Full Version: Cowden 1 Raith 4
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Steven
Sounds like the great unwashed were outplayed and we were well worth our victory biggrin.gif

Mon the Rovers cool.gif
CooCoothenoo
Both teams were pretty average, especially the defences. The turning point was at 1-1 when Scullion got himself stupidly sent off for simulating a headbutt. p***k. Up to that point it could have gone either way.
Monster
Templeton scored. I bet he was brilliant. sad.gif
Steven
QUOTE (Monster @ Jan 2 2008, 17:05) *
Templeton scored. I bet he was brilliant. sad.gif

Dosen't look like you need him judging by your score today blink.gif
The Blue Brasilion
What a performance from raith's new signing 'THE REFEREE'
Steven
QUOTE (CooCoothenoo @ Jan 2 2008, 17:00) *
Both teams were pretty average, especially the defences. The turning point was at 1-1 when Scullion got himself stupidly sent off for simulating a headbutt. p***k. Up to that point it could have gone either way.

Tough titties wink.gif

QUOTE (The Blue Brasilion @ Jan 2 2008, 17:23) *

laugh.gif rolleyes.gif
Bobby
Dont know what happened with the sending off but the ref gave more dodgy decisions in cowdungs favour.
Still GIRFUY
Michael W
I thought we were well worth the win today, Cowden never really had many chances and for me we were the better team, especially in the second half.

First half, We scored, hit the bar and templeton missed a good chance. Cowden scored with what may have been their first chance of the game. Unfortunately, Manson scored, something us Rovers fans just didn't see him do. After Cowden scored, I think the game got bogged down a little and was a midfield battle. Goodwillie came off for Hislop after half an hour so I'm assuming he was injured?

Second half we were much better although I will agree with the guy who said the red card was the turning point. After that we were the only team really in it. Hissy took his header well and Templeton fired in a cracking shot. I though Weir took his goal well too, but the Cowden defence really went to sleep for that one.

As far as performances go, I have to say I'm pleased with how most players played. Templeton looked like he has some ability and I was impressed with his performance. Wilson and Sloan were also outstanding and I though Winter played well too. Everyone else contributed well and Hissy was effective when he came on. I didn't think Weir played to well, although I'll give him credit for his goal.

Since we won, can I feel free to slag of Central Park without being accused of sour grapes?

A good win. Always great to put your rivals in their place biggrin.gif .
The Blue Brasilion
QUOTE (Bobby @ Jan 2 2008, 17:30) *
Dont know what happened with the sending off but the ref gave more dodgy decisions in cowdungs favour.
Still GIRFUY

What game were you at

Weir (my name doesn't sound lithuanian to be a jambo) pulled more shirts than a fairy and got away with it countless times

Your two centre defenders had about 30 fouls between them with not one booking or talking too

The sending off reflected the score line not the Rovers play or little descisions, dodgy or not that Cowden got.
Michael W
QUOTE (The Blue Brasilion @ Jan 2 2008, 17:23) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

LOLERSKATES

What a load of pish. Cowden were on the recieiving end of most the bad decisions. Please explain exactly where you feel there has been injustice from the referee.
Enigma
QUOTE (The Blue Brasilion @ Jan 2 2008, 17:35) *
What game were you at

Weir (my name doesn't sound lithuanian to be a jambo) pulled more shirts than a fairy and got away with it countless times

Your two centre defenders had about 30 fouls between them with not one booking or talking too

The sending off reflected the score line not the Rovers play or little descisions, dodgy or not that Cowden got.

Dry your eyes!
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (Steven @ Jan 2 2008, 16:55) *
Mon the Rovers cool.gif

You called? tongue.gif

Just wrote this on Fantalk, and laugh.gif at the bitter 'Blue Brasillian' guy.

We played fairly well today, my MOM would either be Craig Wilson or Stevie Hislop, who again played very well.

We started very brightly with Andy Tod hitting the bar before good play between Goodwillie and Templeton ended in a tap-in for Sloan. They hit us with a total sucker punch, although in fairness to Manson, it was a good header.

