booktape
Dec 14 2007, 13:00
After last week at airdrie iam not sure if cowden played poor or if it was airdrie playing superbly that made cowden look poor. Another thing is gilfilian in the middle. I thought with him playing there it would greatly enhance the team but he looked a little lost. Again this may have been down to airdrie or the weather so on saturday i may get a better idea. Two ball winners in the midfield isn't going to give enough creativity so mabee armstrong or gilfillian should go back into defence and O'neil could go into the centre of midfield. Though adamson at left back looked poor also so might be worth experimenting in that area. McConologue has to go as he is pish.
The Minertaur
Dec 14 2007, 13:16
First league game for me in 3 months

Cowden better win

Dont think we should get rid of Steph - the guy has got another goal now which will hopefully give him the confidence to knock in another few.
Hopefully Alloa have the same horror show at Central Park as they have done in the past season
laughing gravie
Dec 14 2007, 13:51
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Dec 14 2007, 13:16)

Hopefully Alloa have the same horror show at Central Park as they have done in the past season

Hopefully you'll find a much better team this time.
Our recent record at Central is nothing short of atrocious and I hope for my sanity this can be put right.
Not looking forward to this one AT ALL, it's not a nice place to go to even in victory (which I have only faint memories of). And yes, I am aware many other fans have similar thoughts about Alloa.
edinbugercowden
Dec 14 2007, 20:51
First game in a month for me.
Really looking foward to it but think that a score draw is on the cards. Would take a draw as Alloa look the form team in the league.
Waspie
Dec 14 2007, 23:59
Not overly confident about this one as Cowden are a decent side and our recent record at Central Park is horrendous. Hopefully though we can continue the good form from last week and get the wide men involved right from the start, we can open up any side in this league when we are in full flow. Would also be good if the likes of Bomber and Fleming were fit again, they must be about ready to return to the team.
vince sinclair
Dec 15 2007, 11:42
QUOTE (edinbugercowden @ Dec 14 2007, 20:51)

Really looking foward to it but think that a score draw is on the cards. Would take a draw as Alloa look the form team in the league.
Part-timer
Blue Brazil Forever
Dec 15 2007, 12:51
QUOTE (edinbugercowden @ Dec 14 2007, 20:51)

Glory Hunter
dreamteamer
Dec 15 2007, 15:50
No
Jimmy Waspy
Dec 15 2007, 16:35
Feck! What a game to miss. After last seasons debacles at Central Park, I suppose we were due a win. Working on a Saturday kills me!
Waspie
Dec 15 2007, 16:57
4-1, got to be very happy with that

. Even better considering our terrible recent results at the Stadio Centrale. Another good reason to get pished at the work xmas gig tonight
ronaldincoo
Dec 15 2007, 16:58
Ouch. Will the real Cowdenbeath please stand up..........
Steven
Dec 15 2007, 17:19
Oh dear oh dear oh dear
Raith_Raver
Dec 15 2007, 17:21
Well done Wasps, the result of the day.
Steven
Dec 15 2007, 17:28
QUOTE (Raith_Raver @ Dec 15 2007, 17:21)

Well done Wasps, the result of the day.
Nah it's only Cowdenbeath and combined with Alloa's recent good form (they are the form team at the minute) it's not really such a surprise
Mr Roberts
Dec 15 2007, 17:31
Yes, well done Alloa.
You'll be happy to know I'm now considering adopting you as my diddy team.
*pats you wee scamps on the head*
The Minertaur
Dec 15 2007, 17:49
Fair play too Alloa they worked hard and took the chances we gifted them.
First game back at Central for 3 months and I have never left a ground so pissed off with my own supporters. As soon as Alloa went 2 nil there were shouts for Welsh too feck off etc. How the hell does that help the team?!? One fan spent ages shouting "play a left back at left back it makes sense" - since when was Dougie Hill not a left back? He signed for us and played left back! Davie Hannah cost us the opening goal and he was unlucky with the 3rd. Some of the fans were moaning about playing John Armstrong in midfield - has he not been playing midfield for the past few games and I havent heard any complaints from the fans.
Some of the so called fans need a reality check - we arent mid table in the second division which I sure as hell would have taken at the start of the season and Alloa are one hell of a good team. Bare in mind Pat Clarke and Mark Baxter were out injured (hopefully Pat is ok for next week) who are in my opinion our 2 most important players along with Davie Hay.
Can those 'fans' who go too the home games just too hurl abuse at Welsh please feck off and not come back?? Very depressing day

