Full Version: Shire Vs. Montrose
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
Vintex
Expectin another fun game and Shires win. cool.gif
Gull
QUOTE (Vartex @ Dec 28 2007, 21:03) *
Expectin another fun game and Shires win. cool.gif
That would be fine. However there are 2 potential problems with that assesment, 1) our record against Montrose is pretty shocking, 2) our form is all over the place - a very good result and performance against Elgin was (apparently) followed by a total nightmare against Dumbarton.
Vintex
QUOTE (Gull @ Dec 28 2007, 22:38) *
That would be fine. However there are 2 potential problems with that assesment, 1) our record against Montrose is pretty shocking, 2) our form is all over the place - a very good result and performance against Elgin was (apparently) followed by a total nightmare against Dumbarton.
True, but that game against Dumbarton wasnt the best timin for us. After trashin Elgin.
Links_Park_Dynamo
Could be a intresting game. We've only lost 2 league games away from home all season and we have been scoring goals for fun in some games.

Think it will be tighter than it has been in the past but still a Montrose victory.
Alloa_Shire
I'll not be able to make the game tomorrow, so will just have to rely on Prso's updates and the internet, but i do think it'll be a tough game and i wouldn't put any money on a Shire win, although it is a game we can win.

Montrose games are always tough ones, lets hope it is more like Elgin than Albion Rovers or Dumbarton.

dubs
Away win.
Love_Machine
QUOTE (dubya @ Dec 28 2007, 23:50) *
Away win.

Pessimistic as ever. If we lose but beat Stenny, i'll be happy.

Honestly depends what kind of shire team turns up. Haven't seen much of a problem with Montrose this season and i doubt they will crash tomorrow, so let's see what kind of attitude our team takes in.
Fudge
Away win.

If we are to get 3 points from the next 2 games, I'd rather we beat Elgin and lost to Shire, as it would be better to take points off a team who actually have a chance of getting into the playoffs.
Alloa_Shire
QUOTE (Fudge @ Dec 29 2007, 08:17) *
Away win.

If we are to get 3 points from the next 2 games, I'd rather we beat Elgin and lost to Shire, as it would be better to take points off a team who actually have a chance of getting into the playoffs.

Although we beat Elgin 3-1 last Saturday and are currently above them in the league laugh.gif . Just you worry about yur own team eh.

PS-For the record i don't think The Shire will make the play offs, but Elgin won't ethier.
Lichtielegend
QUOTE (Fudge @ Dec 29 2007, 10:17) *
Away win.

Shire are far better than Elgin.
Love_Machine
For any montrose fans coming down late, unless the pitch is severly waterlogged, the game should be fine.

No frost or snow down here.

Wait.....we'll get the ref to check.
wellibob
also the fans bar inside the ground is closed today both before and after the match.
shire_mad
Well another shocking performance and we got exactly what we deserved. A lack of ambition resulting in a very negative 4-5-1 formation and the game was long finished before the ref decided to spice things up. No way Savage was a straight red card but could have been a second yellow. Referee went on a weird rampage where he booked anyone in a Shire top and then gave the most softest of penalties (which was missed) right at the end. I think I've seen maybe two decent referees this year. I know they are going to make mistakes but its the total lack of consistency that frustrates me.

That aside Montrose deserved the win. How people can continue to back GW I don't know. Excluding the penalty I don't think we had a shot on target. You can see the frustration of Savage which certainly contributed to the first yellow (The ref was hilarious for first yellow. Savage was trying to get into position for the throw in, was blocked and then booked!). I expect us to play 4-5-1 against Stenny with either Simpson or worse McBride playing the lone striker role. Comfortable home win.

The battle to avoid last spot is going to be a close one!
Vintex
Really disappointin to hear that, any hope things could improve?
shire_mad
QUOTE (Vartex @ Dec 29 2007, 17:54) *
Really disappointin to hear that, any hope things could improve?

Sack GW!
endieinreekie
Good performance from the lads today, good to see us back to the passing game. I thought we played some good football, but credit to the Shire, especially in the first half, they closed us down well and didn't allow us to make our decent football count. The referee had a few bizarre decisions, the booking for Savage was soft to say the least-didn't see the incident that led to his red card. Was amusing to see all the neds running along the terracing towards where the incident was taking place to berate the referee-as Archie MacPherson once said 'It's a cavalry charge'.

