Full Version: Partick Thistle 1 Clyde 1
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Graeme P
Game of two halfs really. Arbuckle put us 1 up with a well taken finish, chipping the ball over hinchcliff. We then went on to creat many chances but couldnt put them in the back of the net ( story of the season) Imrie then gave away 1 of his many stupid free kicks which was poorly defended and thislte equalised.

Second half thistle were the better team but didnt create that many clear cut chances. What was chaplain sent off for? 2 booking?

Thought arbuckle had a better game and bestvina was also quite solid.
MTJ
Fair result. Clyde had the better until we scored against the run of play there on in we had the better. Don't think it was worth a yellow card that led to a red.

Need to start turning these draws into wins pronto.
Fast_Action
I thought that we were brilliant in the first half - it was a soft free kick that led to the goal, but Imrie will never be given the benefit of the doubt. I could see the equaliser coming. If we do not mark....

Second half, not such a good shift, and the team was crying out to be freshened up. Could not CH see that? And what difference would Roddy McLennan make with three minutes to go?

Thistle were but a shadow of the team that humped us earlier in the season. I would have settled for a draw before a ball was kicked. I left the game feeling that we chucked it away.
Jack Shit
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 2 2008, 17:51) *
I thought that we were brilliant in the first half - it was a soft free kick that led to the goal, but Imrie will never be given the benefit of the doubt. I could see the equaliser coming. If we do not mark....

Second half, not such a good shift, and the team was crying out to be freshened up. Could not CH see that? And what difference would Roddy McLennan make with three minutes to go?

Thistle were but a shadow of the team that humped us earlier in the season. I would have settled for a draw before a ball was kicked. I left the game feeling that we chucked it away.

Pretty much spot on about the game.

The vocal at the game was superb. But the Thistle fans were too quiet, only a couple of shitey efforts but nothing to write home about.

Hinchy got some amount of abuse - No wonder though, how fat is that c**t for a professional football player?
Fast_Action
Who was the ref?
Hebridean United
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 2 2008, 17:51) *
Second half, not such a good shift, and the team was crying out to be freshened up. Could not CH see that?

Who could he have brought on? Not one of these subs were ever going to be used unless one of the starting 11 broke both legs. In two places.

Mushroom
How exactly did the team line up, with 4 wingers, obviously 2 of them (one of them being Div McGowan I suspect) were being played out of position.

It seems like the same old story tbh, many chances, not enough taken. Still need a striker. That about right?
The Arch
Terrible game imo. Destined to be a draw from the minute Roberts scored

Clyde dominated even more in the first half, than we did in the second, but a draw was probably about right

Sick of drawing. I'd rather lose than draw at home at the moment. Just anything for a change in fortune, because we are dull at the moment
Nizzy
A fair result, given the pattern of play.

Clyde had us camped out in our own half for much of the first 45, with a Dougie Imrie cut back being blasted over and a header scooped over the bar before Arbuckle chipped Hinchcliffe who'd left his line before hesitating. Our equaliser was classic Mark Roberts. The ball was whipped in from the right-hand side, flicked on in the box, with Marko waiting at the back post to sidefoot it into the net.

The second 45 was mostly ours, but we failed to turn our pressure into anything resembling a decent chance. I've said it before, but these home draws are killing us. A few weeks ago we were talking about biting into the lead of the leading two. Tonight we're sitting 19 points behind Hamilton, 16 behind Dundee, four behind St Johnstone and two behind Dunfermline, of all teams. Add the fact that we're playing at McDiarmid at the weekend (Christ still walked the earth the last time we took even a point there) and you can bet you're bottom dollar that we'll find ourselves further adrift on Saturday evening.

It's worth pointing out that the treatment dished out to Dougie Imrie isn't reserved for games against Hamilton Accies. Two really poor challenges on him today from Chaplain (within the first 2 minutes - stupid boy) and Rowson, who I thought was lucky not to be booked. The Thistle fans also had a pop at him at any available opportunity. However, like Rae, Lennon and countless others before him, he seems to thrive on the attention.

In saying that, I'd like to see him concentrate on playing the game instead of trying to officiate it, and the way he jumps up and puffs out his chest after putting in a challenge is laughable.
MTJ
Imrie is a decent player, but he could start a fight in an empty house.
Nizzy
QUOTE (Tescojag @ Jan 2 2008, 20:25) *
Sick of drawing. I'd rather lose than draw at home at the moment. Just anything for a change in fortune, because we are dull at the moment

I wouldn't say we're dull. Fair enough, today's and Saturday's performance were far from sparkling, but we played some exciting attacking football against Morton, Dunfermline and St Johnstone. I'll take drawing at home over the poundings we found ourselves on the receiving end of under Campbell any day.

