Full Version: Happy Birthday Raith Rovers Fc
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
danelder89
Raith Rovers FC were founded in 1883 and this year we celebrate our 125th anniversary! king.gif

Raith are asking for ideas on how we should celebrate this great milestone so post some of your ideas here

I havent thought of much yet but i will post something when i think of something rolleyes.gif

(Winning the league would be a no bad present cool.gif )

Loki
A "Whinge Box" every time a Raith fan whinges you stick 50p in the box. You will soon have the buying power of a top English Premiership side, plus safeguarding the club for your next 125 years of existence.
vikingTON
125 years of the tinks.
It feels longer than that, so much longer.
How about another play-off defeat to continue recent tradition?
rovers
Open up a hall of fame
vikingTON
QUOTE (rovers @ Jan 8 2008, 23:49) *
Open up a hall of fame

A janitor's cupboard would more than suffice.
Black and White Tragic
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Jan 8 2008, 23:42) *
Raith Rovers FC were founded in 1883 and this year we celebrate our 125th anniversary! king.gif

Raith are asking for ideas on how we should celebrate this great milestone so post some of your ideas here

I havent thought of much yet but i will post something when i think of something rolleyes.gif

Your only problem is that you're in the wrong division to win the league...

And you can't do that at least till your 126th year. wink.gif
BIGQ FAE KDY
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jan 8 2008, 23:45) *
125 years of the tinks.
It feels longer than that, so much longer.

Coming from someone from greenock being called a tink is an honour and the way your team plays at times we will be passing you or at the very least horsing you in the play offs laugh.gif laugh.gif That standing ovation we gave you after beating you but you won the league last season well I TAKE IT ALL BACK NOW F--K OFF wink.gif
Black and White Tragic
QUOTE (rovers @ Jan 8 2008, 23:49) *
Open up a hall of fame

How about a "den of infamy"
Michael W
QUOTE (Carlos @ Jan 8 2008, 23:44) *
A "Whinge Box" every time a Raith fan whinges you stick 50p in the box. You will soon have the buying power of a top English Premiership side, plus safeguarding the club for your next 125 years of existence.

I give it 10 mins tops before half the south stand are completely rookit.
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jan 8 2008, 23:45) *

As a Morton fan could you give us an insight into how we go about winning promotion ?

why not renegotiate our mortgage, or pay back more than simply the interest every month
Monster
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Jan 9 2008, 08:36) *
why not renegotiate our mortgage, or pay back more than simply the interest every month

That would be sensible, so there's no chance.
CALDERON
Morton's future will be safeguarded for another 125 years due to the winnings their players received from the bookies a few seasons back.
Fifes Elite Force
Congratulations 125 years of history

Off being Sh1te thumbup2.gif
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (Fifes Elite Force @ Jan 9 2008, 12:23) *
Congratulations 115 years of history, of being Sh1te thumbup2.gif

Sorted it for you
vikingTON
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Jan 9 2008, 11:44) *
Morton's future will be safeguarded for another 125 years due to the winnings their players received from the bookies a few seasons back.

That held about as much credence as the Raith match-fixing claims in 2004. rolleyes.gif

And insight into winning promotion: keep trying and keep signing strikers until you overwhelm the oppsition with confusion.
You'll go back down again next season with this "Morton" method, but it guarantees 1 league win per 4 years of trying.
vikingTON
QUOTE (BIGQ FAE KDY @ Jan 8 2008, 23:57) *
Coming from someone from greenock being called a tink is an honour and the way your team plays at times we will be passing you or at the very least horsing you in the play offs laugh.gif laugh.gif That standing ovation we gave you after beating you but you won the league last season well I TAKE IT ALL BACK NOW F--K OFF wink.gif

Yeah.
Last I heard you were going to cruise to the title this year...
At least we're up here to get horsed. unsure.gif
Mon the Rovers
I'm glad some of the average First Division supporters found it apt to come down here and criticise the Rovers smile.gif

It just reminds me how low they must be feeling to come all the way down here and pick on the poor wee team wink.gif

So they like to tell us anyway. I heard they don't care about us too, and going by the activity of Dunfermline fans in here lately, I think they're right. They really don't care do they?

Aye right.
faircityboy1884
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Jan 8 2008, 23:42) *

how about treating yersels to a half decent mainstand.it looks auld & hackit like the wimen that come fae kirkcaldy
vikingTON
QUOTE (faircityboy1884 @ Jan 9 2008, 18:20) *
how about treating yersels to a half decent mainstand.it looks auld & hackit like the wimen that come fae kirkcaldy

Be fair to them, they're at least great-great grandparents to children who are also their cousins.
Christmas time in Kirkcaldy's just one town hall where all the family can exchange their new-fangled clementines and stone tools.
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jan 9 2008, 18:24) *
Be fair to them, they're at least great-great grandparents to children who are also their cousins.
Christmas time in Kirkcaldy's just one town hall where all the family can exchange their new-fangled clementines and stone tools.

