The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Dumbarton-Mad
QUOTE (WillieHague @ Nov 11 2007, 18:13) *
(3rd team from the bottom laugh.gif )

Where you'll be come the end of the season wink.gif
The Moonster
QUOTE (WillieHague @ Nov 11 2007, 18:13) *
I think it's time that Dumbarton started to realise that they are no longer a big club wink.gif .

3rd Rock from the Sun (3rd team from the bottom laugh.gif )

We will always be a bigger club than Rovers.

Yes we are 3rd team from bottom, well done you can read. Dont get too carried away with your win, you'll be back below us before too long.
roy of the rovers
QUOTE (The Moonster @ Nov 12 2007, 18:07) *

In hat sizes perhaps laugh.gif
WillieHague
QUOTE (The Moonster @ Nov 12 2007, 18:07) *

Yes we are 3rd team from bottom, well done you can read. Dont get too carried away with your win, you'll be back below us before too long.

Well done I can read, unlike the vast majority of the population of Dumbarton!

I think we have every right to get carried away, our team morale is high, we have cemented a manager into a club set up and we are generally on the up!

laugh.gif We beat you, take it 2-0 to the Albion! laugh.gif wink.gif
The Moonster
QUOTE (WillieHague @ Nov 12 2007, 20:09) *

I think we have every right to get carried away, our team morale is high, we have cemented a manager into a club set up and we are generally on the up!

Im glad for your club, id like the same down our way. But all im saying is you've only beat a really poor Dumbarton team, dont go thinking your the dogs bollocks.
Dumbarton-Mad
QUOTE (The Moonster @ Nov 12 2007, 20:14) *
Im glad for your club, id like the same down our way. But all im saying is you've only beat a really poor Dumbarton team, dont go thinking your the dogs bollocks.

They get excited very easily. Their team will get nowhere near the play-offs and they will be stuck in this league a lot longer than we will be.
standfree-sons
Rovers fans are all wee poofs, and they come from a supposidly hard area!!

ShakehandsTom - DFC
QUOTE (Dumbarton-Mad @ Nov 12 2007, 21:33) *
They will be stuck in this league a lot longer than we will be.

Tbh, as much as I'd like to agree with you, at the moment, there isn't much evidence or reason to believe that the above statement is correct... dry.gif sad.gif
ThirdrockfromtheSon
QUOTE (ShakehandsTom - DFC @ Nov 13 2007, 18:09) *
Tbh, as much as I'd like to agree with you, at the moment, there isn't much evidence or reason to believe that the above statement is correct... dry.gif sad.gif

Tom

You got your wish.

Change your sig, matey. Let's see some of that Shakey enthusiasm!! wink.gif
ShakehandsTom - DFC
QUOTE (ThirdrockfromtheSon @ Nov 13 2007, 23:22) *
Tom

You got your wish.

Change your sig, matey. Let's see some of that Shakey enthusiasm!! wink.gif

Ok, surely. cool.gif

How about: Sons for the Play-offs? rolleyes.gif ph34r.gif
the young son

And when was the last time the Rovers were anywhere apart from the 3rd Division?????? cool.gif
sons for spl

Says the man from Coatbridge ... laugh.gif

oh dear...
sons-team
Another poor preformance at the weekend, with the loss of henderson i didnt see us ever getting anything from the game, at first i thought crawford could have got a stronger hand to the ball at rovers first goal ,on another day he might have but it was a good hit from hunter. in the second half i thought rovers could have made it more than 2 but they never used the space they had well enough.

rovers certainly wont be moving up soon!

mark canning needs shot of o'byrne and davy craig back!( mick does the hard bit but the silly mistakes are too often)

hammy works very hard but rarely delivers chances, would love to see him up front with the bee!

"all we need is davy mcfarlane" ??????? to go back to rovers(hopfully it will come for him)

McCabe is away now and im looking forward to see who comes in, but for whoever it is it wont be easy and we might have to suffer for a little while yet but there is potential there, we will jst have to get behind the team and whoever comes in to replace gerry.
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE (sons-team @ Nov 14 2007, 18:09) *
"all we need is davy mcfarlane" ??????? to go back to rovers(hopfully it will come for him)

He was your best player on Saturday!
Kylesons
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Nov 14 2007, 19:22) *

Correct.
WillieHague
QUOTE (sons for spl @ Nov 14 2007, 17:10) *
Says the man from Coatbridge ... laugh.gif

oh dear...

laugh.gif Assuming I actually come from Coatbridge is just as petty laugh.gif !

We in the 'Bridge have offically the best school in Scotland, try and find out the facts before you try and make stupid comments!
WillieHague
QUOTE (standfree-sons @ Nov 12 2007, 21:46) *
Rovers fans are all wee poofs, and they come from a supposidly hard area!!

Based on what? Dumbarton fans are also all wee poofs!

No passion, no drive and the stupid you're shite chant laugh.gif Laughable!
Bucky
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Nov 14 2007, 19:22) *

Agree, McFarlane tried his heart out and was far and away Sons best player. As for a return to Cliftonhill - out of the question with the current Chairman at the helm. McFarlane lamblasted him after his friend Jim Chapman was given the boot.
Howlin' Wilf
Can I just say a wee word to the collection of Sons fans (some of whom have posted on this thread) who sing at away games. Lads it is great that you get behind the team and provide some atmosphere but some of your antics are causing embarassment. Keep it funny, keep it clever. Some of your behaviour on Saturday and your comments here are neither.
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
QUOTE (Howlin' Wilf @ Nov 15 2007, 06:17) *
Can I just say a wee word to the collection of Sons fans (some of whom have posted on this thread) who sing at away games. Lads it is great that you get behind the team and provide some atmosphere but some of your antics are causing embarassment. Keep it funny, keep it clever. Some of your behaviour on Saturday and your comments here are neither.

we often get tarred with the same brush before of the behaviour of a couple of fans. i wasn't there on saturday so i'm just wondering what behaviour caused embarrassment?

