Full Version: Morton 0 Dundee 2
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Dec 15 2007, 19:16) *
You're the guy that's still bitter about Craig Thomson I believe.

I don't think Dundee are far better than Accies.What they have however is a Gus McPherson type ability to grind out results.Whether we have that is open to question at the minute.

Livingston have looked a great team twice against Accies,but today were defeated by a Clyde side who their fans acknowledge couldn't score with a Keigan Parker chip butty in a Blackpool whore house.

The forthcoming transfer window-who stays and who goes-will be significant at all ends of the table.Still much to play for for everyone in the League.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
vikingTON
Having given "the boys" their chance over the course of 16 games, recent form and our slide towards the play-offs have convinced me that they are not good enough.
Of course, we and the board knew this befre the start of the season - hence why they were pushing the life insurance scam canoe out for Mensing and Sutton.
the excuses were cover ups, and they need to resolve that defence in January or face the potential consequence of relegation.
IainMorton
Apart from the first 5 minutes and the spell before half time, we were shite.

Greacen and Harding back to their usual "punt the ball up the park to nobody" again. McLaughlin done nothing. Weatherson ran about like a headless chicken. Walker looks like he needs to get to the gym to lose some weight.

Pass marks to Russell and Millar.

Get the cheque book out Dougie, you are going to need it in a few weeks.

mad.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (IainMorton @ Dec 15 2007, 19:24) *
Apart from the first 5 minutes and the spell before half time, we were shite.

Greacen and Harding back to their usual "punt the ball up the park to nobody" again. McLaughlin done nothing. Weatherson ran about like a headless chicken. Walker looks like he needs to get to the gym to lose some weight.

Pass marks to Russell and Millar.

Get the cheque book out Dougie, you are going to need it in a few weeks.

mad.gif

He doesn't necessarily need to spend money on transfer fees - there must be players available for transfer simply to get them off the wage bill, or at least an SPL player out of favour on loan.
Solve that back four, and the team will be capable of holding their own most weeks.
FTDabs
I was a wee bit unsure how it would go today, needn't have been cos it was an easy win today without getting in to top gear.
BasraTon
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Dec 15 2007, 18:58) *
The board aren't helping, but they didn't pick today's team and they didn't make those faulty subs. The blame for today lies with JM, long term with the board for appointing him and sticking with him.

Sometimes i think you talk utter rank, he can only work with the shite we already have DUE to the fact that DDR wont replen in the new year and all his FALSE so called signings in July, ( which imop was a tool for everyone inc myself to buy the new strips which turned out be be as we all know UTTER shite.

The Buck stops with DDR, not JM, i can see the strings attached, cant you ffs
HardingsHamstring
I don't care about the board, I was talking about today's game!
And JM, no matter what you say about the board, is a piss-poor manager and he got it wrong today. HE signed most of that shite he has to work with, Dougie's rejects aren't getting a look in, really.
Dee-funked
Looks to me that the 20,000-a-man bonus for promotion is beginning to register in the players' heads. Surely a big incentive for guys playing at a club who can't pay big bucks anymore. Couple that with the chance to play SPL football every week, huge motivation to win.
dazzle-dfc
I enjoyed todays game Morton put up a good fight and had us worrying at times I'm extatic I expected us to get nothing but 2-0 is brilliant

really happy with the attidtude of the players especially after the 2nd goal the celebrations really made you think they want to please the fans(McHale looking right at me and screaming ''FUCKING YASSS'' showed that)

also my positive thoughts of Morton fans stayed intact, spoke to a few before the game great bunch
SramTon
QUOTE (BasraTon @ Dec 15 2007, 19:32) *
Sometimes i think you talk utter rank, he can only work with the shite we already have DUE to the fact that DDR wont replen in the new year and all his FALSE so called signings in July, ( which imop was a tool for everyone inc myself to buy the new strips which turned out be be as we all know UTTER shite.

