clyde4ever
Jan 14 2008, 00:07
I'm sure we hadn't had a home game off for a couple of years until the Stirling and Dundee Utd games recently.
When was the last time your team had a home game postponed, and which team has gone the longest without having a game off?
Rangers are currently the worst offenders, being the most recent team to have a game postponed. Which team has the best record?
EastFootball
Jan 14 2008, 00:11
We had a game abandoned in 2002 because of snow. It was against Hibs and live on the BBC - Chick Young looked like the abominable snowman trying to help clear the lines

Can't remember one being postponed though, not recently.
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
Jan 14 2008, 00:14
It's certainly been a bout 3/4 seasons since we had one postponed at Cappielow. We have a cracking pitch now with excellent drainage, plus we have pitch protection covers that cover to -3 I think.
moneton!!!
Jan 14 2008, 00:17
QUOTE (Stevie Aitken's Love Child @ Jan 14 2008, 00:14)

It's certainly been a bout 3/4 seasons since we had one postponed at Cappielow. We have a cracking pitch now with excellent drainage, plus we have pitch protection covers that cover to -3 I think.
Think this might have been our last
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/s...v_1/3399325.stm
MacLeantonboy
Jan 14 2008, 00:24
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 14 2008, 00:11)

We had a game abandoned in 2002 because of snow. It was against Hibs and live on the BBC - Chick Young looked like the abominable snowman trying to help clear the lines
Can't remember one being postponed though, not recently.
haha i can remember that game, was funny watching live all the people trying to make the pitch playable whilst even more snow came down to cover what they just moved
MacLeantonboy
Jan 14 2008, 00:27
QUOTE (moneton!!! @ Jan 14 2008, 00:17)

Yes this probably was the last game to get postponed at cappielow so long ago

, i agree with the lad above, the cappielow pitch is in great condition just now, one of the best in the league imo
EastFootball
Jan 14 2008, 01:10
Looks like this was our last one -
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/s...rem/1776521.stmI think that corner has been levelled out now.
Hoochthedrummer
Jan 14 2008, 01:20
saturday lol
Scofield
Jan 14 2008, 01:45
Havent a scoobie. Years.
Millfield Marksman
Jan 14 2008, 01:59
QUOTE (MacLeantonboy @ Jan 14 2008, 00:24)

haha i can remember that game, was funny watching live all the people trying to make the pitch playable whilst even more snow came down to cover what they just moved

Was that the one where, as soon as the game was called off, the snow stopped and 30 mins later all was fine?
Swainy
Jan 14 2008, 02:12
I think the last game we had postponed was an evening game a few years ago although it was called off due to the weather it wasnt due to the pitch being unplayable but the police were worried about the roads/pavements being too icy. Can anyone comfirm this or am I just making it up?
MacLeantonboy
Jan 14 2008, 02:28
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Jan 14 2008, 01:59)

Was that the one where, as soon as the game was called off, the snow stopped and 30 mins later all was fine?
Yes i think so, although i am not 100% sure
Anyone else know of this?
MacLeantonboy
Jan 14 2008, 02:34
QUOTE (Swainy @ Jan 14 2008, 02:12)

I think the last game we had postponed was an evening game a few years ago although it was called off due to the weather it wasnt due to the pitch being unplayable but the police were worried about the roads/pavements being too icy. Can anyone comfirm this or am I just making it up?
No idea mate, if i was to say anything i'd be lying
Glasgowjag
Jan 14 2008, 02:52
QUOTE (clyde4ever @ Jan 14 2008, 00:07)

I'm sure we hadn't had a home game off for a couple of years until the Stirling and Dundee Utd games recently.
When was the last time your team had a home game postponed, and which team has gone the longest without having a game off?
Rangers are currently the worst offenders, being the most recent team to have a game postponed. Which team has the best record?
i think we had a game postoned fairly recently, was quite controversial too if i remember correctly
Radford
Jan 14 2008, 09:13
I can't remember the last time we had a game off. There was a game against Livingston postponed after around 80 minutes because of fog in October 2002 and I can't recall another one since then... before Saturday of course.
We famously had SKY's first ever PPV game cancelled because of fog as well in January 2001.
Skyline Drifter
Jan 14 2008, 09:13
If we ignore the ones against Clyde that we get deliberately called off just to annoy Mythical Creature alone then Hell knows!
Seriously, we've had odd games off since promotion. One with Arbroath in 02/03 that should never have been off in a month of Sundays, one with St Mirren in 03/04 and three or four with Clyde I think, the last of which was 05/06 I think. There was one controversially off at 1:30pm v Dundee season before last. As a result of that game we bought the covers we now use. I don't think we've had a game off since we bought the covers.
Skyline Drifter
Jan 14 2008, 09:15
QUOTE (Radford @ Jan 14 2008, 09:13)

