee4life
Jan 14 2008, 19:15
I thought you meant celtic alf.

.Now off you pop and switch that heating on.
Mr Roberts
Jan 14 2008, 19:15
QUOTE (Trevor @ Jan 14 2008, 19:10)

In fairness to Mr Roberts I remember him posting about Wallner a day before it happened and initially thinking he was talking pish only for it to come true.
I'm just a regular Mystic Meg.
Kevin Mckee is god
Jan 14 2008, 19:21
Hope you are right on this one, would be a major signing this, fingers crossed.
dazzle-dfc
Jan 14 2008, 19:22
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 14 2008, 19:03)

why else do you think he's been stalling on a new contract at Dens?

how do you know that hes stalling the club might not be extending his contract
badger_whacker
Jan 14 2008, 19:23
To be fair to Mr.Roberts, he is turning into a Mr.Exclusive.
Whether Lyle is a good player or not, it's good to get it up Dundee if he does sign
Up wi the bonnets
Jan 14 2008, 19:23
Been trying to get hold of my "valuable source" but he aint answering, I thought that Lyle was on his way out and hamilton would prob be a likely destination with the fact he is a west coaster and wether they go up this season or not they will be there and there abouts next season.
I dont think Lyle will be missed but will be if we dont bring in another striker. I have faith in Alex and im sure he is looking into it as we speak.
Up wi the bonnets
Jan 14 2008, 19:26
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 14 2008, 19:23)

To be fair to Mr.Roberts, he is turning into a Mr.Exclusive.
Whether Lyle is a good player or not, it's good to get it up Dundee if he does sign

Hahah get it up Dundee, taking a ned who gets sent off every few games and doesnt produce many goals except against QOS off our books is not getting it up us.
The fact Hamilton will have very little staying power if they did manage to get to spl and the Fact dundee are the biggest team in the division means we do and always will look down on you lot!!
hahaha
Kevin Mckee is god
Jan 14 2008, 19:28
QUOTE (Up wi the bonnets @ Jan 14 2008, 19:26)

Hahah get it up Dundee, taking a ned who gets sent off every few games and doesnt produce many goals except against QOS off our books is not getting it up us.
The fact Hamilton will have very little staying power if they did manage to get to spl and the Fact dundee are the biggest team in the division means we do and always will look down on you lot!!
hahaha
It is and has been Accies looking down at Dundee all season.
Mr Roberts
Jan 14 2008, 19:29
QUOTE (dazzle-dfc @ Jan 14 2008, 19:22)

how do you know that hes stalling the club might not be extending his contract

Dundee offered him a new contract around the 'six months before his contract ran out' mark and he tuned it down. When it became clear he wanted away they withdrew the offer and tried to swap him for Colin McMenamin. Unfortunately for Dundee, Lyle started talking to Hamilton and took the decision about where he was going out of Dundee's hands.
Simple really...
dee4life
Jan 14 2008, 19:29
QUOTE (Kevin Mckee is god @ Jan 14 2008, 19:28)

We will see.
badger_whacker
Jan 14 2008, 19:30

hahaha
Lyle or Zemlik......hmmmmmmm
That's a tough one.
Maybe Lyle's attracted because of Premier League football.
Up wi the bonnets
Jan 14 2008, 19:34
QUOTE (Kevin Mckee is god @ Jan 14 2008, 19:28)

Very obvious reply there. It is true though, we will see what the future holds. I am surprised at the league standings but im sure that will change in due course. Celtic V Hamilton on a monday night scotsport - nah doesnt sound or look right atol.
badger_whacker
Jan 14 2008, 19:35
QUOTE (Up wi the bonnets @ Jan 14 2008, 19:34)

Very obvious reply there. It is true though, we will see what the future holds. I am surprised at the league standings but im sure that will change in due course. Celtic V Hamilton on a monday night scotsport - nah doesnt sound or look right atol.
Neither does your grammer young chap but we all have to live with it
Mr Roberts
Jan 14 2008, 19:35

hahaha

indeed.
Looks like the story is coming out and has been checked at the Dundee end now.
He's now a terrible player that they don't want to keep
Darkblueyonder
Jan 14 2008, 19:40
we need to get rid of him
sooner the better
badger_whacker
Jan 14 2008, 19:43
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 14 2008, 19:35)

Dixon to Dundee Utd
"Ahhhhh, he's shite anyway!"
Up wi the bonnets
Jan 14 2008, 19:43
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 14 2008, 19:35)

Neither does your grammer young chap but we all have to live with it

Did not realise i was sitting a exam! so that is crap banter!!
"Looks like the story is coming out and has been checked at the Dundee end now.
He's now a terrible player that they don't want to keep"
Lyle is not a crap player and has fighting qualities which are good for this league. All im saying is that im not to botherd to see him go. Im very surprised at Hamilton wanting him as he will not be a player who will improve Dundee or Hamilton. He is definatly not a player who will do anything in the SPL. If i was a hamilton fan i would be questioning why the managment are signign players of lyles quality when they should be looking to improve the team.
Todd_is_God
Jan 14 2008, 19:51
QUOTE (Up wi the bonnets @ Jan 14 2008, 19:43)

