Full Version: St Johnstone 1-1 Dundee
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
SaintSam
A game in which both teams had chances. Dundee passed the ball a lot better than we did for long spells of the game. I think McInnes made a fundamental error in choosing to stick with his 4-3-3 formation. Dundee put in the best opposition performance of the season and with wide men as good as Gavin Sw**kie, a three man midfield was never going to work. I also thought McInnes' substitution of Liam Craig for a striker, effectively giving us a midfield of one youngster, one experienced but slow midfielder and one striker was barking mad.

In the end both teams had chances to score more goals but both teams only took one of those chances. Dundees a cracker coming from Kevin MacDonald and ours a tap in from Savo after a shot from McBreen bobbled through a group of players to Savo a few yards out. Samson could have arguably come out quicker but credit to Savo for finishing well. The bulk of the match was a dog eat dog midfield battle, and again McInnes' decision to play the midfield he played proved costly. A simple 4-4-2 would have been more effective.

A better point for us than for Dundee. I have to say, in the three times I've seen Dundee so far, they look like a better team than Hamilton.
Derry_boy
A point was fair id say , we scored a fine goal from Mcdonald who helped himself to his 9th of the season, Sw**kie had a good chance so did Lyle and Robertson and Palenik

we never reely looked a threat going forward apart from Mcdonald

im annoyed about a decision mid-way through the 1st half, Mchale swung in the corner and palenik challenged with Main who caught the ball and walked atleast a yard into his own goal

all in all a good point away from home
dee4life
Dont think we played well enough to win and a draw was a fair result both teams had chances to win it but never mind,happy enough with a point and also happy we dont have to go to perth again,tough place to win at.In fairness to the players it didn,t look the best conditions for football but at least I got a good pie and bovril at the game at decent prices something not available at dens.

Derry_boy
Also a good crowd there again, 6057

2500 atleats must of been from us
SaintSam
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jan 2 2008, 17:44) *
im annoyed about a decision mid-way through the 1st half, Mchale swung in the corner and palenik challenged with Main who caught the ball and walked atleast a yard into his own goal

I'm sure if the ball had then the Dundee players would have made something of it. From my point of view, the only people to grumble were Dundee fans. Main could clearly be seen holding the ball out infront of him so that it didn't cross the line, from where we were sitting.

QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jan 2 2008, 17:56) *
Also a good crowd there again, 6057

2500 atleats must of been from us

I think you brought slightly less this time than you did earlier in the season. There were gaps in both stands. Not large gaps, but still, I wouldn't be surprised if the figure was less than the 2,600 you brought for the previous match. No 3,000/3,500/4,000 as predicted. wink.gif
dee4life
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jan 2 2008, 18:01) *
I'm sure if the ball had then the Dundee players would have made something of it. From my point of view, the only people to grumble were Dundee fans. Main could clearly be seen holding the ball out infront of him so that it didn't cross the line, from where we were sitting.

I think you brought slightly less this time than you did earlier in the season. There were gaps in both stands. Not large gaps, but still, I wouldn't be surprised if the figure was less than the 2,600 you brought for the previous match. No 3,000/3,500/4,000 as predicted. wink.gif

Some saints fan on the we are perth sit said 1800 dundee fans and 4000 home fans,I think he has had to much bevvie at new year.No way we had under 2000 at the game,will be interested to see the official figures.
SJFC1988
Marc
St Johnstone bust my coupon sad.gif

P.S - McDonald scoring again!
Muggy
QUOTE (Marc @ Jan 2 2008, 18:13) *

I know, but it won't last forever: we need our strikers to start finding the net again.
Derry_boy
QUOTE (Marc @ Jan 2 2008, 18:13) *
St Johnstone bust my coupon sad.gif

Great finish Great player
Captain_Sensible
Its a shame that Derek McInnes has had to start his life as a manager with the mess that Owen Coyle left behind - particularly when you remember the amount of money that Coyle spent - and wasted.