This is a season of transition, but there are already signs that McCall knows what he's doing. I'm as exasperated with the home draws as you are, but fairly happy, all things considered.
The Arch
I think Imrie's quite a good laugh really. The way he camply runs around the park, kicks the ball away when we have a free kick and runs away from the ref in a "chase me, chase me" kind of way

Also kept trying to kick our balls out of Firhill, the b*****d
Nizzy
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jan 2 2008, 20:28) *
Imrie is a decent player, but he could start a fight in an empty house.

He's a very good player at this level, imo. We didn't know what to do with him when he was on the ball bar foul him.
Nizzy
Oh, I meant to say, well done to everyone on an impeccably observed minutes silence. A truly poignant moment.
Fife Saint
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 21:07) *
Oh, I meant to say, well done to everyone on an impeccably observed minutes silence. A truly poignant moment.

We had an applause with both sets of supporters singing his name together. Good to hear the silence was uninterrupted.
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jan 2 2008, 21:11) *
We had an applause with both sets of supporters singing his name together. Good to hear the silence was uninterrupted.

As did we. Everyone at Almondvale joined in the applause- really nice to see.
ColinM
Did Dosser (McKeown) play for Thistle today and if so how did he play ?
Nizzy
QUOTE (ColinM @ Jan 2 2008, 22:40) *
Did Dosser (McKeown) play for Thistle today and if so how did he play ?

Went off injured after about 40 minutes. Doesn't look afraid to put his foot in and seems to play the quick simple pass, which is good to see. However, it looked at times asif the game was moving too fast for him. A wee bit concerned by that, but I'll reserve judgement until I've seen more of him.
Jack Shit
Are the students normally that quiet at firhell these days?
Nizzy
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jan 2 2008, 22:47) *

There was plenty of singing in Section 1. Didn't hear much from your lads after we equalised.
MTJ
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jan 2 2008, 22:47) *

Its not our big game, so I didn't expect it to be.
Jack Shit
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jan 2 2008, 22:48) *
Its not our big game, so I didn't expect it to be.

The singing from our end was superb today.

"YOU'RE ALL ON STUDENT LOANS!!"

Superb!
Nizzy
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jan 2 2008, 22:49) *

Superb!

You're quite simple, aren't you? I bet you nearly wet your pants with glee while the Clyde fans were singing about methadone and signing on.
MTJ
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jan 2 2008, 22:49) *

Superb!

All 12 of you.
Jack Shit
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 22:50) *
You're quite simple, aren't you? I bet you nearly wet your pants with glee while the Clyde fans were singing about methadone and signing on.

Glad you heard it laugh.gif. It was me who made up the Methadone chant at Morton earlier on this season. Seems to get sung by the others now. So I happily join in now laugh.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jan 2 2008, 22:52) *
It was me who made up the Methadone chant at Morton earlier on this season.

Fuck me, that must have taken shit loads of effort. An Ivor Novello is clearly on the cards.
maccanee
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 22:54) *
Fuck me, that must have taken shit loads of effort. An Ivor Novello is clearly on the cards.
Point of order, Ivor Novello awards ain't for chanting ph34r.gif
maccanee
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jan 2 2008, 22:51) *
All 12 of you.
12 more than you blink.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (maccanee @ Jan 2 2008, 23:06) *
Point of order, Ivor Novello awards ain't for chanting ph34r.gif

A bit more on the ball than your average Clyde fan, eh? Jesus.
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 23:09) *
A bit more on the ball than your average Clyde fan, eh?

You are doing it again.
Exuberant
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jan 2 2008, 22:51) *
All 12 of you.

They only slag students because they wish they were intelligent enough to be them, what with their combined mental age of twenty minutes.
Nizzy
QUOTE (maccanee @ Jan 2 2008, 23:08) *
12 more than you blink.gif

Aaaaaargh! Where's DavidW? FA? GarrowhillClyde? I came on for a sensible discussion about football, goddammit!
ColinM
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 22:44) *
Went off injured after about 40 minutes. Doesn't look afraid to put his foot in and seems to play the quick simple pass, which is good to see. However, it looked at times asif the game was moving too fast for him. A wee bit concerned by that, but I'll reserve judgement until I've seen more of him.

Cheers Nizzy if 1 thing can be said about McKeown its the fact that he will never shirk a tacle. Great for us this season and sad to see him go. Once he finds his feet in the division he will do a job for you and should be a good signing.

Ps Still don't rate your gaffer yucky.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 2 2008, 23:10) *
You are doing it again.

Come on to grips man, they deserve it.
Nizzy
QUOTE (ColinM @ Jan 2 2008, 23:11) *
Ps Still don't rate your gaffer yucky.gif

No? I thought he did a decent job at Airdrie given the resources.
ColinM
I he did, just can't stand the guy as a person. mad.gif
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 23:11) *
Aaaaaargh! Where's DavidW? FA? GarrowhillClyde?

GC was not there. I sent him a text calling him "a wee ginger ned", so that's him sorted! I will have words with him on Saturday at Dumfries, when he will travel down on a supportesr bus, arrive in Dumfries about 13:00hrs, and still manage to be late for the game.

