Full Version: Berwick 2-4 Airdrie
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Shielfielder
QUOTE (fatboy_kp @ Dec 30 2007, 20:17) *
As for slagging Airdrie fans the abuse we received in the terracing was shocking called "Scottish b*****ds" etc if this was the other way about we would have 5 pages on this board about it by now, but seeing as its berwick its alright.

QUOTE (ThisCharmingMan @ Dec 30 2007, 20:46) *
Aside from the Santa steward, there was nothing remarkable that happened outwith the actual game of football. (Aside from the chant of "can you hear the English sing". Even I, being English-origin, found that amusing.)

What do you expect Mr Fatboy - taunting us with the word English and then when you get a reply you spit the dummie. The pot calling the kettle I think. I get bored with the whole English/Scottish slagging anyway - what's it really matter? Do you think we've never heard it before? It normally takes on average four minutes after kick-off for the slagging to start or for someone starts singing "Flower of Scotland." We all wait on it - stop watches set; all in all utterly boring and repetative. Just cause you've crossed the border you think you've "invaded" England - back to the day's of the 13th century - grow up and put your toys away laddie wink.gifrolleyes.gif
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (Shielfielder @ Dec 31 2007, 00:34) *
What do you expect Mr Fatboy - taunting us with the word English and then when you get a reply you spit the dummie. The pot calling the kettle I think. I get bored with the whole English/Scottish slagging anyway - what's it really matter? Do you think we've never heard it before? It normally takes on average four minutes after kick-off for the slagging to start or for someone starts singing "Flower of Scotland." We all wait on it - stop watches set; all in all utterly boring and repetative. Just cause you've crossed the border you think you've "invaded" England - back to the day's of the 13th centuary - grow up and put your toys away laddie wink.gif rolleyes.gif

Aye, pretty pathetic. Ive been to three matches at Shielfield, two of them to see Rovers and both times our fans were full of haggis and neeps. The other time was a league game between berwick and brechin - I dont think there were any brechin fans there so at least they come out clean. I'd be pissed off from going to matches if i heard that shite every time i went. Some of these away 'supporters' should just stay at home with their skank hoors on a saturday.
mid-table
QUOTE (ThisCharmingMan @ Dec 30 2007, 20:46) *
Could you give examples of "w**kerish" treatment you recieved yesterday?

I never seen any trouble the whole match, infact the only Berwick fan I encountered asked me the scores in the table. I, of course, told him.

Aside from the Santa steward, there was nothing remarkable that happened outwith the actual game of football. (Aside from the chant of "can you hear the English sing". Even I, being English-origin, found that amusing.)

I absolutely agree, as mentioned twice in my original post, the vast majority of Airdrie United supporters I'm sure are excellent football fans, and I also made no mention to trouble, either inside or outside the ground.

I was referring to the 'supporters' who took all the trouble to travel to Berwick but not actually go to the game (the people that were bragging about hanging off the crossbar at Ayr in May 2002), as well as the few who felt it necessary to go against the segregation and stand in the ducket end.

I absolutely agree that these people are in the minority, however because of their nature they are the people that are most likely to get noticed by opposition supporters.
Evil Jim Fenner
QUOTE (mid-table @ Dec 31 2007, 02:44) *
as well as the few who felt it necessary to go against the segregation and stand in the ducket end.

I absolutely agree that these people are in the minority, however because of their nature they are the people that are most likely to get noticed by opposition supporters.

Why - what harm did they do apart from preferring to stand ? There was 9 of them ffs.
fatboy_kp
as well as the few who felt it necessary to go against the segregation and stand in the ducket end.

So where does the sign saying home fans only? I was one of the 9 fans inside the ducket mainly because its a better view, have bother with my back and sitting down on a bit of plastic covered in pigeon shite with no back support doesnt make for great days entertainment. So if segregation as such was in place why werent we asked to leave?? As for the racist abuse we received i think you'll find there was nothing about being english coming form us 9 when about 4 of them were members of a players family from newcastle. All in all though had a great day especially watching the masses getting upset when super kev gave them the old V sign while rubbing his head!! laugh.gif
Evil Jim Fenner
I was referring to the 'supporters' who took all the trouble to travel to Berwick but not actually go to the game

No wonder - have you seen that wee blonde barmaid in your social club ? Definitely worth avoiding the game for.
nick cash
so are you suggesting it's somewhat sinister to travel to Berwick, have a drink and a laugh with your mates, cause no trouble whatsoever then return home, as someone stated previously, shag 1 sheep
BerwickMad
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Dec 31 2007, 00:50) *
Aye, pretty pathetic. Ive been to three matches at Shielfield, two of them to see Rovers and both times our fans were full of haggis and neeps. The other time was a league game between berwick and brechin - I dont think there were any brechin fans there so at least they come out clean. I'd be pissed off from going to matches if i heard that shite every time i went. Some of these away 'supporters' should just stay at home with their skank hoors on a saturday.