The Buck stops with DDR, not JM, i can see the strings attached, cant you ffs

no, i disagree. it's up to the manager to fight his own corner. old firm managers have to fight for funds, benitez is fighting with his board, rooney fought with his board, clough fought with boards etc etc.

only weak managers allow themselves to be used as puppets.

mcinally has either signed or re-signed every single player in the squad. mcinally selects the team and tactics and makes the subs.

whatever you think of the antics over mcgowen, rae did make funds available in the summer. it wasn't rae who squandered it on mcanespie, gardyne, shields and coakley.
cornbeef
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Dec 15 2007, 19:49) *
It's all good, we'll have to get used to losing until JM is sent packing rolleyes.gif

Oh Aye , get rid of JM - there's a wealth of great managers out there waiting to replace him. Some of your like minded 'fans ' have provided a list........... Rowan Alexander, (oh wait , he's nuts allegedly) Allan Moore (great young manager) - haud on, Stirling have only won one game and fans are already talking about sacking him , ach well....... looks like we'll have to give Neil Warnock a call. Do we have to put up with this p1sh every time we lose a game. ?

HardingsHamstring
No - he has to put up with it every time there is a run of bad results. When will we next see a win in the league? Not against Livi, St Johnstone, Dundee... probably not against Partick either. So, must we hope we can beat Dunfermline (which is beginning to look unlikely) to convince ourselves we'll avoid the relegation battle this season?

I haven't been on JM's back after every defeat so I don't want to be compared to other fans, cornbeef. I'm starting to get fed up with his bad signings and poor tactics after a few seasons now, so I have every right to be disgruntled.
BasraTon
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Dec 15 2007, 18:58) *
The board aren't helping, but they didn't pick today's team and they didn't make those faulty subs. The blame for today lies with JM, long term with the board for appointing him and sticking with him.

QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Dec 15 2007, 19:43) *
I don't care about the board, I was talking about today's game!
And JM, no matter what you say about the board, is a piss-poor manager and he got it wrong today. HE signed most of that shite he has to work with, Dougie's rejects aren't getting a look in, really.

I will repeat the first post along with the second. I dont believe for one minute that alot of the signings are down to JM, that old grey haired fucker up the stair along with the rest of the board ionc his twat of a son have alot to do with what we have avalailable on the park so dont give me that shite that its all down to JM. Im one of his biggest critics but his hands are tied now so we have no option to blamme DDR unless you are sucking his baws
HardingsHamstring
Catch a grip!! The players and tactics are JM's and his alone!
And if the chairman has anything to do with either then JM is even more at fault for allowing it to happen. dry.gif
BasraTon
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Dec 15 2007, 21:22) *
Catch a grip!! The players and tactics are JM's and his alone!
And if the chairman has anything to do with either then JM is even more at fault for allowing it to happen. dry.gif

Catch a grip yourself ffs ya tosser, JM's hands are being tied now, as we all know, or you are definately on Dougie's list to suck his baws
SramTon
QUOTE (BasraTon @ Dec 15 2007, 21:18) *
I will repeat the first post along with the second. I dont believe for one minute that alot of the signings are down to JM, that old grey haired fucker up the stair along with the rest of the board ionc his twat of a son have alot to do with what we have avalailable on the park so dont give me that shite that its all down to JM. Im one of his biggest critics but his hands are tied now so we have no option to blamme DDR unless you are sucking his baws

who do you believe rae has signed over mcinally's head?
uberman

laugh.gif laugh.gif

I used to work in crawford's, he is a twat of the highest order
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (BasraTon @ Dec 15 2007, 21:24) *
Catch a grip yourself ffs ya tosser, JM's hands are being tied now, as we all know, or you are definately on Dougie's list to suck his baws

What would it say about him if he let himself be controlled like that? That he was a useless idiot who didn't deserve the job for his inability to stand up for himself.
But no, the situation isn't as dramatic as you make it sound.
All this name calling you do certainly seem to make you out to be the tosser, naw me.
I'm allowed to have a different opinion you know.
ianton
well he did sign that useless giraffe bambi.totally inept footballer.
RosscoTon

Hands are not tied atall. It's time he grew a spine and told Willy Wonka where to go.
BasraTon
QUOTE (RosscoTon @ Dec 15 2007, 21:42) *
Hands are not tied atall. It's time he grew a spine and told Willy Wonka where to go.

