Full Version: Ayr V Raith
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Yoss
You shouldn't be too confident against a team that's already beaten you on your own patch earlier in the season - but I am pretty confident for this one nonetheless. If we can win this we'll have beaten every team during the first half of the season.

Anyone heard any team news? Any of the injured players back yet?
renton
QUOTE (Yoss @ Dec 14 2007, 11:09) *
You shouldn't be too confident against a team that's already beaten you on your own patch earlier in the season - but I am pretty confident for this one nonetheless. If we can win this we'll have beaten every team during the first half of the season.

Anyone heard any team news? Any of the injured players back yet?

I'm not confident at all - mostly because I don't think I'll get down there laugh.gif

Ayr are on a bad run, it would be just like us to give them a boost. I would'nt mind another performance like the Ross County one, just make sure we take the chances when they come.
GavMan_AUFC_1910
I'd be quite happy with us only losing say 2-0. That would be an improvement on our last few scorelines. We have top scorer Williams out and Wardlaw out through suspension and Moore is injured. We don't stand a chance. Will be betting on the Rovers at 11/10! cool.gif
Monster
It really is just a question of how many Rovers will win by.

Our players can't stand one another, don't bother trying all that hard and most are totally off form. Add that to our missing strikers and we'll be lucky to get Nil tomorrow.

21 years and this is unquestionably the worst Ayr 'team' I've ever witnessed. They are no better than a pub team ( and probably less fit too).

I (along with many other regulars) am just about past caring, and the pain of all this pish is only eased slightly by the money I make betting against Ayr every week.

I would be delighted with a 2-0 defeat.
Shibuya
21/10 is a fantasy price from the bookies and i'm all over it this week.

We've no strikers to speak of (Varielle aint kicked a ball all season) so this could be a long afternoon for Ayr.

rw89
Ayr will win this. I hate games like this, games where everyone thinks you'll win but you know Rovers will bottle it. Hopefully i'm wrong.
renton
QUOTE (rw89 @ Dec 14 2007, 12:17) *
Ayr will win this. I hate games like this, games where everyone thinks you'll win but you know Rovers will bottle it. Hopefully i'm wrong.

Ayr to win at a canter, 3-1 sad.gif
Toddy
This is the type of game that the Rovers will lose !! Just look back to the last game at Central park when Cowden had players out.......We need to be be at our best on saturday or we`ll get nothing from this match.
Steven
QUOTE (Monster @ Dec 14 2007, 12:02) *
It really is just a question of how many Rovers will win by.

Our players can't stand one another, don't bother trying all that hard and most are totally off form. Add that to our missing strikers and we'll be lucky to get Nil tomorrow.

21 years and this is unquestionably the worst Ayr 'team' I've ever witnessed. They are no better than a pub team ( and probably less fit too).

I (along with many other regulars) am just about past caring, and the pain of all this pish is only eased slightly by the money I make betting against Ayr every week.

I would be delighted with a 2-0 defeat.

QUOTE (rw89 @ Dec 14 2007, 12:17) *

This should be an interesting game with both sets of fans having little faith in their team ph34r.gif Since the game is away I have slightly more confidence in us getting a result, hopefully we can put together a decent run before playing County again unsure.gif

Btw rw89 have you been taking lessons from Whistleblower laugh.gif
No8.
I have to say the Raith Supporters are the most pessimistic i have ever read..whatever happened to big marv and 'Keep Believing'? ....3-1 Raith...remember i haven't been at a match they have lost since the SPL days wink.gif
renton
QUOTE (Steven @ Dec 14 2007, 12:46) *

Join us, you'll never feel dissapointment again - we will take your pain away.... rip.gif rip.gif rip.gif
rw89

No, i'm just preparing for the inevitable! laugh.gif

QUOTE (No8. @ Dec 14 2007, 12:46) *
I have to say the Raith Supporters are the most pessimistic i have ever read..whatever happened to big marv and 'Keep Believing'? ....3-1 Raith...remember i haven't been at a match they have lost since the SPL days wink.gif

Erm....we've tried it against Stranraer, Stirling , Cowdenbeath and Brechin, games we could have gone into and won but the player bottled it.
Monster

Graeme thinks Rovers will win tomorrow. smile.gif

I have to agree here.

