Full Version: Thistle 1-1 Dunfermline
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
For the Banter
QUOTE (washsacks @ Dec 16 2007, 23:08) *
We will fill the stand i reckon. How much is that?

We have had more than 3500 at every home game sides one. When was the last time you had that?This is also despite us being rank and not winning a game in 7.

the stand is a shade over 2000. to be honest i'd be surprised if you do.

your home support is still so high because of a number of factors:

a) there is usually a time lag between relegation from the SPL and crowds dropping
cool.gif your club isn't within the same City as the Old Firm
c) people in Dunfermline are daft wink.gif
washsacks
QUOTE (partickfan @ Dec 17 2007, 00:15) *
the stand is a shade over 2000. to be honest i'd be surprised if you do.

your home support is still so high because of a number of factors:

a) there is usually a time lag between relegation from the SPL and crowds dropping
cool.gif your club isn't within the same City as the Old Firm
c) people in Dunfermline are daft wink.gif

We will take at least 1500 i reckon. We should have our new manager by then but i will wait and see who it is before i make any advance on that.

There is still thoasands of people leave Dunfermline and its surrounding areas to go and watch the OF. Scum the lot of them.

I have respect for all fans of non OF teams, especially those whos teams play in Glasgow.

Most daft people who live in Dunfermline go to our games, thats why most of our fans are idiots.
For the Banter
QUOTE (washsacks @ Dec 16 2007, 23:31) *
We will take at least 1500 i reckon. We should have our new manager by then but i will wait and see who it is before i make any advance on that.

There is still thoasands of people leave Dunfermline and its surrounding areas to go and watch the OF. Scum the lot of them.

I have respect for all fans of non OF teams, especially those whos teams play in Glasgow.

Most daft people who live in Dunfermline go to our games, thats why most of our fans are idiots.

then you should be filling all four stands every week! tongue.gif
satan
We have had more than 3500 at every home game sides one. When was the last time you had that?This is also despite us being rank and not winning a game in 7.

The last time we had that was when we were relegated to the 2nd division with a team similiar in attitude to yours (ie. former spl big time charlies). That is why we can see how pish your team is and how i will be very surprised if you manage to avoid the play off for relagtion this season. Your only hope will be Clyde and Stirling.
TheBanter
QUOTE (kpar @ Dec 16 2007, 21:31) *
laugh.gif What a complete arse you're making of yourself.

Like the complete arse the majority of your mob made of themselves by believing the First Division would be a stroll..... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (itsmee @ Dec 16 2007, 21:15) *
Don't talk pish, and by the way, how many did we bring to the cup game last season ??

I bet you won't bring 1/4 of that through in January ya utter tw4t

"oh yer sisters yer maw, oh yer sisters yer maw "

We brought a similar size of support to Firhill in 2004. We stuffed you 3-0 that day incidentally.
The Chef
QUOTE (partickfan @ Dec 16 2007, 21:34) *
he does have a point though: will you bring 3000 to Firhill for the cup game?

You had 2,297 fans at EEP last season for the cup game but why let the facts get in the way of a good wind up eh? wink.gif Still a great support BTW. Don't see us bringing anymore than around 1,500 at the most.
SmoothPar
Terrible game on a terrible pitch. Thistle definitely had the better of the chances and Gallacher had one fantastic reaction save in the first half as well as one that was belted straight at him which I'd expect him to save. I don't recall us creating any chances of note in the first half other than a few corners.

Second half started in a similar fashion with little football being played on a pitch that was badly cutting up. When players like Glass are struggling to control passes, you know the pitch is in some state. We took the lead with a decent finish from Burchill and then had 15 minutes of good pressure where we should have wrapped up the game. I said to my mate that we needed to score again whilst we were on top as I couldn't see our defence, wrecked of any kind of confidence, holding out towards the end. The penalty looked to be the correct decision from where I was sitting as Burchill would have had an opportunity to knock the ball into the net, albeit from a tight angle, and the keeper did raise an arm as Burchill tried to hurdle him. Glass' standing foot left a huge mark in the grass as it gave way and it looked to be a couple of feet wide though I was sitting nearer the left post so hard to tell.

