Full Version: Albion Rovers V Dumbarton
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
finished work at 2 today not early enough to make the bus but in time to let me listen to alan's match reports on the radio. was actually impressed with the reports, what a shame we can't say the same about our team.

i obviously cant comment on the performance as i wasn't there but i think that without a doubt this should be the final nail in gerry's coffin. the sending off was obviously a big handicap in our chances of winning today, however it sometimes gives certain teams a lift and spurs them on to victory or even a draw.

its about time something was done about dumbarton football club. im not happy, pass me a beer and gerry mccabes head on a plate please.
Dumbarton-Mad
Wasn't there either but the result says it all. It's just another bad result after another, just not good enough in this league when every team apart from East Fife arn't that good at all.

No point going on about McCabe i'm just fed up with it. It's been clear for weeks that he's lost it so dosn't make any difference now. We are just a joke just now.
GoTeamGaz
the teams the joke of the third division! It just shows how poor forfar are. The sending off was an absolute disgrace, their player smacked the ball off henderson while he was backing away and moaned to the ref. Gemmel will never show his face in dumbarton again. Poor performance. Gerry has to just put his hands up and walk away
Dumbarton-Mad
QUOTE (GoTeamGaz @ Nov 10 2007, 17:16) *
Gemmel will never show his face in dumbarton again. Poor performance.

What did he do? unsure.gif
Ladyfan
I really feel it for you guys. I don't think any Fife fan will ever forget the despair of a few seasons ago with Moffat and 'That man' at the club. Ultimately, blame has to lie at the door of the Directors. I blamed our board for not getting shot of Moffat quicker and putting us all through utter misery.

I hope you don't take the above as patronising as I really do hate to see other clubs in our division go through similair to what we went through. On the plus side - you may have a bright future to look forward to. It's a funny old game!
roy of the rovers
QUOTE (GoTeamGaz @ Nov 10 2007, 17:16) *
Gemmel will never show his face in dumbarton again.

He will come 2nd January wink.gif
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
Oh well, yet another game ruined by an incompetent referee.

There was really nothing between the two sides in the first half, up until Mr Charleston decided to forego any common sense and send the boy Henderson off for blocking a quick free kick. Given he'd only been booked a few minutes before, surely a final warning would have sufficed.

After that, the game unsuprisingly tipped in our favour. Roddy Hunter scored with an absolute topper of a strike just before half time and manged to keep his jersey on - take note Kenny Wright laugh.gif

Our manager then showed his experience by subbing Jamie McKenzie and John Gemmell at half time. Both had received yellow cards and appeared to be losing the plot towards the end of the half, and there was little doubt Charleston would have evened things up given half a chance. These two guys really do need to learn to shut their mouths

Donnelly and Walker were the oncoming subs, and both performed very well. Big Ciaran has been a bit unlucky to be out of the team recently and on that showing it may be Jamie McKenzie's turn to swap him for a shot on the bench. Pat Walker also took Rovers 2nd goal very well, holding the ball up and turning quickly to shoot.

That's us up to fifth now, something that seemed inconceivable just a few weeks ago thumbup2.gif
ThirdrockfromtheSon
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Nov 10 2007, 18:54) *
"............Our manager then showed his experience by subbing Jamie McKenzie and John Gemmell at half time. Both had received yellow cards and appeared to be losing the plot towards the end of the half......."

Aloysius, I think by praising your Manager, you just managed to highlight the two biggest problems our Manager has - he has no experience as a Manager, and his subs are always too late.

Sums our season up, though sad.gif
Boghead ranter
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Nov 10 2007, 18:54) *
There was really nothing between the two sides in the first half, up until Mr Charleston decided to forego any common sense and send the boy Henderson off for blocking a quick free kick. Given he'd only been booked a few minutes before, surely a final warning would have sufficed.

That's what a yellow card is, a final warning.
WillieHague
Well Yasss ! rolleyes.gif .

A really amazing performance from the Rovers today!

