Full Version: Morton 0 Dundee 2
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
vikingTON
We need a centre half.
We also need JM to stop taking off our most lively player after 60 minutes.
Cant actually fault the effort today, we just are not good enough in midfeld and defence in particular.
Ho ho ho. dry.gif

Dundee were competent and a strong side, but they're not world-beaters.
They just did a professional job.
garymcc1874
Dundee weren't much better than us at all tbh. What they did do was close down very quickly and defend very well, and fall to the ground every so often to take the pressure off as they just know the ref loved blowing that whistle. First goal our whole team was to blame more or less. Second goal Davie McGurn couldn't even punt the ball past the half way line and it cost us.

Singing "We're gonna win the league" in December is a bit naughty though. Plenty of time for it to all go wrong. You don't look anywhere near a team of SPL quality btw.
HardingsHamstring
Tactical screw up today. Dundee didn't look too dangerous but we were just harmless.
Not good enough, if JM doesn't think we need strengthening in January I don't think we need him as manager.
Dee4Life1893
QUOTE (garymcc1874 @ Dec 15 2007, 17:40) *
Dundee weren't much better than us at all tbh. What they did do was close down very quickly and defend very well, and fall to the ground every so often to take the pressure off as they just know the ref loved blowing that whistle. First goal our whole team was to blame more or less. Second goal Davie McGurn couldn't even punt the ball past the half way line and it cost us.

Singing "We're gonna win the league" in December is a bit naughty though. Plenty of time for it to all go wrong. You don't like anywhere near a team of SPL quality btw.

Aye, cos you have a clue what an SPL team looks like.

On second thoughts, your fortnightly jaunts to Parkhead/Ibrox(delete where applicable) gives you every right to judge what SPL quality is.

I bow down to your superiour knowledge.
Man with the dancing feet

Singing "We're gonna win the league" in December is a bit naughty though. Plenty of time for it to all go wrong. You don't look anywhere near a team of SPL quality btw.

How bitter are you ?

We went away from home scored two goals and kept a clean sheet in a league where good football gets you no where. Whoever wins this league will win it by because of the spirit, grit and determination over the whole season not the team that has played the best football. As sad as it may sound pretty football is less effective in this league.

Also we are not an SPL side so why would we need to be of that quality? If we get promoted then we shall add to the squad to get to the level required.....Hopefully
BluebirdTon
Dundee were solid at the back and thats what won them the game.They done f**k all up front,and it was down to our horrific defence that gave them their win by two goals.The ref was no conciliation either.

Its seriously frustrating how our manager can actually think that our defence is adequate for this league when game after game,mistake after mistake it made - costs us points and the manager is prepared to do f**k all about it !
LargsTON
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Dec 15 2007, 17:29) *
We need a centre half.
We also need JM to stop taking off our most lively player after 60 minutes.
Cant actually fault the effort today, we just are not good enough in midfeld and defence in particular.
Ho ho ho. dry.gif

Dundee were competent and a strong side, but they're not world-beaters.
They just did a professional job.

Agree with all that.

Dundee weren't much better than us at all tbh.

I thought they were streets ahead in every aspect and looked capable of stepping it up if need be.

Morton had the bulk of possesion while Dundee comfortably soaked up the pressure then picked us off. Not pretty but professional and efficient. On that showing they'll win the league.

Kevin McDonald's the best young player I've seen in a long time, popped up all over the park and was pulling all the strings.

A different class from our supposed wonder boy, Jim McAlister who continues to infuriate me.
QUOTE (LargsTON @ Dec 15 2007, 17:59) *
Agree with all that.

I thought they were streets ahead in every aspect and looked capable of stepping it up if need be.

Morton had the bulk of possesion while Dundee comfortably soaked up the pressure then picked us off. Not pretty but professional and efficient. On that showing they'll win the league.

Kevin McDonald's the best young player I've seen in a long time, popped up all over the park and was pulling all the strings.

