Full Version: Clyde 2-1 Livingston
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Mon The Clyde
Great win, I never expected us to win today.

Livi took the lead when they blew us open down thwe wing, cross from the side and Dorrans smashed a header in the net. Clyde equaliser came from a cross too, the ball fell nicely for McKewan I think? to smash in a low volley into the net. A corner gave Clyde the winner, pretty scrappy stuff but it fell in eventually.

Delighted biggrin.gif
monthebullywee
good game, we were the better side in the second half happy.gif
BullyWee1878
We were quite poor the first twenty minutes but to be fair Livvy played some excellent stuff but we slowly came into the game and when we started getting the ball down just before half time we started to look dangerous and got the goal just on half time, we were in control the 2nd half and again our goal came from a set piece.

OC you can get rid of that stupid fucking signature now wink.gif
Hoochthedrummer
couldnt make the game but the general consensus on the livi boards is that Clyde outplayed us...all credit to them.

Proctor needs to think before saying our inconsistencies are behind us...2-0 win over league leader one week then the next 2-1 defeat to a team at the wrong end of the table.
Mushroom
Good game mainly, was greatly pleased with the defence after an intial blip. We didn't give Livingston anything.

Masterton was clearly unfit but in general did quite well along with the rest of the midfield. I thought Mikey had a cracker.

QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Dec 15 2007, 17:51) *
OC you can get rid of that stupid fucking signature now wink.gif

Why? The "strikers" were still pish, much better than usual I'll give, in terms of general play but still couldn't score, and it never looked likely either (and the one time it did Arbuckle still blew it!) Good job our defenders can capitalise on set pieces eh? wink.gif

Great improvement in general, but we are no further with the striker situation.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Hoochthedrummer @ Dec 15 2007, 17:53) *
couldnt make the game but the general consensus on the livi boards is that Clyde outplayed us...all credit to them.

Proctor needs to think before saying our inconsistencies are behind us...2-0 win over league leader one week then the next 2-1 defeat to a team at the wrong end of the table.

Think thats a bit much - we were certainly the better team in the second half, but Livi played some good stuff in the first.
Hoochthedrummer
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Dec 15 2007, 17:59) *
Think thats a bit much - we were certainly the better team in the second half, but Livi played some good stuff in the first.

as i say, i couldnt make it but from the way it sounds you certainly deserved it. A good win for your boys and it lifts you up the table onto 19 points only 4 behind third place Partick
BullyWee1878
QUOTE (ochil-clyde @ Dec 15 2007, 17:58) *
Why? The "strikers" were still pish, much better than usual I'll give, in terms of general play but still couldn't score, and it never looked likely either (and the one time it did Arbuckle still blew it!) Good job our defenders can capitalise on set pieces eh? wink.gif

Great improvement in general, but we are no further with the striker situation.

Your main obsession Valentim is injured at the moment so he cant play and as pointed out by Hendry in the programme McKenna isnt up to scratch in training so doesnt deserve to start games and again today didnt show enough when he came on.
shawfield shed boy
Didnt make game .. how did we line up
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Dec 15 2007, 18:45) *
A massive and very welcome three points for us today. Was our last home win against St Johnstone? In which case, that was August.

Montrose, Dunfermline?
Mushroom
QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Dec 15 2007, 18:18) *
Your main obsession Valentim is injured at the moment so he cant play and as pointed out by Hendry in the programme McKenna isnt up to scratch in training so doesnt deserve to start games and again today didnt show enough when he came on.

My obsessions with Valentim and McKenna are of equal measure.

Obviously I don't have the advantage of seeing them at training but I do not trust Hendry as a good judge of player ability after saying David McGowan was the first name on the team sheet. McKenna impressed more in his 2 starts than Arbuckle and Div have in the god knows how many this season, and surely EV's reserve form counts for something?
ChrisyM92
QUOTE (shawfield shed boy @ Dec 15 2007, 19:45) *
Didnt make game .. how did we line up

1. Hutton
2. McGregor
3. Bradley
4. Higgins
5. Mckeown
6. Masterton (Mckenna)
7. Smith
8. Mclennan Snr
9. Div McGowan
10. Arbuckle
11. Mikey McGowan

Subs : Mckenna, McLennan Jnr, Bestvina, Kirkup, Cherrie
strathbrock
Talk about Jekyll and Hyde. Some of our fans wonder which Livi will turn up each week but this team can change identity while a game is in progress.

For the first 20 minutes Clyde were blown away and it was a case of how many this week. Then inexplicably Livi switched off and in came Clyde to take full advantage. Full marks to the Bully wee for taking the game by the scruff of the neck and running out deserved winners in the end. I'm scunnered though!
BullyWee1878
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Dec 15 2007, 18:45) *
A massive and very welcome three points for us today. Was our last home win against St Johnstone? In which case, that was August.

