Full Version: Thistle 1-1 Dunfermline
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
MTJ
Can't believe we didn't win this game. Gallagher played a blinder. Ref was a fucking cock as per, bottled out handing a red card when Buchanan was chopped down when about to go clear through on goal with the player having no intention of winning the ball, and gave Dunfermline a penalty when one of their players fell over ours. Let Dunfermline waste a lot of time in the second half and killed the tempo when we had them on the backfoot at the end. Absolutely sick to the teeth of the fucking clowns officiating games in the country.
The Minertaur
QUOTE (MTJ @ Dec 15 2007, 18:00) *
Absolutely sick to the teeth of the fucking clowns officiating games in the country.

We had a shite ref today - Alloa keeper jumps too collect high ball into an Alloa player and the ref gives them a free kick! :S

Well done Wee Liam - good too see one of the ex Cowden strikers making good use of theirselves!
The Arch
If we had snatched this I would have made a GIRUY topic for Mike McCurry and Paul Gallacher

Mike McCurry was terrible. Worst performance Iv seen in a while but Im not sure if that was just frustration from us at not destroying the Pars.

Paul Gallacher is by far the best keeper in this league. He makes a great save and pushes it out, Johnny Tuffey makes a great save and palms it in for them to score. This is more about Gallacher's constant timewasting though. Puts Bryn Halliwell in his Clyde days to shame. Walking past the ball when the ballboys give him the ball etc. Ridiculous stuff, which annoys me more than any foul would

We are completely dominating teams at home but haven't won since September. Someone is going to get an absolute doing soon. Hopefully Morton
vikingTON
QUOTE (Tescojag @ Dec 15 2007, 18:14) *
If we had snatched this I would have made a GIRUY topic for Mike McCurry and Paul Gallacher

Mike McCurry was terrible. Worst performance Iv seen in a while but Im not sure if that was just frustration from us at not destroying the Pars.

Paul Gallacher is by far the best keeper in this league. He makes a great save and pushes it out, Johnny Tuffey makes a great save and palms it in for them to score. This is more about Gallacher's constant timewasting though. Puts Bryn Halliwell in his Clyde days to shame. Walking past the ball when the ballboys give him the ball etc. Ridiculous stuff, which annoys me more than any foul would

We are completely dominating teams at home but haven't won since September. Someone is going to get an absolute doing soon. Hopefully Morton

We're going to get an absolute doing by some team soon... ph34r.gif
Nah, our away form isn't our problem. smile.gif
johnjag
If the Pars had some one other than Gallagher between the posts today it would have been a comfortable victory for Thistle, three of his saves in particular were fantastic. As for the penalty, it did look from my distant position as if a Dunfermline player tripped over a Thistle player who was lying on the ground but I'm sure, when they return home, the Pars will let us know what happened right under their noses.
Tuffey, in the Thistle goal, was called on to make one save this afternoon the rebound from which landed at the feet of Burchill who finished with a great strike but Thistle are at least showing the ability to come back into games after falling behind.
Making good progress under McCall I think.
Radford
This is more about Gallacher's constant timewasting though. Puts Bryn Halliwell in his Clyde days to shame. Walking past the ball when the ballboys give him the ball etc. Ridiculous stuff, which annoys me more than any foul would.

Clearly you don't remember what Tuffey was like a fortnight ago.
The Arch
QUOTE (Radford @ Dec 15 2007, 18:34) *

I clearly don't. He maybe did it a few times but he is not in Gallachers league in any sense
johnjag
QUOTE (Radford @ Dec 15 2007, 18:34) *

Here, Here!
Let those without sin......etc
Doink
Hows life in the wee leagues laugh.gif
johnjag
QUOTE (Doink @ Dec 15 2007, 18:39) *
Hows life in the wee leagues laugh.gif

You'll be back wink.gif
Exuberant
QUOTE (johnjag @ Dec 15 2007, 18:43) *
You'll be back wink.gif

I shouldn't think they'd be for a while, what with relative fodder St Mirren and Gretna at the top table wink.gif
johnjag
QUOTE (partickfan @ Dec 15 2007, 18:44) *
I shouldn't think they'd be for a while, what with relative fodder St Mirren and Gretna at the top table wink.gif

Still, only a matter of time.
kirkyblue2
Absolutely sick to the teeth of the fucking clowns officiating games in the country.

Agree 100% I mean one week the ball hits a player on the hand result penalty then the same thing happens against your lot and we get sod all,beggars belief.
Fast_Action
Mike McCurry was terrible.

