Full Version: Mcghee - Burns - Souness - Burley
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Pages: 1, 2, 3
BadgersNadgers
uClick

I hope its George Burley although I wouldn't be upset by Mark McGhee. Souness and Burns don't have a good enough track record for the job, in my opinion (in addition to Souness being an arsehole). Whilst arguably neither Burley or McGhee have set the heather alight in any of their previous roles, I think they both have enough experience and knowledge of the game that they will do a good job for us.
glasnost
I think we can take that shortlist with a pinch of salt.

Anyway, given Souness is vastly the most experienced and successful of all those four, In what way does he not have a track record for the job whilst Mcghee and Burley do?
BadgersNadgers
QUOTE (glasnost @ Jan 8 2008, 23:09) *
Anyway, given Souness is vastly the most experienced and successful of all those four, In what way does he not have a track record for the job whilst Mcghee and Burley do?

A track record of destruction and mismanagement at Newcastle, Blackburn, Torino, Southampton- Ali Dia, Benfica and Liverpool.
craigkillie
The Herald today said it was a 5-man shortlist with McGhee favourite.

They had it as McGhee, Jordan, Davies, Burns & AN Other (Jefferies or Levein).

I would be more inclined to trust the Herald given the BBC's track record for talking pish.
glasnost
I think not having a day to day involvement would suit him far better. Of the options being touted as I said, none fill me with confidence. A very weak pot to choose from but Souness would be my pick.

Of course, that's my pick if it has to be a Scottish manager. I would, if I were the SFA, be setting my sights further afield.
Disraeli
QUOTE (glasnost @ Jan 8 2008, 23:20) *
I think not having a day to day involvement would suit him far better. Of the options being touted as I said, none fill me with confidence. A very weak pot to choose from but Souness would be my pick.

Of course, that's my pick if it has to be a Scottish manager. I would, if I were the SFA, be setting my sights further afield.

Who would you suggest? Assuming you were composing the shortlist for the SFA.
BadgersNadgers
The Scotsman today has Hearts rejecting an approach from Celtic for their youth academy director.... so can we take from that Tommy Burns has the job?

I agree with glasnost, it is indeed a very weak pot to choose from.

Apparently the interviewing starts this week. On an aside I've always wondered what sort of questions football managers get asked at interviews.
Wug
Not Tommy Burns sad.gif

He's not even a real manager any more.
Grievzie
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Jan 8 2008, 23:50) *
Who would you suggest? Assuming you were composing the shortlist for the SFA.

Marcello Lippi has said some nice things about us, and would maybe fancy helping the new man in charge. If u dont buy a ticket for the raffle...

Souness - Worked abroad, and is a scary b*****d.

Stuart Baxter - round the world experience, would maybe bring some Scottish pride with worldwide coaching knowledge.

George Graham - a defensively solid manager for a defensively solid team.
MC Pee Pants
souness, all you have to do is keep him away from the players.

only strachan and moyes are the other picks and both are unrealistic.
the jambo-rocker
burley i hope, if not him mcghee
qos_75
QUOTE (the jambo-rocker @ Jan 9 2008, 07:30) *

Burley?? FFS he has made a right pigs ear of Southampton. No, Souness or McGhee out of the four names mentioned. Burns, Jesus Christ It has been over 12 years since he managed anyone! He should be avoided at all costs.

Edited to add:

If it is down to this lot things look bleak.
FCB
I hope Tommy Burns gets it.
the jambo-rocker
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Jan 9 2008, 09:09) *
Burley?? FFS he has made a right pigs ear of Southampton. No, Souness or McGhee out of the four names mentioned. Burns, Jesus Christ It has been over 12 years since he managed anyone! He should be avoided at all costs.

Edited to add:

sorry mate, its burley for me, alot of good managers have struggled in the championship, levein and mcghee are good examples, he s been great in most other teams, derby, ispwich and hearts.
Lordofthewing
QUOTE (Grievzie @ Jan 9 2008, 00:36) *
Marcello Lippi has said some nice things about us, and would maybe fancy helping the new man in charge. If u dont buy a ticket for the raffle...