But surely two goals from two defenders tells us something?

The Arbuckle miss at the end has to be the miss of the season. Credit to the Livi keeper for able able to save it, but he should never have been in a postiton to have saved it.

Arbuckle is a confidence player - I just wish he would muster some confidence soon.

Three points next Saturday would see Stirling detached a bit at the bottom. Can we do it?

Do goals from defenders not count as much as goals from midfielders or strikers ?

All week you have been your usual optimistic self with all your doom and gloom so why not give the team some credit as we have beaten the team that gave Hamilton the league leaders a going over last week !!
snorkie
Clydes tactics were spot on today,never gave the livi players time on the ball,livi sat back thinking the game was won at 1-0.When clyde drew level their was only gonnae be one outcome sad.gif Thought yer wee number 11 had a great game today.
BullyWee1878
QUOTE (ochil-clyde @ Dec 15 2007, 19:04) *
My obsessions with Valentim and McKenna are of equal measure.

Obviously I don't have the advantage of seeing them at training but I do not trust Hendry as a good judge of player ability after saying David McGowan was the first name on the team sheet. McKenna impressed more in his 2 starts than Arbuckle and Div have in the god knows how many this season, and surely EV's reserve form counts for something?

How many has McKenna scored this season ?

The only problem I can see with Valentim would be that if he plays from the start it will be far too easy for the team to launch the ball to him and we did that for half an hour today and when we did get the ball on the deck we played some nice stuff. I would only give Valentim a game in the last 20 mins if we were chasing the game and we could put some real pressure on the other team. His reserve form might count but if he keeps getting injured then what can Hendry do about that ?
Mon The Clyde
When was the last time we beat Livi?
BullyWee1878
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Dec 15 2007, 19:24) *
Of course they count. My point is that it took defenders to score, despite playing strikers.

And for your second point - I am delighted with today's performance and the result. We seemed to be a lot more focused today than we have been for a while. Dare I ask - did the absense of DI make a difference?

It seemed the first 20 minutes we couldnt pass and it was getting launched forward but a couple of good moves and the crowd got behind the players and we got the goal at a good time and I was gutted that it was that close to half time as we were really starting to build some momentum. I thought we controlled the 2nd half but we were a bit nervous after we scored but that was to be expected.

I dont think we missed DI today. Im sure a couple of players werent too bothered as they werent getting shouted at constantly for no reason !
strathbrock
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Dec 15 2007, 20:28) *
When was the last time we beat Livi?

If my memory serves me right Clyde spoiled our celebration party the last game we played at home before we went up to the SPL. If I am correct that would be 2001.
David W
Well, that was much better smile.gif

That was our first win over Livingston at Broadwood since 1997. Crazy and given Ross County, Thistle and Raith Rovers have all ended hoodoo's this calender year, I'm really worried about next week!

I'm disappointed to see the usual suspects posting rubbish about strikers etc. Arbuckle and McGowan both had good games today, we had some excellent moves at points and although Arbuckle is being criticised for his late miss, I actually thought it was a dreadful pass by McLennan with no pace on it and as a result, the 'keeper was right on top of him when he hit it. I wouldn't say they were a top first division strike force but they caused them enough problems and linked up quite well. Definitely worth partnering them again next week.

Livingston were very good in the first twenty minutes and I genuinely thought I was seeing the best First division side since Falkirk. Quick in the midfield, strong down the wings and two good strikers. Their goal was a cracker.

Then McMenamin missed a good chance, although Hutton did well to stand big and force him wide and after that, we dominated. Either they took their foot off the gas, or Smith/Masterton took control of midfield. Maybe a bit of both. Some good football, couple of good chances and a cracking finish from McKeown for the goal. Should have been leading at the break as well but McGregor was denied by a superb stop by Stewart's foot.

Second half we were the only team in it, bar a couple of late wobbles. Stewart made good stops from Masterton and McGowan, whilst McLennan managed to take 10 minutes to shoot for an open goal and ended up scuffing it straight into the ground. Fortunately McGregor reacted quickest to a loose ball after a corner to mean that the missed chances wouldn't be rued - appropriate given that it was his ridiculously good cross field pass that released McGowan to win the corner.

I can't remember the last time we played with the same energy and thrust that we did today. After the first 20 minutes it looked like we would get hammered but the team stood up well and deserved the win. It wasn't a flawless performance by any means but that type of performance will have us pushing up the table.

Big well done to Bradley who put in a good shift on the left against two good players. The rest of the team all played well, though Smith was the standout ahead of McKeown. I laugh at the people who said he wasn't a footballer in August.

