Full Version: Cowden 1 Raith 4
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Martin Nelson
QUOTE (Cowden til i die @ Jan 2 2008, 20:26) *
Sadly that is starting to become true. We are very poor. Night and day from the start of the season

Weir looks miles offfside for the 4th!
Mon the Rovers
Have to say I enjoyed Hislop leading the 'Easy! Easy!' again, that's twice now! laugh.gif
The Minertaur
Well that was a depressing last half hour - felt we were starting too play well and had a chance off at least taking a point from the game before Scullions red card (no idea what happened) but after that there was only going too be one winner sadly.

Felt Mark Ramsey was the best player on the park the first half and started the second half brightly until we had too change shape too accomodate the loss of Scullion.

The officials were very poor today especially the linesman in front of the Cowden fans on the terracing. He got about 75% off the throw-in decisions wrong and missed a couple of fouls by both sides.

All in all a depressing afternoon - with Gilfillan now out for a wee while as well as Davie Armstrong our team is looking very thin. sad.gif

Am I the only Cowden fan who thinks Kenny Adamson shouldnt be playing?? Granted he is left footed but he cant tackle at all. He is good going forward and if he could just be a bit better in the tackle he would be a fantastic player but currently I feel he is the weak link in our defence. I heard we were trying too sign McGroarty but that fell through and he is away too Stenny now. Need too try and strengthen in a lot of areas now sad.gif
Michael W
If Mark Ramsay was your number 10, then I think he played well today. He had Dingwall on the backfoot a few times.
CooCoothenoo
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Jan 2 2008, 22:53) *
Am I the only Cowden fan who thinks Kenny Adamson shouldnt be playing?? Granted he is left footed but he cant tackle at all. He is good going forward and if he could just be a bit better in the tackle he would be a fantastic player but currently I feel he is the weak link in our defence. I heard we were trying too sign McGroarty but that fell through and he is away too Stenny now. Need too try and strengthen in a lot of areas now sad.gif

I don't have a problem with Adamson. Thought Dougie Hill had a poor game today. Committed himself to a few challenges that he didn't win leaving him out of position and the rest of defence exposed. He just seemed to me to be a yard off the pace all game, which is a shame, because he's normally excellent.
BC USA
Thanks for the report on both Matches
The one the Rovers Fans were at and the one the Cowden Fans were at.
Steven
QUOTE (BC USA @ Jan 3 2008, 05:33) *
Thanks for the report on both Matches
The one the Rovers Fans were at and the one the Cowden Fans were at.

The truth is always somewhere in the middle but as we all know history is written by the victors wink.gif
Saor_Alba_1314
what a shit hole. A half hour queue to get in standing in a fucking quagmire. Missed the first goal. Couldn't get anything more than a juice and a wagon wheel from the so called pie stand. When are Cowden going to realise that when they play big teams they really should account for a bigger crowd? Well over 1000 Rovers fans (quiet compared to what we usually take through to the Kazhakhstani national stadium) and they have 2 fucking turnstiles open. Well organised as usual numpties. Anyway onto the game. Our defence was stretched a good few times when they had 11 on the park. Could have went either way. We were well worth our win in the end though. The numerical advantage helped though. Still. GIRFUY wee team.
Yoss
They don't have any more turnstyles do they?
It wasn't an especially impressive effort on the catering, and that was to their own cost - they could've made a lot more money on that with better organisation. But if that's the worst we've got to complain about then we've got it pretty easy.
rw89
Deserved to win overall. Typical rovers though, score an early goal then gift one back. All of our goals were good bits of play. After they went down to 10 men, it was easy to see we'd win. We played good flowing passing football switching between the wings and kept the ball on the deck. First time in ages where going into the last 10 minutes we haven't been caught on the break. Good to see the Cowden loyal leave again with half an hour to go...these being the same people who slagged Rovers fans for leaving 5 minutes early of course. laugh.gif Would also like to add to the comments of how poor their ground is, they only had 2 of 4 turnstiles open with 5 minutes to go, the catering was poor (out of clubs control though) and the ground itself is a shambles. Nonetheless, a good, deserved win for the Rovers.
jack_bauer
along with the goals i have the cowden player breaking his collerbone on video ph34r.gif im uploading it now along with andy tod hitting the bar, and their keeper making a great save early in the game, i'll post links when their up
MonTheRovers!!
How on earth did that lad breaking his collarbone result in their free kick!? He was climbing all over him.
rw89
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jan 3 2008, 10:10) *
How on earth did that lad breaking his collarbone result in their free kick!? He was climbing all over him.

Exactly.Shouldn't have gone in so rashly so he got what was coming to him.
CALDERON
I thought we were well worth our win in the end.

I thought we started excellently, then as usual let Cowden right back into it after we scored.