A different class from our supposed wonder boy, Jim McAlister who continues to infuriate me.

What a breath of fresh

A supporter that can take of his tinted spectacles and give an honest opinion.

Hats off to you my man.

I hope your prediction is right butim sure Hamilton fans will be confident as they should be
Swampy
Dundee have a better class of player than us in almost every position and, despite our glaring weaknesses, I haven't seen another team all season that I can say the same about (granted I've not yet seen every team due to not going to away games and being out the country for some home games.)

Morton actually played some decent stuff at times, but all too often players picked the wrong option (i.e. giving Jay Shields the ball - don't bother) and there was the occasional maddeningly simple error. But the effort was good, occasionally we saw some excellent touches, and 2-0 perhaps flattered Dundee a bit.

Still, Dundee did deserve the win, quite clearly, and I'd say that they're a better team than Accies based on what I've seen so far - I reckon Dundee will, in fact, win the league.

Edit: I thought it was Eddie Malone at left-back - he was woeful. No wonder we kept trying to channel it up the right.

McDonald was class for Dundee, #5 at centre-back was superb as well, the midfield was overall more reliable than ours, and Lyle took that second goal extremely well.

Dundee aren't world-beaters but, base don that, they're certainly First Division-beaters.
ianton
QUOTE (Dee4Life1893 @ Dec 15 2007, 17:46) *

On second thoughts, your fortnightly jaunts to Parkhead/Ibrox(delete where applicable) gives you every right to judge what SPL quality is.

IF you manage to win the league you'll only end up where greetna are just now.tbh if it wasn't for your keeper today you would have been well humped.
Swampy
QUOTE (ianton @ Dec 15 2007, 18:04) *
IF you manage to win the league you'll only end up where greetna are just now.tbh if it wasn't for your keeper today you would have been well humped.

I've not watched much of the SPL this season but based on what I saw last season, there's no way Dundee would be simply isolated at the bottom, provided that they strengthen one or two areas.
LargsTON
QUOTE (ianton @ Dec 15 2007, 18:04) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I love bitter posts.
CheStadium
QUOTE (Man with the dancing feet @ Dec 15 2007, 17:54) *
How bitter are you ?

We went away from home scored two goals and kept a clean sheet in a league where good football gets you no where. Whoever wins this league will win it by because of the spirit, grit and determination over the whole season not the team that has played the best football. As sad as it may sound pretty football is less effective in this league.

Also we are not an SPL side so why would we need to be of that quality? If we get promoted then we shall add to the squad to get to the level required.....Hopefully

At least he can be bothered going along to support his team.
Your opinion here is that of an unmarried, marriage counselor.
Out of interest taking into consideration the time of the year what was the Dundee support like numbers wise
badgers apprentice
all credit to dundee, at this rate we could have another final day like last season and there would still be no cameras there for a top two final day clash laugh.gif billy reid said there was only one team playing football when you won at dens, well there was only one team who played football at ndp today and it was not accies.
win ugly, as long as ye keep winning biggrin.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (Man with the dancing feet @ Dec 15 2007, 18:11) *
Out of interest taking into consideration the time of the year what was the Dundee support like numbers wise

You didn't gain the WDE.
Tut tut. ohmy.gif
H_B
QUOTE (Swampy @ Dec 15 2007, 18:07) *
I've not watched much of the SPL this season but based on what I saw last season, there's no way Dundee would be simply isolated at the bottom, provided that they strengthen one or two areas.

Hard to say. The Div One team is always likely to struggle. They look better equipped than Gretna have been obviously, but that isnt difficult.

There will be no obvious Livingston, Dunfermline or Gretna type shite in the SPL next season.
QUOTE (CheStadium @ Dec 15 2007, 18:10) *
At least he can be bothered going along to support his team.
Your opinion here is that of an unmarried, marriage counselor.

Mate i dont have to give you reasons why i wasnt there today.

