Full Version: Ayr V Raith
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
onegaryteale
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Dec 16 2007, 01:25) *
Fair shout, Monster. I'm not having a dig at Ayr United fans, but the way they have reacted to this has been nothing short of ridiculous.

We know that they are having a tough time, but we were once hours from extinction and know how you feel. Things can be blown way out of proportion in this time, and i feel that this is one of those times.

Not that I'm offended, but your signature probably won't help matters, if you want it to blow over then don't bring it back up with every post...
MonTheRovers!!
Anyway i'm off to bed. I expect atleast another 2 pages for when i get up on this issue. biggrin.gif
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (onegaryteale @ Dec 16 2007, 01:27) *
Not that I'm offended, but your signature probably won't help matters, if you want it to blow over then don't bring it back up with every post...

That's a fair shout actually. I felt a change was in order, and i couldn't think of anything better than this currently, however bad taste it might be.

I'll remove it just now.
Monster
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Dec 16 2007, 01:25) *
Fair shout, Monster. I'm not having a dig at Ayr United fans, but the way they have reacted to this has been nothing short of ridiculous.

It's all we have to cling onto. You know how that sort of thing is. Anyway, it's a nonsense and will soon dissipate.

We need to figure out some things, Ayr fans..... sad.gif
kilgour11
QUOTE (Monster @ Dec 15 2007, 17:15) *
Oh, the keyboard hardman act again.

You must have changed your underwear since we last met.

you still interested in what 16 year olds are wearing. You are soooo cool, i think its time to change your script, people are getting bored
Toddy
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Dec 15 2007, 21:31) *

Shortly after this...

Where does this show Marvin laughing at the guys injury??
GoRdY_b
QUOTE (Toddy @ Dec 16 2007, 09:29) *
Where does this show Marvin laughing at the guys injury??

Pehaps it doesn't.

It's quite obvious he was yawning at the awful football on display.

Behind the goal witnessed him in fits of laughter, hardly a professional way to conduct yourself when a player is injured and not moving.
Monster
QUOTE (kilgour11 @ Dec 16 2007, 02:31) *
you still interested in what 16 year olds are wearing. You are soooo cool, i think its time to change your script, people are getting bored

My only interest in neds like you is seeing them exterminated.
MonTheRovers!!
Question for the Ayr fans: When's the video of the game usually up?
Monster
Today at 6pm, but it's sometimes earlier, depending on how sadistic the club are feeling.
MonTheRovers!!
Righto, cheers. Tht's a great service you've got btw. Our vids aren't usually up till about Monday night, Tuesday morning-ish.

I take it that it gets edited at the club?
Steven
QUOTE (Craigtd @ Dec 16 2007, 06:05) *
I moved to the main stand side area just before the incident and Marv and Fahey were talking.....the Ayr fans started shouting at Marv ( While the Ayr player was getting treatment )and he started laughing at them ( with Fahey ).........no mention of Fahey but plenty about Marvin.
The Ayr fans are a sad deranged bunch who dont like Marv because of a tackle he put in on Marvyn Wilson a few years ago while at Livi and look for any excuse to have a pop at him........it`s easier to have a go at an opposing player to detract from the fact their team is utter cack.

Taken from Fantalk, put's a different perspective on things smile.gif
MonTheRovers!!
I was going to post that aswell, Steven. But i think it's best just to let it lie. Just forget about it.
Steven
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Dec 16 2007, 12:13) *
I was going to post that aswell, Steven. But i think it's best just to let it lie. Just forget about it.

Yeah I know, I just wanted to make the point that we all see things differently and quote Anthony de Mello....

"We see people and things not as they are, but as we are" and that's something Ayr fans should take heed of smile.gif
Monster

The smugness is hilarious considering the fact that it doesn't matter was pointed out to you lot about seven pages ago. rolleyes.gif
kirkcaldybanjo111
QUOTE (GoRdY_b @ Dec 16 2007, 10:01) *
Pehaps it doesn't.

It's quite obvious he was yawning at the awful football on display.

Behind the goal witnessed him in fits of laughter, hardly a professional way to conduct yourself when a player is injured and not moving.

he was probably laughing at the state of you
Yoss
It can sometimes be quite hard to tell, in games like this, whether one team is playing well or the other just playing badly, but yesterday I don't think there was any doubt - Ayr were really poor, easily the worst performance we've seen this season. And much as the singing of "Ayr United are a team of fucking shite" made me chuckle, I really don't take any pleasure in that, always enjoy my trips to Somerset and I'd really like to see them pull themselves back up. Unfortunately, the third division is a real possibility on that kind of form.