Personally, I thought that any chances Cowden had were down more to invidiual errors on our part than them creating chances, but ah well. Didnt really think Cowden created any real chances, whilst we missed 2 or 3 sitters in the first half.

I thought we started the second half poorly and while the sending off did help, i think we were starting to break Cowden down anyway and im still confident that we would have won without playing against 10 men.
Wildrover
QUOTE (Martin Nelson @ Jan 2 2008, 20:32) *
That post pretty much sums up the game. as I saw it as well. Shame the Rovers fans outside the ground couldn't have kept quiet on their way into the ground. It's not as if the minutes silence was unexpected.

Shut up you feckin idiot how were they supposed to know when it was on? mad.gif mad.gif
Steven
QUOTE (Wildrover @ Jan 3 2008, 11:59) *
Shut up you feckin idiot how were they supposed to know when it was on? mad.gif mad.gif

By the silence? shutup.gif
CALDERON
QUOTE (Wildrover @ Jan 3 2008, 11:59) *

I dont want to get involved at all, but it was obvious that there would be a minutes silence before the game, which would suggest that singing at 3pm outside the ground isnt a good idea.
kirkcaldybanjo111
QUOTE (Martin Nelson @ Jan 2 2008, 20:32) *
That post pretty much sums up the game. as I saw it as well. Shame the Rovers fans outside the ground couldn't have kept quiet on their way into the ground. It's not as if the minutes silence was unexpected.

gibber
CowdenPhil
Cowden were piss poor yesterday. We are now in a relegation fight and I hope that we can pull our fingers out soon.

Scullion what a fcking idiot, i thought we had a slight chance of holding on for the draw with 11 men on the park. Templeton was excellent yesterday, but what's happened to Carcary ?

Congrats to Raith and hope you all had a good night

Also did you get any pies ?

MarvMarvSuperMarv
The sending off did the cowden boy acually head butt?, i saw them go nose to nose but i was standing on a hill of stones a good bit away from the pitch dry.gif
Wildrover
QUOTE (Steven @ Jan 3 2008, 12:05) *
By the silence? shutup.gif

Another idiot, you are standing in a crowd of 3-400 all talking, trying to find out if the game is being delayed, why it's taking so long to get in etc etc, and you can hear a silence, sorry you'll have to do better, perhaps if you had been at the game you could have kept us right. rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Buck Tarbrush
QUOTE (Raithsaltire @ Jan 3 2008, 06:15) *
what a shit hole. A half hour queue to get in standing in a fucking quagmire. Missed the first goal. Couldn't get anything more than a juice and a wagon wheel from the so called pie stand. When are Cowden going to realise that when they play big teams they really should account for a bigger crowd? Well over 1000 Rovers fans (quiet compared to what we usually take through to the Kazhakhstani national stadium) and they have 2 fucking turnstiles open. Well organised as usual numpties. Anyway onto the game. Our defence was stretched a good few times when they had 11 on the park. Could have went either way. We were well worth our win in the end though. The numerical advantage helped though. Still. GIRFUY wee team.

Have to agree with you, wot a shithole.
The Blue Brasilion
QUOTE (MarvMarvSuperMarv @ Jan 3 2008, 12:30) *
The sending off did the cowden boy acually head butt?, i saw them go nose to nose but i was standing on a hill of stones a good bit away from the pitch dry.gif

What about Goodwille's headbutt on David Armstrong that took him out and allowed Raith to score, one of many fouls missed by the ref.

You have got a mediocre team i am afraid, if it wasnt for the sending off there was no way you were grabbing another three goals + you had to take out of the game 2 of our key players before you could win the match aswell, hardly anything to boast about.
Yoss
QUOTE (CowdenPhil @ Jan 3 2008, 12:24) *
Cowden were piss poor yesterday. We are now in a relegation fight and I hope that we can pull our fingers out soon.

Scullion what a fcking idiot, i thought we had a slight chance of holding on for the draw with 11 men on the park. Templeton was excellent yesterday, but what's happened to Carcary ?

Congrats to Raith and hope you all had a good night

Also did you get any pies ?

Good question. Anyone?

I got a pie, but then I was in the ground at half-two and queued for fifteen minutes for it. I think they ran out shortly after.

I'm sure both pairs of turnstyles were fully open at half-two, so if there were only two out the four open nearer kick-off then that's slightly surprising
No8.
QUOTE (MarvMarvSuperMarv @ Jan 3 2008, 12:30) *

He didn't actually head butt him..he pushed him away with his head if that makes sense...strictly speaking it was a Red but very soft..thought the Raith player(was it Sloan) was quite lucky not to walk after he initially put his head into Scullions face.
Yoss
And yeah, the Cowden fans are right that we don't look anything like a title-winning side just now. My only faint hope lies in the fact that no one else really does either - but I still expect us to finish in the play-offs.
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (The Blue Brasilion @ Jan 3 2008, 12:53) *
You have got a mediocre team i am afraid, if it wasnt for the sending off there was no way you were grabbing another three goals + you had to take out of the game 2 of our key players before you could win the match aswell, hardly anything to boast about.

