supersaint44
Jan 10 2008, 20:28
with some of the recent talent from the first division seeming to improve be gaining a huge deal of interest who do you see as other satrs of the future? at saints im really happy to see mooner and jackson finally getting games and blossoming!
Mushroom
Jan 10 2008, 20:32
Ruari MacLennan is doing quite well for us considering his age, one to watch, and Div McGowans OK ON THE WING
Roddy MacLennan is apparently quite special, but is far too lightweight to try right now.
Fife Saint
Jan 10 2008, 20:36
Mooner for me. Class act in the making. Heard it here second.
Livi_Lad
Jan 10 2008, 20:47
We've got a few actually.
Keeghan Jacobs, Cammy MacDonald( Full debut on Saturday ), Leigh Griffiths and Steven Weir - Brother of that fat p***k that played for Queens last season. Not to mention Mark Torrance, Gary Miller and Murray Davidson.
port-ton
Jan 10 2008, 20:53
you mean you're allowed youth players in this league?
hmm then i wonder why at the beginning of the season morton got rid of theirs and cancelled all the players contracts.
next someone will tell me douglas rae and jim mcinally dont have a clue what theyre doing.
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
Jan 10 2008, 20:59
Grant Evans,Ally Crawford and James Gibson are three of the current crop just bubbling below the first team.Plenty others behing them as Accies have some of the best under 13-15 players in the country.
supersaint44
Jan 10 2008, 21:03
I hate it that our youth system is soo crap (except moon, jackson and a few others) because all of the good players in perth and the suroundings are picked off by celtic and rangers,etc cuz knew a few who have endded up there when they should hav been at saints!
Fife Saint
Jan 10 2008, 21:03
Heard good things about Bobby Barr at the academy of dreams.
port-ton
Jan 10 2008, 21:06
QUOTE (supersaint44 @ Jan 10 2008, 21:03)

I hate it that our youth system is soo crap (except moon, jackson and a few others) because all of the good players in perth and the suroundings are picked off by celtic and rangers,etc cuz knew a few who have endded up there when they should hav been at saints!
all the young players from our area get picked up by aberdeen, its embarrassing that somewhere so far away scouts our area but we dont.
supersaint44
Jan 10 2008, 21:08
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jan 10 2008, 21:06)

all the young players from our area get picked up by aberdeen, its embarrassing that somewhere so far away scouts our area but we dont.
this is a reason for the downfall of home grown talent as so many young players go to other teams and end up rotting away instead of getting games and playing for there local clubs
port-ton
Jan 10 2008, 21:12
QUOTE (supersaint44 @ Jan 10 2008, 21:08)

this is a reason for the downfall of home grown talent as so many young players go to other teams and end up rotting away instead of getting games and playing for there local clubs
it may be the reason everywhere else in scotland, its not the reason in greenock. most young players here would love to play for morton but we dont take youth seriously, dont scout the area at all, and released all but two youth players in the summer.
they have no choice but to go to places like aberdeen.
Derry_boy
Jan 10 2008, 21:15
Kevin McDonald
he will be playing for Scotland one day surely, and probably in the Premiership
port-ton
Jan 10 2008, 21:16
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jan 10 2008, 21:15)

Kevin McDonald
he will be playing for Scotland one day surely, and probably in the Premiership
no pressure on him then
Derry_boy
Jan 10 2008, 21:19
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jan 10 2008, 21:16)

no pressure on him then

but in all honesty he will be a big player at somepoint in his carear
just now he is too good for Dundee and far too good for the 1st division
port-ton
Jan 10 2008, 21:22
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jan 10 2008, 21:19)

but in all honesty he will be a big player at somepoint in his carear
just now he is too good for Dundee and far too good for the 1st division
no one is too good for dundee!
nah he's the best player in the league by miles....excluding stuart greacen.
Derry_boy
Jan 10 2008, 21:22
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jan 10 2008, 21:20)