I think you and the rest of us know its not that easy, we live under a typical soviet dictatorship at Scappa
SramTon
QUOTE (BasraTon @ Dec 15 2007, 21:46) *
I think you and the rest of us know its not that easy, we live under a typical soviet dictatorship at Scappa

is rae really that much worse then many of the other egos around, eg: yorkson, brown, flynn, etc?

its 25 years since the board saw off rooney. that regime was replaced by wilson, who used mcgraw as a puppet (btw, who re-signed brian reid?), who was replaced by the cuddly manager-friendly scott.

so that's 30 years of boardroom interference at cappielow. it's a fact of life.
EastFootball
An-y-way...

I was delighted with our defence today. It's amazing how far we've come in the space of a couple of years; had this game been played under Kernaghan, we would have been 3 or 4 down at half time.

Also another great goal by Kev, but I fear the game against Partick on the 29th may be his last in Dark Blue sad.gif Good to see Lyle finding the net as well (as a side note, today is the closest I've been to the action this season [front row because of the damn pillars!] and I swear he is trying to compete with Jimmy Calderwood in the suntan stakes ohmy.gif Perhaps we should have a "SPFA Tan of the Year Award" laugh.gif )

Morton looked OK up-front and on another day could probably have found their way through a couple of times.
Steak & Barley
QUOTE (SramTon @ Dec 15 2007, 21:57) *
so that's 30 years of boardroom interference at cappielow. it's a fact of life.

I can remember the days when nobody knew who or what a chairman was. Sadly they all seem to want their time in the spotlight these days. I find it difficult to see how we are going to progress with DDFR at the helm and JM as his cabin boy.

On to the game. Listened to the webcast and it sounded as though Dundee were ahead in every department. Might have been a different story if we had defenders who knew the first thing about defending or strikers who could score in a brothel, but we don't.
BasraTon
SramTon, yes i agree, BUT, we are living with normality here, modern day ffs, not in the past. We move on, but if DDR SAY'S we wont be signing anyone in Jan and then JM comes out and states that the team does NOT need improving then something is wrong somwhere. I am repeating what others are stating although i agree with them totally.

Wish to f**k folk would wake up here, i await opinions when we are fighting relegation
BasraTon
QUOTE (Steak & Barley @ Dec 15 2007, 22:15) *
I can remember the days when nobody knew who or what a chairman was. Sadly they all seem to want their time in the spotlight these days. I find it difficult to see how we are going to progress with DDFR at the helm and JM as his cabin boy.

On to the game. Listened to the webcast and it sounded as though Dundee were ahead in every department. Might have been a different story if we had defenders who knew the first thing about defending or strikers who could score in a brothel, but we don't.

And for all those Morton fans out there, that's your answer
DarkBlue62
Any Morton P&B'ers In The Prince Of Wales Bar? The Sandwiches There Were Great, I Had About 8 Egg One's laugh.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (DarkBlue62 @ Dec 15 2007, 22:46) *
Any Morton P&B'ers In The Prince Of Wales Bar? The Sandwiches There Were Great, I Had About 8 Egg One's laugh.gif

Good God no. ohmy.gif tongue.gif
_d_
Obviously I don't see Morton every week but some of the posts on here seem to be maybe a tad harsh on the team. Remembering they were a Second Division team last year I have been fairly impressed with them so far and they have improved in each of the 3 games I have seen. Have acquired a reasonable number of points and don't look like relegation material. Much better than Stirling who also came up. One step at a time.

At today's game Dundee were very comfortable first half, the much better team, but second half Morton worked a lot harder, closed Dundee down and had plenty of territory. Fair enough, not too many chances created – there was the one good one where the boy stuck it wide when he stretched for a cross - but it was a close game second half. Like last time at Dens, Morton just lacked an end product and could do with something extra in attack. When Dundee do step up the pace and put teams under pressure they tend to take their chances and that happened again today.