I see that Burnley were humped again yesterday - their 6th successive game without a win. Owen Coyle has been found out to be the dreadful manager that I always said he was.
Billy Budd
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jan 2 2008, 18:29) *
A game in which both teams had chances. Dundee passed the ball a lot better than we did for long spells of the game. I think McInnes made a fundamental error in choosing to stick with his 4-3-3 formation. Dundee put in the best opposition performance of the season and with wide men as good as Gavin Sw**kie, a three man midfield was never going to work. I also thought McInnes' substitution of Liam Craig for a striker, effectively giving us a midfield of one youngster, one experienced but slow midfielder and one striker was barking mad.

In the end both teams had chances to score more goals but both teams only took one of those chances. Dundees a cracker coming from Kevin MacDonald and ours a tap in from Savo after a shot from McBreen bobbled through a group of players to Savo a few yards out. Samson could have arguably come out quicker but credit to Savo for finishing well. The bulk of the match was a dog eat dog midfield battle, and again McInnes' decision to play the midfield he played proved costly. A simple 4-4-2 would have been more effective.

A better point for us than for Dundee. I have to say, in the three times I've seen Dundee so far, they look like a better team than Hamilton.

Craig had been limping for a good while before he was subbed. I think the substitution shows the lack of depth in Saints midfield (ie we don't have anyone!!) more than any "barking mad-ness".
Derry_boy
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Jan 2 2008, 20:14) *
Its a shame that Derek McInnes has had to start his life as a manager with the mess that Owen Coyle left behind - particularly when you remember the amount of money that Coyle spent - and wasted.

I see that Burnley were humped again yesterday - their 6th successive game without a win. Owen Coyle has been found out to be the dreadful manager that I always said he was.

you been drinking ?
Captain_Sensible
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jan 2 2008, 20:18) *
you been drinking ?

Why is your user name named after a sectarian organisation which is infamous for triggering the modern day troubles in Northern Ireland?
Fife Saint
Poor poor quality of football on show from both outfits. Another draw, another ridiculous choice of formation but again good mental strength to come back from a goal down. What happened to Rutkiewicz for the Dundee goal. Did Kev "Moons back pocket" McDonald foul him or did big Rusty's dodgy knee give way and presented them with a goal?

Looked a foul from my totally impartial and unbiased viewpoint wink.gif
Derry_boy
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jan 2 2008, 20:21) *
Poor poor quality of football on show from both outfits. Another draw, another ridiculous choice of formation but again good mental strength to come back from a goal down. What happened to Rutkiewicz for the Dundee goal. Did Kev "Moons back pocket" McDonald foul him or did big Rusty's dodgy knee give way and presented them with a goal?

ill be honest and there wasn't alot in it, either Mcdonald was too strong or Rutkiewicz was looking for the free kick, thought mcDonald was good today and showed why so many top teams are chasin him. Stanic was excellent again
Derry_boy
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Jan 2 2008, 20:20) *
Why is your user name named after a sectarian organisation which is infamous for triggering the modern day troubles in Northern Ireland?

its not fud

its named after the old stand inside dens
alberto
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jan 2 2008, 20:27) *
its not fud

don't reply to that idiot, he's a total clown
Fife Saint
I was really chuffed with wee Kevin Moon when he came on. He was up against guys far more experienced than him and stood out.

Has to be said McDonald looked different gravy first half.

The chap who thought Main carried the ball "a yard over the goal line" had to have been sitting behind the goal. An excellent vantage point for goal line judgement.
Nizzy
its not fud

I believe the chant is easy, easy, easy.
Panmurefield Dee
QUOTE (alberto @ Jan 2 2008, 20:30) *
don't reply to that idiot, he's a total clown

Never a truer word spoken Alberto !!!!

Happy New Year to all P n B'rs rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

(with the exception of all who spout the "Dundee are sectarian" nonsense mad.gif
dee4life
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jan 2 2008, 20:21) *

Great goal by Mcdonald it was no foul but he probably wouldna have scored it though if Kev "no good enough to start" moon was on the pitch at the time. wink.gif
Derry_boy
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jan 2 2008, 20:30) *
I was really chuffed with wee Kevin Moon when he came on. He was up against guys far more experienced than him and stood out.

Has to be said McDonald looked different gravy first half.