Obviously have to be pretty happy with the Raith performance, but I don't think we were that great. Solid enough, but not our best display.

As for big Marvin, he does respond to crowd banter with laughter, it's his way. In those circumstances, it's best described as tactless, and I can understand why the Ayr fans didn't like it and why they're disappointed in our reaction in defending him if they saw it as malicious. I just don't believe that would've been the case. I'm surprised the discussion hasn't focussed more on Davidson's tackle which led to all this, 'cause it didn't look too pleasant from my angle and I was mighty surprised to see the ref play on. The ref was well-placed though so maybe I just saw it wrong.

Shibuya
To be honest I didn't think it was a bad tackle, Stevenson was perhaps not as committed as Davidson but it all happened very quickly in a 50/50 situation.

I may change my opinion when the video comes out but for now thats how I see it.

Dunc
I just read through 9 pages of this.

I'm never getting that time back, what a waste.

All I can see, is various Ayr fans (not all of them, but most) trying to make legitimate points, which are well considered and understandable (regardless of their accuracy, I don't know, wasn't there), and various Raith fans retorting with ineligible nonsense, swearing and insults.

There are some (unfortunately, a minority) Raith fans who can put forward a decent point, and I'm sure they know who they are.
kilgour11
QUOTE (Monster @ Dec 16 2007, 11:01) *
My only interest in neds like you is seeing them exterminated.

neds like me laugh.gif

how am i a ned?
rovers01
Wot a waste of a topic! I expected to come on and read about the game n then I see this! This really is a disgrace! You all need to get a grip! Both sets of fans have no proof what he was laughing at! If it was the injury then that is a discrace but i don't think he would. Can we not all just talk about the game?

Shibuya
Raith's 3rd goal....

Bad goalkeeping?
onegaryteale
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Dec 16 2007, 14:28) *
Raith's 3rd goal....

Bad goalkeeping?

Raith's domination of the game...

Team problem?
Shibuya
Yes.

Just wondering if McG was at fault, my view was blocked.
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (Monster @ Dec 14 2007, 12:02) *
21 years and this is unquestionably the worst Ayr 'team' I've ever witnessed. They are no better than a pub team ( and probably less fit too).

I think you right there mate.
All this Marvin pish doesn't hide the fact Ayr are shockingly poor.

It was simply a case of turning up yesterday and getting our 3 points and going home (in the last 30 years that has never been the case for a succession of Raith teams), infact if we didn't switch off in the 53rd minute we could have easily hit 5.

I take it the booze is freely flowing in the sponsors lounge Murray Henderson Ayr's MOM, there was only one guy who lookked like a footballer in white yesterday and that was Stevenson.
And going back to the Marvin incident perhaps he took his cue from me me laughing at Martyn Campbell lasting 10 minutes.

Forza Raith wink.gif

Whistle Blower
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Dec 16 2007, 14:54) *
Just wondering if McG was at fault

Nope, shot took a deflection which took it onto the post, keeper had no chance.

onegaryteale
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Dec 16 2007, 15:35) *
I think you right there mate.
All this Marvin pish doesn't hide the fact Ayr are shockingly poor.

It was simply a case of turning up yesterday and getting our 3 points and going home

The truest thing I've seen on this thread so far.

We were/are awful, there's no hiding that.

and yes, before the game I did say it could simply be a case of Raith showing up, taking a chance or two and enjoying their 3 points.
St. Starko
Not even gonna bother with this Marv stuff. Good result, seems comfortable enough victory, although against a very decrepid Ayr side. Onwards we go. Although nothing takes away the fact that we don't have the best team in this division.
onegaryteale
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Dec 16 2007, 15:43) *
Not even gonna bother with this Marv stuff. Good result, seems comfortable enough victory, although against a very decrepid Ayr side. Onwards we go. Although nothing takes away the fact that we don't have the best team in this division.

You're just getting greedy now, we'll gladly trade with you if you want?
p&b is a disgrace
QUOTE (Monster @ Dec 15 2007, 16:53) *
Ryan Stevenson carried off on a stretcher with Marvin Andrews laughing at him apparently. Not a very nice man for a God-bothering homophobe bigot is he?