Final word to the referee who had a great game. Kept his cards in his pocket, let play flow and always made it clear what decision he was giving. A total contrast to the twat who did the game in Livingston. It's a shame the near-side lineman was awful.
Mushroom
QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Dec 15 2007, 19:23) *
How many has McKenna scored this season ?

The only problem I can see with Valentim would be that if he plays from the start it will be far too easy for the team to launch the ball to him and we did that for half an hour today and when we did get the ball on the deck we played some nice stuff. I would only give Valentim a game in the last 20 mins if we were chasing the game and we could put some real pressure on the other team. His reserve form might count but if he keeps getting injured then what can Hendry do about that ?

How many minutes has McKenna played?

Good point about Valentim though.

Sorry David but I can't help but feel our strikeforce once again let us down, they never at any point looked like a threat. Arbuckle had some nice footwork and some good runs but couldn't pass, never mind shoot. McGowan I'm not going to criticise too much for a change, rather than offer him sympathy. He is being played out of position which must be terrible for his development, he showed exactly why he should not be played up front with two weak efforts which I believe were shots.

If we had held on to Williams (who has hit form at Ayr) and maybe got Grady as player/assistant, imagine the difference it would make.

I also heard that Gretna are getting rid of Grady but I've not been able to find anything.
Garrowhillclyde
Anyone who thought Gary Arbuckle was anything better than atrocious today is clearly barking mad.

his heid doon, run forward and inevitably into a defender hopelessness was put into the shade only by his lack of ability to control a ball. At one point today he 'controlled' a ball with his chest further than I could kick the thing.....and what about the goal miss - a perfect pass from mcLennan (who I also thought was poor today) onto his feet which he blasts against the keeper from 5/6 yards. Awful.

Oh and another thing, when one of his feckless runs breaks down as per usual, how about getting your finger out your arse and getting back into play rather than trudging back looking sorry for yourself and effectively putting yourself out of play by remianing offside.

Apart from that, I was happy enough. Top marks to Mikey McGowan and Christian Smith.
Tonycraig
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Dec 15 2007, 20:55) *
Anyone who thought Gary Arbuckle was anything better than atrocious today is clearly barking mad.

his heid doon, run forward and inevitably into a defender hopelessness was put into the shade only by his lack of ability to control a ball. At one point today he 'controlled' a ball with his chest further than I could kick the thing.....and what about the goal miss - a perfect pass from mcLennan (who I also thought was poor today) onto his feet which he blasts against the keeper from 5/6 yards. Awful.

Oh and another thing, when one of his feckless runs breaks down as per usual, how about getting your finger out your arse and getting back into play rather than trudging back looking sorry for yourself and effectively putting yourself out of play by remianing offside.

Apart from that, I was happy enough. Top marks to Mikey McGowan and Christian Smith.

You thought McLennan that was poor! - He may have run out of steam a bit at the end - but that guy is class - sorry but you obviously saw a different game from me (to say he was poor).

McLennan and I suspect his wee brother will make it in this game called football. If I knew how to do it I wouls mark this thread so that it came back to haunt you in future years - McLennan poor! - your avin a laugh!!!
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Tonycraig @ Dec 16 2007, 01:33) *
You thought McLennan that was poor! - He may have run out of steam a bit at the end - but that guy is class - sorry but you obviously saw a different game from me (to say he was poor).

McLennan and I suspect his wee brother will make it in this game called football. If I knew how to do it I wouls mark this thread so that it came back to haunt you in future years - McLennan poor! - your avin a laugh!!!

Hi Ruari!

*Waves to Ruari*
Tonycraig
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Dec 16 2007, 01:37) *
Hi Ruari!

*Waves to Ruari*

Your point? - Good or bad game - You got an opinion?
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Tonycraig @ Dec 16 2007, 01:54) *
Your point? - Good or bad game - You got an opinion?

Read the very first post? huh.gif
snorkie
What was your no. 11 name?
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (Tonycraig @ Dec 16 2007, 01:33) *

Hi Ruari *Waves to Ruari!*

Yes, he was poor. He surrendered possession far to many times by collecting the ball, playing it a foot or two in front of him before deciding what to do with it and losing it. His indecision is something he needs to work on as he dithered quite a bit when shooting opportunities arose.

....I'd hardly say him having one poor game is grounds for something to come back and 'haunt' me laugh.gif I would obviously be delighted if he done a turn for Clyde.
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (snorkie @ Dec 16 2007, 10:53) *
What was your no. 11 name?

Mikey McGowan. I thought he had a very good game. smile.gif
Livi_Lad
Fuckin embarrassment.
Beat league leaders Hamilton, play them off the park and then lose to a side who seeminly cant score at home wacko.gif Typical Livingston.
Demon Drawer
First 20 minutes I though great. Clyde are coming at us in the same way Hamilton did last week and we know what happened then.