I agree we do have a mediocre team, (due to a massive monthly mortgage, we cant afford great players), however I am happy at present being mediocre and top of the league.
Steven
QUOTE (Wildrover @ Jan 3 2008, 12:33) *
Another idiot, you are standing in a crowd of 3-400 all talking, trying to find out if the game is being delayed, why it's taking so long to get in etc etc, and you can hear a silence, sorry you'll have to do better, perhaps if you had been at the game you could have kept us right. rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

Mostly everybody knew there was a tribute at the start of the game and the fact that the ground was in silence around 15:00 should have been been enough for most I would have thought to realise that the tribute was going ahead unsure.gif

And yes the game should have been delayed but people should make their way earlier to the ground as well, everybody is well aware that the pub team only open two turnstyles for us despite our away support of over 1000 for these games rolleyes.gif

What about Goodwille's headbutt on David Armstrong that took him out and allowed Raith to score, one of many fouls missed by the ref.

Yeah you are right, hamering a pub team like Cowden is nothing to boast about wink.gif
MarvMarvSuperMarv
QUOTE (No8. @ Jan 3 2008, 12:57) *
He didn't actually head butt him..he pushed him away with his head if that makes sense...strictly speaking it was a Red but very soft..thought the Raith player(was it Sloan) was quite lucky not to walk after he initially put his head into Scullions face.

Good decision then? rolleyes.gif
centralparker
Thought the game was pretty even until the sending off, then Raith ran riot and fully deserved their victory.

BIGQ FAE KDY
I dont normally agree wi cowden fans but i do this time wink.gif
Qwerty
Agree with centralparker. Thought Mark Ramsay was the best player on the park for the first hour. Stupid sending off, though Sloan should have gone as well.
Templeton looked a class above the rest of the Raith players.
The sooner some of the Cowden players realise that they are in a relegation battle, the better.
cowdenbeath
QUOTE (centralparker @ Jan 3 2008, 13:14) *
Thought the game was pretty even until the sending off, then Raith ran riot and fully deserved their victory.

Sums it up for me.
cowdenbeath
QUOTE (Qwerty @ Jan 3 2008, 13:19) *
Agree with centralparker. Thought Mark Ramsay was the best player on the park for the first hour. Stupid sending off, though Sloan should have gone as well.
Templeton looked a class above the rest of the Raith players.
The sooner some of the Cowden players realise that they are in a relegation battle, the better.

Aye Scullion let us all down with that one, he was getting the foul so I don't know why he needed to lunge towards Sloan. Sheer stupidity.
Robbo
QUOTE (Steven @ Jan 3 2008, 13:02) *
Mostly everybody knew there was a tribute at the start of the game and the fact that the ground was in silence around 15:00 should have been been enough for most I would have thought to realise that the tribute was going ahead unsure.gif

Yes and No.Yes we were all aware there was going to be tribute before the start of the game but read wildrovers post and you`ll get the jist of why those outside the ground knew nothing about what was happening in the ground...I was under the impression it would be a minutes applause

And yes the game should have been delayed but people should make their way earlier to the ground as well, everybody is well aware that the pub team only open two turnstyles for us despite our away support of over 1000 for these games rolleyes.gif

Wrong,had no problems getting into the ground on previous occassions.Yesterday was outside the ground for 2-40pm and got into the ground at 3-10/15.Thought the turnstile operator had fallen asleep,if she vanished once because she run out of change she vanished 3 times.

Mon the Rovers

I realy, really don't want to get into petty arguments (you got humped- deal with it) but yesterday you claimed it was a two footed lunge which Goodwillie made. If your going to make up false claims in a desperate attempt to deny you were outplayed, at least be consistent eh?
cowdenbeath
QUOTE (Robbo @ Jan 3 2008, 14:08) *
Yes and No.Yes we were all aware there was going to be tribute before the start of the game but read wildrovers post and you`ll get the jist of why those outside the ground knew nothing about what was happening in the ground...I was under the impression it would be a minutes applause

Wrong,had no problems getting into the ground on previous occassions.Yesterday was outside the ground for 2-40pm and got into the ground at 3-10/15.Thought the turnstile operator had fallen asleep,if she vanished once because she run out of change she vanished 3 times.

Its up to the individual clubs to decide in the past we have always went with the minutes silence.
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (cowdenbeath @ Jan 3 2008, 14:17) *
Its up to the individual clubs to decide in the past we have always went with the minutes silence.

Which for this case, I agree with entirely.
Neilly
Nice to see wee Temps putting Cowden to the sword. He will shoot Raith to the title I would imagine class act is the wee man.