Souness - Worked abroad, and is a scary b*****d.

Stuart Baxter - round the world experience, would maybe bring some Scottish pride with worldwide coaching knowledge.

George Graham - a defensively solid manager for a defensively solid team.

Souness has a bad reputation for wrecking dressing rooms, so IMO he's an absolute non-starter.

Baxter? He may well have round the world experience, but does he know enough about the Scottish game (same question could be asked about Souness)? I doubt it, which is why he's another non-starter. This question would also strike George Graham off the list IMO, as well as his (from what I remember) ultra-defensive approach.

Despite all this, if Lippi showed an interest in the job, I think Gordon Smith would be best advised to fly him into the country under cover of darkness and get his signature on a contract before anyone else shows interest in him. The only reasons I would be so eager to have Lippi would be his world experience at (for the most part) a much higher level than Baxter, and the fact that a manager of his calibre would probably have a decent amount of tactical nous outwith his own country (unlike Berti dry.gif )

QUOTE (the jambo-rocker @ Jan 9 2008, 07:30) *

Burley would be the best choice out of all the candidates due to his knowledge of Scottish and English football, and it's possible he'd actually be in it for the long haul, which is my only concern with McGhee, Levein and any other quite young managers. As has been said, Strachan is an unrealistic suggestion at the moment, otherwise he'd be quite a decent appointment, due to the fact it would (to the relief of a lot of folk, probably) take him out of the media spotlight for most of the year.
Larsson.
Celtic are looking for a new head of youth development,so looks like Tommy
Burns is your man.

rough diamond
Tommy Burns is tainted with the failure of Herr Berti Vogts and was rightly ignored as his or Walter Smiths replacement, England could have learned a lesson from that but promoted Ericssons No2 McLaren and look at the $hit hole he dragged them into.

Burns is a monumental step back and shouldn't even be on a short list.
Supras
Why isn't Davies there he is the best choice unsure.gif

Souness or Burns would be pish, particularly souness.
kilbowie2002
Its been on clydeone (i know not overly reliable) that Burns has the job?
MC Pee Pants
QUOTE (kilbowie2002 @ Jan 9 2008, 17:57) *
Its been on clydeone (i know not overly reliable) that Burns has the job?

ARRGH
Christiano-67
I don't give a f**k who it is as long as its not Souness ! ohmy.gif
Please SFA don't ruin the good run ! smile.gif
If I had to choose though I'd say Burley wink.gif

RosscoTon
ITS TOMMY BURNS !!!! laugh.gif
Robbo
QUOTE (rough diamond @ Jan 9 2008, 17:12) *
Tommy Burns is tainted with the failure of Herr Berti Vogts and was rightly ignored as his or Walter Smiths replacement, England could have learned a lesson from that but promoted Ericssons No2 McLaren and look at the $hit hole he dragged them into.

Burns is a monumental step back and shouldn't even be on a short list.

Yep,tainted with BV`s failure but no plaudits for WS success/improvement.
BadgersNadgers
Tommy Burns hasn't managed a team for nigh on 9 years, it would be a joke if we appointed him.
tartanblood
No chance i want Mcghee, just because motherwell have had a no bad 4 months doesnt turn him into internation manager. We cant play 3 up fromt like they do.

No to burns

I'd take souness or burley. Big Sam would be my first choice but
stockcar willie
I'd have burley in a second the guy is a quality manager,would'nt even consider souness for the job he's sh**.the only reason he did well with rangers was nobody else had money to challenge them at the time,was soon found out when he moved away form them and did heehaw for every other club he managed. mad.gif
Paisley Plumber
George Burley is the only one of the x4 being mention that ticks enough boxes for me.

Mark McGee may well make the grade down the line but, not yet.

Graham Souness and Tommy Burns are definitely suspect canditates.
Jim Pansy
QUOTE (SudoGuffy @ Jan 12 2008, 23:56) *
George Burley is the only one of the x4 being mention that ticks enough boxes for me.

