Full Version: Morton 0 Dundee 2
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Dunning1874
While I agree with what some fans are saying, that Dundee wern't great, that's because they never got out of first gear. They didn't need to as there's such a gulf in quality between them and ourselves.

Losing to Dundee isn't a bad result, they're the best team in the league after all. It's the manner that we lost in that's unacceptable.

First goal, yet another given away by Greacen just standing there like a rabbit caught in the headlights, not having a clue what to do. He could have gone and closed it down and that goal would never have happened, but instead he just stood still. How many basic errors is this man going to make before McInally realises he's nowhere near good enough for this league?

Disagree with the Dumbarton fan who said that if all our players had the heart of Weatherson we'd be fine: he didn't look interested at all.

Scott McLaughlin. Why? Just why?

And why did we sign Michael Gardyne? Surely when a manager signs a player he should know how the player will fit into the team, and will know what position he's going to play him in. But JM doesn't have a clue what to do with him. He's just gone out and signed him for the sake of it, while we're crying out for more defenders. If we don't sort out the defence in January, then we will be relegated. And if that happens, JM and Rae both have to go, they'll have no excuse.
AyrshireTon
The game showed the difference between ourselves and the stronger teams in the league. Dundee were far more organised, their defence and overall tactics were sound and they had the game's outstanding player (McDonald). They fully deserved the points.

We started well, and then lost a bad goal (well worked from a Dundee POV, but defensively a poor one to lose). After that we drifted out of the game altogether.
Second half was not much better - Finlayson got no space and was marked out of the game by McDonald. We seemed to eventually go three up front to chase a point, and then the bleedin' obvious happened - although to be honest I'd rather see us lose a second having gone for a goal than to fizzle out altogether at 0-1.

Greacen had a poor game, as did McLauglin. Effort was there but we were beaten by a better side. The second goal was McGurn's making with a poor kick-out, but at that stage we were unlikely to have gotten a point anyway.
Subs were a liitle confusing - Weatherson definitely ought to have been hooked instead of Russell.

Referee was another cracker, but nowhere as near as bad as the numpty we had for the Livi game. He did not cause any of the goals, however.

Ho hum - our away form is better then our home form, so maybe we'll beat Partick next week.
cornbeef
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Dec 16 2007, 15:00) *

And why did we sign Michael Gardyne? Surely when a manager signs a player he should know how the player will fit into the team, and will know what position he's going to play him in. But JM doesn't have a clue what to do with him. He's just gone out and signed him for the sake of it, while we're crying out for more defenders. If we don't sort out the defence in January, then we will be relegated. And if that happens, JM and Rae both have to go, they'll have no excuse.

Tell me, when IS the drama queens xmas night out ? Must be a hoot laugh.gif

LargsTON
QUOTE (A_dee4life @ Dec 16 2007, 10:34) *
There was at least 500 of us there, considering the distance and the team of year it is a respectible crowd.

QUOTE (midTONs @ Dec 16 2007, 13:29) *
Sorry mate there was no more than 300 of you.

That's what I thought but was being generous. tongue.gif

I'm also pretty sure that of the 4 buses, some were smaller than 52 seats.

HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (A_dee4life @ Dec 16 2007, 10:34) *
There was at least 500 of us there, considering the distance and the team of year it is a respectible crowd.

Nah there weren't that many. There were still empty seats in the wee section you got.
Didn't really look more than 300 but as has been said, time of year, distance, it was respectable. Made a bit of noise at times too, which is a change.
Tonsilitis
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Dec 16 2007, 14:00) *
While I agree with what some fans are saying, that Dundee wern't great, that's because they never got out of first gear. They didn't need to as there's such a gulf in quality between them and ourselves.

Losing to Dundee isn't a bad result, they're the best team in the league after all. It's the manner that we lost in that's unacceptable.

First goal, yet another given away by Greacen just standing there like a rabbit caught in the headlights, not having a clue what to do. He could have gone and closed it down and that goal would never have happened, but instead he just stood still. How many basic errors is this man going to make before McInally realises he's nowhere near good enough for this league?

Disagree with the Dumbarton fan who said that if all our players had the heart of Weatherson we'd be fine: he didn't look interested at all.

Disagree about Greacen. I thought both goals were down to poor fullback play by Shields who has not played to his previous standard for a couple of games now. I actually thought both our centre backs had reasonable games yesterday apart from their inclination to punt it anywhere in the first half. They improved that aspect after the break and, whilst they have been due criticism this season, yesterday was not one of those times.

Yesterday, if anything, Morton had more chances than Dundee. Their keeper had more saves than McGurn. Difference was that Dundee took two of their chances. We could'nt convert any. That about sums it up.
Wug
Maybe it's been mentioned but, even if it has, it deserves to be mentioned again - early in the second half McAllister was getting a lot of joy down the left against Dundee's right-back. It looked our most likely way to score. So what does McInally do? Moves Jim infield and puts Gardyne on the left. The right-back had an easy game from there on in. Disgraceful move.

His tactical move actually hindered the team. I've nothing against the guy but he's shown himself on numerous ocasions to be tactically inept and it's about time we got someone in who knows what the hell they're doing.
Dunning1874
QUOTE (cornbeef @ Dec 16 2007, 16:01) *
Tell me, when IS the drama queens xmas night out ? Must be a hoot laugh.gif

Have you got anything worthwhile to contribute to the discussion, or are you just going to act like a twat?