Thistle altered their tactics slightly towards the end in that their long ball changed from being aimed at our left back, to sending it straight down the middle and looking to pick up any scraps. When Wilson went off, it was always going to mean that Thistle would get a chance or two as Simmons, who is nowhere near as bad as some fans on dafc.net make out, isn't used to playing centre half. When you consider our back four consisted of a right winger, a centre half coming back from 3 years out, a central midfielder and a 5'6" left back, it always appeared likely the equaliser would come.

Of course the manner which it happened was disappointing as two players went for the same ball and the knock down to Buchanan left him free with only Gallacher to beat. Thistle could have gone on and won it with more late pressure but perhaps the best chance in the last few minutes came when Glass cut in from the left and tried to square it to McManus rather than taking it on another couple of strides and making the shot, or the cross, a much easier task.

A draw isn't a bad result for us under the circumstances and Burchill's reaction to scoring seems to indicate that the players are a bit more united for whatever reason. Had Wilson stayed on, we may have hung on for an undeserved victory.

To pick up on some points made by Thistle fans in this thread, time wasting is something I'm not a fan of. However, we have suffered at the hands of some terrible time wasting tactics this season so for us to dish it out once in a while is hardly surprising. Clyde started time wasting after 5 minutes last week and Morton have also done it at East End Park. It's part of the game now and up to the referee to stamp out early on by issuing cards.

The Dunfermline support was particularly poor on Saturday but it was not really a surprise to me. The Christmas factor clearly impacted the crowd and the home support illustrated this as well. I also think that some of our 'support' is harbouring a grudge against the players who they believe got Kenny the sack. In time, I expect these fans to return to support the team when they realise that we support Dunfermline, not Stephen Kenny.

It's very easy to say Thistle had a great support last season at East End in the cup and compare it Dunfermline's on Saturday but I could also then thrown in the 5,000 (plus the few hundred locked out) that went to Tannadice two seasons ago on the second last day of the season to see us effectively survive relegation. The cup crowd will certainly be more than what was there on Saturday and hopefully the new manager will be in by then to allow the club to start afresh and move on from 2007, which has proved to be a terrible year for the club.
Socks
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Dec 16 2007, 18:11) *
You've got the laugh at some of the contents of that report. First of all, it was Buchanan that rounded the keeper, not Chaplain. Secondly, the writer appears to suggest that Tuffey moved off his line before the penalty had been struck - no mention of a slip there. Thirdly, this gem of a quote: "whether this was a point gained or 2 points lost can be argued." If by "two points lost" he means the penalty miss then fair enough, but if he doesn't I don't see where any argument can arise. Definitely a point gained in Dunfermline's case.

The guy who writes the match report often relies on the live text commentary. This week it happened to be me that was doing it, so the error in identifying the correct player was mine. However, it was harder at this game than most, mainly because Partick had a number of smallish dark haired players in their team, and the numbers they use are quite difficult to see much of the time, being white on yellow. If you look at that, you may well find some other errors, but as I say, I was finding it harder this week than I usually do. People moaning about misidentification of players in match reports is actually something that annoys me now.

No. But then Partick didn't bring 3000 last season, so I fail to see what point is being made. Also note that last season was for a quarter final, and I think you'll find that the away support at the 2004 quarter final was much the same as it was last year.

QUOTE (SmoothPar @ Dec 17 2007, 10:33) *
It's very easy to say Thistle had a great support last season at East End in the cup and compare it Dunfermline's on Saturday but I could also then thrown in the 5,000 (plus the few hundred locked out) that went to Tannadice two seasons ago on the second last day of the season to see us effectively survive relegation.

Lets not be daft here, it was about 3000 that day, as that side of the ground doesn't hold much more than that.

Anyway, having got that out of the way...