Must win v Queens Park next week. Hopefully Hannah will cut out the errors and we can sneak a win.
The Minertaur
Dec 15 2007, 17:57
Also meant to say well played Broonie - cant believe my former hero did that too us
Gaviano
Dec 15 2007, 17:59
If we're going to put in a credible push for promotion this season, it's games like this we've got to win. And we did. So that's alright, then.
cowdenbeath
Dec 15 2007, 18:02
Although Broonie got a hat trick for me the man of the match was Dougie Wilson who caused us no end of trouble. God knows how Stirling freed him.
Allan Maitlaind has built Alloa in to a well organised side and will give the top 2 a good run for the title.
As for us we are badly missing Beaky and Pat Clarke.
HAAAAAAAAA Alloa play Berwick next week
centralparker
Dec 15 2007, 18:15
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Dec 15 2007, 17:49)

Some of the fans were moaning about playing John Armstrong in midfield - has he not been playing midfield for the past few games and I havent heard any complaints from the fans.
Fielding big John in midfield is an absolute joke. He's an out-and-out centre half and looks totally uncomfortable lurching around in the middle of the park. Why was he moved in the first place? After all, he's been outstanding at the back for Cowden all season.
Big Welshy has done a decent job so far but he made a prat of himself with this decision
Only coo in the village
Dec 15 2007, 18:27
An easy win for Alloa and the score flatters Cowden. Too many unforced errors which were well punished, particularly by Graeme Brown who took his goals well. Some of the shouting against Welsh was a bit strong and born of frustration concerning players being played out of position and the way he sets out the team. I did find Armstrongs substitution rather amazing,especially as Hannah sold 2 of the goals. A dire performance and our inconsistency is becoming very consistent

Cowden til i die
Dec 15 2007, 18:28
The problem was Kenny Adamson was outstanding at left back at Ayr and Dougie Hill isnt as comfortable at letf back as he is centre back. John Armstrong is a centre half, even down at Ayr he looked uncomfortable in midfield, out team should be based around him, not David Hannah who should never be put straight in the team after his return. How Scullion doesnt play baffles me, he tries things that sometimes dont come off but he works hard and does create things, its the fans that abuse scullion that are wrong. Without Pat Clarke we are crap and with Brechin finding form we arent as pretty as people are saying. We NEED to win next week
brazilnut
Dec 15 2007, 18:28
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Dec 15 2007, 18:49)

Fair play too Alloa they worked hard and took the chances we gifted them.
First game back at Central for 3 months and I have never left a ground so pissed off with my own supporters. As soon as Alloa went 2 nil there were shouts for Welsh too feck off etc. How the hell does that help the team?!? One fan spent ages shouting "play a left back at left back it makes sense" - since when was Dougie Hill not a left back? He signed for us and played left back! Davie Hannah cost us the opening goal and he was unlucky with the 3rd. Some of the fans were moaning about playing John Armstrong in midfield - has he not been playing midfield for the past few games and I havent heard any complaints from the fans.
Some of the so called fans need a reality check - we arent mid table in the second division which I sure as hell would have taken at the start of the season and Alloa are one hell of a good team. Bare in mind Pat Clarke and Mark Baxter were out injured (hopefully Pat is ok for next week) who are in my opinion our 2 most important players along with Davie Hay.
Can those 'fans' who go too the home games just too hurl abuse at Welsh please feck off and not come back?? Very depressing day

