Pages: 1, 2
Brummo
Emphatic?
Forest_Fifer
QUOTE (Brummo @ Jan 2 2008, 16:52) *
Emphatic?

Ever so slightly....
the_russian
Edinlichtie is picking bits of his broken bottle out of his arse.
SuperMoMan
Loved this game right from the start. The men came out wearing blue. The little girls came out in Portcullis pink.

It quickly became evident Santa did not bring the smokey keeper a pair of hands for Xmas. What a showing by the gimp. Possibly the worst display a keeper has ever made. I also loved smokey No 2 (not a euphamism for a shit)'s reaction for the third goal which was of Oscar winning standards but within munutes it was out performed by the keeper blaming the wall for the fourth goal.

No 14's whole performance must also go down in history as the worst substitution ever, If this guy is on a professional contract McGlashan will have been sacked by now.
ThirtySixNil
f**k off McGlashan enough is enough, Montrose didn't even have to play well to earn this result this was a fucking disgrace, the goalkeeping was a joke as was the whole performance just f**k off now you big nosed c**t.
the_russian
QUOTE (ThirtySixNil @ Jan 2 2008, 18:04) *
just f**k off now you big nosed c**t.

What have I done wrong?
Brummo
QUOTE (SuperMoMan @ Jan 2 2008, 17:57) *
Loved this game right from the start. The men came out wearing blue. The little girls came out in Portcullis pink.

It quickly became evident Santa did not bring the smokey keeper a pair of hands for Xmas. What a showing by the gimp. Possibly the worst display a keeper has ever made. I also loved smokey No 2 (not a euphamism for a shit)'s reaction for the third goal which was of Oscar winning standards but within munutes it was out performed by the keeper blaming the wall for the fourth goal.

No 14's whole performance must also go down in history as the worst substitution ever, If this guy is on a professional contract McGlashan will have been sacked by now.

Is this not a classic Montrosian response to his team's 5-0 victory? Slag off the smokies without mentioning your own team. Unbelievable!
tongue_tied_danny
Did we not beat them 5-0 on our way to promotion in 94/95?
OZMO
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeess
ssssssssssssssssssssssssssss biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
The American
Still not as good as a 7-0 victory cool.gif
RedintheBed
Well Done Coasters!

Still got a lot to prove for 2nd Division - see how your inland rivals are making fools of the so-called "big" teams"?
Tatty Boabie
QUOTE (The American @ Jan 2 2008, 20:16) *

7-0, Who did you beat 7-0. Oh shit. sad.gif
Tatty Boabie
QUOTE (The American @ Jan 2 2008, 20:16) *

And what happened the next time you played them. biggrin.gif
montrosefc
QUOTE (RedintheBed @ Jan 2 2008, 22:56) *
Well Done Coasters!

Still got a lot to prove for 2nd Division - see how your inland rivals are making fools of the so-called "big" teams"?

Erm...what about the bridie munchers?
weir the best
laugh.gif wight, ha ha ha
awsome just awsome
mcglashen your boys took a hell of a beating!!! rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
montrose-pbss
QUOTE (weir the best @ Jan 3 2008, 02:00) *
laugh.gif wight, ha ha ha
awsome just awsome
mcglashen your boys took a hell of a beating!!! rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

wighty the brechiner obviously prefers montrose to arbroath laugh.gif i did hope he would do us a wee favour today
tongue_tied_danny
Are the goals gonna be posted on Gable-Endies TV?
Captain Kerthorse
QUOTE (montrosefc @ Jan 2 2008, 23:19) *

leave us out of it tongue.gif
Lichtielegend
QUOTE (montrose-pbss @ Jan 3 2008, 02:05) *
wighty the brechiner obviously prefers montrose to arbroath laugh.gif i did hope he would do us a wee favour today

As I said in the other thread, I wouldn't be surprised if he was still pished from New Year.
Happy_Gilmore
Apart from the 1st and 2nd goals (which were gifts), the other goals were well taken. Arbroath ran out of ideas after 10 minutes. Long ball punts were all they could muster, awful.

Keith Gibson played well for Montrose today, was always available for a pass, took a great free kick for his goal and had immense work rate for a part-time player. MOM well deserved.
nofixedability
QUOTE (montrosefc @ Jan 2 2008, 23:19) *

Scores in last games versus 'yous two'?

