The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Fast_Action
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Jan 3 2008, 00:02) *
Utter Shite cool.gif

Hamilton and the Saintees bring more?
sonofjenova
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 23:11) *
Aaaaaargh! Where's DavidW? FA? GarrowhillClyde? I came on for a sensible discussion about football, goddammit!

QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jan 2 2008, 22:52) *
Glad you heard it laugh.gif. It was me who made up the Methadone chant at Morton earlier on this season. Seems to get sung by the others now. So I happily join in now laugh.gif

QUOTE (partickfan @ Jan 2 2008, 23:11) *
They only slag students because they wish they were intelligent enough to be them, what with their combined mental age of twenty minutes.

Why the hell did you come on the First Division forum then? huh.gif
Sao Paulo
About a fair result I thought.

First half, Clyde dominate for the majority, taking the game to Thistle. Go ahead after much pressing through a well executed Arbuckle lob, de ja vous the 4-0 game last season. Virtually the same goal!

They say the time in a football match when you're most vulnerable is the period immediately after you take a lead, Thistle's equalizer certainly augmented this theory. Not too long after Clyde had went 1-0 up Thistle won a freekick some 25-30 yards out; a deep delivery found Mark Roberts all on his own at the back post & needless to say he didn't hesitate. 1-1.

Second half, Thistle back in the game, several incisive attacks not many clear cut chances though. Clyde pretty much the same but allowing Thistle onto them more, sitting deeper. Flat in comparison to the first half.

Clyde seemed without purpose in the 2nd, needing a 'lustre' injection.

Need players quick!

Good point though, all things considered. Thistle will be disappointed, they, like us, could be doing with turning draws into wins.
Virtual Insanity
The goal we scored also came off a Clyde head when it was swung in, couldn't see who it was from the other end of the pitch but he should have got more on it either to get it out for a corner or up the pitch. Thought a draw was about a fair result today, but we were totally bossed in the first half in a way that we didn't boss the second, although having said that Roberts missed the chance of the game from a Stevie Murray cross. No complaints about Chaplain's sending off, felt at the time the first might have been a little harsh but the second was stupid, the kind of tackle you can't make when on a booking.

Thought Dougie Imrie was the best player on the park by an incredible distance (Harkins and Chaplain getting passes for us) and if any of your players could connect with his corners you would have gone in at half time 3 or 4 up. The thing with Imrie is, he is a very good player at this level, but I feel the way he plays the game must have a negative effect on the team overall. He's not a thug, not going to go down that road again, but he is the most moaning faced wee b*****d I've ever laid eyes on. Now this isn't necessarily a bad thing if it drives him to play the way he did today (although I have no idea how he didn't pick up at least one yellow card), but so often his moaning and anger seemed to be directed towards his teammates, not sure how I would feel about his influence were he in a Thistle jersey. We really could do with a left wingback though. wink.gif

Thoughts?
vikingTON
When's this long foretold "hammering" Thistle are going to give some unfortunate team?
Can I book tickets for it or something because Halley's Comet is just so common in comparison... unsure.gif
sergie's no1 fan
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jan 2 2008, 22:47) *
Are the students normally that quiet at firhell these days?

I could hardly hear the clyde fans, well the ones that bothered to show up!

Worst game of football i have seen for a long time and thats bad coming from a stmirren fan ohmy.gif both teams seriously lacked quality and i dont think either will be challenging for the title anytime soon on that showing.

It didnt even feel like a derby game atall i'm quite let down, i thought after the 1st tackle went in and the thistle guy got booked for it i was in fear a meaty game but was left disapointed sad.gif

Clyde had the better of the 1st half and should of been 2 or 3 up but 2nd half Partick dominated without creating too much i'd say a draw was fairynuff.

Best players on the park were Archibald for thistle ( no5 ?) and Imrie for Clyde who is a wee shite but could maybe cut it at SPl level in a couple of years time.

superjagdave
Decent game yesterday, not made many this season but the improvement from Thistle since Campbell is day and night! Last season we would have crumbled and lost 3 or 4 early on in the game.

First 30 mins it was all clyde and we were lucky not to lose more than 1, but our goal seemed to knock clyde out of step. Second half i thought was excellent, pretty much end to end at time with no team taking their chances with final ball. Roberts had best chance but i think he saw the ball late! A draw was fair result.

Clyde are much better than 4-0 game but speaking to few clyde fans its a more settled defence and they were awsome yesterday. Imrie? Well the boys an arse, but he is a decent player! How he enver got booked is a joke and his moaning at EVERYONE! No wonder fans despise him!