We responded with pretty much nothing aprt from Wilson forcing a save from the keeper and the second half started fairly poorly as well. The frustration in both sets of players was building before Scullion and Sloan had a wee scuffle. Sloan had his legs swiped from him, gave Scullion a wee nudge and they went head to head. They were pulled apart a wee bit before Scullion swung his head, and missed. A soft sending off but by the letter of the law he has to go. Bizarrely, Sloan was booked and Cowen got the free kick! blink.gif

After that it was one-way for the next 30 minutes or so, Hislop scored a great header after good work by Sloan before Templeton smashed in an excellent solo effort a minute later.

The game petered out a wee bit but with Cowden still in their own half and Weir turned his man and found the top corner late on. We had a few wee chances to make it 5 towards the end, but all in all a good performance although the sending-off certainly contributed to the final scoreline.

Standouts for me today were Sloan, Hislop and most notbly Wilson, but in fairness no-one really had a bad game.
Yoss
Do you think it was be possible to call them "Cowdenbeath" rather than "Cowdung"?

Just 'cause otherwise, y'know, it makes Rovers fans look like a bunch of fannies.
Steven
QUOTE (Mon the Rovers @ Jan 2 2008, 17:36) *
You called? tongue.gif

laugh.gif wink.gif

And I became an Uncle for the first time today so it's been a fantastic day all around cool.gif
The Blue Brasilion
You called? tongue.gif
good play between Goodwillie and Templeton ended in a tap-in for Sloan.

Goodwille put in a two footed takle on Gillfillan before the ball broke too Sloan, one of the many incidents the ref let away
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (The Blue Brasilion @ Jan 2 2008, 17:39) *
Goodwille put in a two footed takle on Gillfillan before the ball broke too Sloan, one of the many incidents the ref let away

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Keep it coming mate, I'm pissing myself laughing here... god, I thought our fans were bitter!

And congratulations Steven, the poor wee bugger doesn't know what he's in for laugh.gif
Michael W
QUOTE (The Blue Brasilion @ Jan 2 2008, 17:39) *

You found your dummy yet?
Only coo in the village
Pat Scullion sold the jerseys today and should be disciplined by the club. Until his sending off Cowden were the better team and were troubling Raith with our pace. After numpty Scullion got his jotters it became one way traffic and Rovers took full advantage and could have scored more. The Raith fans who booed Gilfillan when he was injured and had to go off were pathetic. Anyone could see that he was genuinely hurt and he is the last player who would feign injury. Thanks for all the cash though and for lowering your personal standards and joining us at the Thunderdome.

Bobby
What game were you at

Our two centre defenders "fouls" were for your players climbing all over them, weird weird refereeing decisions most of the time.
I agree about weir tugging shirts one or two times, but as i said, most of the decisions went in your favour.
The Blue Brasilion
QUOTE (Only coo in the village @ Jan 2 2008, 17:42) *
Pat Scullion sold the jerseys today and should be disciplined by the club.

Heard in the club bar that Alloa are interested in signing Scullion
Gifted the game to Raith today
Yoss
Ah, thank you Steven, you're not a bad lad.

Anyway, no question the sending off turned the game today. I thought we were edging it and like to think we'd have won anyway, but you couldn't honestly say there was a lot in it up to that point, but it was one-way traffic thereafter.
Mon the Rovers
Pat Scullion sold the jerseys today and should be disciplined by the club. Until his sending off Cowden were the better team and were troubling Raith with our pace.

Erm, I don't want to get into any silly little arguments, but where did you get that one from? blink.gif Cowden barely had a chance apart from the goal!

FWIW, I think the fans were booing the referee for giving a horrendous decision in Cowden's favour. Gilfillan jumped on Davidson's back and went over the top of him.
Yoss

He's right there, Weir is a cheaty wee shite that way, always on the ref's blind side.
Michael W
Pat Scullion sold the jerseys today and should be disciplined by the club. Until his sending off Cowden were the better team and were troubling Raith with our pace. After numpty Scullion got his jotters it became one way traffic and Rovers took full advantage and could have scored more. The Raith fans who booed Gilfillan when he was injured and had to go off were pathetic. Anyone could see that he was genuinely hurt and he is the last player who would feign injury. Thanks for all the cash though and for lowering your personal standards and joining us at the Thunderdome.

Most of us were actually shouting at the referee. Despite Gilfillan injuring himself (I think he's dislocated his shoulder) he put in a stupid challenge and we should have had a free kick.

