Full Version: Ross V Berwick
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
NORTHUMBRIAN
I was wondering if any Ross fans or inhabitants of the Dingwall area could give an indication as to the probability of tomorrow's game being postponed? We're hoping to head up from Newcastle where the ground is frozen solid already, but I gather it's been comparitively mild in the far north. Any accurate weather reports and predictions gratefully accepted. Cheers.
staggy4life
Pretty much certain it will be frozen in the morning just like any other day in winter but i am sure it wont effect the pitch for the game tomorrow.

Today it was dry and windy and not that cold for what you would expect in December although we are probably more used to it up here.
boardroomshuffler
So thats a game off?
staggy4life
QUOTE (boardroomshuffler @ Dec 14 2007, 19:48) *
So thats a game off?

i doubt it.
boardroomshuffler
ok cheers
hooty
The weather is dry and cold but no frost.So in joy the day out
thejailender
No chance of the game being off. The temperatures are around 5-6 degrees the last couple of days. I was at the ground on Thursday and they were out cutting the grass, the pitch looked in good condition BTW.

Remember to vis the Commercial bar before the game though !
berwick-the-unbeatable
Good times, looking forward to this one, as i want to see our new look left side rip the piss out of county.

anyone else feel Davison is a class replacement for G.G?
NORTHUMBRIAN
OK, thanks for your feedback folks, we'll be there seeing as the game doesn't seem to be in danger of postponement.
clacher2
thats an absolute chunt of a journey for a crap game
cdisaaccie
QUOTE (berwick-the-unbeatable @ Dec 14 2007, 21:09) *
Good times, looking forward to this one, as i want to see our new look left side rip the piss out of county.

anyone else feel Davison is a class replacement for G.G?

ohmy.gif

You mean Davison's actually managed to get a cross more than 2 feet off the deck since going on loan to you.
hunter
QUOTE (clacher2 @ Dec 15 2007, 00:33) *
thats an absolute chunt of a journey for a crap game

team bus left berwick at 6am,so game must be on biggrin.gif
staggy4life
QUOTE (hunter @ Dec 15 2007, 07:58) *
team bus left berwick at 6am,so game must be on biggrin.gif

blink.gif i thought the team would of stayed overnight.
Kutski
Totally. The Raith team stayed overnight for a 4 hour journey. Probably, what? 6 or 7 hours from Berwick to Dingwall?

f**k.That.
Count Von Count
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Dec 15 2007, 11:54) *
6 or 7 hours from Berwick to Dingwall?

Aye, but it'll only be the kit and the "great and good" who come from Berwick on the bus, the players will get picked up around Edinburgh etc. Still a long way from Edinburgh, but guess we can't afford a B&B in Dingwall for all the players sad.gif
OZMO
Another drubbing for the Berwick perchance? biggrin.gif
Adz-Brfc
c'mon the gers!!!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Adz-Brfc
eny updates how berwick are doing all i know is its 0-0 cool.gif cool.gif
Steven
Mon the Gers beerchug.gif
Adz-Brfc
yip beerchug.gif rolleyes.gif cool.gif
Adz-Brfc
cmon swanson get another one m8 leave on a high pal cool.gif cool.gif

forkboy
County win.

Phew.
Adz-Brfc
Just Pal
forkboy
QUOTE (Adz-Brfc @ Dec 15 2007, 17:11) *
Just Pal

Oh you were there huh? So it was a close game? No? You weren't? You have a clue about anything more than the scoreline? Then perhaps you should hush until we hear from people who were actually at the game?

The question on my lips is this. Did we win with Style And Panacheā„¢? If not, surely Adams has to go, Hansa doesn't enjoy winning, he only likes stylish football, regardless of the result.
Juninho
Mon the Gers

I bet you that's not the first time you've said that before.

The question on my lips is this. Did we win with Style And Panacheā„¢? If not, surely Adams has to go, Hansa doesn't enjoy winning, he only likes stylish football, regardless of the result.

I heard that the driver of the Berwick team bus may have taken a wrong turning and parked the team bus in front of their goal. wink.gif
Steven
QUOTE (Hansa @ Dec 15 2007, 17:34) *
I bet you that's not the first time you've said that before.