I'm one of the most negative and pessimistic people when it comes to Ayr (and with good reason), but if we were joint top of the league having won three of our last four away games and were travelling to face a team not just off form but in absolute crisis, I'd be extremely confident.
CALDERON
Every time in my entire life ive been conifdent of a Rovers win, weve fooked it up.

2-0 Ayr
Steven
QUOTE (renton @ Dec 14 2007, 12:49) *
Join us, you'll never feel dissapointment again - we will take your pain away.... rip.gif rip.gif rip.gif

And how does that work exactly? laugh.gif wink.gif I find a bottle of Vodka helps take away the pain of a defeat myself ph34r.gif

QUOTE (rw89 @ Dec 14 2007, 12:49) *
No, i'm just preparing for the inevitable! laugh.gif

I can feel the optimisim just oozing out of you laugh.gif

QUOTE (Monster @ Dec 14 2007, 12:51) *

I have to agree here.

I'm one of the most negative and pessimistic people when it comes to Ayr (and with good reason), but if we were joint top of the league having won three of our last four away games and were travelling to face a team not just off form but in absolute crisis, I'd be extremely confident.

Problem is Monster everytime we get confident about a game we "should win" we play poorly and look no better than a pub team sad.gif

As for Graeme is he feeling okay? somebody should check his Temperature laugh.gif
Yoss
Well I'm prepared to break the mould with some cautious optimism. Ayr have been on a bad run and are unlikely to be quite as bad again, it'll need a good performance from us - but I think it's within our capabilities.
No8.
QUOTE (Monster @ Dec 14 2007, 12:51) *

I have to agree here.

I'm one of the most negative and pessimistic people when it comes to Ayr (and with good reason), but if we were joint top of the league having won three of our last four away games and were travelling to face a team not just off form but in absolute crisis, I'd be extremely confident of a scoring draw.

Finished it for you wink.gif
renton
QUOTE (Steven @ Dec 14 2007, 12:59) *
And how does that work exactly? laugh.gif wink.gif I find a bottle of Vodka helps take away the pain of a defeat myself ph34r.gif

I can feel the optimisim just oozing out of you laugh.gif

Problem is Monster everytime we get confident about a game we "should win" we play poorly and look no better than a pub team sad.gif

As for Graeme is he feeling okay? somebody should check his Temperature laugh.gif

we replace you with a pod person grown from an aubergine, pod steven knows only pessimism and will never be dissapointed by Rovers losing ever again.
Steven
QUOTE (renton @ Dec 14 2007, 13:03) *
we replace you with a pod person grown from an aubergine, pod steven knows only pessimism and will never be dissapointed by Rovers losing ever again.

Could I be "replaced" before Saturday? laugh.gif
renton
QUOTE (Steven @ Dec 14 2007, 13:07) *
Could I be "replaced" before Saturday? laugh.gif

You may already have been.... don't look at the light ph34r.gif

anyhoo, not a chance in hell we'll win this. Everything is against Ayr so they'll definatley win
Double Jack D
I'm gonna throw caution to the wind and say we're gonna pump Ayr on Saturday.

Mind you I thought we'd pump Brechin last week! dry.gif

I don't find it very reassuring that a lot of the Ayr 1st teamers will be out. I'd rather we played against these guys that were getting hosed every week rather than a bunch of fringe players with something to prove.

What's the odds on Rovers? Anything against is a good value bet IMO!
Steven
QUOTE (renton @ Dec 14 2007, 13:14) *
You may already have been.... don't look at the light ph34r.gif

anyhoo, not a chance in hell we'll win this. Everything is against Ayr so they'll definatley win

Too late................................ blink.gif laugh.gif

I'm actually feeling a hint of optimism before this game, when will the negativity kick in ph34r.gif
renton
QUOTE (Steven @ Dec 14 2007, 13:19) *
Too late................................ blink.gif laugh.gif

I'm actually feeling a hint of optimism before this game, when will the negativity kick in ph34r.gif

Hmmm, best shoot yourself in the head, take two bullets every 4 hours and contact me if the headache doesn't go away. cool.gif
Steven
QUOTE (renton @ Dec 14 2007, 13:23) *
Hmmm, best shoot yourself in the head, take two bullets every 4 hours and contact me if the headache doesn't go away. cool.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Works for you does it?
renton
QUOTE (Steven @ Dec 14 2007, 13:26) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif

Works for you does it?

not these days, I use something more potent....
Steven
QUOTE (renton @ Dec 14 2007, 13:28) *
not these days, I use something more potent....