As for your comments about Cowden being the better team - no chance.
renton
You called? tongue.gif

Just wrote this on Fantalk, and laugh.gif at the bitter 'Blue Brasillian' guy.

We played fairly well today, my MOM would either be Craig Wilson or Stevie Hislop, who again played very well.

We started very brightly with Andy Tod hitting the bar before good play between Goodwillie and Templeton ended in a tap-in for Sloan. They hit us with a total sucker punch, although in fairness to Manson, it was a good header.

We responded with pretty much nothing aprt from Wilson forcing a save from the keeper and the second half started fairly poorly as well. The frustration in both sets of players was building before Scullion and Sloan had a wee scuffle. Sloan had his legs swiped from him, gave Scullion a wee nudge and they went head to head. They were pulled apart a wee bit before Scullion swung his head, and missed. A soft sending off but by the letter of the law he has to go. Bizarrely, Sloan was booked and Cowen got the free kick! blink.gif

After that it was one-way for the next 30 minutes or so, Hislop scored a great header after good work by Sloan before Templeton smashed in an excellent solo effort a minute later.

The game petered out a wee bit but with Cowden still in their own half and Weir turned his man and found the top corner late on. We had a few wee chances to make it 5 towards the end, but all in all a good performance although the sending-off certainly contributed to the final scoreline.

Standouts for me today were Sloan, Hislop and most notbly Wilson, but in fairness no-one really had a bad game.

I'd agree with all of that, now that my hands have warmed up enough to allow typing.... I thought Cowden had a lot of the ball after they scored and could quite easily have gone 2-1 up but for some really poor decision making and shite finishing from the cowden frontline.

Cowden looked well up for it and I think that ultimately told against them with Scullion allowing his temper to get the better of him, you can't just attempt to stick the head in and expect to stay on the field...

For me the sucker punch was the third goal coming right on top of the second, at 2-1 their forwards could still cause problems, especially on the break and they could have sneaked back into the game but Tempelton's finish really took the wind out of them.

My stand outs were Hislop, Wilson and Sloan -I have a bit of hope for Templeton as well. Also, Cowden no10 (help me out here, I'm bad with opposition names) had a good busy game I thought
The Blue Brasilion
QUOTE (Mon the Rovers @ Jan 2 2008, 17:45) *
Erm, I don't want to get into any silly little arguments, but where did you get that one from? blink.gif Cowden barely had a chance apart from the goal!

FWIW, I think the fans were booing the referee for giving a horrendous decision in Cowden's favour. Gilfillan jumped on Davidson's back and went over the top of him.

It was even, result could have went either way, Raith were mediocre, not a top of table team by far

Sloan's two footed takle in centre of pitch, which the ref looked at let play on, hmm!!
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (The Blue Brasilion @ Jan 2 2008, 17:47) *
It was even, result could have went either way, Raith were mediocre, not a top of table team by far

Sloan's two footed takle in centre of pitch, which the ref looked at let play on, hmm!!

unsure.gif

You were at Centrl Park, yes?

And you'll find Raith ARE indeed a top of the table team, have a wee look at this

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/footbal...ble/default.stm
Michael W
QUOTE (The Blue Brasilion @ Jan 2 2008, 17:47) *

Wipe your mouth, your slavering. Perhaps if Cowden actually created some chances then I would agree with that, but Cowden deserved what they got - jack shit.
CowdenLoyal
Without doubt, the sending off really turned the game. I reckon 1-1 was a fair reflection...UNTIL that point, then as has been said, Raith were by far the better team. The ref was shite, but he was not by any means the reason we were gubbed today. Based on 2nd half performance, Raith will not be far away atall come the end of the season, albeit against 10 men for the majority. Templeton was also a standout.

That is all.
Only coo in the village
QUOTE (The Blue Brasilion @ Jan 2 2008, 17:44) *
Heard in the club bar that Alloa are interested in signing Scullion
Gifted the game to Raith today

Hope they are daft enough to take him. Apart from hitting a decent dead ball he aint that good.
The Blue Brasilion
QUOTE (MW RRFC @ Jan 2 2008, 17:50) *
Wipe your mouth, your slavering. Perhaps if Cowden actually created some chances then I would agree with that, but Cowden deserved what they got - jack shit.