Some good clinical finishing on the whole from us, the Shire made it difficult for us but didn't create much in the way of chances, great save by Peat from the penalty at the end. I would say that Wood was probably Man of the Match with his tireless running and thoroughly deserved his goal.
Gull
Think its fair to say we were not at our best today but all due credit to Montrose who deserved the win. It was almost the dictionary definition of clinical today - we counted they made 4 decent chances and put 3 of them away, highly impressive strike ratio at this level. They have a very solid defence, an effective strike force and are wise in the ways of competitive football regarding refs - I think they are rightly in 2nd place and are my red hot tip for the playoffs.

As for us, its looking far too much like last season for my liking - good start, after the new year total nosedive. That had better not happen this season and I would expect the club to bring in one or two players to help steady the ship.
Prso
The ref today - Thomas Robertson - was absolutely terrible, numerous bizzare calls and a ridiculous tendency to side with anyone in Blue, but that is not to take anything away from Montrose who showed more ambition and attacking class than the Shire. Once they scored there was no way back and the sending off of Savage only compounded the misery. Can't believe Wylde stuck with his rigged 4-5-1 even after they went 2 down. Poor management.

The less said about the red card the better. Pathetic decision.
BLADES MAN
The proverbial game of two halves ! First half was total pish, apart from the pies-allegedly, I cannot partake as I am on a lifestyle change ( or diet as some would call it! )-no saves made by either 'keeper and no football on display.
In the second half Montrose were a different side, the early goal settled things the second followed fairly quickly which effectively killed the game. Savage deserved to go even if it was for his own stupidity, after being booked following repeated warnings from the referee he continued to mouth off at every opportunity. When he wrestled the Montrose player to the ground there was only ever going to be one result, although a straight red was ridiculous. At one point it looked like he was going to deck the ref and even his own team mates were giving him dogs abuse for his stupidity. Andy rogers scored a late goal, and it was good to see him on the scoresheet again, his appetite for the game seems to be fantastic at the moment.
One thing that disappointed me was when Shires No6 (Moffat?) went down after a 50/50 challenge and looked in extreme pain, Shire continued to play on and it was Keith Gibson who played the ball out. Moffat was then stretchered off, after a comedy of errors. I hope the injury is not too bad.
mic_17_uk
Due to a lack of tickets, I ended up at Firs park today. I have to say the first half was probably the worst half of football I have ever witnessed. I can confirm from that first half though that the pies were very good.

Second half was a bit better. I totally agree about the referee, he seemed to be very card happy in the shire players' directions. The booking of the wee number 7 in the centre of the pitch was ridiculous, a total nothing challenge and although from behind, there seemed to be no malice or even cynicism in it. I didnt see the incident with "Joe!" that got him sent off, but you got the feeling that he wasn't gonna last the game. Someone behind me commented that there was gonna be a sending off and soon after his beeking you knew it was gonna be him. Is it right that he's the shire's star performer this season? I thought he had a very poor game and the Ian Brown haircutted fella up front at the end was better.

From a Falkirk point of view, it was good to see Scott Gibb in proper action. He was pretty decent against mr step over and looked to be the best passer on the pitch (ie the only player in a shire top who could play a through ball and keep it on the pitch.

As for the penalty, I thought it was a stonewaller, but that might just be cos im not used to the robustness of the lower divisions. How the montrose player wasnt booked for flooring the wee winger at the end of the first half I don't know. Excellent save by the keeper though, you dont see many saved when hit high and down the middle.

Anyhoos, good luck to you for the rest of the season, It might be another long season if the Shire put in more performances like that.

Mike
endieinreekie
I hope the injured player wasn't too badly hurt, although the stretcher was in desperate need of first aid.
mo ultra
Im eager to know how steven thompson played the last time i saw him agaisnt stenny at home he was terrible
also will that be woodys last game now or have we got him on loan for another 6 months
rule on the inbreds on wednesday

mic_17_uk
Oh, I thought the montrose number 9 was just about MOTM
dubs
What a waste of money, going nowhere.
Neeps
QUOTE (mo ultra @ Dec 30 2007, 00:35) *
Im eager to know how steven thompson played the last time i saw him agaisnt stenny at home he was terrible
also will that be woodys last game now or have we got him on loan for another 6 months
rule on the inbreds on wednesday

The last I heard it had been agreed that Woody would be staying to the end of the season but the formalities had still to be completed. Hopefully they will be by Wed.