Mark McGee may well make the grade down the line but, not yet.

Graham Souness and Tommy Burns are definitely suspect canditates.

I think the situation is worse than that. If Souness, Davies or Burns gets the job, Scotland will fall beneath the depths of the very worst of the Berti Vogts days. Given the retardedly short list of names Gordon the Gopher has limited us to, anything other than a George Burley appointment would be a disaster and would undo all the good work done by Alex McLeish.
Lordofthewing
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Jan 14 2008, 03:57) *
I think the situation is worse than that. If Souness, Davies or Burns gets the job, Scotland will fall beneath the depths of the very worst of the Berti Vogts days. Given the retardedly short list of names Gordon the Gopher has limited us to, anything other than a George Burley appointment would be a disaster and would undo all the good work done by Alex McLeish.

Would have to agree with that, and add that the only reasons I'd discount McGhee from the list of candidates would be his age and ambition. I'd also say that Burley's overall managerial record is reasonable, and there's always going to be some whataboutery regarding his stint at Hearts.

Next question though, who'd be the least shit out of Souness, Burns and Davies?
H_B
QUOTE (Lordofthewing @ Jan 14 2008, 12:36) *
Next question though, who'd be the least shit out of Souness, Burns and Davies?

Davies, but his cockery would make him the worst appointment.

Burns is the obvious complete nightmare scenario. Just look at him ffs. Who's he going to inspire. Ehhh...ehhh...sellickfootballclub...ehhh..
Ron Burgundy
QUOTE (Hieronymous_Bosch @ Jan 14 2008, 12:46) *

Burns is the obvious complete nightmare scenario. Just look at him ffs. Who's he going to inspire. Ehhh...ehhh...sellickfootballclub...ehhh..

so your plumping for Yosser Hughes....excellent choice....best midfielder of the colour tv age and the stand out candidate.
H_B
QUOTE (Ron Burgundy @ Jan 14 2008, 12:47) *
so your plumping for Yosser Hughes....excellent choice....best midfielder of the colour tv age and the stand out candidate.

I'm still horrified that's the short leet.
Gallacticos
Did anyone really want Alex McLeish when he took over? He did brilliantly despite only presiding over 7 games - 4 wins, which was good for us on that fixture list. Georgia was a blot though - and had us playing a relatively adventurous brand of football. However, when he first got it, I had TONS of reservations about his ability. McLeish has a habit of doing really well with teams he's inherited, when it comes to building his own...

Anyway, of that list, Mark McGhee for me. He's not afraid to play football with less talented players. But if I were the SFA I'd show some respect to Motherwell and give him the job part-time until the end of the season when he can take over.
Ron Burgundy
QUOTE (Hieronymous_Bosch @ Jan 14 2008, 12:46) *

in reality the candiate with the pedigree is McGhee....by far and away the most proficient and compelling manager around in scotland at the moment.....but it will be Pness laugh.gif laugh.gif
drs
SFA ask for permission to speak to people:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/i...als/7186059.stm
Lordofthewing
Newcastle have a penchant for shit managers, could they please take Davies? Hearts could possibly take Souness on as part of a new look management team, and Tommy Burns can stick to youth development, he should not be let near a managerial post ever again, due to the time he's been out of management.
MC Pee Pants
i hated the idea of walter smith when he took over. he turned out brilliant.

i really hated the idea of alex mcleish. he was even better than smith.

graeme souness fills me with absolute dread, ergo, i think he would win us the world cup.
Glasgowjag
QUOTE (Ron Burgundy @ Jan 14 2008, 14:54) *
in reality the candiate with the pedigree is McGhee

what? a pedigree of taking teams between the English league 2 and English League 1?

but lets not forget about his fast flowing expansive football at motherwell thats taken them to the dizzy heights of 3rd in the SPL dry.gif