No read the rest of this thread yet - but i cant understand why you would post such a blatant lie? I'll read on and hopefully you retract that at some point.
p&b is a disgrace
QUOTE (unthinkable @ Dec 15 2007, 22:19) *
Davidson is not an animal

I disagree. In 75% of the games he plays in he is a red card waiting to happen. Players with his attitude should stick to the juniors.
Mitre56
Looking back on the gaem and reading through the various threads about the game, alot of our fans think we played great etc. My opinion was Ayr were crap, to be blunt. If a decent team was put in front of us I think we would have struggled. I still cant see what Davidson brings to the midfield anymore he was awol, I felt, for most of the game yet boris and walker get taking off who were both good.

Also, when Weir came on we stopped creating chances, Goodwillie for me anytime.

3 points all the same
Martin Nelson
QUOTE (Mitre56 @ Dec 16 2007, 17:10) *
I still cant see what Davidson brings to the midfield anymore he was awol, I felt, for most of the game yet boris and walker get taking off who were both good.

Also, when Weir came on we stopped creating chances, Goodwillie for me anytime.

3 points all the same

I'm not always impressed with McGlynn's substitutions, but perhaps he took Borris, Walker and Goodwillie off in order to save them from getting injured in a game we had already won.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Martin Nelson @ Dec 16 2007, 17:35) *
I'm not always impressed with McGlynn's substitutions, but perhaps he took Borris, Walker and Goodwillie off in order to save them from getting injured in a game we had already won.

No shit, Sherlock. We've got 5 games coming up in a 13 day period, the last thing we need is injuries to our best players.
unthinkable
QUOTE (p&b is a disgrace @ Dec 16 2007, 16:10) *
I disagree. In 75% of the games he plays in he is a red card waiting to happen. Players with his attitude should stick to the juniors.

As I said in my previous post his tackling is reckless but he never sets out to hurt the opposition. What frustrates me most about him is the number of cards he picks up for dissent and petulance towards the ref, that's where his attitude lets him down.

Yesterday's tackle was like the one at Airdrie on the opening day of the season a 50/50 challenge where the other player came off worse, he went for the ball both times so to call him an animal is a bit strong.
BIGQ FAE KDY
I want to ask the genuine ayr fans if they are gonna condemn the RACISTS among their support because i heard from 2 raith players[marv and davo]about what was said during the game.This was before they had been told about the accusations against marv so in no way is this retaliation.According to marv ayr fans were calling him all sorts of names throughout the game including talking about BANANAS etc etc.He also said it was one of the nastiest games for terracing abuse he has encountered. As for laughter according to what davo said they were laughing at ayr fans threats to STAB MARV and that they wouldnt get out of ayr ALIVE.WTF is wrong with these people and this is no lies this is FACT.
Ally G
QUOTE (BIGQ FAE KDY @ Dec 16 2007, 19:43) *
I want to ask the genuine ayr fans if they are gonna condemn the RACISTS among their support because i heard from 2 raith players[marv and davo]about what was said during the game.This was before they had been told about the accusations against marv so in no way is this retaliation.According to marv ayr fans were calling him all sorts of names throughout the game including talking about BANANAS etc etc.He also said it was one of the nastiest games for terracing abuse he has encountered. As for laughter according to what davo said they were laughing at ayr fans threats to STAB MARV and that they wouldnt get out of ayr ALIVE.WTF is wrong with these people and this is no lies this is FACT.

I was in the Main Stand yesterday, so genuinely didn't hear anything that was being shouted.. However, I, and most genuine Ayr fans certainly won't tolerate any kind of racist behaviour at Somerset Park, or anywhere for that matter.

On behalf of Ayr United, I would like to apologise on behalf of the club if a small minority of our fanbase behaved like this. I hope the club ban these idiots for life.
MonTheRovers!!
If that's true, Quinny, that's quite worrying.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Ally G @ Dec 16 2007, 18:47) *
I was in the Main Stand yesterday, so genuinely didn't hear anything that was being shouted.. However, I, and most genuine Ayr fans certainly won't tolerate any kind of racist behaviour at Somerset Park, or anywhere for that matter.

On behalf of Ayr United, I would like to apologise on behalf of the club if a small minority of our fanbase behaved like this. I hope the club ban these idiots for life.