Although the game did start a bit flat, it developed into what I can only describe as a series of mix up's and mistakes which ultimately cost Dumbarton any hopes that they had of winning in the first place. The lad Henderson was already booked and obviously the referee was warranted to send him off. John McCormacks decision making also left us in a stronger position and gave Ciaran Donnelly and Pat Walker the chance to let off some steam into what proved to be a red hot encounter ph34r.gif . Ciaran was very impressive in the midfield role yet again and Pat Walker seems to have gained extra pace and fight.

Roddy Hunter's first goal was nothing short of an outstanding attempt, and Pat Walker's was a typical striker's goal.

The small band of 'noisy' Dumbarton fan's said "We've only got one stand".

How many stands have you got again, I'm sure that most of you will agree some Son's fans let the majority down at the half time whistle when the team's were heading down the tunnel and at full time also.
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE (Boghead ranter @ Nov 10 2007, 20:49) *
That's what a yellow card is, a final warning.

Officially that is the case. However, in reality, many referees will use a little bit of common sense and choose to take no action for a further low-level offence following the issue of a yellow card. Instead, they will verbally warn a player that any further transgression will see him off the park.

That's what should have happened with Henderson.
Dumbarton-Mad
QUOTE (WillieHague @ Nov 10 2007, 21:30) *
I'm sure that most of you will agree some Son's fans let the majority down at the half time whistle when the team's were heading down the tunnel and at full time also.

And what exactly did they do to let the majority down?
Telefunken U47
QUOTE (Dumbarton-Mad @ Nov 10 2007, 22:32) *
And what exactly did they do to let the majority down?

Tried to have a go at Paul martin, until the stewards intervened.
Bucky
The ref lost the plot today by sending off Henderson which is the harshest red card I have ever seen. Up until then it was a fairly even contest with Dumbarton looking good going forward.

Top goal by Hunter which I was sure Crawford was going to get his hands to until watching the net bulge. A masterstroke by McCormack at halftime with the subbing of McKenzie and Gemmill - a cert that either wa going to get sent off.

BTW Some of the Sons fans totally lost it at the end with Paul Martin as he was going down the tunnel.
ThirdrockfromtheSon
QUOTE (Telefunken U47 @ Nov 10 2007, 23:16) *

Ach, FFS, can we no' let bygones be bygones?

Even I, Martin's biggest critic, have moved on. I criticise McCabe nowadays.

FFS Sons fans' he's not worth it. He's got a new club and a new job - he's not even the Manager!! Let him be and move on!!!

And we should all remember that he was one of our best defenders ever, despite his managerial shortfalls. So come on, draw a line and move on.
midfield general
[quote name='Bucky' date='Nov 11 2007, 00:01' post='1979454']
Up until then it was a fairly even contest with Dumbarton looking good going forward.
/quote]

I counted one shot on target from us in the first half & that came around the 45 minute mark !!

Just not good enough..... mad.gif
Bucky
QUOTE (midfield general @ Nov 11 2007, 05:31) *
I counted one shot on target from us in the first half & that came around the 45 minute mark !!

Just not good enough..... mad.gif

True, McFarlane had a gilt edged chance after the sending off. Still think if Dumbarton had got a goal in the second half they would have pushed us as we do have a tendency to capitulate.
Boghead Ben
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Nov 10 2007, 21:44) *
Officially that is the case. However, in reality, many referees will use a little bit of common sense and choose to take no action for a further low-level offence following the issue of a yellow card. Instead, they will verbally warn a player that any further transgression will see him off the park.

That's what should have happened with Henderson.

Agree. Henderson was the victim of an inexperienced ref and a wily Rovers midfield. Niall was facing the other direction when the ball hit him and it was just a wrong decision by the ref.

No doubt in my mind that the decision turned the game. Rovers took advantage and scored goals just at the right time to kill the match off. Hunter's effort looked good but am I alone in thinking that our keeper should have got to it?

So, third bottom with just 13 points. What now? I fully expect some sort of statement/action by the Club. Enough is enough. We've not progressed at all from this point last year and it's time now to take stock and make plans.