Ah you listen to Socks rant......................

Give me a bullet to the head anyday!!!
renton
QUOTE (Steven @ Dec 14 2007, 13:43) *
Ah you listen to Socks rant......................

Give me a bullet to the head anyday!!!

good job he never saw that, 5 paragraphs at least.

Still, this all seems to have gone off topic, it's amazing how short an argument is when it's along the lines of "we're gonna get pumped", "Naw, we're gonna get pumped" is in comparison to the more traditional "we're gonna win" "Naw, we're gonna win" style biggrin.gif

Ah well, not much to do except look out for Alun telling us the match is off and then watch the goals roll in and see this thread turned over to Monster on saturday evening as it becomes the next stop on the Reid promotion choo choo
Monster
QUOTE (renton @ Dec 14 2007, 13:52) *
good job he never saw that, 5 paragraphs at least.

Still, this all seems to have gone off topic, it's amazing how short an argument is when it's along the lines of "we're gonna get pumped", "Naw, we're gonna get pumped" is in comparison to the more traditional "we're gonna win" "Naw, we're gonna win" style biggrin.gif

Ah well, not much to do except look out for Alun telling us the match is off and then watch the goals roll in and see this thread turned over to Monster on saturday evening as it becomes the next stop on the Reid promotion choo choo

Brian Reids Bouncy Choo-Choo Army!!!

I sincerely doubt that though. Still, based on the (already mentioned) fact that absolutely everything is against us then sods law dictates we scrape a draw.

Although for that to happen Reid will have to get our lazy, petulant players to play as a team, which is a long shot really.

I'm still saying 'Away Win'.
onejamesgrady
QUOTE (Yoss @ Dec 14 2007, 13:00) *
Ayr have been on a bad run and are unlikely to be quite as bad again.

We have absolutely no grounds to think anything is about to change
Steven
QUOTE (onejamesgrady @ Dec 14 2007, 14:24) *
We have absolutely no grounds to think anything is about to change

You are about to play us and we are always good for giving a team who are down on their point a point or three when they need it most laugh.gif sad.gif
BIGQ FAE KDY
we have a pish record at somerset end off story ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
doulikefish
QUOTE (BIGQ FAE KDY @ Dec 14 2007, 15:18) *
we have a pish record at somerset end off story ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

quinny your putting me off rovers at 11/10 at laddies dry.gif
Michael W
We showed again last week that we aren't really capable of scoring goals/creating chances, so we will struggle. If Ayr score, then I think the best we can hope for is a draw. On a side note, Campbell and Marv looked suspect last week. I'm starting to wondere if we should go back to playing 3-5-2. That would allow Wilson and Dingwall to get forward more and we could have Tod or Lumsden back in defence to help try and sweep up mistakes.

Michael W
QUOTE (doulikefish @ Dec 14 2007, 16:00) *
quinny your putting me off rovers at 11/10 at laddies dry.gif

I'm going to give you the best piece of betting advice you will ever recieve... DON'T EVER BET ON THE ROVERS!!! We are extremley inconsistent and we will let you down. All my mates at uni are fed up with us letting their coupons down laugh.gif .
MonTheRovers!!
Not getting to go to this, totally gutted sad.gif Football Manager for me though. thumbup2.gif
onegaryteale
QUOTE (MW RRFC @ Dec 14 2007, 16:07) *
I'm going to give you the best piece of betting advice you will ever recieve... DON'T EVER BET ON THE ROVERS!!! We are extremley inconsistent and we will let you down. All my mates at uni are fed up with us letting their coupons down laugh.gif .

I only ever bet on Rovers if they're playing us.

I don't see it as betting on teams, I see it as betting against teams.