Must win v Queens Park next week. Hopefully Hannah will cut out the errors and we can sneak a win.
Sorry Minertaur I can't agree with you that Alloa are one hell of a good team. They didn't so much win the game today as we lost it! Whilst I'm no Welsh knocker I think it was one big mistake to pursue the Hannah issue after the initial difficulty with his registration papers. I think on today's showing it was fairly obvious where the problem lay and that was with David Hannah. This man's best days are now well behind him and we would be far better served with John Armstrong in his usual position in the centre of the defence. It can surely be no coincidence that since Hannah's return we have struggled to beat Arbroath and been turned over by Airdrie and Alloa. Prior to this we had one of the most reliable defences in the division and were starting to put together a good run.
I can't honestly see things being any better against Queens Park unless Hannah is dropped from the team. So far as I remember it was when he came into the team last season that we had our worst spell and things started to improve when he went back to Iceland.
The Minertaur
Dec 15 2007, 18:30
Agree with the post above from Cowden Till I Die - Scullion has been the one player who gets a lot of stick for no reason at all who plays well usually. We lacked a creative edge today - notice we did a lot of short corners. Surely if Scullion was playing he would have been taking them and whipping them in like he does?
Hopefully today was just a blip and we can try and settle things down with a win next week
andytoo
Dec 15 2007, 18:36
QUOTE (brazilnut @ Dec 15 2007, 18:28)

Sorry Minertaur I can't agree with you that Alloa are one hell of a good team. They didn't so much win the game today as we lost it! Whilst I'm no Welsh knocker I think it was one big mistake to pursue the Hannah issue after the initial difficulty with his registration papers. I think on today's showing it was fairly obvious where the problem lay and that was with David Hannah. This man's best days are now well behind him and we would be far better served with John Armstrong in his usual position in the centre of the defence. It can surely be no coincidence that since Hannah's return we have struggled to beat Arbroath and been turned over by Airdrie and Alloa. Prior to this we had one of the most reliable defences in the division and were starting to put together a good run.
I can't honestly see things being any better against Queens Park unless Hannah is dropped from the team. So far as I remember it was when he came into the team last season that we had our worst spell and things started to improve when he went back to Iceland.
i think what minertaur meant was as opposed to other teams in the league alloa are good. i mean you cant argue against a 4.1 home defeat can you

well done to him for accepting defeat graciuosly , anyway cowden are my fav fife team f**K the rest of em
especially d*********E
Cowden til i die
Dec 15 2007, 18:40
QUOTE (andytoo @ Dec 15 2007, 18:36)

i think what minertaur meant was as opposed to other teams in the league alloa are good. i mean you cant argue against a 4.1 home defeat can you

well done to him for accepting defeat graciuosly , anyway cowden are my fav fife team f**K the rest of em
especially d*********E
Alloa deserved to win, probably by more than 3 goals however they arent a "great" team. They have 11 boys playing for the shirt and it must be good to support alloa at the moment. They work realy hard and fair play to them
The Minertaur
Dec 15 2007, 18:40

Sorry Minertaur I can't agree with you that Alloa are one hell of a good team. They didn't so much win the game today as we lost it!
We did lose the game but credit too Alloa I can see why they are doing so well in the league - an energetic frontline who take their chances and a defence that is incredibely tough to break down. Definetly going to at least make the play offs.
Re the Hannah situation - not a big fan of Davie Hannah but I wish that after he had made a mistake instead of constantly slagging him off for it some of the Cowden fans would try and encourage him and not put him down all the time!
Cowden til i die
Dec 15 2007, 18:45
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Dec 15 2007, 18:40)

We did lose the game but credit too Alloa I can see why they are doing so well in the league - an energetic frontline who take their chances and a defence that is incredibely tough to break down. Definetly going to at least make the play offs.
Re the Hannah situation - not a big fan of Davie Hannah but I wish that after he had made a mistake instead of constantly slagging him off for it some of the Cowden fans would try and encourage him and not put him down all the time!
Very true, however Hannah is an experienced player and shouldnt be giving, what appeared to me and others, the finger to his own fans
centralparker
Dec 15 2007, 18:47