Have to say I haven't been impressed by Thomson this season but believe he had a good game at Dumbarton and JW decided to stick with him yesterday based on that performance. Was told that he did well again yesterday.

To give JW his due, if someone comes into the side in place of a regular and performs well, he does seem to stick with him and the regular has to win his place back - hence Dobs on the bench yesterday. Suspect (slightly worryingly based on early season performances) that the big man could start in midfield v Arbroath assuming Andreoni no longer with us and Scooby still injured.
endieinreekie
QUOTE (Neeps @ Dec 30 2007, 10:04) *
The last I heard it had been agreed that Woody would be staying to the end of the season but the formalities had still to be completed. Hopefully they will be by Wed.

Have to say I haven't been impressed by Thomson this season but believe he had a good game at Dumbarton and JW decided to stick with him yesterday based on that performance. Was told that he did well again yesterday.

To give JW his due, if someone comes into the side in place of a regular and performs well, he does seem to stick with him and the regular has to win his place back - hence Dobs on the bench yesterday. Suspect (slightly worryingly based on early season performances) that the big man could start in midfield v Arbroath assuming Andreoni no longer with us and Scooby still injured.

Thomson did play well yesterday. When Dobbins came on he went into central midfield and looked like a weak link, hope Weir doesn't play him there on Wednesday.
stimpy
Cheap drink beforehand, great pies during and a 3-0 scoreline, and the highlight of the day? Links Park Dynamo telling everyone that he had 3-1 at the bookies @14-1 when the Shire were awarded their pen and the eruption of laughter when Peat saved it!
Links_Park_Dynamo
QUOTE (Neeps @ Dec 30 2007, 10:04) *

Dobbins was saying befroehand he still wasn't 100% after illness but would be ready for the game against the scum (his words). Thomson did well yesterday putting in a fair few good tackles & breaking up what little East Striling offered going forward.

QUOTE (life's just beachy @ Dec 30 2007, 13:44) *
Cheap drink beforehand, great pies during and a 3-0 scoreline, and the highlight of the day? Links Park Dynamo telling everyone that he had 3-1 at the bookies @14-1 when the Shire were awarded their pen and the eruption of laughter when Peat saved it!

To compound the afternoon & keep the bookies smiling Man U scuppered my coupon for over a 100 notes aswell.
andyouare
crap ref, dont know where they picked him up from. I've never been so angry and swore so much at a game in my life. Montrose deserved that win by all accounts. Dont know what happened to our players we started off with this season, but I think they need to dig them out again.

must admit though, highlight of the game was the strecher, had us in stitches!!!! biggrin.gif
dubs
3rd bottom and once Dumbarton improve (which they surely will) and with Forfar picking up points, will another wooden spoon for the Shire spell the end for GW? Especially with the money paid to tempt some players into joining?

Big game on Wednesday now. Savage out is a huge blow as that was basicaly one goal to the Shire already.
wellibob
are we bothered Dubya?
we may get beat but we will still out drink you any day you pansies.
do the walk then talk the talk.
9pts clear yer having a laugh and were still not paying as much as you did when the bottle bank at north broomage social club was full every week.
Love_Machine
I'm resigned to 9th or bottom again.

Anything else is a fucking bonus at the moment.
stimpy
Have to say that defensively the Shire were the worst i've seen this season and the keeper didn't inspire confidence i know it's only one game but it doesn't look good.
As for Savage, if he was a Montrose player i'd be shouting for his head, he's scored a few goals this season but he was a sending off waiting to happen on Saturday and will now be missing for a couple of games which will be a big loss.
The other players reactions to the sending off said a lot, the fact that there wasn't one, apart from the No10 who spoke to Savage and he responded by jarring a finger in his direction and having a bit of a growl and a slaver before walking off.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.