But then something went wrong. It wasn't one or two individuals that turned off but the whole team. Colin McMenamin tried to round the keeper, before shooting, then took too long to get the pass over to Pesir or Dorrans who were waiting in the middle.

I wonder how many players MP had to tell you have 5 minutes or you off this week. Possibly 7/8 of the outfield players deserved to be told that.

If it hadn't been for Colin Stewart you could have easily put us at the wrong end of our 8th 4 something game this season.
MCL
QUOTE (ochil-clyde @ Dec 15 2007, 20:44) *
I also heard that Gretna are getting rid of Grady but I've not been able to find anything.

Gretna Clear Out

Clyde deserved the victory on their second half performance. We should have been beyond them but didn't take our chances when on top in the first 20-30 minutes.
Mushroom
QUOTE (Demon Drawer @ Dec 16 2007, 14:07) *
If it hadn't been for Colin Stewart you could have easily put us at the wrong end of our 8th 4 something game this season.

That a point I thought he was superb, especially saving Mastys free kick. When he gets it right they're not often saved!

As much as I dislike Grady, I think we should go for him, he can score goals. I know we have had bad experiences with strikers trying to get a bit more than their pension (Andy Smith, Willie Falconer etc.) but I think Grady could still do a job.
Shawfield Boy
QUOTE (ochil-clyde @ Dec 16 2007, 19:32) *
That a point I thought he was superb, especially saving Mastys free kick. When he gets it right they're not often saved!

As much as I dislike Grady, I think we should go for him, he can score goals. I know we have had bad experiences with strikers trying to get a bit more than their pension (Andy Smith, Willie Falconer etc.) but I think Grady could still do a job.

Andy Smith was a superb signing for us. He made Harty the striker he was. Just thought I would point that out smile.gif
Mushroom
QUOTE (Shawfield Boy @ Dec 16 2007, 21:06) *
Andy Smith was a superb signing for us. He made Harty the striker he was. Just thought I would point that out smile.gif

Thats the other point I somehow glossed over. As bad as Smith was fitness wise and wasn't a shadow of the player he used to be, he still bagged plenty of goals. Falconer even managed 4 from 10 starts.
Shawfield Stallion
QUOTE (ochil-clyde @ Dec 16 2007, 21:16) *
Thats the other point I somehow glossed over. As bad as Smith was fitness wise and wasn't a shadow of the player he used to be, he still bagged plenty of goals. Falconer even managed 4 from 10 starts.

I thought his fitness was fine for a player in his mid-late 30's. I don't know how you can be so dismissive of him- he was a perfect foil for Ian Harty and played an integral part in our promotion push that season.

Willie Falconer was shite though
Wee Bully
QUOTE (ochil-clyde @ Dec 16 2007, 19:32) *
I know we have had bad experiences with strikers trying to get a bit more than their pension (Andy Smith, Willie Falconer etc.) but I think Grady could still do a job.

That one sentence has just invalidated anything you may ever want to say on the game of football. Andy Smith was superb for us.
Shawfield Stallion
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Dec 15 2007, 17:16) *
the ball fell nicely for McKewan I think?

No, the ball fell for McKeown. You've been spelling it wrong for ages and you're not getting the benefit of the doubt anymore.

See me after class
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Shawfield Stallion @ Dec 17 2007, 10:09) *
No, the ball fell for McKeown. You've been spelling it wrong for ages and you're not getting the benefit of the doubt anymore.

See me after class

What a shame, I've just finnished exams laugh.gif ph34r.gif
Mushroom
OK! I'll stop trying to cover my error - I just couldn't think of any more old strikers we've had.
bully-wee
i thought in the first half hour we where poor but the confidence grew as the game went on which was encouraging regardless of the scoreline. There was too much long ball stuff punted aimlessly at the strikers, but once we started to play more through the midfield and PASS the ball wide through Mick McGowen we seemed alot more dangerous, the first goal really was a good build up from the corner with a good deliver into Ruari, who swiped at it, but a great finished in the end by McKeown. Arbuckle was very poor but to be fair to him a would stick with him the service was still poor and we must work the ball through the midfield and create somthing the way we used to play, if arbuckle oto score like most strikers he needs good service , he had one chance! At least it was an entertaing game but lets try and build on it.
BullyWee1878
QUOTE (Wee Bully @ Dec 17 2007, 09:50) *
That one sentence has just invalidated anything you may ever want to say on the game of football. Andy Smith was superb for us.

Agreed. I will never forget that goal he scored when we played Falkirk at Ochilview near the end of the throw away the league season, thats when I really thought we were gonna win the league before fatty Fotheringham decided to boot Latapy when he was going nowhere and give away a penalty sad.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.