You are right, I said it in the live scores thread 10 minutes earlier wink.gif
staggy4life
Possibly the most one sided match we will have at home this season. The flag happy refs didnt help the games cause either. We should of won by far more. Berwick had one 20yard shot on target apart from their goal and we had 4 goals chopped off for offside(one was clearly onside), 2 goal line clearances and ironically our winning goal was offside by about a yard but shields played on and cooly finished it.

Anyhoo a wins a win and we are still top of the table...for now.
thejailender
County controlled this game from start to finish, but again we played one too many passes when we should have taken a shot, It's becoming a problem in the last few games.
Still we scored two, although lost a terrible goal, when the Berwick player got a free header (shades of defending from last week).

One of the worst decisions of the seaosn though in the first half, when Berwick's No8 should have been sent off for a lunging two footed tackle on Stuart Golabek. but somehow the referee only showed yellow.

Golabek was stretchered off, and received 7 stitches in a cut down the side of where his shim pad goes. (I believe you could fit your finger in the gash)

As said above, we had four goals disallowed for offside, although two off these were long after the whistle went, one of the others though was onside, yet the winning goal was clearly offside...
Some bizarre decisions.

Juninho
County controlled this game from start to finish, but again we played one too many passes when we should have taken a shot, It's becoming a problem in the last few games.

We can't stop passing TJE, we must continue to retain posession and dominate teams. The goals will come I've got no doubt.
Doink
So the general verdict is Berwick will not make a late surge for a play- off place for relegation?
thejailender
QUOTE (Hansa @ Dec 15 2007, 19:49) *
We can't stop passing TJE, we must continue to retain posession and dominate teams. The goals will come I've got no doubt.

We played a nice fancy passing game last season and look where that got us. Looking at the last two home games there is no difference from the style of play we saw all of last season.

It maybe more attractive to watch than game where we win 1-0, but it's not as effective.

But why complain today, we saw good football and three points, so I have no complaints
FilthyMack
QUOTE (thejailender @ Dec 15 2007, 20:16) *
We played a nice fancy passing game last season and look where that got us. Looking at the last two home games there is no difference from the style of play we saw all of last season.

It maybe more attractive to watch than game where we win 1-0, but it's not as effective.

But why complain today, we saw good football and three points, so I have no complaints

Even under Smith we played a lot of possession football. Back then we couldn't score more than one if we were lucky, but at least had a strong defence bolstering a faltering strike force which is something we're a long, long way off having if we have aspirations of going up and staying up.

We must've had well over 60% possession for the first half today. Higgy's goal was an absolute peach, as good a goal as I've seen so far this season. Our 2nd was a very well worked move. I'm not actually convinced Barrowman was offside TBH but given the way other decisions had gone it's understandable why everyone expected there to be a flag.

Didn't expect Berwick to finish with 11 men the way they started throwing themselves about in the first half. That boy simply should've walked for what was an absolutely cynical challenge on Golabek. They seemed to compose themselves for the 2nd half but I think credit should go to the County team for not allowing themselves to get sucked in and also not getting frustrated at their own domination and inability to create enough clear cut chances to go along with that.
silver
QUOTE (FilthyMack @ Dec 15 2007, 20:30) *
They seemed to compose themselves for the 2nd half but I think credit should go to the County team for not allowing themselves to get sucked in and also not getting frustrated at their own domination and inability to create enough clear cut chances to go along with that.

Good point.We stuck at it and we got our reward.My heart sank when they equalised.After so much domination of the game and goal line clearances and goals chalked off I really thought it was not going to go our way today.
We did pass the ball around well and we did shoot when the chance came our way.I can think of 3 or 4 attempts on goal from distance.
Higgins goal was a beezer of a strike.It looked as if it was going wide but curled in and the keeper was rooted to the spot.The winner was again well taken,with the keeper closing him down Deano had to remain cool and this he did and slotted it away beautifully.Like many I was really relieved especially as the scores from the other games was filtering through.

We won,we got the three points and we remain top.