C'mon

It was backs to wall after sending off

it was 50/50 up untill then
Could not see where 3 goals from raith were coming from before then
The Blue Brasilion
QUOTE (Only coo in the village @ Jan 2 2008, 17:51) *
Hope they are daft enough to take him. Apart from hitting a decent dead ball he aint that good.

I always thought that, way back when Mixu signed him, was a strange one
Dunc
I think Cowden looked more likely to score in the period between their goal, and the sending off.

Templeton looks like an excellent prospect, his goal was excellently taken.
rover75
QUOTE (CowdenLoyal @ Jan 2 2008, 17:51) *
Without doubt, the sending off really turned the game. I reckon 1-1 was a fair reflection...UNTIL that point, then as has been said, Raith were by far the better team. The ref was shite, but he was not by any means the reason we were gubbed today. Based on 2nd half performance, Raith will not be far away atall come the end of the season, albeit against 10 men for the majority. Templeton was also a standout.

That is all.

a sensible post from a cowden fan ohmy.gif
seriously you have hit the nail on the head with your conclusion of the game.....
FOR ALL THE REST OF THE COWDEN FAMILY......GET IT RIGHT UP YE!!!!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif
Kutski
Thank you for the annual drubbing, Cowden. Very enjoyable for £1! The cheeky little bint at the turnstiles couldn't count the fingers on her hand never mind the change that she owed me!! GET IT RIGHT UP YE, YA SCAMMING HOORS!!
Cowden til i die
Gillfilan was making an attempt to win the ball in the air and Hislop(or whoever it was) made no attempt to win it and just submarined him. Hislop knew exactly what he was doing, so how was that your foul? Some people are so naive and easily conned. We did OK up to the stupid sending off but we seem to be moulding into a 3rd divsion team. No fight, no flare no nothing. Raith are better than us and will finish 2nd behing Ross County
Michael W
QUOTE (The Blue Brasilion @ Jan 2 2008, 17:53) *
C'mon

It was backs to wall after sending off

it was 50/50 up untill then
Could not see where 3 goals from raith were coming from before then

Ok, maybe we didn't look potent, but Cowden didn't exactly look like they were going to score did they? I still think we were the better team and looked more likely to score than Cowden .
Michael W
QUOTE (Cowden til i die @ Jan 2 2008, 18:06) *
Gillfilan was making an attempt to win the ball in the air and Hislop(or whoever it was) made no attempt to win it and just submarined him.

How could Hissy/whoever it was, have made any attempt to win the ball whilist Gillfilan was climbing all over him? I hope he's alright, but it really was a stupid, stupid challenge from him in the 1st place.
Cowden Cowboy
Why a stay at homer like Steven feels the need to come on here is beyond me - the real fans were at the game son. Official Raith site has it right. Raith went through an awkward hour until Scullion was sent off. 1-1 was a fair reflection of play at that time and Cowden were on top at that stage after Rovers had a good start. Scullion incident won Rovers the game - couldn't actually see what happened although we got the foul thus guess it was retaliation. Once again appalled at Davidson's cynical play - got away with dreadful over the ball challenge to leave McQuade limping and got Gilfillan carried off by maiking a back for him - referee was spot on giving Cowden a foul in that incident.

It was Ramsay who scored for Cowden and he was the best player on the park until we had to change our shape due to being down to 10 men for last 40 minutes. He was rampaging down the flank and causing Rovers all sorts of problems. Brian Gilfillan was teaming up with him in great style. With our captain Mark Baxter already out injured we had Davie Armstong at right back. He was carried off on a stetcher in the 1st half. Then Gilfillan went to right back and he too was off in an ambulance before half time. Thus our 4th choice full back was then up against Templeton. It was only then that he showed up to any effect as far as I am concerned. Raith's defence is very slow and creaking and can't see them finishing ahead of Ross County or Airdrie. Pat Clarke would loved being up against them but again out injured. Liked Goodwillie up front and Hislop was very effective when he came on even Toorie wasn't bad. Thought Dempster looked OK for us at Centre forward but Manson didn't do much. Admired Dougie Hill who was another Cowden player limping badly by the end - charging up from centre half to get in the other box on a couple of occasions - never say die player even when we were dead and buried.