Couple of words for the Albion Rovers backrooom team ; great stuff guys, you make everyone feel very welcome indeed and you are a credit to your club.
Dumbarton-Mad
QUOTE (Telefunken U47 @ Nov 10 2007, 23:16) *

Think if the teams' playing shit and the supporters are paying money to go to games they deserve to have a go at PM, am sure he can handle it.
Dumbarton-Mad
QUOTE (Boghead Ben @ Nov 11 2007, 11:20) *
So, third bottom with just 13 points. What now? I fully expect some sort of statement/action by the Club. Enough is enough. We've not progressed at all from this point last year and it's time now to take stock and make plans.

But will anything happen Ben? They've done nothing so far and i don't see why they will now sad.gif . As i've already said this is just another bad result after many others. 3 wins in 15 is nowhere near good enough for a club like Dumbarton.
The Moonster
Well Yasss ! rolleyes.gif .

A really amazing performance from the Rovers today!

Although the game did start a bit flat, it developed into what I can only describe as a series of mix up's and mistakes which ultimately cost Dumbarton any hopes that they had of winning in the first place. The lad Henderson was already booked and obviously the referee was warranted to send him off. John McCormacks decision making also left us in a stronger position and gave Ciaran Donnelly and Pat Walker the chance to let off some steam into what proved to be a red hot encounter ph34r.gif . Ciaran was very impressive in the midfield role yet again and Pat Walker seems to have gained extra pace and fight.

Roddy Hunter's first goal was nothing short of an outstanding attempt, and Pat Walker's was a typical striker's goal.

How many stands have you got again, I'm sure that most of you will agree some Son's fans let the majority down at the half time whistle when the team's were heading down the tunnel and at full time also.

Your performance was hardly amazing. Hunters goal was a peach. The ref was a joke. I dont believe we shouted "you've only got one stand". The shout was "you've only got one song". I dont know who was giving paul martin abuse as he walked off but Gemmill deserved everything he got, the fat p***k that he is. I apologise for anything good that i have ever said about Gemmill.

Also i loved the Albion Ultras at the end of the game, classic. laugh.gif

One last thing, can fans of all teams stop telling me to get a haircut. It might have been funny the first time someone said it but now its not funny nor clever. Thank you.

McCabe must go.
GoTeamGaz

laugh.gif noooo, one SONG, you've only got one SONG!

I didnt go to the tunnel myself, what happened?
im sorry sons fans but you should direct your abuse towards gerry mccabe and not paul martin. we are a laughing stock and a joke of the third division.

spindlingdude
about 15 dumbarton fans ran over and started shouting and swearing in his face a bit ott they were lucky not to be ejectid to be honest

Howlin' Wilf
QUOTE (Boghead Ben @ Nov 11 2007, 11:20) *
Agree. Henderson was the victim of an inexperienced ref and a wily Rovers midfield. Niall was facing the other direction when the ball hit him and it was just a wrong decision by the ref.

No doubt in my mind that the decision turned the game. Rovers took advantage and scored goals just at the right time to kill the match off. Hunter's effort looked good but am I alone in thinking that our keeper should have got to it?

Couple of words for the Albion Rovers backrooom team ; great stuff guys, you make everyone feel very welcome indeed and you are a credit to your club.

Good post. I doubt if Henderson's first booking was justified either. The keeper was at fault with the first goal. No way were we going to win this with ten men and really the first goal sealed our defeat. I do think the playing surface favoured the home side too mind you. Unfortunately I feel Gerry's position is untenable and now is the time to appoint a manager experienced at the lower levels with a track record. Unfortunately they are a rare comodity.
Howlin' Wilf
BTW the Rovers directors were very sympathetic over the ref's performance.
East-Coast-Son
Most of the abuse before half time was directed at Gemmel & the ref which was justified.

There were one or two individuals giving PM a bit of stick, absolutely no need in it, if you're going to have a go at a manager Gerry should be the one. rolleyes.gif
QUOTE (East-Coast-Son @ Nov 11 2007, 14:03) *
Most of the abuse before half time was directed at Gemmel & the ref which was justified.