If McCurry is not allowed to pander to his beloved Rangers, then he is like a fish out of water. He has no raison d'être.
MTJ
QUOTE (kirkyblue2 @ Dec 15 2007, 18:50) *
Agree 100% I mean one week the ball hits a player on the hand result penalty then the same thing happens against your lot and we get sod all,beggars belief.

I can think of at least 5 games where referees have cost us points or almost have due to horrible decisions.

We haven't had a penalty all season either.

Infact we have not had a penalty in the league since our 4-3 lost to Queens in January.
kirkyblue2
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Dec 15 2007, 18:50) *
He has no raison d'être.

Is that someone who shows you to your table?
Jim McL
Can't believe we didn't win this game. Gallagher played a blinder. Ref was a fucking cock as per, bottled out handing a red card when Buchanan was chopped down when about to go clear through on goal with the player having no intention of winning the ball, and gave Dunfermline a penalty when one of their players fell over ours. Let Dunfermline waste a lot of time in the second half and killed the tempo when we had them on the backfoot at the end. Absolutely sick to the teeth of the fucking clowns officiating games in the country.

The only good news is that the highlights must be on Crimewatch. Dunfermline complete robbery and McCurry for impersonating a ref. He looked uninterested ,as if the SFL is beneath him. Their number 6 basically reffed the game and McCurry gave everything they asked for.

The penalty was bizarre. Defender slides the ball off the line and the Dunfermline player falls over his leg.

If we'd won 4 or 5-1, then I genuinely think that would have been fair. Dunfermline fans may come on about the possession they had in the last 20 of the first half but they did hee haw with it.

In the second half they had ten men in their own box and were reduced to booting the ball into an empty stand! How low have they sunk?

However, their number 2 was a class act, who is he?
johnjag
QUOTE (Jim McL @ Dec 15 2007, 19:05) *
The only good news is that the highlights must be on Crimewatch. Dunfermline complete robbery and McCurry for impersonating a ref. He looked uninterested ,as if the SFL is beneath him. Their number 6 basically reffed the game and McCurry gave everything they asked for.

The penalty was bizarre. Defender slides the ball off the line and the Dunfermline player falls over his leg.

If we'd won 4 or 5-1, then I genuinely think that would have been fair. Dunfermline fans may come on about the possession they had in the last 20 of the first half but they did hee haw with it.

In the second half they had ten men in their own box and were reduced to booting the ball into an empty stand! How low have they sunk?

However, their number 2 was a class act, who is he?

Kevin Harper, ex Hibs (and Scotland if my memory serves me well).
itsmee
QUOTE (johnjag @ Dec 15 2007, 20:08) *
Kevin Harper, ex Hibs (and Scotland if my memory serves me well).

It was Kevin Harper.

No one has mentioned the PATHETIC number of Dunfermline fans at the
match, probably not even 150........what a joke
MTJ
QUOTE (itsmee @ Dec 15 2007, 20:49) *
It was Kevin Harper.

I wouldn't say it was that bad, but do guys like Burchill and Simmons deserve any support?
itsmee
QUOTE (MTJ @ Dec 15 2007, 20:50) *
I wouldn't say it was that bad, but do guys like Burchill and Simmons deserve any support?

I would say it was, anyone else count them ???
kpar
QUOTE (itsmee @ Dec 15 2007, 20:51) *
I would say it was, anyone else count them ???

Must have been some game if you resorted to counting the away support! All things considered, our support has held up reasonably well this season, and I really don't think you can blame anyone for giving today a miss.
PaleGreySky
QUOTE (kirkyblue2 @ Dec 15 2007, 18:50) *

bitter? last week it was clearly ball to hand. his hand was by his side. also, maybe if o'connor hadn't dived just before it the ref, and your lot went mental, the ref wouldn't have had an excuse. boy who cried wolf, and all that rolleyes.gif
Grant228
QUOTE (itsmee @ Dec 15 2007, 20:49) *
It was Kevin Harper.

sounds pretty much like the support you brought to eep then
our support today was pants for many reasons
1)christmas, you remember that spend time with your family etc?
2)were seond bottom of the league what did you expect?
3)you cant take the piss out of anyones support the one you brought to eep was crap and there is no excuse for that.
The Chef
Thistle should have won but their strikers didn't take their chances and Gallacher was in excellnt form.

We actually should have had the game out of sight with the penalty but unfortunately Glass slipped as he took it. People had a go at our artitficial pitch (rightly or wrongly) but the pitch at Firhill today was an absolute disgrace, possibly one of the worst ever, right up there with Fir Park.

I think the penalty should have been given as an indirect free kick as looked like an unintentional foul by the goalie from where I was sitting.