QUOTE (Tonsilitis @ Dec 16 2007, 19:39) *
Disagree about Greacen. I thought both goals were down to poor fullback play by Shields who has not played to his previous standard for a couple of games now. I actually thought both our centre backs had reasonable games yesterday apart from their inclination to punt it anywhere in the first half. They improved that aspect after the break and, whilst they have been due criticism this season, yesterday was not one of those times.

You have a point about poor play from Shields, but Greacen still had plenty of time to go and close down McDonald. Not got a problem with Harding for the first goal as he was actually marking a man, but Greacen was just standing there doing nothing.
SpoonTon
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Dec 17 2007, 00:16) *
You have a point about poor play from Shields, but Greacen still had plenty of time to go and close down McDonald. Not got a problem with Harding for the first goal as he was actually marking a man, but Greacen was just standing there doing nothing.

I thought the first goal was a mixture of McLaughlin not covering in, the defence not closing down (at any point in the move) and McDonald being a better class of player than any that we have...
Nana Moon
QUOTE (the auld son @ Dec 15 2007, 18:42) *
as a neutral I thought Dundee controlled the first half second half Ton must be kicking themselves for 3 glaring chances
if the rest of the team had the heart of weatherston you could have taken something out the game
to all Ton fans enjoy your selves in div 1
imagine what it was like for me today watching a real football match after the shite I have been subjected to for the past few seasons
tongue.gif

Good to see some sense- typical it didnt come from a (what's the opposite of rose tinted glassed) Morton fan.

I have to disagree about Weatherson? Are you sure you dont mean (MoM) Chris Millar who had a great game and gave everything. Weatherson had a shocker as did Russel ( I would have subbed them both).
I thought Morton had the better of the second half and deserved at least a draw, although admit over all Dundee were a quality team but the way they started wasting time in THE 1sT HALF huh.gif was shocking!!

QUOTE (Tonsilitis @ Dec 16 2007, 19:39) *

Yesterday, if anything, Morton had more chances than Dundee. Their keeper had more saves than McGurn. Difference was that Dundee took two of their chances. We could'nt convert any. That about sums it up.

Agreed!!
DomDom
I have to disagree about Weatherson? Are you sure you dont mean (MoM) Chris Millar who had a great game and gave everything. Weatherson had a shocker as did Russel ( I would have subbed them both).

I didn't think Russell had a shocker. One of his chances was as clear cut as you can get and he should have put it away, but his other chances weren't so much. Plus, Russell was making a nuicance (sp?) of himself and really should have stayed on, as he was the only guy in the team who looked likely to score a goal for our side.

I thought Morton had the better of the second half and deserved at least a draw

Agreed. I think McGurn had one save to make and also, Morton were the dominating side for much of the game. The scoreline seems to have overshadowed the performance.

Strange to see a team time wasting so early, but they were clearly taken aback by the Morton attacking. It was certainly a change from previous weeks when Morton weren't showing the ambition and fire.
Nana Moon
QUOTE (DomDom @ Dec 17 2007, 12:01) *
I didn't think Russell had a shocker. One of his chances was as clear cut as you can get and he should have put it away, but his other chances weren't so much. Plus, Russell was making a nuicance (sp?) of himself and really should have stayed on, as he was the only guy in the team who looked likely to score a goal for our side.

Strange how we all see the game in different ways but thats what makes this site good. I thought Russel looked well off the pace and was second to every ball. I actually said to my mate that we could play all day and Russell would never score so we should take him off before he's sent off. So I was shocked my morton fans bood JM's decision. Having said that Weatherson looked less interested than Russell.

PS any idea why McAnespie didnt feature?
the auld son
QUOTE (Nana Moon @ Dec 17 2007, 11:11) *
Good to see some sense- typical it didnt come from a (what's the opposite of rose tinted glassed) Morton fan.

I thought Morton had the better of the second half and deserved at least a draw, although admit over all Dundee were a quality team but the way they started wasting time in THE 1sT HALF huh.gif was shocking!!

Agreed!!

I know weatherston did not have his best game but he never hides
you are obviously like me and do not like time wasting but when a champions league team takes it into the corner or wastes time taking throw ins and goal kicks andy gray says its professionalism dry.gif
its fucking time wasting sad.gif
Nana Moon
QUOTE (the auld son @ Dec 17 2007, 13:41) *
I know weatherston did not have his best game but he never hides
you are obviously like me and do not like time wasting but when a champions league team takes it into the corner or wastes time taking throw ins and goal kicks andy gray says its professionalism dry.gif
its fucking time wasting sad.gif

Agreed mate. Yesterday on 5LiveI heard Alan (i wish I was english) Green saying Man u were quite rightly taking as much time over this freekick as the ref will allow. huh.gif

Why is that the ref only ever books the goalie for time wasting when the whole Dundee were at it from twenty five minutes into the 1st half.

Because,....... he knows he wont have been booked and he wont send anyone off for it- hence the Dundee goaly stopping to take a drink of water after he had just been booked for time wasting.

It was like "so what you going to do ref? send me off?..dont think so"

Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.