I can't remember the last time we had a game off. There was a game against Livingston postponed after around 80 minutes because of fog in October 2002 and I can't recall another one since then... before Saturday of course.
We famously had SKY's first ever PPV game cancelled because of fog as well in January 2001.
There was one against us in December one season that looked a definite postponement and survived THREE inspections while we sat and waited in 208.
Radford
Jan 14 2008, 09:24
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jan 14 2008, 09:15)

There was one against us in December one season that looked a definite postponement and survived THREE inspections while we sat and waited in 208.
One of the infamous 2-2 games IIRC. I think it was the one where Paatelainen burst through from a clearly onside position to score a last minute equaliser. Jim Thomson also scored a superb own goal!
Because the ground is fairly new, the drainage is excellent. There was been a few times where the heavens have opened a few hours before kick off but the pitch has coped with it. I don't think we've ever had a game off because of a water-logged pitch. Saturday was the first time the undersoil has "failed" I'm sure.
Nagging doubt in the back of my mind that a frozen car park has seen a game off at one point.
I'm pretty sure this is accurate after a wee check through parsdatabase to check dates of games.
The last game at home that was postponed was a big top of the table game on boxing day of 99/00 season against St Mirren. This was nothing to do with the pitch and nothing to do with the weather though - St Mirren had some vomiting or flu bug that they claimed had put out half of their team, and the SFL agreed to the postponement. I was a bit suspicious of it at the time, given that they'd had a few injuries before the game, and they all made a full recovery to beat Morton at home in the following game. We were also on a great run at the time having won a number of games in a row and looked like we might finally be starting to catch them.
The last game to be postponed because of the weather was a game against Celtic in 96/97, that was postponed 3 times - the first time in November it was fog, and the other two were with snow and frost.
So, more than 10 years without a postponement because of bad weather - that's a pretty decent record.
Super_J
Jan 14 2008, 10:50
The Brechin challenge cup game this season Radford?
Skyline Drifter
Jan 14 2008, 11:07
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jan 14 2008, 09:13)

If we ignore the ones against Clyde that we get deliberately called off just to annoy Mythical Creature alone then Hell knows!
Seriously, we've had odd games off since promotion. One with Arbroath in 02/03 that should never have been off in a month of Sundays, one with St Mirren in 03/04 and three or four with Clyde I think, the last of which was 05/06 I think. There was one controversially off at 1:30pm v Dundee season before last. As a result of that game we bought the covers we now use. I don't think we've had a game off since we bought the covers.
Having checked, that game v Dundee was 17th December 2005. We haven't had a game off at Palmerston since.
QUOTE (Radford @ Jan 14 2008, 09:24)

One of the infamous 2-2 games IIRC. I think it was the one where Paatelainen burst through from a clearly onside position to score a last minute equaliser. Jim Thomson also scored a superb own goal!
20th December 2003. It was indeed the game you refer to with a comedy own goal followed by a sterling comeback that deserved all the points only to be denied by Paatelainen "bursting through" (moving about six inches forward when he was already about five yards offside!) to score because neither referee nor assistant actually noticed the flick on one of your players got on the cross.
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
Jan 14 2008, 11:19
QUOTE (Socks @ Jan 14 2008, 10:02)

I'm pretty sure this is accurate after a wee check through parsdatabase to check dates of games.
The last game at home that was postponed was a big top of the table game on boxing day of 99/00 season against St Mirren. This was nothing to do with the pitch and nothing to do with the weather though - St Mirren had some vomiting or flu bug that they claimed had put out half of their team, and the SFL agreed to the postponement. I was a bit suspicious of it at the time, given that they'd had a few injuries before the game, and they all made a full recovery to beat Morton at home in the following game. We were also on a great run at the time having won a number of games in a row and looked like we might finally be starting to catch them.
The last game to be postponed because of the weather was a game against Celtic in 96/97, that was postponed 3 times - the first time in November it was fog, and the other two were with snow and frost.
So, more than 10 years without a postponement because of bad weather - that's a pretty decent record.
It was a 1-1 draw in fact

Paul Hartley scored a free kick for us that day too
1 John Lambie
Jan 14 2008, 11:48
Saturday.
QUOTE (Radford @ Jan 14 2008, 09:13)

Are you not counting the one with the lighting problem?
Radford
Jan 14 2008, 12:14
QUOTE (Yoss @ Jan 14 2008, 12:04)

Yeah, Super_J mentioned it above, I'd already forgotten about it.
What a farce that was. I was inside the stadium (one of about fifty or so fans) and there was no reason that game couldn't have gone ahead.
Broon_100
Jan 14 2008, 13:11
QUOTE (Radford @ Jan 14 2008, 12:14)

