tartanblood
Jan 12 2008, 13:54
I think Big Sam is the right man for Scotland, and the type of man we need to keep our success story going. Fair play he is English but he does have a point to prove.
I really dont want tommy burns, he's a number 2 and always will be. Remember the SFA gave him a chance after berti and we got horsed off Sweden? So they better stay clear of him
Your views on sam?
Javier Mascherano
Jan 12 2008, 18:14
Whoever was in charge after Vogts was going to have problems. I don't think you can judge Burns on that.
However, I don't want Allardyce.
The problem we have is that to continue playing the way we are, the manager must be Scottish.
However, I can't think of any Scottish managers I would like to take the job.
Dick Campbell aside.
Supras
Jan 12 2008, 18:16
Never considered it, would be a great appointment even though he is english, we can put that aside for a manager of his calibre.
Probably won't want it but SFA should ask him if he would consider it.
HibeeJibee
Jan 12 2008, 18:29
Don't get bungs in international football, since no transfers, so I think Allardyce will go elsewhere.
Soprano
Jan 12 2008, 18:36
Good manager
but an English manager in charge of Scotland. No Thanks.
Paisley Plumber
Jan 12 2008, 19:08
Cant manage to be Pol-Cor on this one........ a fcuk'n guffy in the Scottish hot-seat no way. Did we not learn anything from that Bertie German fella saga
QUOTE (HibeeJibee @ Jan 12 2008, 18:29)

Don't get bungs in international football, since no transfers, so I think Allardyce will go elsewhere.
Agreed no way the sweaty corrupt get would even consider taking a job with such a comparatively low pay and no opportunity for skimming transfer money
BadgersNadgers
Jan 12 2008, 20:10
We couldn't afford his wages and I don't think he'd want a job in international management just yet.
David W
Jan 12 2008, 20:16
QUOTE (SudoGuffy @ Jan 12 2008, 19:08)

Cant manage to be Pol-Cor on this one........ a fcuk'n guffy in the Scottish hot-seat no way. Did we not learn anything from that Bertie German fella saga

There is a difference - Big Sam is a good manager, Berti Vogts was a dud.
Dunning1874
Jan 12 2008, 20:34
QUOTE (David W @ Jan 12 2008, 20:16)

There is a difference - Big Sam is a good manager, Berti Vogts was a dud.
Bollocks to that.
Poor manager, and an arsehole to boot. Anyone can be successful through being corrupt.
Keep him well away from the Scotland job thanks.
Supras
Jan 12 2008, 22:45
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Jan 12 2008, 20:34)

Bollocks to that.
Poor manager, and an arsehole to boot. Anyone can be successful through being corrupt.
Keep him well away from the Scotland job thanks.
Slander
You can be sued for that
Dunning1874
Jan 13 2008, 00:06
QUOTE (Supras @ Jan 12 2008, 22:45)

Slander
You can be sued for that

Bollocks to that and all.
No such thing as slander in Scots Law.
badgers apprentice
Jan 13 2008, 00:11

thats just made my day
shearer for clyde
MC Pee Pants
Jan 13 2008, 00:23
naw
kfcsmithers
Jan 13 2008, 02:22
NO,NO,NO.
Jim Pansy
Jan 13 2008, 03:55
Hell yeah. Although I would want to wait until the corruption has gone on the back burner. But as someone else posted, I'd take Berti Vogts back ahead of Burns, Davis or Souness. quite why the idiots at the SFA have limited themselves to a Scot is beyond me, it has reduced our options to the lowest of the low.
AldoLeon
Jan 13 2008, 10:37
Ok why not. Great manager with knowledge of the most up-to-date coaching techniques in British football and he will do a great job for Scotland if given the chance and would really modernise our game from the schoolboys upwards. But he will never be given the chance on the sole fact he is an Englishman and the Tartan Army will never accept an Englishman in charge of Scotland.
Mon the Rovers
Jan 13 2008, 11:37
I think he'd be a decent manager for us.
His style would fit perfectly into our strengths as well.
Supras
Jan 13 2008, 11:44
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Jan 13 2008, 00:11)

thats just made my day
shearer for clyde
Hey why not
QUOTE (kfcsmithers @ Jan 13 2008, 02:22)