There were one or two individuals giving PM a bit of stick, absolutely no need in it, if you're going to have a go at a manager Gerry should be the one. rolleyes.gif

your avatar is absolutely fanatstic laugh.gif

tell me when you're next at a game because you deserve a pint for that.
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE (Dumbarton-Mad @ Nov 11 2007, 11:27) *
Think if the teams' playing shit and the supporters are paying money to go to games they deserve to have a go at PM, am sure he can handle it.

That's as stupid a post as I've read for some time. On a website full of fannies and wind-up merchants, that's quite an achievement!

As many of your own fans have said, the guy you should really be venting your spleen at is Gerry McCabe. The fact that the current Dumbarton team is 'playing shit' is his responsibility, not that of Paul Martin.

As for Paul, he's doing very well in a role he's probably better suited to - Assistant Manager to a far more experienced guy. He's moved on, so should you.
Dumbarton-Mad
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Nov 11 2007, 14:24) *
He's moved on, so should you.

I have moved on and had i been at the game my feelings would have been vented at McCabe and not Martin. I'm just saying a frustrated group of fans having a go at PM isn't too much of a surprise.
East-Coast-Son
QUOTE (Dumbarton-Mad @ Nov 11 2007, 15:30) *
I'm just saying a frustrated group of fans having a go at PM isn't too much of a surprise.

Still doesn't justify it, just because we absolutely gash atm gives us no right to vent our frustrations at PM.
Dumbarton-Mad
QUOTE (East-Coast-Son @ Nov 11 2007, 14:36) *
Still doesn't justify it, just because we absolutely gash atm gives us no right to vent our frustrations at PM.

As i've said i myself don't care too much about PM but after everything he said about the DFC players and supporters before he left a few frustrated fans will shout stuff at him.
the young son
QUOTE (Dumbarton-Mad @ Nov 11 2007, 14:42) *
As i've said i myself don't care too much about PM but after everything he said about the DFC players and supporters before he left a few frustrated fans will shout stuff at him.

Couldnt give a toss what PM does, found him an okay guy if a tad arrogant and not changing the system got us relegated.

What does annoy me is that Gerry has had better resources than PM and the squad is complete gash, but he is another number in the long list of failures we have had at DFC.

Last successful managers Tom Carson who got us promoted, Brian Fairley who got us within a point of Division 1, long time since they have dissappeared.

Anyway time for the current board to go and Gerry right at their back, so the two stooges or executives as you like to be known can you please bugger off or if you are not willing to do this bring in a manager with a decent track record and get us the hell out of this division.

Rant over, BTW John Gemmill's tackle on crawford was x rated and how the ref never sent him off for that I will never know and to add insult to injury he gave a passback, another one to add to his long list of f cuk ups during the game. The two bookings henderson got were a joke big bambi at his best shame he couldnt do that when he was at DFC.

Anyway great strike for the opening goal from Roddy Hunter and maybe through the dissappointment we should maybe be please as surely that be the final nail in Gerry's coffin.
Dumbarton-Mad
QUOTE (the young son @ Nov 11 2007, 14:50) *
What does annoy me is that Gerry has had better resources than PM and the squad is complete gash, but he is another number in the long list of failures we have had at DFC.

He has had 100k+ sitting in the bank since the Celtic game which he has not even asked to use any of. I just cannot understand that at all. The excuses about a striker are just pathetic. Montrose got Baird, Stranraer got Mullen and Keogh and Albion Rovers got Wright and Hunter. There's plenty players he could have signed and didn't.
spindlingdude
guys i no the ref had a shocker of a game and hate to say it but both the incidents the player got booked for and resultantly sent off for were both by the laws of the game yellow cards the ref was right if extreemly harsh at the same time
the young son
QUOTE (spindlingdude @ Nov 11 2007, 15:52) *
guys i no the ref had a shocker of a game and hate to say it but both the incidents the player got booked for and resultantly sent off for were both by the laws of the game yellow cards the ref was right if extreemly harsh at the same time

Dont think so, the first one was a 50/50 and Donald lost his footing like Bambi as usual to make it like a foul, then the next one when henderson had his back turned walking away from the free kick Donald blasted it off him so how is that a booking??