The chap who thought Main carried the ball "a yard over the goal line" had to have been sitting behind the goal. An excellent vantage point for goal line judgement.

the ball certainly crossed the line pal wink.gif

McDonald plays the way he did today in every game , he must be the most consistent Dundee player ive seen
dazzle-dfc
1-0 up sat back and lost the lead terrible

someone needs to give Sw**kie a good hiding totall asshole

we could have won easily today

great goal from McDonald knew he was scoring the second he got the ball
SJFC1988
QUOTE (dee4life @ Jan 2 2008, 20:52) *
Great goal by Mcdonald it was no foul but he probably wouldna have scored it though if Kev "no good enough to start" moon was on the pitch at the time. wink.gif

huh.gif
Sir Calum Melville
A draw was a fair result.

Both halves had pretty much the same pattern - strong start by us, before we let Saints back into it. Difference with the second was (obviously) the goals.
Matty_True_Dee
QUOTE (SJFC1988 @ Jan 2 2008, 22:41) *
huh.gif

I was half expecting a whistle to go when Meelan put in the challenge but there didn't seem to be any complaints from the Saints players.

For what it's worth, Main carried the ball 4 yards over the line and there 8000 Dundee fans there.

Fair result though disagree with Sam that it's a better result for Saints than it is for us. Saints looked more likely to win it for much of the second half.
DeeJay35
Draw was a fair result IMO. I was in the main stand and I am almost 100% certain the ball wasnt over the line while Alan Main had the ball.

Sw**kie and Worrell really want to take a good look at themselves. Gavin must be the most inconsistent players I have ever seen and just doesnt look interested at times. Worrell cant cross a road never mind a ball. His passing is also shocking. I wouldnt mind a certain Mr Stanic playing at left back for us wink.gif He was best player for Saints today.
Matty_True_Dee
QUOTE (DeeJay35 @ Jan 2 2008, 23:03) *
I wouldnt mind a certain Mr Stanic playing at left back for us wink.gif He was best player for Saints today.

But then again, our best player was probably our left back so thanks but no thanks Mr Stanic.
Peter Henry Davidson
QUOTE (dazzle-dfc @ Jan 2 2008, 20:55) *
1-0 up sat back and lost the lead terrible

someone needs to give Sw**kie a good hiding totall asshole

we could have won easily today

great goal from McDonald knew he was scoring the second he got the ball

When Dundee went one up we were there for the taking and I was suprised at the attitude - playing for fouls and time wasting but I guess if the tables were turned we'd have done the same.

The McDonald goal was a good finish and he was a stand out today, but there was a clear foul in the built up which I believe would have prevented him from scoring.

All in all a poor game.
Peter Henry Davidson
QUOTE (Matty_True_Dee @ Jan 2 2008, 23:06) *
But then again, our best player was probably our left back so thanks but no thanks Mr Stanic.

Malone? I'd rather have Dixon and was suprised he didn't start.
Sir Calum Melville
QUOTE (DeeJay35 @ Jan 2 2008, 23:03) *
Draw was a fair result IMO. I was in the main stand and I am almost 100% certain the ball wasnt over the line while Alan Main had the ball.

Aye, but it's worth appealing for it laugh.gif
DeeJay35
QUOTE (Peter Henry Davidson @ Jan 2 2008, 23:10) *
Malone? I'd rather have Dixon and was suprised he didn't start.

Dixon was dropped weeks ago because of poor form. Malone has came in and generally done a good job. Hopefully when Malone goes back to St. Mirren, Dixon will have had the kick up the arse he has needed.

Yeah, but we dont have him much longer...
Fife Saint
Going by the photo the lad has taken his studs down his achilles which in my book is a foul. He then fell to the ground in agony while the Dundee players strolled onto it and then lashed it into the net. I was surprised i was the only one that was appealing for a foul round about where i sit!
Captain_Sensible
its not fud

Why do you have an old stand inside dens named after a sectarian organisation infamous for triggering the troubles in Northern Ireland?
Fife Saint
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Jan 3 2008, 00:07) *
Why do you have an old stand inside dens named after a sectarian organisation infamous for triggering the troubles in Northern Ireland?

This old chesnut. Why does your most famous supporter have an unhealthy obsession with all things hunnish? Ho ho ho...

PS. Not Santa.
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Jan 2 2008, 20:14) *

I have to say that against us, the Penny Daintees looked 100% better than they ever did under Coyle, better organised and better drilled.

QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Jan 2 2008, 20:20) *

Already two of us have become prisoners of conscience in the sinbin over this one. Rangers and Celtic fans can be bigots, and Airdrie fans can even be Nazis.

But there is something o so precious about our Tayside friends that allows this behaviour to be condoned.
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jan 2 2008, 23:58) *
Going by the photo the lad has taken his studs down his achilles which in my book is a foul. He then fell to the ground in agony while the Dundee players strolled onto it and then lashed it into the net. I was surprised i was the only one that was appealing for a foul round about where i sit!

Who is the dapper fellow in your avatar FS?
Fife Saint
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 3 2008, 00:18) *
Who is the dapper fellow in your avatar FS?

That sir is Quique Sanches Flores. Ex-Valencia manager who was unjustly removed from office a few months ago. I'm not changing my Av until he is rightly returned to the Mestalla hotseat where he belongs.
DeeJay35
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Jan 3 2008, 00:07) *

its not fud

why are you called sensible? cuz you abviously are not the amount of times you have asked this question.
Deeboy
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jan 3 2008, 00:21) *
That sir is Quique Sanches Flores. Ex-Valencia manager who was unjustly removed from office a few months ago. I'm not changing my Av until he is rightly returned to the Mestalla hotseat where he belongs.

laugh.gif ..oh and... laugh.gif
Fast_Action
QUOTE (DeeJay35 @ Jan 3 2008, 00:24) *
its not fud

why are you called sensible? cuz you abviously are not the amount of times you have asked this question.

Indeed he has asked this on several occasions. We live in hope that some day, he will get an answer.
DeeJay35
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 3 2008, 00:26) *
Indeed he has asked this on several occasions. We live in hope that some day, he will get an answer.

Seen you are suffering from senile dementia, I will give you a massive clue........Its in my post...
Deeboy
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 3 2008, 00:26) *

We ? Why do you care? 1.He's a St Mirren fan you are Clyde. 2.This is a thread about Dundee and St Johnstone not the Derry stand inside Dens.

I now concur that you are squating..i am serving you with a notice of 10 minutes to Get tae wink.gif
Fast_Action
QUOTE (DeeJay35 @ Jan 3 2008, 00:29) *
Seen you are suffering from senile dementia, I will give you a massive clue........Its in my post...

Don't think so. But as I have said in another post, you guys are so precious and the mods protect you. Some honest Dees have admitted the origins of that name - but along with Rangers and Celtic and Catholic Schools, you are allowed to get away with it.

I shall limit my posting on here to the discussion of football. I cannot condone your keeping alive a sectarian tradition, but it seems that many can. And I shall have to live with it, however vile it may be.
Deeboy
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jan 3 2008, 00:35) *
Don't think so. But as I have said in another post, you guys are so precious and the mods protect you. Some honest Dees have admitted the origins of that name - but along with Rangers and Celtic and Catholic Schools, you are allowed to get away with it.

I shall limit my posting on here to the discussion of football. I cannot condone your keeping alive a sectarian tradition, but it seems that many can. And I shall have to live with it, however vile it may be.

So you're spamming if you know the answer already yet keep asking .. ?

ohmy.gif
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Deeboy @ Jan 3 2008, 00:31) *
We ? Why do you care? 1.He's a St Mirren fan you are Clyde. 2.This is a thread about Dundee and St Johnstone not the Derry stand inside Dens.

I now concur that you are squating..i am serving you with a notice of 10 minutes to Get tae wink.gif

A fair post sir! You are indeed correct, and I shall respect that. The Coagie Derby is an important one - as important as the Luvvie Students and the Gypos. I would not welcome intrusion into that, and so I shall not intrude into yours. If you are allowed to keep a sectarian tradition alive, so be it, however immoral it may be.

I still tip you to win the league.

And I wish you and all decent Dees a happy New Year.
Deeboy
Happy New Year to you too smile.gif
Fife Saint

The likelihod of Mr Stanic appearing in the dark blue of Dundee is about as high as me being elected Lord Provost of Fairy land by their fine fairy electorate.
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Deeboy @ Jan 3 2008, 00:39) *
Happy New Year to you too smile.gif

Thank you sir. But there is one thing I must ask...

....have these farmers yet come to terms with electricity in the West End of the Coagie Triangle? wink.gif