Thistle looked ok, Chaplian is a good player and prob gutted at his sending off but he was too nieve, first tackle stupid and second tackle just annoyed at his poor first touch! Ref was right to send him off but was incosistent with his cards i thought! Especially when clyde boy kicked ball away near the end for the 1st time and got booked despite Imrie doing same act numerous times!

All in all a good game despite never really kicking off into a blood and guts style derby!
MTJ
QUOTE (sergie's no1 fan @ Jan 3 2008, 03:59) *
I could hardly hear the clyde fans, well the ones that bothered to show up!

Worst game of football i have seen for a long time and thats bad coming from a stmirren fan ohmy.gif both teams seriously lacked quality and i dont think either will be challenging for the title anytime soon on that showing.

It didnt even feel like a derby game atall i'm quite let down, i thought after the 1st tackle went in and the thistle guy got booked for it i was in fear a meaty game but was left disapointed sad.gif

Clyde had the better of the 1st half and should of been 2 or 3 up but 2nd half Partick dominated without creating too much i'd say a draw was fairynuff.

Best players on the park were Archibald for thistle ( no5 ?) and Imrie for Clyde who is a wee shite but could maybe cut it at SPl level in a couple of years time.

Archie was dreadful.
Nizzy
QUOTE (superjagdave @ Jan 3 2008, 15:23) *
Decent game yesterday, not made many this season but the improvement from Thistle since Campbell is day and night! Last season we would have crumbled and lost 3 or 4 early on in the game.

First 30 mins it was all clyde and we were lucky not to lose more than 1, but our goal seemed to knock clyde out of step. Second half i thought was excellent, pretty much end to end at time with no team taking their chances with final ball. Roberts had best chance but i think he saw the ball late! A draw was fair result.

Clyde are much better than 4-0 game but speaking to few clyde fans its a more settled defence and they were awsome yesterday. Imrie? Well the boys an arse, but he is a decent player! How he enver got booked is a joke and his moaning at EVERYONE! No wonder fans despise him!

Thistle looked ok, Chaplian is a good player and prob gutted at his sending off but he was too nieve, first tackle stupid and second tackle just annoyed at his poor first touch! Ref was right to send him off but was incosistent with his cards i thought! Especially when clyde boy kicked ball away near the end for the 1st time and got booked despite Imrie doing same act numerous times!

All in all a good game despite never really kicking off into a blood and guts style derby!

Cracking post Davie boy, you should do it more often. How's Aiberdeeeen?
Graeme P
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 2 2008, 23:55) *
How does our away support compare with others at Firhill?

was wondering tht to. Thught we brought a gd amount yesterday blink.gif
MTJ
It was about the same as last time, probably about 450ish.
Günther
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jan 3 2008, 16:28) *
It was about the same as last time, probably about 450ish.

We took 385 to Hamilton last week and it never looked to busy. But I thought yesterday it looked a bit busier. Probably more 550 - 600 my guess. Which is quite impressive for a small club with typical home attendances of 900 - 1100. And we've been shite this season tae! Quite a few faces missing just now
bullyweejoe
Enjoyable enough and fair result if there is such a thing in fitba.

Have tae say Thistle didnae look as good as earlier this season or indeed last season. No said to cause arguments, jist an observation.
Big Gray
pay a vistit to your sponsers. not as good as last season laugh.gif
Virtual Insanity
Simple fact is in the first half we looked more lost than I ever remember under Campbell. I'm not a Campbell defender and McCall is 10 times the manager, but I honestly don't remember seeing us ever pinned back in our own half so comprehensively from the kick off, think we had possession in the Clyde half about once in the first 20 minutes. Last game of the season being home for Christmas, but I seriously hope that was a one off. I would dearly love to have Mr Imrie at Firhill, whether he is the biggest arse in the division (amongst players anyway) or not.
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 2 2008, 23:11) *
Aaaaaargh! Where's DavidW? FA? GarrowhillClyde? I came on for a sensible discussion about football, goddammit!

Good God. Sensible. I really must try to be more of a cant to Thistle fans if I'm being named as sensible. sad.gif
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 2 2008, 23:19) *
GC was not there. I sent him a text calling him "a wee ginger ned", so that's him sorted! I will have words with him on Saturday at Dumfries, when he will travel down on a supportesr bus, arrive in Dumfries about 13:00hrs, and still manage to be late for the game.

Nonsense.

I can assure you I'll be there before 13:00hrs.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.