I always find it funny how there's such a common misperception between the East and West of Scotland of how the other live.

We all seem to think that the opposite side is full of slums, junkies, neds, old grannies getting mugged, murders, gang fights etc, when (in fairness) it's only really Glasgow that's like that ph34r.gif

Well, parts of Glasgow anyway. Some parts are very nice smile.gif

Obviously Fife has it's drawbacks- see Ballingry, Buckhaven, Kinghorn, Methil etc.

However, there genuinley are some great places to live. I'm sure you'll say exactly the same about Glasgow, won't you?

The only real difference is Fife is nowhere near the top 20 of the most poverty stricken places in Europe dry.gif

Now, I know your going to give me the old rant about the fact you're from Greenock, and not Glasgow, but you need to understand to us east-coasters, if you're from anywhere west of Livingston, then you're a Weegie wink.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (Mon the Rovers @ Jan 9 2008, 18:35) *
I always find it funny how there's such a common misperception between the East and West of Scotland of how the other live.

We all seem to think that the opposite side is full of slums, junkies, neds, old grannies getting mugged, murders, gang fights etc, when (in fairness) it's only really Glasgow that's like that ph34r.gif

Well, parts of Glasgow anyway. Some parts are very nice smile.gif

Obviously Fife has it's drawbacks- see Ballingry, Buckhaven, Kinghorn, Methil etc.

However, there genuinley are some great places to live. I'm sure you'll say exactly the same about Glasgow, won't you?

The only real difference is Fife is nowhere near the top 20 of the most poverty stricken places in Europe dry.gif

Now, I know your going to give me the old rant about the fact you're from Greenock, and not Glasgow, but you need to understand to us east-coasters, if you're from anywhere west of Livingston, then you're a Weegie wink.gif

The difference is that the "misconceptions" about Fife can be based on solid legal fact.
Incest case, Glenrothes anyone?
Greenock's full of tossers, junkies and other dregs from society, but luckily they're not part of my family. wink.gif
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jan 9 2008, 18:38) *
The difference is that the "misconceptions" about Fife can be based on solid legal fact.
Incest case, Glenrothes anyone?
Greenock's full of tossers, junkies and other dregs from society, but luckily they're not part of my family. wink.gif

All right, I'll grant you the fact the incest case occured in Glenrothes.

The brother was from Ayrshire and it didn't say where the sister was from, so I don't see your point caller wink.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (Mon the Rovers @ Jan 9 2008, 18:56) *
All right, I'll grant you the fact the incest case occured in Glenrothes.

The brother was from Ayrshire and it didn't say where the sister was from, so I don't see your point caller wink.gif

Perhaps there's some brotherly-sisterly love abound in the Fife air... wink.gif
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jan 9 2008, 19:08) *
Perhaps there's some brotherly-sisterly love abound in the Fife air... wink.gif

I actually predicted that would be your comeback laugh.gif

Anyway, this has nothing to do with Raith Rovers 125th anniversary, so bugger off to the giddy heights of the First Division forum. Enjoy it for the next few months... savour it, if you like.....

wink.gif
Yoss

A superb introduction. Welcome to pie & bovril.
Stree83
QUOTE (Mon the Rovers @ Jan 9 2008, 18:35) *

Agree with the other ones but i am not sure you have been to kinghorn unsure.gif
MonTheRovers!!
How about a charity match with all the players from the Raith team of '94 against the Celtic team of '94. Undoubtedly our greatest moment in our history, so i think we should celebrate it.
Stree83
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jan 10 2008, 07:48) *
How about a charity match with all the players from the Raith team of '94 against the Celtic team of '94. Undoubtedly our greatest moment in our history, so i think we should celebrate it.

Decent idea rolleyes.gif I wonder if Andy Walker would give up his time of being the worst presenter of all time to play?
Michael W

Perth isn't a city...unlucky

QUOTE (Stree83 @ Jan 9 2008, 20:37) *
Agree with the other ones but i am not sure you have been to kinghorn unsure.gif

Kinghorn isn't a dump as such, just don't go near the lassies from there ph34r.gif .
Stree83
QUOTE (MW RRFC @ Jan 10 2008, 18:55) *
Perth isn't a city...unlucky

Kinghorn isn't a dump as such, just don't go near the lassies from there ph34r.gif .