I thought there were around 300 Pars fans there today which is what I would have expected TBH. To counter the arguement of a poor away support, it was a very poor Thistle support, less than 2,000!

Anyway, I would have taken the draw before the game so was reasonably happy with the result although it probably papers over the cracks of just how pish we really are.

jaggielonia
A fair reflection on the game at the point in the game Dunfermline scored would have been Jags up by 2-0 I think. Up to that point Dunfermline offered vey little in terms of threat in the final third, although played some tidy stuff now and again. Tidy but completely inneffective would be how I'd sum up the pars. Then for a 10 minute spell after the goal they could have have swept Thistle away!!! I was in total shock at what was unfolding on the park. Then Thistle got back into it and I think we should have won the game.

All in all, encouraging signs for Thistle. IMO we should have ended up with 9 points out of 9 in our 3 most recent home games against Dundee, St Johnstone and Dunfermline. So there's something good happening at Firhill. I'm very hopeful now that Thistle can give our friends from Greenock a good gubbing. Bring them on!!!

For the Pars, as I said earlier some tidy football at times, but apart from that terrifying 10 minute spell in the second half totally useless in the final third, not to take anything away from the Thistle back-line that performed well for the most part. I would say that after watching the game today that maybe there is hope for Pars fans after all that when they are back at full-strength they can climb the table, because they didn't look like total garbage today, although having said that, they still didn't look as good to me as QoS and Stirling Albion have looked against us! So maybe they are fucked! (Stream of consciousness stuff I'm doing here, Jack Kerouac would be jealous).
Nizzy
Never mind John Yorkston's claim that Dunfermline should be beating teams like Stirling Albion and Hamilton Accies, on the evidence of yesterday's game we should be hammering teams like the Pars.

QUOTE (Grant228 @ Dec 15 2007, 23:15) *
our support today was pants for many reasons
1)christmas, you remember that spend time with your family etc?

Have I missed something? I thought today was 16 December? huh.gif

QUOTE (The Chef @ Dec 16 2007, 00:09) *
Thistle should have won but their strikers didn't take their chances and Gallacher was in excellnt form.

We actually should have had the game out of sight with the penalty but unfortunately Glass slipped as he took it.

People had a go at our artitficial pitch (rightly or wrongly) but the pitch at Firhill today was an absolute disgrace, possibly one of the worst ever, right up there with Fir Park.

I think the penalty should have been given as an indirect free kick as looked like an unintentional foul by the goalie from where I was sitting.

Re. our strikers, I think you could say that Chaplain should have done better with the shot he fired straight at the keeper, but other than that, Gallagher was outstanding. The save he made from McKinlay's header was world class and put me in mind of the Main save from Grady that Radford's posted in the past.

I don't think Glass slipped, he tried to chip the keeper and made an arse of it, simple as. As for the pitch, yes, it's basically a tottie field. I don't think you'll find many Thistle fans arguing with your assertion, but, as I said to the Saintees two weeks ago, we have to play on it too and it doesn't led itself to the kind of football we try to play so I don't think it's any excuse for your performance.

Sorry, but I had to laugh at your line about the penalty being an "unintentional foul by the goalie". If you'd said that Jim Hamilton threw himself over a prone Tuffey then you might have been closer to the truth.

These home draws are killing us, but I'm encouraged by what I'm seeing under McCall. Dunfermline and Saint Johnstone are teams who, on paper, should be murdering us, but we've made them look ordinary in the latest games against them. I just hope we can build from here and the fans will continue to support the man in charge.
Black and White Tragic
QUOTE (jaggielonia @ Dec 16 2007, 03:51) *
A fair reflection on the game at the point in the game Dunfermline scored would have been Jags up by 2-0 I think. Up to that point Dunfermline offered vey little in terms of threat in the final third, although played some tidy stuff now and again. Tidy but completely inneffective would be how I'd sum up the pars. Then for a 10 minute spell after the goal they could have have swept Thistle away!!! I was in total shock at what was unfolding on the park. Then Thistle got back into it and I think we should have won the game.

All in all, encouraging signs for Thistle. IMO we should have ended up with 9 points out of 9 in our 3 most recent home games against Dundee, St Johnstone and Dunfermline. So there's something good happening at Firhill. I'm very hopeful now that Thistle can give our friends from Greenock a good gubbing. Bring them on!!!

For the Pars, as I said earlier some tidy football at times, but apart from that terrifying 10 minute spell in the second half totally useless in the final third, not to take anything away from the Thistle back-line that performed well for the most part. I would say that after watching the game today that maybe there is hope for Pars fans after all that when they are back at full-strength they can climb the table, because they didn't look like total garbage today, although having said that, they still didn't look as good to me as QoS and Stirling Albion have looked against us! So maybe they are fucked! (Stream of consciousness stuff I'm doing here, Jack Kerouac would be jealous).