How did Dempster play?
booktape
QUOTE (Neilly @ Jan 3 2008, 14:37) *
Nice to see wee Temps putting Cowden to the sword. He will shoot Raith to the title I would imagine class act is the wee man.

How did Dempster play?

didn't seem to have great movment but tried hard. if he has an eye for goal which iam led to believe then he needs better service than he got yesterday
Double Jack D
Another exciting game involving the Rovers I thought. It may not be the best football we have played in my Rovers supporting life but the last few games I've been at have been excellent entertainment.

For this game I thought we started well and could've been 2 or 3 up by the time Cowden equalised. The rest of the first half I thought Cowden were slightly the better side without creating all that much. Cowden started the 2nd half the brighter, again without creating much, and I started to worry we were going to drop more points.

The game started to get a bit niggly and I felt that Cowden completely lost their discipline. Yes I think there were hard tackles going in from both sides, some fair some not, but for the boy Scullion to get himself sent off in the manner he did was pretty disgraceful and had he been a Rover I would've been fuming!

The next 10 minutes a combination of Cowden completely losing the plot and us upping a gear saw us totally take control of the game and in the end we could've won by a lot more than 4-1.

Whether or not the telling factor was Cowden going down to 10 men I still thought that as a team they completely lost all discipline in the second half. We, on the other hand, started to play some really good football and switching play to stretch the game. It was a great confidence booster for the game on Saturday.

During the minutes silence I have to admit I was embarassed by the Rovers fans singing. I know a lot of them were probably unaware of the silence taking place but to hear that awful SFA w**k w**k w**k song during the minute had me raging. I thought we let ourselves down a bit there, it wasn't a nice feeling. A lot of factors like the lack of turnstiles and running out of change etc meant they were still outside but I think a wee bit of humility and saying yip I had too much beer and never got there early enough wouldn't go amiss. Like I said, it wasn't my proudest moment as a Rovers fan!

For anyone that never got a pie, you never missed much puke.gif

CALDERON
QUOTE (Double Jack D @ Jan 3 2008, 15:50) *
During the minutes silence I have to admit I was embarassed by the Rovers fans singing. I know a lot of them were probably unaware of the silence taking place but to hear that awful SFA w**k w**k w**k song during the minute had me raging. I thought we let ourselves down a bit there, it wasn't a nice feeling. A lot of factors like the lack of turnstiles and running out of change etc meant they were still outside but I think a wee bit of humility and saying yip I had too much beer and never got there early enough wouldn't go amiss. Like I said, it wasn't my proudest moment as a Rovers fan!

Spot On.
Dunc
I was outside during the silence, right at the turnstile, and didn't know that it had begun until someone else told me. It was guys right at the back of the queue, at the top of the grass hill who were singing, and a few people, myself included, were trying to pass the message back but it was fairly useless.

I do think too much drink maybe got in the way of listening to other fans, though.
Robbo
During the minutes silence I have to admit I was embarassed by the Rovers fans singing. I know a lot of them were probably unaware of the silence taking place but to hear that awful SFA w**k w**k w**k song during the minute had me raging. I thought we let ourselves down a bit there, it wasn't a nice feeling.

I`m sure you were as all supporters were

but I think a wee bit of humility and saying yip I had too much beer and never got there early enough wouldn't go amiss.

Certainly not in my case just incase thats aimed at me.

The singing of SFA w**k w**k w**k was actually coming from some who were on the approach to the ground some way away/back from the intial queue`s.

At the end of the day i`m sure it wouldn`t have been too difficult to site a polisman(seemingly what the extra £2 is for) outside the ground and pass on info of what was actually going on to those supporters(and your not talking about 50 or so)outside ie the game will not be held up

Michael W

That seems fair. I'm glad everyone inside the ground observed the minutes silence respectfully. I also thought Cowden's PA man did a superb job with his choice of words before the minutes silence.
MonTheRovers!!
What did the PA lad say?
Double Jack D
QUOTE (Robbo @ Jan 3 2008, 16:19) *
Certainly not in my case just incase thats aimed at me.

It was aimed at the drunk sounding folk singing "SFA w**k w**k w**k" outside the ground during the minutes silence.

It didn't matter whose fault it was or whether people knew about it or not. For me standing inside the ground during a poignant silence for what was a tragic event to hear Rovers fans drunkenly singing one of their most pointless, ridiculous songs was embarrassing.

If it wasn't you it wasn't aimed at you, if it was.... then you embarrassed me and it was!

Michael W
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jan 3 2008, 16:41) *
What did the PA lad say?

I actually can't really remember, but at the time I remember saying to my brother that I thought he had said some really nice words.
Dunc
One other thing from the game... Dingwall's booking was ridiculous. I don't know what he thought he would achieve, he needs to cut that sort of nonsense out.

Hopefully its a one time thing though, haven't seen anything else of that sort from him.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.