Very lucky to get a point on Saturday. I thought Partick played quite well and as others have said, it was only some great saves by Gallacher that gave us a chance to get a draw. The one from the header in the first half was a genuinely good save. Again we played a team and were dominated in midfield, something that surely has to be the first thing the new manager addresses. Not really much more to add to what's been said above, except to say that I can't really be too upset with a a point given how the game went.

I'm one of the few who thought the penalty was correct. While the keeper went in, I also thought that one of the defenders, probably Archibald, got in and possibly caught Burchill as he went looked like he was just about to tap in the rebound. That was certainly my first thought, and it wasn't until 5 minutes later when someone mentioned that it was Tuffey who had been penalised that I even considerred that. It did happen quite quickly though, so it'll be interesting to see the highlights on the Partick website. My perception though was certainly that Burchill was just about to tap in from about 4 yards and was stopped from doing so.
SmoothPar
QUOTE (Socks @ Dec 17 2007, 11:02) *
Lets not be daft here, it was about 3000 that day, as that side of the ground doesn't hold much more than that.

I know this. I was making a point about exaggerating figures. wink.gif
Socks
Ah, OK. I consider myself whoosed!
itsmee
QUOTE (washsacks @ Dec 16 2007, 23:08) *
Aye ok then.

Knob.

We will fill the stand i reckon. How much is that?

What did I say that was not true ?????

And before you try and deny it, "Yer sister is yer maw" KEN !!!
Larbert_Par
Oh back to the old inbred type jokes- is that the best you can come up with? Deary me rolleyes.gif
DA-go Par Adonis
You brought through 2,300 fans to the quarter final at East End.

We did much the same in our quarter final at Firhill in 2004.

MTJ
QUOTE (DA-go Par Adonis @ Dec 17 2007, 15:04) *
You brought through 2,300 fans to the quarter final at East End.

We did much the same in our quarter final at Firhill in 2004.

No you didn't. The away stand holds 2014 and it wasn't full.
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (MTJ @ Dec 17 2007, 16:37) *

We had 2,000 there.
The Chef
QUOTE (MTJ @ Dec 17 2007, 16:37) *

You're right, you can see hundreds of empty seats in this photo! rolleyes.gif

http://www.dafc.net/pictures/index.php?ID=2376

Not to mention the fans that had to go into the old Main Stand as that stand was full.

But as I said earlier in this thread, why let the facts get in the way of a good wind up eh? wink.gif
jaggielonia
That photo of the Dunfermline support brought back a few memories. Fucking hell time flies.
SteamingparBoz
Where were they all on Saturday?
For the Banter
No. But then Partick didn't bring 3000 last season, so I fail to see what point is being made. Also note that last season was for a quarter final, and I think you'll find that the away support at the 2004 quarter final was much the same as it was last year.

Yes we did.
The Chef
QUOTE (SteamingparBoz @ Dec 17 2007, 18:26) *
Where were they all on Saturday?

Shopping, in the pub, cinema, etc. Sad times indeed. sad.gif

partickfan - the obsession with sizes of support on this thread is becoming Mortonesque! biggrin.gif
For the Banter
QUOTE (The Chef @ Dec 17 2007, 18:38) *
partickfan - the obsession with sizes of support on this thread is becoming Mortonesque! biggrin.gif

true, but still... wink.gif
Virtual Insanity
We didn't take 3000 to EEP last season. We took probably in the region of 2,000-2,500 but instead of slagging off other clubs supports we should be concerned with why we can take 2,000+ to Dunfermline for a cup quarter final but are now barely scraping 2,000 at Firhill. Crowds haven't been this bad since the dark days of Tommy Bryce.
For the Banter
QUOTE (Virtual Insanity @ Dec 17 2007, 19:01) *
We didn't take 3000 to EEP last season. We took probably in the region of 2,000-2,500 but instead of slagging off other clubs supports we should be concerned with why we can take 2,000+ to Dunfermline for a cup quarter final but are now barely scraping 2,000 at Firhill. Crowds haven't been this bad since the dark days of Tommy Bryce.

i remember them saying on the BBC Highlights that evening that we brought 3000....

it is a crying shame that crowds are down generally mind.
Grant228
QUOTE (partickfan @ Dec 17 2007, 19:23) *
i remember them saying on the BBC Highlights that evening that we brought 3000....

blink.gif no chance
kpar
Here's (part of) Thistle's great turn-out for the cup game last season.