Did you hit the back of the net twice to make you 2-0 up? Thought not. Did your dad never tell you that it's goals that count, not balance of play?

Should've......would've........could've......

By your thought process we "could've" been 2-0 up had we not missed the pen, but we did and ended up letting in an equaliser. I'm over it, why aren't you?

Still think you are The Worst Team in the League™, any team that can't beat us at home in our current form must be......
Nizzy
QUOTE (Black and White Tragic @ Dec 16 2007, 11:55) *
Still think you are The Worst Team in the League™, any team that can't beat us at home in our current form must be......

Ignoring your own? I try to be balanced and objective, but Dunfermline are shite. Call me a hypocrite if you want, but your team's terrible.
Black and White Tragic
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Dec 16 2007, 12:03) *
Ignoring your own? I try to be balanced and objective, but Dunfermline are shite. Call me a hypocrite if you want, but your team's terrible.

No, not ignoring my own. How does 4 points out of six compare to your one.

I rest my case.
Nizzy
QUOTE (Black and White Tragic @ Dec 16 2007, 12:07) *
No, not ignoring my own. How does 4 points out of six compare to your one.

I rest my case.

Ok, we might have been the worst team you've seen (although I'd find that hard to believe given some of the football we played yesterday), but we're clearly not The Worst Team in the League. Poorest Finishers in the League, maybe, but you could easily lay claim to having The Best Goalkeeper in the League. wink.gif
Black and White Tragic
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Dec 16 2007, 12:13) *
Ok, we might have been the worst team you've seen (although I'd find that hard to believe given some of the football we played yesterday), but we're clearly not The Worst Team in the League. Poorest Finishers in the League, maybe, but you could easily lay claim to having The Best Goalkeeper in the League. wink.gif

....just unfortunate we don't own him.
Nizzy
QUOTE (Black and White Tragic @ Dec 16 2007, 12:22) *
....just unfortunate we don't own him.

Sure is.

Anyway, I notice you haven't really commented on the game aside from saying that if you'd scored the penalty you would've been two nil up. Were you there yesterday, and if so, what are your thoughts on the match?

Alan McMillan sums it up nicely in today's Sunday Mail: "it was becoming Thistle against Gallagher."
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Dec 16 2007, 12:27) *
Sure is.

Anyway, I notice you haven't really commented on the game aside from saying that if you'd scored the penalty you would've been two nil up. Were you there yesterday, and if so, what are your thoughts on the match?

Alan McMillan sums it up nicely in today's Sunday Mail: "it was becoming Thistle against Gallagher."

Based on performances against us, I would have tipped Thistle to win this big time - that said, our worst performance was against Thistle, so perhaps that has clouded my judgement a bit.

I would be keen to hear more about this - the Luvvies have looked crisp and hungry and pacey against us. The Pars (who have yet to beat us and who indeed have been beaten by us) looked as though they did not give a monkey's.

And FWIW - David Hutton is the best keeper in the league. Why? Because I say so! thumbup2.gif
DAFC
The Pars who have yet to beat us

err challenge cup?

Exuberant
QUOTE (DAFC @ Dec 16 2007, 13:32) *
err challenge cup?

the competition your fans thought to be so diddy they could barely sell 1000 tickets for the final?
DAFC
The very same.

Exuberant
QUOTE (DAFC @ Dec 16 2007, 14:13) *
The very same.

then since it isn't taken seriously your only win vs Clyde was basically a friendly wink.gif
MTJ
Did you hit the back of the net twice to make you 2-0 up? Thought not. Did your dad never tell you that it's goals that count, not balance of play?

By your thought process we "could've" been 2-0 up had we not missed the pen, but we did and ended up letting in an equaliser. I'm over it, why aren't you?

What an absolute fanny. Enjoy your derbies with Cowdenbeath and East Fife next season. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Yankee_Dollar
QUOTE (MTJ @ Dec 16 2007, 16:23) *
What an absolute fanny. Enjoy your derbies with Cowdenbeath and East Fife next season. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Ok Harry Rags, have your wee bit fun. In all honesty, I'm first to admit that we were shite yesterday and scrape a draw at Firhill. However, from what I saw yesterday if Partick were the team you depict, they should have won by 3 or 4 goals, you didn't. I've been to many a game were we have had the bulk of a game and came away with zilch. I hope to have derbies next season with any Fife team in the 1st Division. Meanwhile, you enjoy your derbies with ehm.....Clyde. That's a perpetual game you have anyway.
Nizzy
QUOTE (Yankee_Dollar @ Dec 16 2007, 16:43) *
However, from what I saw yesterday if Partick were the team you depict, they should have won by 3 or 4 goals

Eh?