But here is my starter for discussion - you are not as good as you were earlier in the season. Had we a decent striker, we could have the game won by half time having played you off the park. A well taken lob by Arbuckle, who probably surprised himself as much as he surprised the rest of us. (I so want to see him have a good game one of these days).

But if ever I saw a goal coming, it was your equaliser. A needless freekick (if soft) conceded by our Douglas, and all of us screaming for Mark Roberts to be marked.

I would have taken a draw before the game started, but the more I think about it, the more I feel that it was two points dropped.

And I will be honest, a took a wee trip onto the precious ptfc.net, and read some of the precious posts. I disagree with many of them. I thought it was quite an enjoyable game, with some frantic football being played by both sides.

The great plus, of course, is that I can leave the house after 2.30 and be home not too much after 5. So Firhill has its advantages.

And not that I imbibed, but I still rate Firhill as being up there as far as food is concerned - one of the best grounds in the league for a Pie and Bovril. wink.gif
RWB
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 23:11) *
Aaaaaargh! Where's DavidW? FA? GarrowhillClyde? I came on for a sensible discussion about football, goddammit!

Well that just shows how daft you are. tongue.gif

Would have commented but shirked yet another away game. Time I went to away games and threw the season book in the bin really. ph34r.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 2 2008, 23:19) *
And I will be honest, a took a wee trip onto the precious ptfc.net, and read some of the precious posts. I disagree with many of them. I thought it was quite an enjoyable game, with some frantic football being played by both sides.

Can't disagree with any of your post. We were extremely fortunate to be level going into the break. Can't say I was surprised by Arbuckle though, he must wish he could play against us every week.
FTOF_PTFC_1
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 21:07) *

Why, In moments like this do all the funny things you can think of come to your head huh.gif

Well done to everyone.
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 23:24) *
Aaaah, so you're ShawfieldLad.

Who? ShawfieldLad? I agree my kids think that I a dinosaur, but are you now in cahoots with them?

Though ShawfieldLad is a quality poster, whoever he is. ph34r.gif

Can't disagree with any of your post. We were extremely fortunate to be level going into the break. Can't say I was surprised by Arbuckle though, he must wish he could play against us every week.

I have long maintained that GA is a confidence player, and I would to see him succeed. He has shown some cracking pieces of skill, and today was up there with him. A top notch guy, and with a bit of encouragement, could be a good and effective striker. Sadly, I don't think that that will happen at Clyde, but someday I hope to read of him doing the business for someone.

So why are you going backwards now that you have St. Ian as your manager?
Nizzy
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 2 2008, 23:30) *
So why are you going backwards now that you have St. Ian as your manager?

Backwards? I disagree. I'd say that Clyde have improved considerably since the 4 nil game.
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 23:32) *
Backwards? I disagree. I'd say that Clyde have improved considerably since the 4 nil game.

It really depends on which way the wind is blowing. You should have seen us on Saturday against the Saintees.
Nizzy
We're capable of playing some cracking attacking football, as the games against Clyde, Livingstone, St Johnstone, Dunfermline and Morton at Firhill all prove. I thought Clyde played a fantastic pressing game today, forcing us to play a long ball game, which we've not seen much of this season. This cohesion and fight was certainly lacking in your team on your first visit to our beautiful abode. Add that to the flair and pace displayed by Imrie and McGowan (who I still think would be a fantastic signing) and you begin to resemble something like a decent side.

Oh, and anyone who says Clyde are a dirty team is talking out of their arse, on the evidence of the last three games. Niggly? Yes. Torn faced? Yes. Dirty? No.
Mon The Clyde
Thought we done well considering the players missing in midfield, stupid simple mistake at the back though cost us two points.

Pleased with the noise we made, getting behind the team. Hope we can do that every week!
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jan 2 2008, 23:46) *
Thought we done well considering the players missing in midfield, stupid simple mistake at the back though cost us two points.

Pleased with the noise we made, getting behind the team. Hope we can do that every week!

Why was Christian Smith sitting in the stand?
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 2 2008, 23:51) *
Why was Christian Smith sitting in the stand?

Injured I guess? unsure.gif
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 23:43) *
Oh, and anyone who says Clyde are a dirty team is talking out of their arse, on the evidence of the last three games. Niggly? Yes. Torn faced? Yes. Dirty? No.

How does our away support compare with others at Firhill?
Mushroom
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 23:32) *

Our backline that day was Andrew Traub, Craig Potter, Chris Higgins and Michael McGowan.

Traub is pish, Potter is mediocre, Higgins his awesome on his day but is a bit disorganised when Craig and Neilly aren't around, and McGowan is very attacking minded.

Also, the pitch was sponsered by Durex Lubricated Condoms that day.

I wouldn't look to much into that 4-0
FTOF_PTFC_1
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 2 2008, 23:55) *
How does our away support compare with others at Firhill?

Utter Shite cool.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.