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
faircityboy1884
QUOTE (Yoss @ Jan 9 2008, 19:19) *
A superb introduction. Welcome to pie & bovril.

cheers pal.but whats a guy fae dumpfermline doing following the rovers. laugh.gif

come on the saints

faircityboy1884
QUOTE (Stree83 @ Jan 10 2008, 19:12) *
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

kirkcaldy isnt a town.its dump with a cess pit
danelder89
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jan 10 2008, 07:48) *

I like that smile.gif

It would be funny watchin some of the folk trying to play rolleyes.gif dalziel, dennis, charlie nicholas laugh.gif
Stree83
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Jan 10 2008, 20:01) *
I like that smile.gif

It would be funny watchin some of the folk trying to play rolleyes.gif dalziel, dennis, charlie nicholas laugh.gif

dry.gif nah!
washsacks
Congratulations to the wee team.

A wonderful achievement for such a small club.

A big pat on the head is required for them,and a giant well done sticker too.

It's good to know that even when we are struggling, there are always people worse off than ourselves. Puts everything into perspective really.

Maybe in another 125 years you could be Fife's premier team like we have been for so long. If you don't manage it, which is likely, don't be sad, you will always have uncle Dunfermline to look up to and aspire to.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Jan 10 2008, 20:01) *
I like that smile.gif

And

MCSTAY! MISSED A PENALTY!
Michael W
QUOTE (washsacks @ Jan 11 2008, 15:47) *

It's good to know that even when we are struggling, there are always people worse off than ourselves. Puts everything into perspective really.

Now, now. Stop trying to burst East Fife's bubble tongue.gif .
Andy.C

Maybe in another 125 years you could be Fife's premier team like we have been for so long. If you don't manage it, which is likely, don't be sad, you will always have uncle Dunfermline to look up to and aspire to.

*WARNING*

Reading the above post may induce sleep. Do not read the above post before using machinery, driving or just generally trying to stay awake.

Washsacks is a narcopheliac and will take advantage of you.
lzreid
Fife's premier team .

You got it right. Pat on the head and a well done sticker for you.
BIGQ FAE KDY
HERES TO ANOTHER 125 YEARS FOR A FANTASTIC CLUB biggrin.gif LANG MAY YER LUM REEK
highlander
Name your stands ~~~~ the North stand, then name one the south stand, then name one the east stand, then name one the west stand.

That would do it. biggrin.gif
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (highlander @ Jan 12 2008, 20:48) *
Name your stands ~~~~ the North stand, then name one the south stand, then name one the east stand, then name one the west stand.

That would do it. biggrin.gif

I know your taking the piss, but I'd love to see our stands get proper names rather than just the end of the compass on which they fall dry.gif

A long debated topic over on Fantalk, but I'd love to see the Jimmy Nicholl Stand biggrin.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Mon the Rovers @ Jan 12 2008, 21:09) *
I know your taking the piss, but I'd love to see our stands get proper names rather than just the end of the compass on which they fall dry.gif

A long debated topic over on Fantalk, but I'd love to see the Jimmy Nicholl Stand biggrin.gif

Name the railway stands Harvery & McInally rolleyes.gif
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (Steven @ Jan 12 2008, 21:21) *
Name the railway stands Harvery & McInally rolleyes.gif

Great idea rolleyes.gif
Andy.C
We should get quite a bit o' cash from Coca Cola if we named one of the stands after them or even just get them to sponsor it.
That way it would commemorate our finest hour and bring in a wee bit of money.
stockcar willie
why not invite mr annelka back i'm sure he would recieve a warm welcome laugh.gif you could charge fans a fiver a hit,i'm sure you would be loaded after that laugh.gif ph34r.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (stockcar willie @ Jan 12 2008, 23:32) *
why not invite mr annelka back i'm sure he would recieve a warm welcome laugh.gif you could charge fans a fiver a hit,i'm sure you would be loaded after that laugh.gif ph34r.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif

It's Anelka btw wink.gif and he would be lucky to get out alive laugh.gif
stockcar willie
sorry my mistake in typing too quick and not checking,would make you a fortune though laugh.gif biggrin.gif
Cowden Cowboy
Anyway best wishes to Fife's second oldest club Raith Rovers from Fife's senior club the Blue Brazil. After all these years we don't even mind allowing you to borrow your club name from Cowdenbeath! It's a good name and we can thus claim to have invented the name Raith Rovers, given Dunfermline their nickname of the Pars (plus the Townies as well), and by imitation East Fife's Methil Milan nickname. Come to Cowden for ideas, innovation and inventiveness.
Blue Brazil Forever
QUOTE (faircityboy1884 @ Jan 10 2008, 19:51) *
kirkcaldy isnt a town.its dump with a cess pit

The cess pit is Methil - yet another part of Eastern Fife where visitors are as one known to ask '' what is that effing smell ?''