Otherwise Cappielow people were very hospitable and easy going. Some good banter and a good laugh. Best away day this season.
SramTon
QUOTE (BasraTon @ Dec 15 2007, 22:17) *
SramTon, yes i agree, BUT, we are living with normality here, modern day ffs, not in the past. We move on, but if DDR SAY'S we wont be signing anyone in Jan and then JM comes out and states that the team does NOT need improving then something is wrong somwhere. I am repeating what others are stating although i agree with them totally.

Wish to f**k folk would wake up here, i await opinions when we are fighting relegation

i don't neccesarily disagree and, on the morton site, i've been scathing of the suggestion we don't need to strenghen in jan. frankly, if we don't then that play-off spot's ours.

but it's mcinally's job to persuade rae funds need released. not merely roll over. ok, things might not be that simple for mcinally, but it's his career as well, he would do better to threaten to quit now than to allow the side to freefall.
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (BasraTon @ Dec 15 2007, 22:17) *

My opinion won't change too much if we're fighting relegation - I'll only think JM is more of a useless tool.
SaltyTON

Hell no laugh.gif
SpoonTon
It's obvious we have several players who struggle at this level. McLaughlin had a nightmare today, any half decent left back at this level can make sure Finlayson does nothing, Greacen looks shaky at times, but actually made sure that Harding had very little second balls to deal with, the full backs are nowhere near Dundee's level.

The only player that looked more than comfortable at this level was Chris Millar, was practically alone in midfield today. And I have no worries about our strikers, give them service and they'll do the business.

Dundee will (probably) win the league. Far better than us in every area.
Tonsilitis
When I left the game my over riding impression was that the best team won and I have'nt changed that view but if you think about it

1) McGurn did'nt make a save apart from a punch I can think of and Dundee actually did'nt create many chances. The two goals came from defensive errors really (I had both of them down to Shields). Apart from the goals, I can think of a couple of shots which went just wide.
2) Morton had far more clear cut chances and did'nt take any of them with Russell being the main culprit. Dundee's keeper had a couple of decent saves and there was a bullet headed off the line which would have made it 1-1 and maybe a different game.

Dundee's success is based on their defence and a couple of midfielders. I think they need a bit more upfront and from what I have seen, they did us a favour taking Sturm who was anonymous again today.

I think Dundee will win the league but they will need a fair bit of strengthening to stay up.
BluebirdTon

You now have Chlamydia. wink.gif
doogster
QUOTE (Tonsilitis @ Dec 16 2007, 01:06) *
1) McGurn did'nt make a save apart from a punch I can think of and Dundee actually did'nt create many chances. The two goals came from defensive errors really (I had both of them down to Shields). Apart from the goals, I can think of a couple of shots which went just wide.
2) Morton had far more clear cut chances and did'nt take any of them with Russell being the main culprit. Dundee's keeper had a couple of decent saves and there was a bullet headed off the line which would have made it 1-1 and maybe a different game.

Dundee's success is based on their defence and a couple of midfielders. I think they need a bit more upfront and from what I have seen, they did us a favour taking Sturm who was anonymous again today.

I think Dundee will win the league but they will need a fair bit of strengthening to stay up.

You're almost 100% correct. We've been doing it all season. After 3 seasons I think we know how this league works. Dunfermline, Hamilton and Saints have all been better than us at times but we've taken the points. We don't lose too many goals - the back four will fling themselves in front of any shot at goal, the midfield have realised they're better at attacking than defending but we're also pretty clinical when we're on top in games. Having 5 strikers is a luxury most teams don't have - it keeps them all on their toes!
EastFootball
I meant to also say that the leg room in the front row of the main stand at Cappielow is shocking.

When I got home, I found all sorts of cuts and bruises on my legs that I can't even remember sustaining.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (garymcc1874 @ Dec 15 2007, 17:40) *
You don't look anywhere near a team of SPL quality btw.