Oh, and it's Harry Wraggs, btw.
The Chef
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Dec 16 2007, 11:21) *
I don't think Glass slipped, he tried to chip the keeper and made an arse of it, simple as. As for the pitch, yes, it's basically a tottie field. I don't think you'll find many Thistle fans arguing with your assertion, but, as I said to the Saintees two weeks ago, we have to play on it too and it doesn't led itself to the kind of football we try to play so I don't think it's any excuse for your performance.

Sorry, but I had to laugh at your line about the penalty being an "unintentional foul by the goalie". If you'd said that Jim Hamilton threw himself over a prone Tuffey then you might have been closer to the truth.

I was sitting right behind the goal and he slipped. He hit the ball with both feet as his standing foot slid to the ball whilst he was looking to side-foot it to the keeper's right. There's a good photo of it here....

http://www.dafc.net/index2.php?ID=2340&...=3-Match+Report

It was Burchill who was "fouled" by the keeper as he was about to pull the trigger but IMO, it looked like the keeper was knocked over by his own defender and landed in front of Burchill. It all happened in a split second though and that's how it looked from around 20 or 30 feet away.
Virtual Insanity

OK so by your logic P&B is redundant, there is no point in discussing the game, it was 1-1 and that's a fair result because that's what happened. Get a grip. All the reports, neutral and otherwise, suggest we had the vast majority of possession and used it well to create a number of chances, only being denied by a player who is far too good for Dunfermline or indeed any other team in the league. If your view is that we don't deserve to be winning on the basis of such domination fair enough, but it kind of renders the concept of a fans forum pointless. Were you at the game? Do you agree that we had the majority of the game and were denied by one individual playing exceptionally well?
Nizzy
QUOTE (The Chef @ Dec 16 2007, 17:13) *
I was sitting right behind the goal and he slipped. He hit the ball with both feet as his standing foot slid to the ball whilst he was looking to side-foot it to the keeper's right. There's a good photo of it here....

http://www.dafc.net/index2.php?ID=2340&...=3-Match+Report

You've got the laugh at some of the contents of that report. First of all, it was Buchanan that rounded the keeper, not Chaplain. Secondly, the writer appears to suggest that Tuffey moved off his line before the penalty had been struck - no mention of a slip there. Thirdly, this gem of a quote: "whether this was a point gained or 2 points lost can be argued." If by "two points lost" he means the penalty miss then fair enough, but if he doesn't I don't see where any argument can arise. Definitely a point gained in Dunfermline's case.
DAFC
To be fair most of the match reports on dafc.net have been critical of the team.
Sounds like we got lucky to get a draw.
lack of confidence and a dearth of creativity.

washsacks
QUOTE (itsmee @ Dec 15 2007, 21:49) *
It was Kevin Harper.

That would be about 100 more than you brought to East End.

lets not get into that though.

We were horrific yesterday and has been already mentioned several times it could of been 4 or 5 to Partick yesterday. We had 2 shots on target, both at our goal.

Nothing has improved. We were very very lucky to scrape a draw.

Pish.
itsmee
QUOTE (washsacks @ Dec 16 2007, 18:46) *
That would be about 100 more than you brought to East End.

lets not get into that though.

We were horrific yesterday and has been already mentioned several times it could of been 4 or 5 to Partick yesterday. We had 2 shots on target, both at our goal.

Nothing has improved. We were very very lucky to scrape a draw.

Pish.

Don't talk pish, and by the way, how many did we bring to the cup game last season ??

I bet you won't bring 1/4 of that through in January ya utter tw4t

"oh yer sisters yer maw, oh yer sisters yer maw "
kpar
QUOTE (itsmee @ Dec 16 2007, 21:15) *
Don't talk pish, and by the way, how many did we bring to the cup game last season ??

laugh.gif What a complete arse you're making of yourself.
Exuberant
he does have a point though: will you bring 3000 to Firhill for the cup game?
washsacks
QUOTE (itsmee @ Dec 16 2007, 22:15) *

Aye ok then.

Knob.

QUOTE (partickfan @ Dec 16 2007, 22:34) *
he does have a point though: will you bring 3000 to Firhill for the cup game?

We will fill the stand i reckon. How much is that?

We have had more than 3500 at every home game sides one. When was the last time you had that?This is also despite us being rank and not winning a game in 7.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.