fitbin
Dec 31 2007, 12:17
According to a Raith fan, this is second top playing the league leaders, though I think he was looking at the league table upside down
Should be an interesting one anyhow. A home win would put Ayr alongside Brechin and Cowdenbeath, meaning a three way battle to avoid the play off spot. An away win would mean just three points between Ayr and Berwick with half the season to play for
This'll be our first game in the post-Swanson era (as his move to Dunde United will officially start at midnight). As the game is on the Second of January, will Ayr have used the time since the window opens to plunder the elite of European football to sign the promised talent to bolster their squad?
Ayr were the first point we got under Renwick - do we have a chance for our first away win?
Shibuya
Dec 31 2007, 13:28
You have a massive chance for your first away win.
It is also our best chance to win for the first time since October 27th - longer than even Kilmarnock's winless streak!

We will have Iain Anderson in the squad, im told its a done deal and we just need the clock to strike 12 tonight to make it official.
I really hope Reid pulls some magical full-backs from somewhere as ours are fucking terrible, to say the least.
A striker would be nice too. And a goalie.
I'd go
Stewart
Trialist Forrest Henderson Trialist
Baldacchino Stevenson Keenan Anderson
Williams Wardlaw
Monster
Dec 31 2007, 13:56
Anderson on one wing and a winger from the EssPeeEll on the other and fingers crossed there's enough there to let Williams start scoring again.
I have a feeling we might finally get a win.
Cliche Guevara
Dec 31 2007, 14:28
F*** Wardlaw!
Get another trialist in there, or SPL loan signing. Steven Lennon from Rangers please.
Shibuya
Dec 31 2007, 15:01
Acht, ok f**k him too!!
Monster is this SPL winger going to be here on Weds? Methinks not.
Steven
Dec 31 2007, 15:02
fitbin
Dec 31 2007, 15:11
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Dec 31 2007, 13:28)

You have a massive chance for your first away win.
It is also our best chance to win for the first time since October 27th - longer than even Kilmarnock's winless streak!

We will have Iain Anderson in the squad, im told its a done deal and we just need the clock to strike 12 tonight to make it official.
I really hope Reid pulls some magical full-backs from somewhere as ours are fucking terrible, to say the least.
I'd go
Stewart
Williams Wardlaw
QUOTE (Alun @ Dec 31 2007, 14:28)

F*** Wardlaw!
Get another trialist in there
How many members of the Trialist family are there?
I've been wondering about getting a name on the back of my Berwick shirt. Instead of my own name (boring) or a current player (who might well leave or turn pish), why not have "A Trialist" instead? He's a man of many clubs, admittedly, but has had some decent games for Berwick over the years
Cliche Guevara
Dec 31 2007, 15:16
How many members of the Trialist family are there
don't know but their first names all begin with A
I've been wondering about getting a name on the back of my Berwick shirt. Instead of my own name (boring) or a current player (who might well leave or turn pish), why not have "A Trialist" instead? He's a man of many clubs, admittedly, but has had some decent games for Berwick over the years

Was Monster not talking about Baldacchio?
Shibuya
Dec 31 2007, 15:47
No no...top secret SPL player leaked on P&B earlier this week.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Dec 31 2007, 15:59
Come on Berwick, stuff the basturts.
Monster
Dec 31 2007, 16:15
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Dec 31 2007, 15:59)

Come on Berwick, stuff the basturts.
early challenger to kilgour11 for the 2008 retard crown.
Shibuya
Dec 31 2007, 16:21
...and both Rovers fans...im flabbergasted!
Monster
Dec 31 2007, 16:27
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Dec 31 2007, 16:21)

...and both Rovers fans...im flabbergasted!
I know, quite beyond the realms of probability.....
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Dec 31 2007, 16:34
QUOTE (Monster @ Dec 31 2007, 16:27)

I know, quite beyond the realms of probability.....

Not that Ive anything against AUFC. I just wouldnt like their model fans Monster Alun Snape Ayrgurl and Shibuya to have an unhappy new year with nothing to moan about
Raving On
Dec 31 2007, 16:38
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Dec 31 2007, 13:28)

I'd go
Stewart
Williams Wardlaw
What's up with McGeown?
QUOTE (Raving On @ Dec 31 2007, 16:38)