Seriously well done Montrose, half time score being announced was the sole highlight of my footballing day. ph34r.gif
The American
QUOTE (Tatty Boabie @ Jan 2 2008, 23:06) *
And what happened the next time you played them. biggrin.gif

I refuse to comment laugh.gif ph34r.gif
C'Way The Mo
This was the perfect way to end Arbroath's unbeaten run against us. A (very) large Montrose support was inside the ground and the first goal was similar to the one scored by Les 'the legend' Barr all those years ago against Hibs.
Half time talk in the Dynamo End was of seven or eight nil but Weir had obviously tried to calm the players down a bit in case an early reply came.
C'Way The Mo
QUOTE (nofixedability @ Jan 3 2008, 01:38) *
Scores in last games versus 'yous two'?

Seriously well done Montrose, half time score being announced was the sole highlight of my footballing day. ph34r.gif

I know people who went to the Forfar match today (because of Craig Anderson) and they told me that a cheer went up when the half time score was announced.
montroseonthepiss
easy...easy...easy
BLADES MAN
Having just returned from an evening of quiet contemplation,with the aid of Mr. Jack Daniels, can I just say GIRFUY.
It's been a long, long time coming but it was worth every agonising second. We totally dominated the game from first to last. Not one failure in the side, Keith Gibson was just phenomenal, Woody and Bairdy ran the defence ragged, solid at the back, fantastic home support. Special mention must go to Craig"look no hands"Wight-comedy goalkeeping of the highest order. It was also very satisfying to see Raeside get hooked at half-time.
Wasn't all bad for the Smokies though, at least the Christmas lights were switched on for you to watch while you were on your bus waiting to take you home
SimonLichtie
Good to see the Montrose fans being so gracious in victory wink.gif

What an absolute shambles we were today, i've never felt so embarrassed and disgusted during and after a game in my entire life. Easily the lowest point i've ever expierenced following Arbroath.

I cant believe that same team lost 1-0 at home to Forfar a few weeks ago. Although im sure Mo fans cant believe we beat East Fife away only a few days ago!

Absolutely disgusted by the lack of motivation and commitment today, and I never want to see a performance like that for a long, long time.
SimonLichtie
Also - did anyone else think the ref was absolutely shocking today? Unbelievable that he didn't send off the Montrose player who he gave a foul (which in fairness to Montrose wasn't even a foul!) against when he was the last man by a good 3/4 yards.
montrosefc
QUOTE (SimonLichtie @ Jan 3 2008, 02:05) *
Also - did anyone else think the ref was absolutely shocking today? Unbelievable that he didn't send off the Montrose player who he gave a foul (which in fairness to Montrose wasn't even a foul!) against when he was the last man by a good 3/4 yards.

Well if it wasn't even a foul then I think it's pretty obvious why he didn't send him off!!! laugh.gif
Links_Park_Dynamo
Now that I am fully recovered after sinking more drink than an Ollie Reid session all I have is smiles.

As has been said thought Gibby was fantastic although there was no real failures in blue yesterday, as Blades Man says its been a long time and the result will set us up nicely for the trippy to Stranraer then East Fife at home.
Mel Hutchwright
QUOTE (C'Way The Mo @ Jan 3 2008, 00:46) *
Half time talk in the Dynamo End was of seven or eight nil

The half time talk in the Arbroath end was the same.
mon the mo
im still delighted!

We used the conditions well in the first half and dug in hard in the second. a solid performance indeed. Gibson was incredible, black was dangerous and woody (GREAT second goal for him) and bairdy were excellent.

i would disagree with those who said everyone on the park was excellent, have to say that dobbins shouldnt be playing in midfield and cumming shouldnt be playing full stop

all in all a great result and well done to the lads
Links_Park_Dynamo
QUOTE (mon the mo @ Jan 3 2008, 09:41) *
i would disagree with those who said everyone on the park was excellent, have to say that dobbins shouldnt be playing in midfield and cumming shouldnt be playing full stop

I normally would agree with you there but Dobbo put in a solid enough performace in the middle of the park. Cumming is a different story altogether I agree he shouldn't be at the club and did have a few bad passes yesterday but he did deal with things and put in a great cross for Black's goal.