Well done to Raith for exploiting the 10 men so effectively but you're kidding yourself if you think it was superior play rather than the red card that won you that game. Strutting around against an injury hit 10 men side (with 2 key players carried off) for the last 25 minutes does not equate to anything other than a professional perfrormance with the man advantage.

By the way, nice minute's silence much more dignified than applause anytime.
bovril
was it not Ramsay who scored for cowden blink.gif

Gilfillan broke his collarbone ohmy.gif getting an operation tonight.
Cowden til i die
QUOTE (bovril @ Jan 2 2008, 18:13) *

Gilfillan broke his collarbone ohmy.gif getting an operation tonight.

Thats who i thought scored!! Not good to hear that but christ right back is a worry for us now
phil7
QUOTE (bovril @ Jan 2 2008, 18:13) *

Yeh If that was number 10 it definetly wasn't manson who scored
bovril
Manson looked out his depth today onthe park, dont want to judge him on 45 mins but must be better didnt seem like he had the heart
Dunc
When he was us, Manson did a lot of running, with not much end product.

I think he has enough skill in him to play at this level, but not quite enough desire, or ability to get that skill into his game.
dubs
PMSL at Cowdung
++Ammo - Airdrie++
no surprises at the result......c'beath are gash.
Cowden til i die
QUOTE (++Ammo - Airdrie++ @ Jan 2 2008, 20:24) *
no surprises at the result......c'beath are gash.

Sadly that is starting to become true. We are very poor. Night and day from the start of the season
DanElder l RRFC
i've only gone and videod all 3 of rovers last goals laugh.gif

and i also caught cowdens goal rolleyes.gif

just click on the link a couple of the vids are still being proccessed by youtube but the first two are up

Videos from the cowden game, ENJOY!!

feel free to leave comments if you have a youtube profile wink.gif

edited to add: fourth goal vid is live but not on my profile yet, heres the url...

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=_XGl4V-VnB4
staggy4life
raith only managed 4 goals today. poor show.
Martin Nelson
QUOTE (Cowden Cowboy @ Jan 2 2008, 18:13) *
Why a stay at homer like Steven feels the need to come on here is beyond me - the real fans were at the game son. Official Raith site has it right. Raith went through an awkward hour until Scullion was sent off. 1-1 was a fair reflection of play at that time and Cowden were on top at that stage after Rovers had a good start. Scullion incident won Rovers the game - couldn't actually see what happened although we got the foul thus guess it was retaliation. Once again appalled at Davidson's cynical play - got away with dreadful over the ball challenge to leave McQuade limping and got Gilfillan carried off by maiking a back for him - referee was spot on giving Cowden a foul in that incident.

It was Ramsay who scored for Cowden and he was the best player on the park until we had to change our shape due to being down to 10 men for last 40 minutes. He was rampaging down the flank and causing Rovers all sorts of problems. Brian Gilfillan was teaming up with him in great style. With our captain Mark Baxter already out injured we had Davie Armstong at right back. He was carried off on a stetcher in the 1st half. Then Gilfillan went to right back and he too was off in an ambulance before half time. Thus our 4th choice full back was then up against Templeton. It was only then that he showed up to any effect as far as I am concerned. Raith's defence is very slow and creaking and can't see them finishing ahead of Ross County or Airdrie. Pat Clarke would loved being up against them but again out injured. Liked Goodwillie up front and Hislop was very effective when he came on even Toorie wasn't bad. Thought Dempster looked OK for us at Centre forward but Manson didn't do much. Admired Dougie Hill who was another Cowden player limping badly by the end - charging up from centre half to get in the other box on a couple of occasions - never say die player even when we were dead and buried.

Well done to Raith for exploiting the 10 men so effectively but you're kidding yourself if you think it was superior play rather than the red card that won you that game. Strutting around against an injury hit 10 men side (with 2 key players carried off) for the last 25 minutes does not equate to anything other than a professional perfrormance with the man advantage.

By the way, nice minute's silence much more dignified than applause anytime.

That post pretty much sums up the game. as I saw it as well. Shame the Rovers fans outside the ground couldn't have kept quiet on their way into the ground. It's not as if the minutes silence was unexpected.