None
aye from your team
Derry_boy
Jan 10 2008, 21:24
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jan 10 2008, 21:22)

no one is too good for dundee!
nah he's the best player in the league by miles....excluding stuart greacen.
im not sure weather your comment about McDonald was sarcastic or genuine
port-ton
Jan 10 2008, 21:27
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jan 10 2008, 21:24)

im not sure weather your comment about McDonald was sarcastic or genuine

the part about him being the best player in the league was genuine, the stuart greacen bit was sarcasm.
i like to mix things up a bit, keep people on their toes.
aye from your team
Aye I meant my team.
badger_whacker
Jan 10 2008, 21:32
QUOTE (Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Jan 10 2008, 20:59)

Grant Evans,Ally Crawford and James Gibson are three of the current crop just bubbling below the first team.Plenty others behing them as Accies have some of the best under 13-15 players in the country.
Can add Euan Lindsay onto that as well.
Derry_boy
Jan 10 2008, 21:33
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jan 10 2008, 21:29)

Aye I meant my team.

Derry_boy
Jan 10 2008, 21:35
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jan 10 2008, 21:27)

the part about him being the best player in the league was genuine, the stuart greacen bit was sarcasm.
i like to mix things up a bit, keep people on their toes.
is there a boy Finlayson at you ? he is a good player so is Shields
the thing with McDonald is he has pace, skill, strength, great vision, eye for goal etc - next season he will be gone im sure of it and the annoying thing is we'll get no more than 150,000 for him
Parscelona
Jan 10 2008, 21:37
Greg Ross and Nick Phinn hopefully!
vikingTON
Jan 10 2008, 21:38
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jan 10 2008, 21:35)

Ah, the sarcasm keeps flowing tonight.
Derry_boy
Jan 10 2008, 21:45
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jan 10 2008, 21:38)

Ah, the sarcasm keeps flowing tonight.
im not being sarcastic tho , when he plays against us he has been one of your better players so has Shields
our only stand outs this season our Samson, Palenik, McDonald, Robertson and Mchale
Hopefully our young keeper will do well - mind you our last keeper that left to go to everton doesnt get a game.
FC_1919
Jan 10 2008, 21:51
We dont have a 17's or a 19's.
We have a couple of boys out playing for SoS teams this year, 16year old Mark McGinley is at Threave and looks quite good for a young lad.
Derry_boy
Jan 10 2008, 21:51
QUOTE (greg @ Jan 10 2008, 21:49)

Hopefully our young keeper will do well - mind you our last keeper that left to go to everton doesnt get a game.
who ?
port-ton
Jan 10 2008, 21:53
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jan 10 2008, 21:35)

the thing with McDonald is he has pace, skill, strength, great vision, eye for goal etc - next season he will be gone im sure of it and the annoying thing is we'll get no more than 150,000 for him

dont let morton fans see you say this.
i actually like finlayson, he isnt fantastic but he does a job at this level that no other player in our team can do, until we get someone to replace him im happy with him in the team.
shields isnt that good at all, he's fierce in the tackle but the only problem is his 2nd touch is always a tackle.
port-ton
Jan 10 2008, 21:54
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jan 10 2008, 21:45)

im not being sarcastic tho , when he plays against us he has been one of your better players so has Shields
our only stand outs this season our Samson, Palenik, McDonald, Robertson and Mchale
oh poor you, i'd settle for having one standout player this season
we actually have 4 or 5 standout players, just they standout for being complete and utter pish!
vikingTON
Jan 10 2008, 21:58
Finlayson's an average Second division player.
He's what, 28?
And he ain't getting any better.
Brian Graham has an eyue for goal but needs a lot of work to really specialise his game.
McAllister can be unplayable on his day and really drives the team forward when too many are letting us down, eg Captain calamity.
David W
Jan 10 2008, 22:15
Ruari McLennan is a very good player but needs a break out of the team for a wee while. Shame we don't have a similar "forward-thinking" midfielder to replace him.
1 John Lambie
Jan 10 2008, 22:37
Ricky Little.
Scofield
Jan 10 2008, 22:41
QUOTE (Parscelona @ Jan 10 2008, 21:37)