An excellent response if i don't say so myself. smile.gif
Cliche Guevara

What a lot of absolute shite! You really are a clown. This is a very poor attempt at diverting attension from an unsavoury incident.

Perhaps some of the Ayr support called Marvin's mum a terrorist whore, or made sick jokes about his kids dieing. If you think harder you'll probably be able to come up with some more outlandish claims. Perhaps involving nuns, wheelchairs and bovril or something.

Ayr's support were very quiet yesterday. Every shout could be heard in the home end. What has been posted is lies. FACT!
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Alun @ Dec 16 2007, 18:55) *
What a lot of absolute shite! You really are a clown. This is a very poor attempt at diverting attension from an unsavoury incident.

Perhaps some of the Ayr support called Marvin's mum a terrorist whore, or made sick jokes about his kids dieing. If you think harder you'll probably be able to come up with some more outlandish claims. Perhaps involving nuns, wheelchairs and bovril or something.

Ayr's support were very quiet yesterday. Every shout could be heard in the home end. What has been posted is lies. FACT!

That is a bold claim to say the least. I wasn't there, so can't really comment, but why would Davo and Marvin and lie?
BIGQ FAE KDY
I am only telling you what i was told mate so you can say what you like but this is FACT and another thing aswell chris fahey text me to confirm this and said that the other reason that marv was laughing was he had been called THE DEVIL and was going to HELL.If i am a clown what does that make you coming out with this story that a PROFESSIONAL PLAYER would LAUGH at a FELLOW PROFESSIONAL who was injured.You dont know football if thats what you think and this is no lie because of the fact that the ayr support were quieter than normal that the players heard what was being shouted from the terracing.
Cliche Guevara
who knows what they did or didn't say!

Examine one line though:

'ayr fans were calling him all sorts of names throughout the game including talking about BANANAS '

Funny how that all went un-noticed by the people actually standing on the terracing.

There have been racist incidents at Ayr games in the past, but decent fans are always quick to shout down the offenders. This is simply a low attempt to muddy the name of AUFC and deflect from Marvin's inapporiate behaviour.
rw89
QUOTE (Alun @ Dec 16 2007, 18:55) *

Thats a bit harsh. Ok, i wasn't at the game but i can understand whats has happened. Even if it was a single person shouting racist abuse at Marv then it may have gone unnoticed. Too claim straight away its a load of pish is a bit strong as Quinny, from what i know, knows a few of the players and and is maybe told their side of the story. To dismiss it as a bullshite is just trying to make up and excuse for people to continue slating Marv which at the end of the day, is utterly pathetic to be honest.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Alun @ Dec 16 2007, 19:04) *
who knows what they did or didn't say!

Examine one line though:

'ayr fans were calling him all sorts of names throughout the game including talking about BANANAS '

Funny how that all went un-noticed by the people actually standing on the terracing.

There have been racist incidents at Ayr games in the past, but decent fans are always quick to shout down the offenders. This is simply a low attempt to muddy the name of AUFC and deflect from Marvin's inapporiate behaviour.

You really are a disillusioned fuckwit if you think that Quinny is making this up simply to tar the name of AUFC and to direct the spotlight from Marvin Andrews onto another thing.
Cliche Guevara
HELL.If i am a clown what does that make you coming out with this story that a FELLOW PROFESSIONAL would LAUGH at a FELLOW PROFESSIONAL who was injured.

I stood and watched it for at least three minutes!

Regarding your comment about Marvin be called the devil and being told he's going to hell: What's your point there? Is that supposed to be bad or something?
MonTheRovers!!
Well he is a religious believer. I seriously doubt if he appreciated it...
BIGQ FAE KDY
I dont want to muddy ayrs good name but you certainly tried to muddy ours and mibbe when it was the folk round about that area let it go who knows.I told you the devil story because thats what marvin was laughing at according to his team mate and no its not bad because marv was LAUGHING.
MonTheRovers!!
So much for the match video being up at 6 btw, Monster! 19:08 and it still ain't there.
Shibuya
I can't speak for anybody else but there was a guy in the stand near me and he was definitely slightly retarded. I don't mean that in a funny way, he actually was.

Anyway, he was screaming abuse at Andrews but was quickly piped down by at least two people next to him.

As has been said, sometimes there are idiots at Somerset but they aren't indicative of the whole support whatsoever.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.