And here's the Partick support for the last league game at EEP, before this season.

He doesn't have a point, there is no point. As the pictures show, depending on the circumstances both teams are capable of having excellent travelling supports, and very poor travelling supports...just like every club.
DAFC

FAO 3000 GIRUY

MTJ
QUOTE (DAFC @ Dec 17 2007, 20:03) *

FAO 3000 GIRUY

Enjoy the seaside league. GIRUY. laugh.gif

If yer team makes it to next season. laugh.gif
SteamingparBoz
It wasn't quite 3000 but it was damn close that's for sure. Big crowd that day even for the home fans, I ended up having to dash into the main stand to reach kick off.
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (partickfan @ Dec 17 2007, 19:23) *

it is a crying shame that crowds are down generally mind.

And the BBC is always right eh? laugh.gif

The official figure for your support in the crowd of 7300ish was 2,297 IIRC. Still an excellent support.
Nizzy
People moaning about misidentification of players in match reports is actually something that annoys me now.

Socks, I like you, you seem like a nice guy. That was a cheap shot, please accept my apology.

QUOTE (Grant228 @ Dec 17 2007, 19:54) *
blink.gif no chance

I don't really want to get involve in the crowd thing, but why is it hard to believe we would take 3,000 to a Scottish Cup quarter final? We took about 13,000 to the semi final of the same cup competition in 2002 you fucking dong.
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Dec 18 2007, 13:35) *
Socks, I like you, you seem like a nice guy. That was a cheap shot, please accept my apology.

I don't really want to get involve in the crowd thing, but why is it hard to believe we would take 3,000 to a Scottish Cup quarter final? We took about 13,000 to the semi final of the same cup competition in 2002 you fucking dong.

I think he was meaning that there was no chance you had 3,000 at our game specifically.
Nizzy
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Dec 18 2007, 13:37) *
I think he was meaning that there was no chance you had 3,000 at our game specifically.

OK, but it was a good opportunity to call someone a dong. There should be more use of that word around here.
Larbert_Par
I agree. A great word.
Nizzy
QUOTE (DAFC @ Dec 17 2007, 20:03) *

Fucking dong.
SteamingparBoz
Simmons you fucking king! Get in!!!!
Nizzy
QUOTE (SteamingparBoz @ Dec 18 2007, 15:12) *
Simmons you fucking king! Get in!!!!

Fucking dong.
SteamingparBoz
Fugging ding he's the king!
Grant228
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Dec 18 2007, 13:35) *

I was actually meaning at that game
you proberbly could take 3000 to a quartter final...you just didnt bring it to eep

nice yousage of the word dong tho....
JVK
Thats a pic of the thistle support for the quarter final, i dont know hw many ur stand holds bt we certainly filled it.

kpar
QUOTE (JVK @ Dec 18 2007, 19:37) *
Thats a pic of the thistle support for the quarter final, i dont know hw many ur stand holds bt we certainly filled it.

That stand holds 3000. It certainly looks like it's 95% full in that picture.
Nizzy
QUOTE (kpar @ Dec 18 2007, 21:30) *
That stand holds 3000. It certainly looks like it's 95% full in that picture.

I seem to remember it was full and then some. Some fans couldn't find a seat and were thrown out. Well, that was their reasoning anyway. wink.gif
For the Banter
well it wasn't absolutely full, but some people got away with standing in the aisle for the game. i had to sit on a broken seat in the second half cause someone budged me and my uncle along the row dry.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.