I think that theres not much between McGhee, Burley and Davies, they are all decent candidates but to call McGhee the only candidate with pedigree when Souness has managed Liverpool, Rangers, Benfica, Galastasary, Newcastle, Blackburn etc... compared to McGhee who has managed the likes of Millwall, Brighton & Hove Albion, Wolves and Motherwell ect.... rolleyes.gif.

but dont let me get in the way of this lovefest for Mark McGhee that the scottish media seems to have

Ron Burgundy
QUOTE (Glasgowjag @ Jan 14 2008, 18:33) *
what? a pedigree of taking teams between the English league 2 and English League 1?

but lets not forget about his fast flowing expansive football at motherwell thats taken them to the dizzy heights of 3rd in the SPL dry.gif

I think that theres not much between McGhee, Burley and Davies, they are all decent candidates but to call McGhee the only candidate with pedigree when Souness has managed Liverpool, Rangers, Benfica, Galastasary, Newcastle, Blackburn etc... compared to McGhee who has managed the likes of Millwall, Brighton & Hove Albion, Wolves and Motherwell ect.... rolleyes.gif .

but dont let me get in the way of this lovefest for Mark McGhee that the scottish media seems to have

I have not, for many a year, heard a scottish manager come across with the gravitas he does. He sounds like he actually knows what is going on.....billy davies is the polar opposite.....I think mcghee has far too much to offer club football at the moment and would suffer from missing day to day football.
MC Pee Pants
mcghee, davis, and levein would use the scotland job as a springboard for a premiership job

burns would f**k things up worse than berti

souness is the only man for the job
Chris
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Jan 9 2008, 09:09) *

Edited to add:

Don't think it is as long as 12 years since Burns was in charge of Celtic, but in any case he was in charge of Scotland for the game against Sweden at Easter road which must have been 2003 or 2004. wink.gif
dave258
QUOTE (Chris @ Jan 14 2008, 18:51) *
Don't think it is as long as 12 years since Burns was in charge of Celtic, but in any case he was in charge of Scotland for the game against Sweden at Easter road which must have been 2003 or 2004. wink.gif

And the score in that game was...... 4-1 to Sweden dry.gif
Glasgowjag
QUOTE (Ron Burgundy @ Jan 14 2008, 18:39) *
I have not, for many a year, heard a scottish manager come across with the gravitas he does. He sounds like he actually knows what is going on.....billy davies is the polar opposite.....I think mcghee has far too much to offer club football at the moment and would suffer from missing day to day football.

he is touting himself around using his pals in the media, what did you think the his regular appearances on scotsport, the BBC and the radio are for?

he'll dump scotland as soon as a job becomes available in the premiership and besides he's not even got that great a record as a manager, if he was that good then why did he find it so hard to get a job in Scotland before the motherwell job came along?

how can you criticise Davies? his record in very good (and note that he took motherwell to the brink of european football) even though he has only been at a handful of clubs, McGhee has had a mixed managerial career spanning several clubs

and you just discount Burley? remember he brought Ipswich uefa cup football with a 5th place finish and i think most hearts fans will agree that it was him that brought Hearts champions league football

but of course neither of them have the "charisma" and "gravitas" of McGhee blink.gif

what a crock of shit
Robbo
QUOTE (Glasgowjag @ Jan 14 2008, 18:33) *

I think that theres not much between McGhee, Burley and Davies, they are all decent candidates but to call McGhee the only candidate with pedigree when Souness has managed Liverpool, Rangers, Benfica, Galastasary, Newcastle, Blackburn etc... compared to McGhee who has managed the likes of Millwall, Brighton & Hove Albion, Wolves and Motherwell ect.... rolleyes.gif.