Quick word about Kevin Webster though trying to spark and Arbroath comeback and was rank rotten am pretty sure he had tears in his eyes from the abuse he was taking. laugh.gif
mon the mo
dont get me wrong, dobbo was solid enough, he just looked rather uncomfortable and got himself into trouble on the ball a couple of times, he is far better in the back four. I think against the likes of east fife and stranrear he would really struggle in midfield.

cumming seemed to have a habit of battering it in the air (to nobody) in the second half

webby got some right good abuse, and he does have a history of greeting like a wee boy at matches wink.gif he was trying hard and to be fair he was the only threat from arbroath. it was great to see him fall on his arse too biggrin.gif
weir the best
laugh.gif webster was rotten like the rest o them glad we got rid, noone has mentioned how good ross gardiner was at centre back, with the loan boys away and scoobie injured it was no surprise to see dobs in midfield in there he gives us graft and dig,anyway 5-0 is 5-0 they were all awsome.

well done jim weir. rolleyes.gif
farflung lichtie
I knew something was wrong when with 10 minutes to go I was the last remaining Lichtie in the area opposite the stand which had been thronged with away fans earlier. But something was wrong from the start - it was the quietest away contingent to Montrose ever.

The record of 10 unbeaten against Montrose was a statistical probability too far and bound to end in tears.

Continuing recent aberrations I think 4 of the 5 goals were dire mistakes - consider them belated Xmas presents to our benighted neighbours. This keeps up our recent sequence of defensive collapses (5 at Albion 4 at home to Forfar and now another 5) Despite kneejerk calls for the manager's sacking, you can't legislate for pre-schoolboy errors as we witnessed this afternoon

Arbroath didn't really show up till after halftime. So Mo were not in my opinion that good ort as good as I've seen them - strange to say after 5.

I didn't understand about 80% of refereeing decisions though this had little bearing on the result.

The two Links Parks games are still the highest gates in the Division all season but segregation and maybe the weather meant the atmosphere was far less charged than when both supports stood next to each other with a barrier.

Well done Montrose. A bit like our win at New Bayview, it was a bit too easy for you

WEHATEMONTROSE
Well beaten by the better team,most of the montrose goals should have been easily stopped.1st goal what a bounce that ball got of the turf over Wight and the 2nd how Wight spilled that pass back shot only he will know.The 4th went right through the 4 man wall,which decided to fall apart as Gibson was hitting the shot.A sad day to be an Arbroath fan,with some of the fans calling for the managers head.

Was going to ask,how the montrose no.4 stayed on the park,with that last man foul.He never even got booked.In any other game that would have been a straight red.Don't think it would have made any difference as we were 3-0 down at the time.

A good crowd of 1400 with about 4-500 Arbroath fans,with about half of them away before half-time.
weir the best
tongue.gif i thinkyou will find the last man foul was not even a foul, the ref was awful to say the least, all these bookings and not a bad foul to be seen......your man brazil nearly lost the plot.......as usual.
by the way good ol mcglashen taking 3 indoors at half time then losing one to injury unable to use anyone else ......inspirational or what. biggrin.gif
SimonLichtie
QUOTE (montrosefc @ Jan 3 2008, 08:34) *
Well if it wasn't even a foul then I think it's pretty obvious why he didn't send him off!!! laugh.gif

blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

If a ref gives a free kick, he's giving it as a foul. If it was a foul, and the player is last man and deemed to foul the player running through on goal, it's a red card. Thats the basic rules of the game.....

What im saying is the ref was shite all round, and this is an example of it. It was either not a foul and the game obviously plays on, or a foul and a red card. There is no inbetween. Not that hard to understand....

QUOTE (mon the mo @ Jan 3 2008, 09:41) *
im still delighted!

We used the conditions well in the first half and dug in hard in the second. a solid performance indeed. Gibson was incredible, black was dangerous and woody (GREAT second goal for him) and bairdy were excellent.

Indeed, Montrose knew exactly how to use the wind, and how to play with it blowing accross the pitch, giving no team a real advantage. We seem to have a team with very low IQ's, and as usual they didn't have a clue how to deal with the conditions, time and time again playing the ball into the wind and looking bemused as it doesn't work out and the ball goes out of play/ 20 yards in the wrong direction.

QUOTE (weir the best @ Jan 3 2008, 12:07) *
tongue.gif i thinkyou will find the last man foul was not even a foul, the ref was awful to say the least, all these bookings and not a bad foul to be seen......your man brazil nearly lost the plot.......as usual.
by the way good ol mcglashen taking 3 indoors at half time then losing one to injury unable to use anyone else ......inspirational or what. biggrin.gif

Yeah, he booked 2/3 Montrose players for simple little 50/50 challenges, and seemed to want to blow up against any challenge made by an Arbroath player at points in the first half. Very, very poor.