I bet against, Ayr, Dunfermline and Forfar every single week almost laugh.gif
Shibuya
Forfar are ideal betting fodder. Gretna at the start of the season too - you could still get good odds on them being relegated for a while!

My worry for this game is where our goals are going to come from as it looks like Robbo (a striker who never plays upfront) and a recalled Varielle are going to spearhead the 'attack' - hardly a recipe for a goalfest!

Potentially;

McGeown

Pettigrew Forrest Campbell Lowing

Baldy Stevo Weaver/Casey Woodburn/Dunn

Robbo Varielle

Scary Bear

Get yourself to the home game with Peterheid on the 22nd. I haven't seen us win a game since January.

Ayr's not a happy hunting ground but I think we'll get a victory.
Andy_AUFC
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Dec 14 2007, 19:26) *
Forfar are ideal betting fodder. Gretna at the start of the season too - you could still get good odds on them being relegated for a while!

My worry for this game is where our goals are going to come from as it looks like Robbo (a striker who never plays upfront) and a recalled Varielle are going to spearhead the 'attack' - hardly a recipe for a goalfest!

Potentially;

McGeown

Pettigrew Forrest Campbell Lowing

Baldy Stevo Weaver/Casey Woodburn/Dunn

Robbo Varielle

I would go with seems a steady team apart from Dunn,Forrest,Lowing,Casey and Campbell who hasnt played a game since god knows when. I want to see that boy Woodburn in action but if we do get pumped that could destroy his confidence.
Shibuya
Campbell played last week so should be ok to play this week again.

Agreed on Forrest, Lowing and Casey but you gotta go with the chips!
onegaryteale
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Dec 14 2007, 19:51) *
Campbell played last week so should be ok to play this week again.

Agreed on Forrest, Lowing and Casey but you gotta go with the chips!

We know from our own experience that Forrest (on form) is a good player.

I reckon it'll probably be a bit more like...

McGeown

Forrest Henderson Campbell

Vareille Weaver Casey Woodburn Baldacchino

Robertson Stevenson
Mon the Rovers
I seem to remember a few Ayr fans predicting huge Rovers wins in Seotember sad.gif

I'll say draw, and I'm not going. Third match I've missed this season, standards are slipping laugh.gif
No8.
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Dec 14 2007, 19:32) *
Get yourself to the home game with Peterheid on the 22nd. I haven't seen us win a game since January.

I would go Scary but i cannae see Mrs8 being very pleased..i am already in the bad books for going tomorrow and no Xmas shopping done biggrin.gif I will explain your predicament and that my presence is needed.

Anyway i did offer to drop her in Ayr Town centre so she could shop there smile.gif
dan the man
IF....... mcgeown finds something like last seasons form then i'll go 2-(varielle,stevenson) 1 ayr.
Raith_Raver
This is another classic rovers-to-fall-on-their-erse situation. I wouldnt be surprised if its a 0-0 draw.
raithfortheleague
i am going to be optomistic 4-1 raith mark my words wink.gif

you can all laugh at me if im wrong laugh.gif
onegaryteale
QUOTE (raithfortheleague @ Dec 15 2007, 11:21) *
i am going to be optomistic 4-1 raith mark my words wink.gif

you can all laugh at me if im wrong laugh.gif

I'm going to also be optimistic and say 4-0 Rovers dry.gif
MonTheRovers!!
Totally gutted i can't go today. Only the second game this season. sad.gif

Mon the Rovers!
onegaryteale
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Dec 15 2007, 12:15) *
Totally gutted i can't go today. Only the second game this season. sad.gif

Mon the Rovers!

I'd be gutted if I was gonna miss my sides biggest win of the season too.
Scary Bear
QUOTE (No8. @ Dec 15 2007, 02:00) *
I would go Scary but i cannae see Mrs8 being very pleased..i am already in the bad books for going tomorrow and no Xmas shopping done biggrin.gif I will explain your predicament and that my presence is needed.

Anyway i did offer to drop her in Ayr Town centre so she could shop there smile.gif

Has she sampled the shopping delights of the Mercat and Kirkcaldy High Street! It's got a Debenhams now *whistle* laugh.gif

C'mon. I can't handle another bloody defeat.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.