I didn't hear much abuse directed at Hannah himself, people seemed to be shouting at the manager for letting him stay on the park after gifting two goals, big John Armstrong being taken off instead.
And I thought the comment "stop basing your team around your pals Welsh" was valid.
Big Brian has done ok this season but to be a manager he must be prepared to swallow his pride and admit that he may have got it wrong, why he continues to persist with McConalogue is beyond me. I mean, 2 goals from 20 games is nothing short of appalling for a striker.
The Minertaur
Dec 15 2007, 18:50
QUOTE (Cowden til i die @ Dec 15 2007, 18:45)

Very true, however Hannah is an experienced player and shouldnt be giving, what appeared to me and others, the finger to his own fans
Didnt see this....if it is true then that is very poor and my opinion of him has lowered even more.
I would have liked to have seen J Armstrong in defence but from what I was told while away he has been playing well in midfield so I dont see why Welsh should change it.
After today I feel Hannah should be dropped, have a back 4 of Hill, the 2 Armstrongs and Gilfillan and Scullion shoud be drafted into midfield.
Cowden til i die
Dec 15 2007, 18:51
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Dec 15 2007, 18:50)

Didnt see this....if it is true then that is very poor and my opinion of him has lowered even more.
I would have liked to have seen J Armstrong in defence but from what I was told while away he has been playing well in midfield so I dont see why Welsh should change it.
After today I feel Hannah should be dropped, have a back 4 of Hill, the 2 Armstrongs and Gilfillan and Scullion shoud be drafted into midfield.
I cant be 100% but a few of us definately saw it, very poor
centralparker
Dec 15 2007, 18:59
QUOTE (Cowden til i die @ Dec 15 2007, 18:51)

Then again, I wouldn't enjoy being barracked by a few numpties if I was working my arse off in the freezing cold.
Cowden til i die
Dec 15 2007, 19:02
QUOTE (centralparker @ Dec 15 2007, 18:59)

Then again, I wouldn't enjoy being barracked by a few numpties if I was working my arse off in the freezing cold.
Wouldnt quite say he worked his arse off today. Whats wrong with trying him in centre midfield?
BlooCoo
Dec 15 2007, 20:00
QUOTE (Cowden til i die @ Dec 15 2007, 18:51)

Yep - the arm went up as the teams reformed after Alloa's 2nd goal. A real experience that no doubt other younger players can learn from. He was nothing short of garbage today and failed to improve during the game.
QUOTE (centralparker @ Dec 15 2007, 18:59)

There is a difference between working your arse off and getting results from your 'efforts'. If he can take the praise, which has been given in the past, then he needs to get a grip when things go against him. It's not as if he's a wee schoolboy.
What gauls me is the fact that we did not control the game as others with blue tinted glases have suggested and were defeated by a very average side who all committed themselves to compete where we did not.
edinbugercowden
Dec 15 2007, 20:07
Fair play to Alloa they deserved to win, they worked harder and chased everything.
Defence gave them 2 chances early on and they took them. How we could not clear the ball in the 6 yard box for the 2nd goal was a disgrace. Defence gave the ball away far to easy the whole game. Midfield struggled to make chances, John Armstrong looked lost in midfield today 1st time I have seen him play there so can,t pass comment on the other games.
Think the strikers struggled through lack of service.
Think Welsh has done a good job since he came in but he got it wrong big time today.
4th goal just saw hitting back of the net on the way out, first time in 28 years have left with 20 mins 2 go.
Pig sick, Have beer to drown the sorrows.
Father Barrys Sign (Top Half)
Dec 15 2007, 20:11
Great win for Alloa today, well worth the scoreline we got. Good to see a comfortable win at Central Park after 2 hammerings there last season. The whole team was outstanding, and well done to Broonie for his hat-trick.
Expected a bit more from Cowden, who ran us close at the Recs earlier in the season. Thought it was poor from the home fans booing the guy off who was substituted.
3 very important games now approach. Dont think Berwick is a guaranteed 3 points, as they gave County a good game today. Then we have 2 really tough away matches against Airdrie and Raith.
Great to see Bomber back as well.
cowdenbeath
Dec 15 2007, 20:17
QUOTE (Father Barrys Sign (Top Half) @ Dec 15 2007, 20:11)

Thought it was poor from the home fans booing the guy off who was substituted.
They were booing because he was subbed.
bleubrazil
Dec 15 2007, 20:36

Hope Santa brings you a spell-checker kiddo.
PS Alloa deserved to win, even although we hit the self-destruct button.
The Minertaur
Dec 15 2007, 20:57
QUOTE (bleubrazil @ Dec 15 2007, 20:36)

Hope Santa brings you a spell-checker kiddo.
For the 2 errors?!?