The ref had a howler, how the beast was still on the park after the tackle on Crawford I will never know and I was level with it so had a better view than anyone else
WillieHague
John Gemmell should never have been sent off for that challenge laugh.gif .

It was a complete 50/50 and it was a clear pass back!

I think it's time that Dumbarton started to realise that they are no longer a big club wink.gif .

3rd Rock from the Sun (3rd team from the bottom laugh.gif )
ShakehandsTom - DFC
What a terrible performance that was yesterday! ph34r.gif

We lacked anything going forward, and at times, even before the sending-off, our midfield was invisible.

The sending-off wasn't one imo. Henderson's first booking was harsh to say the least, and his second one was a joke! He was moving out of the way to allow Albion to take the free-kick, but got booked for impeding the flight of the ball... after Gemmell pushed him into its path! mad.gif

The referee was abomnible man! Gemmell's two-footed lunge on Crawford was a straight-red in itself, but he had already been booked! Then, the ref gave a free-kick for a pass-back! Fuxake! mad.gif

Our performance was terrible, and Rovers fully deserved their victory. They were the better team, and took their chances. On a side-note for both sides, how any team can be expected to play 'good football' at Cliftonhill, I'll never know. The playing surface was a disgrace tbh. ph34r.gif mad.gif

McCormack gauged the situation of the game well, keeping Gemmell in the dressing room for the second-half, as he would have been undoubtedly sent-off.

All-in-all, a terrible performance, and Rovers fully deserved the win tbh. sad.gif
Boghead Ben
QUOTE (WillieHague @ Nov 11 2007, 18:13) *

I think it's time that Dumbarton started to realise that they are no longer a big club wink.gif .

Sorry WH, but Gemmell's tackle on Crawford was a shocker. Yes, it was a passback and Gemmell followed thru. Red mist and all that. Good decision to remove him at half-time by McCormack, otherwise he would have been red carded.
cedrick1
QUOTE (Boghead Ben @ Nov 11 2007, 21:37) *
Sorry WH, but Gemmell's tackle on Crawford was a shocker. Yes, it was a passback and Gemmell followed thru. Red mist and all that. Good decision to remove him at half-time by McCormack, otherwise he would have been red carded.

Worth this assessment

It was a pass back,keeper picked it up so foul may be correct.
Gemmells challange at least a yellow.

If defense to Gemmell is ball was their to be won then keeper couldnt have had it in his hand so no fould by goalkeeper.
If ref claim that keeper had ball in had as judged by foul surely Gemmell is not allowed to touch said keeper

All the decisions trigger off each other

For what its worth Hendersons first booking was a joke decision,his second soft by referree no common sense by referree but technically correct
I believe Henderson foolishly but himself in the position where a bit of gamesmanship got him into trouble and the ref fell for it
Shit_Squeak
see to b quite honest no1 was at the tunnel to abuse paul martin cz hes no worth a f**k
every1 was at the tunnel to voice there opinion at the shitty refereeing on show at the game
sons for spl
QUOTE (WillieHague @ Nov 11 2007, 18:13) *

dry.gif
spindlingdude
he should no to move out the way he had time to move and didnt so therfor yellow card instantly if you watched the game he wasnt walking away. first 1 he caught him this was a yellow card harsh but a yellow card all the same. i didnt see what gemmil done but actually thought dumbarton won the free kick but what do i know im only a ref
the young son
QUOTE (spindlingdude @ Nov 11 2007, 22:30) *
he should no to move out the way he had time to move and didnt so therfor yellow card instantly if you watched the game he wasnt walking away. first 1 he caught him this was a yellow card harsh but a yellow card all the same. i didnt see what gemmil done but actually thought dumbarton won the free kick but what do i know im only a ref

Aye possibly as good as the one on display yesterday.