Greg Ross and Nick Phinn hopefully!
Both look decent prospects. Would like to see both given a chance in the middle of the park soon, Phinn especially.
Another exciting prospect would be Greg Paterson, the Scotland under 19 goalkeeper.
big wee bully
Jan 10 2008, 23:58
Stephen Howarth has just been picked for the Scotland under 18s team , Roddy Mclennan and Jordan Murch .
PaleGreySky
Jan 11 2008, 00:54
fraser eaglesham, michael robertson, ricky little and pedram ardalany are our young prospects.
Gypsy till I die
Jan 11 2008, 09:17
the maclennan brothers look good. Just hoping they can add to the physical side of their game a bit cos they're light weight to say the least.
I'll also say Hutton cos he's still young for a goalkeeper at 22 so he has his best years ahead of him.
port-ton
Jan 11 2008, 09:44
QUOTE (Gypsy till I die @ Jan 11 2008, 09:17)

the maclennan brothers look good. Just hoping they can add to the physical side of their game a bit cos they're light weight to say the least.
I'll also say Hutton cos he's still young for a goalkeeper at 22 so he has his best years ahead of him.
i think i have the maclennan brothers album. definetely stars of the future.
palmy_cammy
Jan 11 2008, 10:54
Jim Thomson, Jamie McQuilken, Steve Tosh, and John O'Neill.

Our club couldn't give two shits about youth players which I find disgusting but saying that the recent ones we have brought through (Willie Gibson aside) have ended up in the SoS league at best. With the woeful Scott Robertson the most recent addition the future looks bright
Super_J
Jan 11 2008, 11:45
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jan 10 2008, 20:36)

Mooner for me. Class act in the making. Heard it here second.
Thirdeded here, he's fookin great, can see us makin a few bob from him in a few years time. Not that i want to, just u know, natural progression an the like
Larsson.
Jan 11 2008, 11:59
QUOTE (supersaint44 @ Jan 10 2008, 21:03)

Got to agree i no of at least 7 youngsters that come from perth and have been
picked up by cowdenbeath fc.
badger_whacker
Jan 11 2008, 12:47
QUOTE (PaleGreySky @ Jan 11 2008, 00:54)

fraser eaglesham, michael robertson, ricky little and pedram ardalany are our young prospects.
Is John McGoldrick no longer considered a prospect?
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 11 2008, 12:47)

Is John McGoldrick no longer considered a prospect?
He's no longer at Thistle.
badger_whacker
Jan 11 2008, 13:20
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 11 2008, 12:56)

He's no longer at Thistle.
Who's he with now?
thisal
Jan 11 2008, 13:26
To be honest no one from Thistles youth set up has made any great impact yet. Or in the last 20 years for that matter. Which when you consider our catchment area, is a disgrace.
cowdenbeath
Jan 11 2008, 14:59
QUOTE (PaleGreySky @ Jan 11 2008, 00:54)

Seen him play for your 19s on Sunday looks quite good.
QUOTE (thisal @ Jan 11 2008, 13:26)

To be honest no one from Thistles youth set up has made any great impact yet. Or in the last 20 years for that matter.
Alan Archibald? Kenny Arthur?
thisal
Jan 11 2008, 16:05
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 11 2008, 15:04)

Alan Archibald? Kenny Arthur?
Two players I have a lot of time for, but its not much is it? Kenny is plying his trade with Accrington Stanley and Archie is playing 1st division football with Thistle. We have 1/4 million folk within 3 miles and apart from those two Isaac English, Kevin Mcghee and Adam Strachan are the cream of what we've produced. Scary.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.