I would also like to say I have total respect for the Berwick fans who travelled all the way north.Good on you.Chins up guys.
berwick-the-unbeatable
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Dec 15 2007, 11:54) *
Totally. The Raith team stayed overnight for a 4 hour journey. Probably, what? 6 or 7 hours from Berwick to Dingwall?

f**k.That.

6 or 7, unless you have a good driver, and a car, not a tank of a bus. rolleyes.gif biggrin.gif

In all honesty County did deserve it, but our keeper and defence (despite some errors) kept the score down quite well. Considering we came to Dingwall expecting a 4-0 beating, we did extremly well to keep it down. smile.gif

Swanson took his goal well with a diving header after some half decent midfield passing saw Greenhill manage to just slip it past the county defender, sending McMullen doon the wing, who put the ball in, Davison flicked it onto Swanson who put the diving heeder in from 6 yards. His celebration of hitting his badge was strange, as the c**t doesn't put 100% in anyway since he's away to Dundee. laugh.gif Infact, how McMullen hasn't had any interest shown in him is beyond me, as he's by far our best player thnow, something i would never of said a couple of month ago. ohmy.gif

The linesmen and ref were fucking awful, but im glad we had him in a way, as Fraser would have been away within 5 seconds of that challenge! (though in fairness, he did get some of the ball, but then again, the guy had a huge hole in his ankle after it. ohmy.gif ) Still, I notice he wasn't so desperate to get his cards out for County eh. dry.gif

Do County players know how far 10 yards actually is, cause I think i only seen them go 7-8 at the furthest, some of your strikers are complete c**ts for it infact, they just stand in front of the ball. mad.gif

All in all though, its a nice little place, but we avoided that commercial pub, just incase ph34r.gif

To the guy talking about Davison, he (if you count the flick on thday) has set up 2, and scored one in 3 games. biggrin.gif Can we have him please.

Ill post more later cause ive probably forgot half the stuff i was meant to say laugh.gif
yoda
QUOTE (Adz-Brfc @ Dec 15 2007, 17:11) *
Just Pal

Now I don't want to sound arrogant or anything but....

We played your team of the park today. Your team had to resort to stupid pointless and dangerous fouls to attempt to get the ball. You were lucky to get a goal today and we were unlucky to get 5 goals today. He play nice football you playshite football.

Was it just me or did anyone else think that the Berwick team was filled with wee players?
Juninho
We played your team of the park today. Your team had to resort to stupid pointless and dangerous fouls to attempt to get the ball. You were lucky to get a goal today and we were unlucky to get 5 goals today. He play nice football you playshite football.

We could apply that to many games at Victoria Park this season Yoda. We just have to be patient and hope that we have a strong referee. (Obviously we have to protect our players ourselves aswell, especially if the game has been won.)
NORTHUMBRIAN
QUOTE (yoda @ Dec 15 2007, 22:58) *
Now I don't want to sound arrogant or anything but....

Was it just me or did anyone else think that the Berwick team was filled with wee players?

Absolutely, we do have a team of small players and I believe it's a major handicap against teams like Ross who have significantly bigger players. Today we were outmuscled & outjumped all over the pitch, & while I can't fault the workrate of the side, we were clearly second best and comfortably brushed aside. I also was disappointed at how cheaply we gave possession away at times, especially as possession was often won by tenacious tackling and the harrying of County players when they had the ball. Finally I can't understand our manager's reluctance to use substitutes. We had a situation today where we were losing and had never looked like creating any serious pressure on the County goal, and Mr Renwick chooses not to introduce fresh legs at any stage. Very odd.
On the positive side there's plenty of spirit in the team and we won't come up against opponents as strong as Ross were today, so there is some optimism that we can haul ourselves off the bottom somehow.
marty_j
QUOTE (thejailender @ Dec 15 2007, 19:15) *
(I believe you could fit your finger in the gash)

Ooh er... blink.gif
thejailender
QUOTE (marty_j @ Dec 16 2007, 11:49) *
Ooh er... blink.gif

I though that as I typed it, but thought I wouldn't lower the tone of the thread wink.gif
highlander
QUOTE (thejailender @ Dec 15 2007, 20:16) *

Good point, well made.

Anyone got word on Golly ?

Im pleased with the passing, Lawson is coming on maybe too good!!!