If i was a hamilton fan i would be questioning why the managment are signign players of lyles quality when they should be looking to improve the team.
Because the players with more quality would not want to come to Accies to either play on the wing or sit on the bench.
bubbs33
Jan 14 2008, 19:54
If, and it's a big if, this story is true then the next step for Dundee is simple. Let him rot in the reserves until the end of the season. If true he obviously lacks any ambition to play at a higher level so if its first division football he wants he's doing the right thing by going to NDP.
Anybody in Hamilton thinking this is some massive coup should think again. He's an average first division player with an atrocious disciplinary record. 8 games suspended for Dundee this season and we're bareley past hafway
badger_whacker
Jan 14 2008, 20:06
QUOTE (bubbs33 @ Jan 14 2008, 19:54)

If, and it's a big if, this story is true then the next step for Dundee is simple. Let him rot in the reserves until the end of the season. If true he obviously lacks any ambition to play at a higher level so if its first division football he wants he's doing the right thing by going to NDP.
Anybody in Hamilton thinking this is some massive coup should think again. He's an average first division player with an atrocious disciplinary record. 8 games suspended for Dundee this season and we're bareley past hafway
I'm barely believing the grammer in Dundee.
I'm also barely believing you would want rid of your top goalscorer last season. You people do lack ambition
IronChicken
Jan 14 2008, 20:06
Click to view attachment Straight swap for that kid McCarthy ?
Gretna Mak Attack
Jan 14 2008, 20:08
i really hope he doesnt come to gretna. if he cant score many in div.1 he isnt going to score a lot in the spl.
the clown irons at it again!
Mr Roberts
Jan 14 2008, 20:10
QUOTE (bubbs33 @ Jan 14 2008, 19:54)

If, and it's a big if, this story is true then the next step for Dundee is simple. Let him rot in the reserves until the end of the season.
So you'd rather pay him wages for six months and not get anything out of it rather than letting such a terrible player and disciplinary nightmare sabotage Hamilton's promotion push?

how intelligent, are you Alex Rae?
Mr Roberts
Jan 14 2008, 20:11
QUOTE (Gretna Mak Attack @ Jan 14 2008, 20:08)

i really hope he doesnt come to gretna. if he cant score many in div.1 he isnt going to score a lot in the spl.

you're safe, as I've said, he's already signed for Hamilton next season.
Gretna Mak Attack
Jan 14 2008, 20:14
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 14 2008, 20:11)

you're safe, as I've said, he's already signed for Hamilton next season.
good. its the scum of the south that sign our cast offs not the other way round!
bubbs33
Jan 14 2008, 20:19
Did I say he was a "terrible player"????? I think the word i used was average
And yes I would rather waste six months wages on him than run the risk of him grabbing the odd crucial goal for Hamilton. Ex-players have a habit of coming back and scoring against their old sides, Lyle's a prime example with the amount he manages to net against QOS.
badger_whacker
QUOTE (Gretna Mak Attack @ Jan 14 2008, 20:08)

He wouldn't be playing in the SPL. He would not be joining until the end of the season
Accies1
Gilhaney, Winters, Barrau, Graham, Offiong, Twigg AND Lyle
Deeboy
Jan 14 2008, 20:24
He's always a willing runner, tries hard and was our top scorer last season. Too much of a liability with his temper but shall be missed if true. Bryan Deasley back into the first team picture ?
alberto
Jan 14 2008, 20:24
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 14 2008, 19:30)

Lyle or Zemlik......hmmmmmmm
That's a tough one.
i'd take Zemlik any day
badger_whacker
Jan 14 2008, 20:25
QUOTE (alberto @ Jan 14 2008, 20:24)

i'd take Zemlik any day

f**k OFF ZEMLIK'S MAW YA TEDIOUS BITCH!!!
alberto
Jan 14 2008, 20:25
QUOTE (alberto @ Jan 14 2008, 20:24)

i'd take Zemlik any day

that sound a bit dodgy...i mean in football terms
Dundee-Derry-Boys
Jan 14 2008, 20:32
cannae believe Dundee fans falling for this p1sh,
why would Lyle leave Dundee for a wee club near Glasgow,
bit like Gretna signing Kris Boyd, just aint gonnae happen,
pishiest wind up ever
alberto
Jan 14 2008, 20:32
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 14 2008, 20:25)

f**k OFF ZEMLIK'S MAW YA TEDIOUS BITCH!!!
easy tiger !!!!! have you no found any badgers to whack lately???
seriously though,i would play Zemlik before Lyle any day.Lyle did a job for us last year in a mid table team,this year he's not looked half the player,he's a decent enough but doesn't offer near enough to make him a first choice. as for him playing in the Spl...no chance,never good enough!!! as for Zemlik,at least he offers you something different and he actually is a half decent footballer with the ball at his feet
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.