NO,NO,NO.
I have to say I never considered it until I saw this thread but it would be a great appointment, he's miles better than the other candidates and I thought I'd never accept and englishman but for someone of his calibre you have to make exceptions.
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Jan 13 2008, 03:55)

Hell yeah. Although I would want to wait until the corruption has gone on the back burner. But as someone else posted, I'd take Berti Vogts back ahead of Burns, Davis or Souness. quite why the idiots at the SFA have limited themselves to a Scot is beyond me, it has reduced our options to the lowest of the low.
Souness and Burns would be pish but Davies is clearly a good manager, taking a pish championship side into the premiership, joke that he was sacked.
QUOTE (AldoLeon @ Jan 13 2008, 10:37)

Ok why not. Great manager with knowledge of the most up-to-date coaching techniques in British football and he will do a great job for Scotland if given the chance and would really modernise our game from the schoolboys upwards. But he will never be given the chance on the sole fact he is an Englishman and the Tartan Army will never accept an Englishman in charge of Scotland.
If the Tartan Army can't see how much better he is than the other candidates, then they are small minded arseholes.
boltonbairn
Jan 13 2008, 12:21
Just to let you know Sam Allardyce does have scottish roots as his mum is scottish.
QUOTE (Supras @ Jan 13 2008, 11:44)

Hey why not
I have to say I never considered it until I saw this thread but it would be a great appointment, he's miles better than the other candidates and I thought I'd never accept and englishman but for someone of his calibre you have to make exceptions.
Souness and Burns would be pish but Davies is clearly a good manager, taking a pish championship side into the premiership, joke that he was sacked.
If the Tartan Army can't see how much better he is than the other candidates, then they are small minded arseholes.
dazzle-dfc
Jan 13 2008, 15:13
no no no no no no and did i mention NO
Supras
Jan 13 2008, 15:15
QUOTE (dazzle-dfc @ Jan 13 2008, 15:13)

no no no no no no and did i mention NO
Why not
badgers apprentice
Jan 13 2008, 16:21
QUOTE (Supras @ Jan 13 2008, 15:15)

Why not

stop it yer killing me

..........and relax.
roland sausage
Jan 13 2008, 18:45
So what if he's english? if he came and did a good job, it would'nt bother me in the slightest.
Supras
Jan 13 2008, 19:03
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Jan 13 2008, 16:21)

stop it yer killing me

..........and relax.
I'm totally relaxed, just a question
Derry_boy
Jan 13 2008, 19:06
Davie Moyes would be perfect but doubt he would leave Everton
djchapsticks
Jan 14 2008, 00:02
Yeah......a good boss all around and his style of management would fit us well.
These people shouting about an Englishman is charge of Scotland are actually quite worrying in how small-minded they are.
EastFootball
Jan 14 2008, 00:13
QUOTE (Supras @ Jan 12 2008, 22:45)

Slander
You can be sued for that

He wrote it down, therefore it cannot be slander.
Case dismissed on a technicality.
Jimmy MCcabe
Jan 14 2008, 12:11
QUOTE (Brechin City FC @ Jan 12 2008, 18:14)

Whoever was in charge after Vogts was going to have problems. I don't think you can judge Burns on that.
However, I don't want Allardyce.
The problem we have is that to continue playing the way we are, the manager must be Scottish.
However, I can't think of any Scottish managers I would like to take the job.
Dick Campbell aside.
Vogts may have made mistakes but he took over an ageing, sinking ship. half the National team of today would have a lot less caps if it were not for Berti, Wattie would never have risked bringing them in so young in his first spell at Ibrox he thought a youngster was 26. Don't let the tabloids corrupt the good things that he did do and we should not be scared to go down the route of a foreign manager again IF there is not a suitable candidate at home.
Jim Pansy
Jan 14 2008, 12:18
QUOTE (Jimmy MCcabe @ Jan 14 2008, 12:11)

Vogts may have made mistakes but he took over an ageing, sinking ship. half the National team of today would have a lot less caps if it were not for Berti, Wattie would never have risked bringing them in so young in his first spell at Ibrox he thought a youngster was 26. Don't let the tabloids corrupt the good things that he did do and we should not be scared to go down the route of a foreign manager again IF there is not a suitable candidate at home.
Quite. The sentence probably should read "whoever was in charge after Craig Brown was always going to be in trouble".
qos_75
Jan 14 2008, 12:22
QUOTE (tartanblood @ Jan 12 2008, 13:54)