To be honest, and without particularly wanting to incur the wrath of the Hamilton fans again especially, I don't think either Dundee or Accies have looked to be the standard of some of the previous winners of this division over the last five years or so. They are consistently the best teams in it and deserve to be where they are. I underestimated them both pre-season, Accies in particular. But I think the fact that this league is a two horse race in December says a lot more about the rest of us than it does about Dundee and Hamilton.

In fairness I'm only judging on three games but Accies didn't look particularly special in beating us 1-0 on the plastic, they were pretty poor after the first 20 minutes when we beat them at Palmerston and Dundee weren't exactly fantastic at Dens in their 2-1 over us although for a good hour they did play quite well.
Michael
some match reports....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/s...v_1/7143506.stm

http://www.thedees.co.uk/news_detail.asp?ID=2199

Morton dont seem to have theres done yet
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (CheStadium @ Dec 15 2007, 18:10) *
At least he can be bothered going along to support his team.
Your opinion here is that of an unmarried, marriage counselor.

That's a quality put down. I'm going to remember that one for future use.
A_dee4life
QUOTE (LargsTON @ Dec 15 2007, 18:14) *
I was suprised how small it was.

Noisy but only 4 buses so I'd guess about 350-400.

There was at least 500 of us there, considering the distance and the team of year it is a respectible crowd.
Swampy
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Dec 16 2007, 01:08) *
I meant to also say that the leg room in the front row of the main stand at Cappielow is shocking.

When I got home, I found all sorts of cuts and bruises on my legs that I can't even remember sustaining.

Honestly, it sounds like you were drunk at the time.
uberman

That will explain all the jumping about amongst the Dundee fans, they were all trying to get away from your rotten arse
vikingTON
QUOTE (doogster @ Dec 16 2007, 01:00) *
We don't lose too many goals - the back four will fling themselves in front of any shot at goal

Nail on the head of our problems at the moment.
EastFootball
QUOTE (Swampy @ Dec 16 2007, 10:54) *
Honestly, it sounds like you were drunk at the time.

The last (alcholic, for the pedants) drink I had was over 2 weeks ago wink.gif

Unless there's something in the Greenock air... dry.gif
DomDom
I didn't think we were too bad. Russell coming off did NOT help our cause. The guy was a pain in the neck for Dundee and, again, was chasing everything. Even when he was getting marked by three guys, he was somehow making space for himself. And then he's subbed. Why ? Stupid substitution that just about sums up everything about JM that people hate. Again, we need a centre half. Graecen was an absolute numpty and Harding ... well, he was solid at times, but he needs someone there with him. At least his positioning is showing signs that he's what people expect him to be. A decent defender.

I thought Morton looked good, however, there was some ridiculous things going on. Chris Millar had an incident in the first half where a defender got half a yard on him and he gave up. Thankfully, Miller went on to have a decent game, and was creating some play. Finlayson making touches out to the wing and constantly putting them out for throw ins. However, Weatherson was better today, and he helped Russell be a pain in the backside. McAllister was pretty good as well when he had the chance to do so.

I can take a few positives from this game, but we really could have won. We had more chances in the game, and defensive lapses are constant. We could have won.
SpoonTon
Another few more points from yesterday:

I've seen nothing from Michael Gardyne to suggest he's actually a footballer.

Do they draw the official attendance at the same time as the 50/50 draw?

How many throw-ins did Finlayson give away?
vikingTON
In fairness to Gardyne, Ross county fans did say that their manager played him through the middle (just behind the striker/s), and was quite a good player (although lacked defensive capability and consistency).
It is clear that he does not have the ability to be a 1st division left midfielder.
midTONs
QUOTE (LargsTON @ Dec 15 2007, 18:14) *
I was suprised how small it was.

Noisy but only 4 buses so I'd guess about 350-400.

QUOTE (A_dee4life @ Dec 16 2007, 10:34) *
There was at least 500 of us there, considering the distance and the team of year it is a respectible crowd.

Sorry mate there was no more than 300 of you.
vikingTON
QUOTE (midTONs @ Dec 16 2007, 13:29) *
Sorry mate there was no more than 300 of you.

They're the ones who should be sorry. tongue.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.