It makes me laugh when SPL fans bleat about referees the guys we have to put up are the worst ever.

And IMO the ref definately got both decisions wrong. Gemmils was also GBH
spindlingdude
lol fortunatly not that bad yes spl fans moan but we are the proper football fans am i right we watch teams play for pride and glory not money once again am i right therfor referees effect us more so y should the spl glory hunters moan the most

lol boh decisions were very harsh but yellow cards, we had this ref against east fife a month or so ago he had a shocker that day too btw
the auld son
QUOTE (the young son @ Nov 11 2007, 14:50) *
Couldnt give a toss what PM does, found him an okay guy if a tad arrogant and not changing the system got us relegated.

Last successful managers Tom Carson who got us promoted, Brian Fairley who got us within a point of Division 1, long time since they have dissappeared.

Anyway time for the current board to go and Gerry right at their back, so the two stooges or executives as you like to be known can you please bugger off or if you are not willing to do this bring in a manager with a decent track record and get us the hell out of this division.

Rant over, BTW John Gemmill's tackle on crawford was x rated and how the ref never sent him off for that I will never know and to add insult to injury he gave a passback, another one to add to his long list of f cuk ups during the game. The two bookings henderson got were a joke big bambi at his best shame he couldnt do that when he was at DFC.

Anyway great strike for the opening goal from Roddy Hunter and maybe through the dissappointment we should maybe be please as surely that be the final nail in Gerry's coffin.

calm doon son huh.gif
the young son
QUOTE (the auld son @ Nov 12 2007, 09:30) *
calm doon son huh.gif

Ach you know what its like da, thank god I have you some tablets on the Bus on Saturday your blood pressure was soaring
Laurie Williams Loyal
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Nov 11 2007, 14:24) *
That's as stupid a post as I've read for some time. On a website full of fannies and wind-up merchants, that's quite an achievement!

As many of your own fans have said, the guy you should really be venting your spleen at is Gerry McCabe. The fact that the current Dumbarton team is 'playing shit' is his responsibility, not that of Paul Martin.

As for Paul, he's doing very well in a role he's probably better suited to - Assistant Manager to a far more experienced guy. He's moved on, so should you.

Paul Martin will gain experience where he is and long term move on to become a very good manager, I wish him the best of luck in the future and would welcome him back as manager in years to come.

As for the stupid wee boys who run over to the tunnel to give him abuse they have totally embarassed themselves and the rest of us Dumbarton fans, they should also remember Dumbarton is a family club and their choice language leaves alot to be desired.
Jordo1872
QUOTE (Laurie Williams Loyal @ Nov 12 2007, 13:03) *
Paul Martin will gain experience where he is and long term move on to become a very good manager, I wish him the best of luck in the future and would welcome him back as manager in years to come.

As for the stupid wee boys who run over to the tunnel to give him abuse they have totally embarassed themselves and the rest of us Dumbarton fans, they should also remember Dumbarton is a family club and their choice language leaves alot to be desired.

I can assure you I am not a stupid wee boy. Paul Martin knew himself he should have walked away from the Sons job. Instead he was to arrogant and pig-headed, stuck to his guns as we were relegated. He deserves everything he gets. Incidently, it was the referee and Gemmill who got most of the abuse. The red card was the softest I have ever seen and his overall performance was a complete joke. Gemmill isnt even worth debating.

I paid my money into Cliftonhill and reserve the right to voice my opinion. Next time i'll ask for your permission.
spindlingdude
the red card mite have been harsh but it was warented and deserved gemmil was booked 7 mins earlier for the same thing it was 2 yellow card offences no matter how harsh it was the referee was right, i think the boys who ran over really embarrased themselvs but most of all the majority of dumbarton fans who were having a laugh and enjoying the game. can i also just thank all the dumbarton fans for observing the minutes applause before the game it was well respected and joined in by all so thanks for that 1 guys
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.