I think Big Sam is the right man for Scotland, and the type of man we need to keep our success story going. Fair play he is English but he does have a point to prove.
I really dont want tommy burns, he's a number 2 and always will be. Remember the SFA gave him a chance after berti and we got horsed off Sweden? So they better stay clear of him
Your views on sam?
Behave yourself. Nothing to do with him being English, more to do with his brand of sterile football.
The Arch
Jan 14 2008, 13:02
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Jan 14 2008, 12:22)

Behave yourself. Nothing to do with him being English, more to do with his brand of sterile football.
Haven't we played sterile football under the last two managers and got results just like Sam got at Bolton
He knew the Newcastle fans wouldn't take to the 4-5-1 at all so ditched it. That Bolton team played to their strengths just like us, and sneaked results against the bigger sides
Still wouldn't want him though
Gallacticos
Jan 14 2008, 14:46
He wouldn't play McFadden, and I'd expect us to field 4-5-1 no matter what happens. Boyd would get more caps though.
Just a very negative manager, I can't see us making much progress under him if we do sign him.
ayrshirebud
Jan 14 2008, 21:23
wether he would do a good job with the team or not is irrelevant - the fact that he is english woulddivide the fans which makes him a bad appointment. That said he wouldn't go for such a low-paying job anyway
steveoath
Jan 14 2008, 21:37
Sam would be a great appointment. His style (as said earlier) would fit in perfectly with us. I don't think the SFA could afford him though.
Steve
David W
Jan 15 2008, 12:31
QUOTE (Gallacticos @ Jan 14 2008, 14:46)

He wouldn't play McFadden, and I'd expect us to field 4-5-1 no matter what happens. Boyd would get more caps though.
Just a very negative manager, I can't see us making much progress under him if we do sign him.
Scotland are quite easily the most boring international side I have seen since the World Cup.
AndyBud
Jan 15 2008, 12:43
Should be a Scottish manager.
The coaching and management staff of all national sides should be appointed following the same rules used to select players. We should strive to preserve the different type of competition that international football provides, which is so different from the money orientated game found in national leagues.
Christiano-67
Jan 15 2008, 17:25
Great manager, great credentials, powerful influence, ideal for Scotland...but he's ENGLISH!
I would not like to be managed by an Englishman
Supras
Jan 15 2008, 17:38
QUOTE (Christiano-67 @ Jan 15 2008, 17:25)

Great manager, great credentials, powerful influence, ideal for Scotland...but he's ENGLISH!
I would not like to be managed by an Englishman
The english feel the same, that's why they started this slander against our great sons gordon and blair
warning: may contain englishmen during pmt
QUOTE (tartanblood @ Jan 12 2008, 14:54)

Your views on sam?
are you on drugs
Supras
Jan 15 2008, 18:19
QUOTE (fifi @ Jan 15 2008, 18:17)

are you on drugs
No he just sees a good unemployed manager, without davies the candidates aren't great unfortunately
QUOTE (Supras @ Jan 15 2008, 19:19)

No he just sees a good unemployed manager, without davies the candidates aren't great unfortunately
how many leagues or cups has he won as a manager ?
none
Supras
Jan 15 2008, 18:39
QUOTE (fifi @ Jan 15 2008, 18:25)

how many leagues or cups has he won as a manager ? none
Souness won plently of leagues and cups, he was still pish.
And didn't big sam win the championship
Gallacticos
Jan 15 2008, 19:43
QUOTE (David W @ Jan 15 2008, 12:31)

Scotland are quite easily the most boring international side I have seen since the World Cup.
Are you kidding? The Italy game was pure entertainment, not a single long ball played the whole game! The likes of Brown, Ferguson, McFadden and Hutton weren't afraid to play the ball on the deck and get around Italy, and our best chance of the game came when Kenny Miller, Barry Ferguson and James McFadden cut the Italian defence - including Cannavaro, Zambrotta, Barzlagi and Panucci - wide open with some crisp one-touch passing!
djchapsticks
Jan 18 2008, 18:01
QUOTE (David W @ Jan 15 2008, 12:31)

Behave yourself Diddy.
Clyde_Mad
Jan 20 2008, 11:35
No. He the sort of manager who holds himself aloof of his players, whereas our main strength came from the fact we work as a team. To me his attitude would undermine that and turn us pish again.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.