What's up with McGeown?
I would like to know the same, seems like he has hit the OFF switch recently
Looking at our options I would gladly release all but Stevenson and Williams and start all over again .
I reckon another Ayr defeat
Shibuya
Dec 31 2007, 16:59
McGeown seems to enjoy abusing his team mates more than saving shots right now, so i'd give Fraser Stewart a shot.
Now we're not getting Templeton we may as well concentrate on not losing goals, rather than scoring!
gav-ffc
Dec 31 2007, 17:07
stewart murdoch has joined berwick from falkirk.
he is a midfielder and is only 17, been a stand-out ( just like mark staunton) in the under 19s and reserves.
Monster
Dec 31 2007, 17:11
Well, until I find out why we didn't sign him I don't know what's happened, but one thing is for sure - we have had it now.
Big bet on Berwick abounds.
davidkennedyshand
Dec 31 2007, 17:12
Berwick are 21/10 on Hills coupon.
Monster
Dec 31 2007, 17:14
QUOTE (davidkennedyshand @ Dec 31 2007, 17:12)

Berwick are 21/10 on Hills coupon.
Whit?!?!?!?!!?!
That's fantastic! At least I can make some money again, plus I won't now bother going to the game.
Small positives, but positives nonetheless.
Cliche Guevara
Dec 31 2007, 17:14
You are a c*** and I never want to speak to you again
Raving On
Dec 31 2007, 17:22
QUOTE (Monster @ Dec 31 2007, 17:14)

Whit?!?!?!?!!?!
That's fantastic! At least I can make some money again, plus I won't now bother going to the game.
Small positives, but positives nonetheless.

Surely Ayr can't be so bad to be a home banker to lose against a team without an away win all season? Surely!!
davidkennedyshand
Dec 31 2007, 17:23
Raving on..we have a squad who doesn't care.
I would actually wish career ending injuries on some after the stories i've heard coming out.
Severus Snape
Dec 31 2007, 17:26
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Dec 31 2007, 16:34)

Not that Ive anything against AUFC. I just wouldnt like their model fans Monster Alun Snape Ayrgurl and Shibuya to have an unhappy new year with nothing to moan about

Cheers son. How's life in Fife?
fitbin
Dec 31 2007, 17:28
QUOTE (gav-ffc @ Dec 31 2007, 17:07)

stewart murdoch has joined berwick from falkirk.
he is a midfielder and is only 17, been a stand-out ( just like mark staunton) in the under 19s and reserves.
Excellent news, Staunton has had two brilliant games for the club (which is more than some people have managed all season for us

), so if Murdoch is anything like as professional then we'll happily take him off your hands and give the lad some first team football for a while.
You don't have another spare centre half do you?
Steven
Dec 31 2007, 17:28
QUOTE (djn @ Dec 31 2007, 17:28)

You can have Lumsden from us
Monster
Dec 31 2007, 17:36
QUOTE (Raving On @ Dec 31 2007, 17:22)

Surely Ayr can't be so bad to be a home banker to lose against a team without an away win all season? Surely!!
Would you like a PM explaining? 21/10 is the bet of the day, ANYWHERE.
QUOTE (Severus Snape @ Dec 31 2007, 17:26)

Rife.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Dec 31 2007, 17:36
QUOTE (Severus Snape @ Dec 31 2007, 17:26)

Piss poor too, and the fitba's only marginally better
Severus Snape
Dec 31 2007, 17:37
Chin up lad, could be worse.
Could be watching football in Ayrshire.
gav-ffc
Dec 31 2007, 17:40
QUOTE (djn @ Dec 31 2007, 17:28)

brian alison but he is in the first team for now
fitbin
Dec 31 2007, 17:43
QUOTE (gav-ffc @ Dec 31 2007, 17:40)

brian alison but he is in the first team for now

Worth a try
Glad Yogi hasn't forgotton his old side anyhow...
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Dec 31 2007, 17:44
QUOTE (Severus Snape @ Dec 31 2007, 17:37)

Chin up lad, could be worse.
Could be watching football in Ayrshire.
Ayr will recover before too long. How can you play so well against Thistle and the Pars and struggle against Peterhead Cowdenbeath and Brechin? There must be more in the side than is being shown on the pitch.
davidkennedyshand
Dec 31 2007, 17:46
Some of the players tried when their pal Watt was there.
Now he's away they've all spat the dummy and only Murray Henderson actually bothers to turn up.The likes of Moore wont be in the team again.
fitbin
Dec 31 2007, 17:48
QUOTE (davidkennedyshand @ Dec 31 2007, 17:46)

The likes of Moore wont be in the team again.
That's a suprise to me, as he obviously did pretty well at Stranraer at this level. Reckon you'll be selling anyone in the "window"?
berwick-the-unbeatable
Dec 31 2007, 17:51
I love Falkirk, in fact they can be my 'diddy' bigger club