Excuse me for not being perfect

I quickly type my comments and dont re-read them - only having 2 errors is some sort of a record for me

and Kiddo!? Excuse me?!
Aberdeen Cowden
Dec 15 2007, 23:03
Agree with a lot of what has already been said - Christmas came early for Alloa today. It could have been much worse - they could easily have scored another three or four. I don't think Alloa are anything special though - that was the worst Cowden peformance for a long time and without Pat Clarke I don't see where goals are going to come from. The Alloa keeper didn't have a save to make. When we got corners the delivery was poor - no-one can bend a ball like Pat Scullion - even after he came on he wasn't taking the corners.
The subbing of the best defender in the league (by a mile) summed it all up.
Please don't play JA in midfield again - he looked out of place last week too.
bovril
Dec 16 2007, 09:25
how did mark ramsay play for cowden ?
CowdenPhil
Dec 16 2007, 09:38
P*ss poor yesterday - it looked like Cowden didn't fancy it at all. Not looking forward to the game next week. I thought the players would have learnt from the Peterhead game earlier this season. What really p*ssed me off yesterday is all those dobs shouting rubbish at Welshy. It was only two games ago that he was taking plaudits after the Ayr game. Besides its all Danny Lennon's fault !!!!
Welsh got it wrong yesterday and I think he would admit that. In my opinion playing five central backs is not a recipe for success but yesterday shows we need to get in another striker who scores goals on a more consistent basis than McConalogue.
Congratulations to Alloa though
bleubrazil
Dec 16 2007, 10:41
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Dec 15 2007, 20:57)

For the 2 errors?!?

Excuse me for not being perfect

I quickly type my comments and dont re-read them - only having 2 errors is some sort of a record for me

If you can only count two errors in your post then Santa should bring you a calculator as well
The Minertaur
Dec 16 2007, 13:50

That's not right at all - Hannah did OK for us last season and was excellent at Ayr and Arbroath - where we didn't struggle in any way shape or form. Alloa did win the game by clever tactics - they aren't a great team but pressed us into mistakes. They were spot on with their approach. Graeme Brown was excellent I thought. Crowd reaction was way OTT and I don't see how any fan shouting that type of stupid abuse during a game thinks he is supporting his club.
Aberdeen Cowden
Dec 16 2007, 15:00
Agree with Minertaur - shouting abuse at players/manager only benefits the opposition (will this ever sink in!)
However, it doesn't matter how you dress it up, it was a shocking performance from Cowden yesterday. Alloa nothing special (and it isn't sour grapes)
Graeme Brown did play very well though, another ex-player to haunt us.
centralparker
Dec 16 2007, 19:58
QUOTE (Aberdeen Cowden @ Dec 16 2007, 15:00)

Agree with Minertaur - shouting abuse at players/manager only benefits the opposition (will this ever sink in!)
Yes it's counterproductive and I've never understood those who scream abuse at the drop of a hat. But I think the comments about the manager playing players miles out of position was justified. I wasn't happy about that situation and if people want to vent their spleen then I can't say I blame them.
Programme Contributor
Dec 16 2007, 20:07
Does this put to bed the notion that we're only at the top end of the league due to our pitch
centralparker
Dec 16 2007, 20:21
QUOTE (Programme Contributor @ Dec 16 2007, 20:07)

Does this put to bed the notion that we're only at the top end of the league due to our pitch

Must say the artificial pitch at Alloa looks good and I wouldn't say it gives them any significant advantage. But I still say that professional fitba is best played on real grass. Although the modern astroturf is vastly superior to the original carpets, players are still reluctant to slide on it and you don't get the full football experience.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.