I support my team like anyone else and have been to numerous away games this season.

Silly post to write when you dont know peoples circumstances so off you pop
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (Dee4Life1893 @ Dec 15 2007, 17:46) *

Ach calm down, he's right. You looked better than us, but that wasn't too hard, we're really struggling just now. Dundee deserved to win but only just. Probably not their best day but not a side that looked like a challenger based on what I saw.
You certainly got home quickly though, didn't you?
LargsTON
QUOTE (Man with the dancing feet @ Dec 15 2007, 18:11) *

I was suprised how small it was.

Noisy but only 4 buses so I'd guess about 350-400.
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Dec 15 2007, 18:11) *
all credit to dundee, at this rate we could have another final day like last season and there would still be no cameras there for a top two final day clash laugh.gif billy reid said there was only one team playing football when you won at dens, well there was only one team who played football at ndp today and it was not accies.
win ugly, as long as ye keep winning biggrin.gif

Exactly
The Arch
Dundee's central midfield is easily SPL standard. If they manage to keep Robertson and MacDonald for the next few years they will go places
QUOTE (LargsTON @ Dec 15 2007, 18:14) *

Smallest Away support before today was about 800 i think. We have had a fantastic away support all season which usually is the case when we are doing well.

Was expecting around 600 today so yeah a little smaller than normal
MTJ
QUOTE (LargsTON @ Dec 15 2007, 18:14) *

That is pathetic for a team who are joint top and get home gates of around 4000 most weeks.
RosscoTon
Dundee outplayed us all game. No fucking idea what game Gary was watching unless he was fooled by the amount of possessinon we had which of course went nowhere. Dundee's tactics were spot on and we suffered not only due to our tactics but our quality in midfield and defence.

Dundee are a far better team than Hamilton and imo will win the league by a few points.

McDonald is an outstanding talent and hopefully Dundee can keep hold of hm for the SPL adventure next year.

ps. Malone is an awful left back, completely shocking compared to when I seen him playing for Clyde.
QUOTE (MTJ @ Dec 15 2007, 18:19) *
That is pathetic for a team who are joint top and get home gates of around 4000 most weeks.

Run up to Christmas?

Im sure most teams have been fairly impressed by our travelling support this season. We were out numbering home fans in certain places
vikingTON
QUOTE (Man with the dancing feet @ Dec 15 2007, 18:21) *
Run up to Christmas?

Im sure most teams have been fairly impressed by our travelling support this season. We were out numbering home fans in certain places

Out stealing each other's presents again? rolleyes.gif
:DWell it makes a change from clothes of peoples washing lines i suppose wink.gif
Dee4Life1893
I'll be honest.

Wife didn't let me go. No shame in that. Plus she starts work at 6 and I wouldn't be home to look after the kids.

Not that I shoiuld have to justify myself.
BluebirdTon
Edit = *A bit Harsh*
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (Dee4Life1893 @ Dec 15 2007, 18:29) *
I'll be honest.

Wife didn't let me go. No shame in that. Plus she starts work at 6 and I wouldn't be home to look after the kids.

Not that I shoiuld have to justify myself.

Nor should you call someone bitter for giving their opinion on a game you didn't go to.
garymcc1874
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Dec 15 2007, 18:30) *
Edit = *A bit Harsh*

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

EDIT: What was said before the edit was quality.
Dee4Life1893
QUOTE (RosscoTon @ Dec 15 2007, 18:20) *
McDonald is an outstanding talent and hopefully Dundee can keep hold of hm for the SPL adventure next year.

Kevin will be playing for his "boyhood heroes" come January.

Maybe Celtic will be kind enough to loan him back to us dry.gif
Dee4Life1893
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Dec 15 2007, 18:31) *
Nor should you call someone bitter for giving their opinion on a game you didn't go to.

blink.gif

I didn't call anyone bitter

I'll await your apology.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (Dee4Life1893 @ Dec 15 2007, 18:34) *
Kevin will be playing for his "boyhood heroes" come January.