Before some smart arsed tit comes on and says im blaming the ref for the score - I am certainly not. I'm just pointing out he was completely shite, but it makes no difference to the scoreline. Even if Montrose had been put down to 10 men like they should have for the last man challenge, we wouldn't have had a clue how to use this to our advantage. dry.gif dry.gif
endieinreekie
I would agree with the points made that the referee was very poor, dishing out cards like condoms at a student advice centre. There was hardly a really bad tackle in the game apart from the one by the Arbroath no 14 on Dobbins which looked thigh high, but he injured himself in the process so got his just reward.

We certainly used the wind to our advantage in the first half and shut up shop in the second. I thought Wood was once again man of the match, put in a great shift and lovely 2nd goal for him. Gibson also gets an honourable mention, not least for his goal and the 35 yarder that rattled the bar. I haven't seen Arbroath play that badly for a long time, and we didn't have to play well to beat them.

Strange atmosphere at the game, didn't seem like a normal derby match but after ending our poor run against our fishy neighbours it doesn't really matter.
farflung lichtie
QUOTE (RedintheBed @ Jan 2 2008, 22:56) *
your inland rivals are making fools of the so-called "big" teams"?

I think that's a type - it should read `inbred' rivals.

Nice to know the diddy teams subsidized on funny money share a common cause. Apart from interfering with livestock, obviously
jd_mo
Great result, though it must be noted how poor Arbroath were. Not to take away from our finishing the job off with some good goals though.

I'd agree the ref had some poor decisions for both teams, and it's almost a given nowadays that refs in these leagues just aren't that great.
While it was amusing to Webster fall over a few times in the 2nd half, he was by far the most energetic player Arbroath played and didn't get involved with all the pushing and shoving and just got on with his job (something he wasn't quite so good at doing for us).

While FIVE against the smokies is fantastic, i'm worried about going to Stranraer as there's no way they can play like Arbroath did.
When will Cumming get the boot?
Mo Wonderboy
Oh my, what a result!
Played brilliant from start to finish and never once seemed to be in any kind of difficulty. I've had my doubts about Wood this season but shows a determination and will to win that is infectious. Wonder how many of the crowd will make it down to the next few games.
Happy_Gilmore
QUOTE (jd_mo @ Jan 3 2008, 16:28) *
When will Cumming get the boot?

Are you referring to the Montrose rigth back? I thought he had a good game.
farflung lichtie
QUOTE (Mo Wonderboy @ Jan 3 2008, 22:55) *
Played brilliant from start to finish

What substances are you on? And can we have some. Any similarities between Arbroath and a football team were sadly mistaken not to mention the generous gift of at least four goals. You may care to reassess in the cold light of reality
Links_Park_Dynamo
It is true enough we didn't play well but we took our chances and thats what wins football matches.

Lets see what happens the morn against Stranraer if we can take 3 points and I don't see why we can't then it will set us up nicely for the rest of the season.
endieinreekie
QUOTE (farflung lichtie @ Jan 4 2008, 08:59) *
What substances are you on? And can we have some. Any similarities between Arbroath and a football team were sadly mistaken not to mention the generous gift of at least four goals. You may care to reassess in the cold light of reality

Would agree with that-we only won so handsomely because Arbroath were so sh*te. We played okay but the margin of victory was down to the incompetence on the day of the opposition.
weir the best
tongue.gif unbelievable, win 5-0 against the smokes and its only because the arbroath were pish, we can only beat what is put in front of us, who cares if they were pish, 5-0 is 5-0 is 5-0 !!!

come on the mo!!!!!
endieinreekie
QUOTE (weir the best @ Jan 4 2008, 12:23) *
tongue.gif unbelievable, win 5-0 against the smokes and its only because the arbroath were pish, we can only beat what is put in front of us, who cares if they were pish, 5-0 is 5-0 is 5-0 !!!

come on the mo!!!!!

Don't get me wrong, I am very happy that we pumped the Smokies. Arbroath were incredibly bad and we did take our chances, but I would suggest that a Montrose under-12s girls team would have destroyed the Smokies, because it's not that we played that well just that they were that bad.
SimonLichtie
Amazingly, I disagree with all this talk that Montrose didn't play THAT well! Thought they did exactly what they needed to do, and couldn't have gone about it any better! ohmy.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.