It doesnt really bother most people, and usually gets an ironic cheer. It's funny though that the fans doing it actually think they are being clever and seem to find it funny. Im sure it's like the 'Calm Down' chants Liverpool and Everton fans get. Water off a ducks back.
BerwickMad
QUOTE (fatboy_kp @ Dec 31 2007, 11:15) *
So where does the sign saying home fans only? I was one of the 9 fans inside the ducket mainly because its a better view, have bother with my back and sitting down on a bit of plastic covered in pigeon shite with no back support doesnt make for great days entertainment. So if segregation as such was in place why werent we asked to leave?? As for the racist abuse we received i think you'll find there was nothing about being english coming form us 9 when about 4 of them were members of a players family from newcastle. All in all though had a great day especially watching the masses getting upset when super kev gave them the old V sign while rubbing his head!! laugh.gif

I was glad to see some away fans in the away Ducket. Its boring otherwise. However, if you shout geordie abuse at a bunch of 14-15 years olds you are obviously going to get the Scottish stuff back in this part of the world. Don't get too upset.
fatboy_kp
Not getting upset rather glad i did stand in the ducket was a throw back to the olden days, point i was making if it was us shouting english barrstewards this and that we'd be getting hammered on here. Even someone is complaining because a few fans never went to the game and stayed in the boozer. They wee boys at 14-15 were really bursting my tits though!! laugh.gif
berwick-the-unbeatable
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Dec 30 2007, 18:45) *
I've nothing against Berwick or their fans, and I realise how tight the purse strings are at these clubs, but they dont seem to care about their paying customers - ie away fans. We were treated like animals, caged away in the remotest part of the ground with a restricted view. Same thing Ive already encountered at the Recs and Central Park. We dont get treated like that when we go to the Angus clubs.

blink.gif Yes, im sure it was that bad, being locked up in a huge cage and being fed raw meat, getting laughed at and poked from all the spectators. crying.gifs

Get over yourself you stupid p***k.

QUOTE (BerwickMad @ Dec 30 2007, 19:03) *
Id much rather stand on a grass bank and piss in a whole than pay £16 to watch a game in a dull legoland stadium with no atmosphere.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
jester
As a footnote, (edit; this is not sour grapes) I am sure there are plenty of decent Airdrie United supporters, however why don't you make yourselves known to the opposition fans. Every Airdrie United 'supporter' I have ever met has been a complete w@nker. I know that those people are probably the minority, and they would need to be a good person for me to not despise them (anyone who knows me personally knows my feelings on Airdrie United), but as much as I want to like everyone, each time I come into contact with Airdrie United 'supporters', I feel like a little bit of my soul dies.

I took my wife and daughter down for the game. We like Berwick, so we had wander round, a bit of shopping and a couple of burgers. We got a taxi to the game, had a chat with the driver (a Newcastle fan) about how our teams are doing, and then the stewards let us in through the tunnel as we had a buggy with us. I didn't hear any anti-English abuse during the game, in fact my wife was having a chuckle at the abuse the ref was getting.
We quite enjoyed it, however as we had a train to catch we didn't have time to introduce ourselves. Please wear a badge next time bearing the words Friendly Unto Diamonds and we'll rectify the situation.
By the way-£1.60 for a deep fried remnant of a pie and nearly TWO QUID for a pepsi! You're having a laugh.
Pesadilla
QUOTE (mid-table @ Dec 30 2007, 01:14) *
As a footnote, (edit; this is not sour grapes) I am sure there are plenty of decent Airdrie United supporters, however why don't you make yourselves known to the opposition fans. Every Airdrie United 'supporter' I have ever met has been a complete w@nker. I know that those people are probably the minority, and they would need to be a good person for me to not despise them (anyone who knows me personally knows my feelings on Airdrie United), but as much as I want to like everyone, each time I come into contact with Airdrie United 'supporters', I feel like a little bit of my soul dies.

As mentioned above, I'm sure the majority of Airdrie United supporters are decent members of the community, however I've yet to meet any of you.

Mate, you are a tit.
Going to the football isn't a popularity contest and I feel absolutely no need to walk up to opposition fans and introduce myself like some pathetic Billy no mates.
A few Airdrie fans went into the away terracing (note the word "away") for a bit of banter. Got a bit of banter. Didn't intoduce themselves and went home. What the f**k is wrong with that?
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE (Pesadilla @ Jan 1 2008, 16:53) *
Mate, you are a tit.
Going to the football isn't a popularity contest and I feel absolutely no need to walk up to opposition fans and introduce myself like some pathetic Billy no mates.
A few Airdrie fans went into the away terracing (note the word "away") for a bit of banter. Got a bit of banter. Didn't intoduce themselves and went home. What the f**k is wrong with that?

Only one of you is a tit, and it's not him laugh.gif laugh.gif
Evil Jim Fenner
QUOTE (Centre Stand Hero @ Jan 1 2008, 17:52) *
Only one of you is a tit, and it's not him laugh.gif laugh.gif

yes it is.
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE (Evil Jim Fenner @ Jan 1 2008, 21:45) *
yes it is.

No it isn't
Evil Jim Fenner
QUOTE (Centre Stand Hero @ Jan 1 2008, 21:48) *
No it isn't

is is is is is is is is is is is is is is is is is.

Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE (Evil Jim Fenner @ Jan 1 2008, 21:56) *
is is is is is is is is is is is is is is is is is.

Not (no come backs!) tongue.gif
Evil Jim Fenner
QUOTE (Centre Stand Hero @ Jan 1 2008, 21:57) *
Not (no come backs!) tongue.gif

jobby touch
marty_j
QUOTE (BerwickMad @ Dec 30 2007, 11:58) *
I was meaning that me and George had been blasted for letting 'boardroom paranoia' spread to us when he dared to suggest Dundee United might have not wanted Danny to play in the few games he was missing.

I didn't intend to 'blast' you Brian, but I get the impression George's post was made when he was p-p kaka!

My intention was not to dare to mock you over the fact that the Arabs did not want Swanson to start, merely that Raith would be in cohorts with Levin like some sort of military planned operation. You have to admit the very idea of that happening does sound a little paranoid.

However i apologise, if I caused offence.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.