No wonder.Far too good for Dundee and this division.
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (Dee4Life1893 @ Dec 15 2007, 18:37) *
blink.gif

I didn't call anyone bitter

I'll await your apology.

Wrang guy - apologies.
Dee4Life1893
QUOTE (Dee4Life1893 @ Dec 15 2007, 18:34) *
Kevin will be playing for his "boyhood heroes" RESERVE SIDE come January.

Needed a wee edit.
the auld son
as a neutral I thought Dundee controlled the first half second half Ton must be kicking themselves for 3 glaring chances
if the rest of the team had the heart of weatherston you could have taken something out the game
to all Ton fans enjoy your selves in div 1
imagine what it was like for me today watching a real football match after the shite I have been subjected to for the past few seasons
tongue.gif
mungo
What did Sturm paly like ?
Did he get the full 90 minutes?
Dee4Life1893
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Dec 15 2007, 18:40) *
Wrang guy - apologies.

I thank thee biggrin.gif
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (mungo @ Dec 15 2007, 18:42) *

Anonymous really. Subbed late on.
garymcc1874
QUOTE (mungo @ Dec 15 2007, 18:42) *

Sturm was non-existant. He got subbed off with 15-20 mins left.
He was bitter cause his team lost hence the Dundee not good enough jibes. I put forward my point that winning ugly is just as good as any other way. Dont need to be at the game to make that point. Im not questioning his assessment of how Dundee played today cause as you say i was not at the game but i have been to most others. We have played more or less the Same all season and coming up to Christmas are joint top of the league and you know what im fucking delighted mate.

As its Christmas though i shall take back the bitter comment. There you go dont say im not good to you biggrin.gif
HardingsHamstring
It's all good, we'll have to get used to losing until JM is sent packing rolleyes.gif

mungo
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Dec 15 2007, 19:44) *
Anonymous really. Subbed late on.

QUOTE (garymcc1874 @ Dec 15 2007, 19:48) *
Sturm was non-existant. He got subbed off with 15-20 mins left.

His signing hasnt really payed off yet , In the few subby appearances hes had he has looked good in flashes and a goal threat , but as yet theres been not much return. He will maybe get better with a few more games under his belt.
BasraTon
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Dec 15 2007, 18:49) *
It's all good, we'll have to get used to losing until JM is sent packing rolleyes.gif

Fuckall to do with JM, try them fucking b*****ds up the stairs mad.gif
HardingsHamstring
The board aren't helping, but they didn't pick today's team and they didn't make those faulty subs. The blame for today lies with JM, long term with the board for appointing him and sticking with him.
BluebirdTon
They won't gift us a much needed Center back though,which just shows how little they care. wink.gif
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Dec 15 2007, 19:00) *
They won't gift us a much needed Center back though,which just shows how little they care. wink.gif

Oh, they care.
But it seems to me like most of them are stubborn, blind old men.
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
QUOTE (RosscoTon @ Dec 15 2007, 18:20) *
Dundee outplayed us all game. No fucking idea what game Gary was watching unless he was fooled by the amount of possessinon we had which of course went nowhere. Dundee's tactics were spot on and we suffered not only due to our tactics but our quality in midfield and defence.

Dundee are a far better team than Hamilton and imo will win the league by a few points.

ps. Malone is an awful left back, completely shocking compared to when I seen him playing for Clyde.

You're the guy that's still bitter about Craig Thomson I believe.

I don't think Dundee are far better than Accies.What they have however is a Gus McPherson type ability to grind out results.Whether we have that is open to question at the minute.

Livingston have looked a great team twice against Accies,but today were defeated by a Clyde side who their fans acknowledge couldn't score with a Keigan Parker chip butty in a Blackpool whore house.

The forthcoming transfer window-who stays and who goes-will be significant at all ends of the table.Still much to play for for everyone in the League.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.