Spot fekin on.
Ron Burgundy
QUOTE (Glasgowjag @ Jan 14 2008, 19:16) *
he is touting himself around using his pals in the media, what did you think the his regular appearances on scotsport, the BBC and the radio are for?

he'll dump scotland as soon as a job becomes available in the premiership and besides he's not even got that great a record as a manager, if he was that good then why did he find it so hard to get a job in Scotland before the motherwell job came along?

how can you criticise Davies? his record in very good (and note that he took motherwell to the brink of european football) even though he has only been at a handful of clubs, McGhee has had a mixed managerial career spanning several clubs

and you just discount Burley? remember he brought Ipswich uefa cup football with a 5th place finish and i think most hearts fans will agree that it was him that brought Hearts champions league football

but of course neither of them have the "charisma" and "gravitas" of McGhee blink.gif

what a crock of shit

if you read my posts I favour Pness but McGhee is the most articulate sensible football person I have heard in many a long year......he does not deal in footballisms and has even got mothersmell playing football.
Supras
Got to be Davies, second choice McGhee, Burley, Levien, Souness, me, Burns.
Talkin'Aboot
Souness would destroy everything that has been built up in the last couple of years. His attitude would get in the way, and most definitely cause friction in the dressing room. We have young players coming through, and he just can't deal with them properly.
Burns is a great coach, but he is no Scotland Manager. If Southampton are so keen to get rid of Burley, surely he isn't the man for the job?
That leaves McGhee and Davies. I'd settle for any of those two TBH
Glasgowjag
QUOTE (Talkin'Aboot @ Jan 14 2008, 20:59) *
Souness would destroy everything that has been built up in the last couple of years. His attitude would get in the way, and most definitely cause friction in the dressing room. We have young players coming through, and he just can't deal with them properly.
Burns is a great coach, but he is no Scotland Manager. If Southampton are so keen to get rid of Burley, surely he isn't the man for the job?
That leaves McGhee and Davies. I'd settle for any of those two TBH

who said Southhampton were desperate to get rid of Burley?

Burns is a great coach but is no scotland manager? thats just a statement with nothing to back it up, firstly id argue with the fact that Burns is a great coach laugh.gif

Souness's attitude would get in the way? maybe so but i personally i think he is a very big character and i think he would have the respect of a lot of the players including our captain Ferguson and he himself is probably the biggest character in that dressing room at the moment. He would have to go out of his way to screw that up
CC 33
Burley or McGhee for me.

Burley has done well pretty much everywhere he has been. Getting Ipswich promoted and finishing 5th in the prem first season is quite an achievement. He worked wonders with Hearts, and got Southampton into the play-offs twice before they had to sell all their players due to being skintypoo.

McGhee was excellent at both Wolves, Reading and Leicester. He has worked wonders with a limited squad at Motherwell. I certainly think his brand of football could suit us with Brown, Fletcher, Ferguson and McFadden in the squad.

Souness - Arsehole, he would disrupt the harmony in the squad. He's tactically pish as well. Fair enough he would get them up for it but nae thanks.

Burns - f**k OFF. Brutal manager everywhere he has been. Pish at Celtic, murder at Reading. Nae charisma, nae clue. People will say ' but he's been about the set-up for years', look how that panned out for McLaren and Engerland. Got us humped by Sweden as well in his only game in charge of the national team.

Davies - wouldn't be the worst appointment, but too early in his career if you ask me.

Glasgowjag
QUOTE (CC 33 @ Jan 14 2008, 22:09) *
McGhee was excellent at both Wolves, Reading and Leicester. He has worked wonders with a limited squad at Motherwell. I certainly think his brand of football could suit us with Brown, Fletcher, Ferguson and McFadden in the squad.

actually he got Leicester relegated from the premier albeit he took them over mid-season and then he left for wolves where in his first season they finished 20th (there lowest in a decade), they then went on to get to the play-offs the next season and the following season they were out of contention for even the play-offs so he was sacked, hardly excellent is it? but its that perception of him that people have that are misleading so many

worked wonders with motherwell? so far he has but even now its only 3rd place and only 3pts ahead of the likes of falkirk in seasons where the edinburgh clubs have sverely underperformed. I advise you look at the table and see that they are not streets ahead, wait till he goes through a sticky patch because his squad has been relatively free from injury this year.

Burns can get to f**k though laugh.gif