Yeah, Super_J mentioned it above, I'd already forgotten about it.
What a farce that was. I was inside the stadium (one of about fifty or so fans) and there was no reason that game couldn't have gone ahead.
Of course there was. Celtic were due to be pumped by Shaktar Donetsk (sp?) and the match commander didn't want to miss it - p***k.
gingapar
Jan 14 2008, 14:02
QUOTE (Yoss @ Jan 14 2008, 12:04)

talking of lighting problems, they're game was off for a falty strip light, did you's not have a postponement because one of your floodlights fell off the roof?
QUOTE (MacLeantonboy @ Jan 14 2008, 00:27)

Yes this probably was the last game to get postponed at cappielow so long ago

, i agree with the lad above, the cappielow pitch is in great condition just now, one of the best in the league imo

it was the gretna league cup game on 10-08-2004 oddly it was a water logged pitch
Mushroom
Jan 14 2008, 15:39
We have awesome pitch drainage at Broadwood and indeed have only ever had one game called off for a waterlogged pitch.
Unfortunately we've had quite a few games fall foul of a frozen pitch, and obviously the infamous snow game v Dunfermline.
badger_whacker
Jan 14 2008, 15:41
Posponements ?
No comprende.....
Todd_is_God
Jan 14 2008, 15:56
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 14 2008, 15:41)

Posponements ?
No comprende.....
Well we've had two since the pitch went down.
One of them because the roads were buggered with snow so no-one could get to the ground, and the other a quite ridiculous proposition of a waterlogged pitch at the very end of July/start of August!
hotrodqos
Jan 14 2008, 17:22
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 14 2008, 15:41)

Posponements ?
No comprende.....
Probably when your players decided to go on strike.
Dunning1874
Jan 14 2008, 17:26
QUOTE (moneton!!! @ Jan 14 2008, 00:17)

Think it was the season after that, think it may have been Berwick we were playing.
We also had a game against East Stirling in the cup postponed that season I think, not sure which came first.
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Jan 14 2008, 17:26)

Think it was the season after that, think it may have been Berwick we were playing.
We also had a game against East Stirling in the cup postponed that season I think, not sure which came first.
QUOTE (Bryan @ Jan 14 2008, 14:13)

it was the gretna league cup game on 10-08-2004 oddly it was a water logged pitch
Steve McQueen
Jan 14 2008, 18:15
QUOTE (clyde4ever @ Jan 14 2008, 00:07)

Was our second game at Broadwood not postponed last season?
Radford
Jan 14 2008, 18:21
QUOTE (Steve McQueen @ Jan 14 2008, 18:15)

Was our second game at Broadwood not postponed last season?
Only because of the Scottish Cup semi-final.
We did have one off against them in the Connolly season though. It was played in a midweek and was one of the manager's last games, Stevie McManus scored for us and Alex Burns for them.
Steve McQueen
Jan 14 2008, 18:22
QUOTE (Radford @ Jan 14 2008, 18:21)

Only because of the Scottish Cup semi-final.
It was still postponed
badgers apprentice
Jan 14 2008, 18:51
QUOTE (Todd_is_God @ Jan 14 2008, 15:56)

Well we've had two since the pitch went down.
One of them because the roads were buggered with snow so no-one could get to the ground, and the other a quite ridiculous proposition of a waterlogged pitch at the very end of July/start of August!
was that not the cup game v ayr just after the new surface was put down
Fife Saint
Jan 14 2008, 18:57
I drove me and the other half from sunny north Glasgow to Somerset park for an enthralling league fixture against Ayr on a brisk winters morn a few years ago only to realise that the game was at McDiarmid. I got out the car and asked a couple of neds and used the excuse that the ref had just that minute called the game off!!
She has never clicked yet!
Todd_is_God
Jan 14 2008, 19:22
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Jan 14 2008, 18:51)

was that not the cup game v ayr just after the new surface was put down
Indeed it was. A game i was set to miss cos i was on holiday. Glad i never missed it - Stevie Convery is still the last Accies player to score a competitive hat-trick!
badger_whacker
Jan 14 2008, 19:24
QUOTE (hotrodqos @ Jan 14 2008, 17:22)

Probably when your players decided to go on strike.

How hilariously below the belt. Good on you sir.
DA Baracus
Jan 14 2008, 20:02
QUOTE (Socks @ Jan 14 2008, 10:02)

Aye Socks I mind that. Was well dodgy at the time. Mind the rearranged game was 1-1 with Petrie scoring an utter cracker for us. Quite a decent game played in glorious sunshine if I recall correctly.
Radford
Jan 14 2008, 22:35
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jan 14 2008, 18:57)

I drove me and the other half from sunny north Glasgow to Somerset park for an enthralling league fixture against Ayr on a brisk winters morn a few years ago only to realise that the game was at McDiarmid. I got out the car and asked a couple of neds and used the excuse that the ref had just that minute called the game off!!
She has never clicked yet!
My mate once drove to Kilbowie (which was then a retail park) when we were due to play Clyde and then a few years later he went to Brockville when we were playing Falkirk at Ochilview. He asked some old boy where Brockville was and reckons he can still hearing him laughing every now and again!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.