I reckon this is going to be as easy a chance we'll get all season. Ayr are on poor form, and we have came back off a good 2-1 victory and a nice 2nd half performance. Our fitness is great so I dont think the fact that it's midweek really matters to us, and if some of the rumors ive heard about signings are true, we could well finish 8+ like Renwick hopes, but lets just get to 9th and take it from there eh!
Looking forward to this now.
davidkennedyshand
Dec 31 2007, 17:55
QUOTE (djn @ Dec 31 2007, 17:48)

That's a suprise to me, as he obviously did pretty well at Stranraer at this level. Reckon you'll be selling anyone in the "window"?
Started well for us and i don't mean to be blunt but who the f**k would pay for our players?If anything we'll be releasing.In an ideal world we'd be sacking.
Reid said in the paper that he only wants committed players and Michael isn't one of them.
He'll either end up at Stranraer again or with the other Stranraer players at Irvine Meadow.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Dec 31 2007, 18:20
QUOTE (davidkennedyshand @ Dec 31 2007, 17:46)

Some of the players tried when their pal Watt was there.
Now he's away they've all spat the dummy and only Murray Henderson actually bothers to turn up.The likes of Moore wont be in the team again.
Sounds like the same situation that happened at Dunfermline.. players just went throught the motions and couldnt care.
gav-ffc
Dec 31 2007, 19:33
if i was the berwick manager i would get kevin moffat from us also
berwick-the-unbeatable
Dec 31 2007, 19:37
If yous are offering like...
Caledonian
Dec 31 2007, 19:55
QUOTE (djn @ Dec 31 2007, 17:48)

Not turning up for training was always going to hasten Michael Moore's departure.
Severus Snape
Jan 2 2008, 22:41
Berwick Rangers are the worst team I have seen visiting Somerset this season, not that United were exactly brilliant at times, but some improvement from when I last saw them (the Raith game) got the job done and Berwick were awful.
I thought David Dunn, by his standards, had a decent game and Dean Keenan looked like he actually cares.
Pit Bits Bits
Jan 2 2008, 22:50
Aye, it was a refreshingly good display today with not one player that can be faulted.
I've seen Dean Keenan in 2 of the 3 games he has played for us and have been impressed. He won the MOTM award today and even though I'd have plumped for Stevenson, Keenan have a very good game.
Admittedly, Berwick were awful but then Brechin fans were saying that about us at the weekend so we must be improving
g-force1967
Jan 2 2008, 22:57
Our defensive frailties are destroying our season. Every week its chop and change. Mostly through injury I might add. You cannot make the step up from the third and prosper unless you have a settled defence. The past 3 or 4 games we have looked like scoring for a change, but if you let in 44 in 19 games you will get absolutely nowhere.
I'm sure your season will pick up now and with Brechin beginning to play like they were expected to, our only hope is to catch Cowdenbeath or Queens Park. Queens will falter after Stark leaves, but they still have enough good players to keep them up. It's whether they can keep hold of them after the manager leaves. Our best hope now is the relegation play off spot. I wouldn't mind beating Stennie in that though.
marty_j
Jan 3 2008, 10:01
In the words of Private Fraser - 'We're doomed'
Severus Snape
Jan 3 2008, 10:16
QUOTE (marty_j @ Jan 3 2008, 10:01)

In the words of Private Fraser - 'We're doomed'
Aye, cheerio lad.
Shibuya
Jan 3 2008, 11:24
You lot are definitely doomed - I thought we were bad!
Complete disarray in the Berwick defence yesterday, that and the fact you have a really small gingery guy (for a centre half) going for headers against giants like Murray Henderson.
Can't wait to see Stevo's wonderstrike again! I feel empty when Ayr win, i've nothing to moan about!
garymcc1874
Jan 3 2008, 14:14
QUOTE (diege @ Dec 31 2007, 16:45)

Looking at our options I would gladly release all but Stevenson and Williams and start all over again .
According to someone on gm.org, Stevenson is on his way to Greenock shortly.
I understand you lot have been impressed by Keenan. Has he been playing in the centre of midfield? At least you lot appreciate what he does. Some Ton fans thought Keenan was only here for comedy value.
onegaryteale
Jan 3 2008, 14:36
QUOTE (garymcc1874 @ Jan 3 2008, 14:14)

According to someone on gm.org, Stevenson is on his way to Greenock shortly.
I understand you lot have been impressed by Keenan. Has he been playing in the centre of midfield? At least you lot appreciate what he does. Some Ton fans thought Keenan was only here for comedy value.
He was excellent yesterday, was unlucky not to cap his MoM performance with a goal. We've been crying out for a player like him, a real battler in the middle. Very impressed.
Severus Snape
Jan 3 2008, 14:50
keenan also cleared what could have been an OG off the line in a flash.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.