GoTeamGaz
QUOTE (Bring Back Paddy Flannery @ Nov 15 2007, 12:32) *
we often get tarred with the same brush before of the behaviour of a couple of fans. i wasn't there on saturday so i'm just wondering what behaviour caused embarrassment?

I WAS there & I'm not really sure what the problem was unsure.gif

maybe something happened that I didn't hear/see
son hawk
As one of the few Dumbarton fans that went 2 the tunnel at haf time and full time i can explain what happend.

at half time the only abuse that i was aware of went to both john gemmell and the ref(mostly). i think we were intitled to show what we thought about the refereeing and JG's tackles

at full time all i done was congratulate a few of our players that did try and tell gerry that he needs to get his act together.i believe another fan then told paul martin where to go and when he should have walked away instead he reacted causing a big argument. Oh and the ref was also verbally abused for his shocking performance

i dont really think we have embaressed ourselves but everyone has there own opinion
big trigger

couldnt agree more. there was a fairly young Dumbarton Fan shouting to the Rovers fans about taking smack! he was also demonstrating to all the young kids round about him how to inject drugs by making the gesture with his hand and arm! No place for this shite at the Football. If i had my son with me at that game and he seen that i think someone would need to have held me back from having a wee word with this idiot! mad.gif
sons for spl
QUOTE (WillieHague @ Nov 14 2007, 20:30) *
laugh.gif Assuming I actually come from Coatbridge is just as petty laugh.gif !

We in the 'Bridge have offically the best school in Scotland, try and find out the facts before you try and make stupid comments!

Im not that sad neither do i have the time to give a shit ...
IXI THE ONE IXI

Coatbridge attacking Dumbarton for a lack of education and class?

Next week:

Rose West in a guest lecture on how to raise kids.
jollyjumgoogler

What antics do you refer to Wilf? What are the alleged actions that prompted your post? From what little I know of the young sons team, they appear to be nothing more than enthusiastic with a real passion for their team. The fans who I saw at Elgin were exemplary especially in the face of a former manager threatening to introduce one of them to the delights of street fighting after the game.
The Moonster
I dont know who was doing all this stuff that people are coming out with but it certainly wasnt me.

And if anything seriously bad happened on Saturday it hasnt happened before. Id maybe put it down to sheer frustration, maybe there were a couple of arseholes standing next to us, i really dont know, but Wilf to say that our antics are an embarrassment is a tad harsh.
WillieHague
QUOTE (The Moonster @ Nov 15 2007, 18:57) *
I dont know who was doing all this stuff that people are coming out with but it certainly wasnt me.

And if anything seriously bad happened on Saturday it hasnt happened before. Id maybe put it down to sheer frustration, maybe there were a couple of arseholes standing next to us, i really dont know, but Wilf to say that our antics are an embarrassment is a tad harsh.

It was a couple of members of the Sons Army or watever stupid name you miserable lot give yourselves!
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE (WillieHague @ Nov 15 2007, 19:40) *
It was a couple of members of the Sons Army or watever stupid name you miserable lot give yourselves!

Any chance of stopping the immature 'tit for tat' pish with the Dumbarton weans? It's absolutely puerile!
Howlin' Wilf
QUOTE (jollyjumgoogler @ Nov 15 2007, 18:49) *
What antics do you refer to Wilf? What are the alleged actions that prompted your post? From what little I know of the young sons team, they appear to be nothing more than enthusiastic with a real passion for their team. The fans who I saw at Elgin were exemplary especially in the face of a former manager threatening to introduce one of them to the delights of street fighting after the game.

You're right about the enthusiasm and it's good to see the young guys enjoying supporting the team. However I was a guest of an Albion Rovers director on Saturday and I felt embarrassed by the level of abuse to our former players and manager (Paul Martin).
spindlingdude
QUOTE (son hawk @ Nov 15 2007, 14:55) *
As one of the few Dumbarton fans that went 2 the tunnel at haf time and full time i can explain what happend.

at half time the only abuse that i was aware of went to both john gemmell and the ref(mostly). i think we were intitled to show what we thought about the refereeing and JG's tackles

....Oh and the ref was also verbally abused for his shocking performance

i dont really think we have embaressed ourselves but everyone has there own opinion

guys you lot were really bad. verbal abuse is understating shouting and swearing in the guys faces thats just wrong luck not to get ejected from the ground. and as for the older guy who turnd round to the stand to shout to the whole place exactly what he thought of the ref. guys grow up.

passion in supporting your team comes in many forms but it shouldnt take the form of shouting and swearing a couple of folks faces because your team is getting beaten. i was given the vicky if u wanna put it that way by the player who was sent off but i can understand that because we were winding him up it was all banter, you get that in football you should get that in football, you shouldnt get a bunch of no brained idiots who dont know the laws of the game shouting and swearing in your face so what the ref had a nightmare. goto B and Q buy some wood, build yourselvs a bridge and get over it. what you lot done (not all the dumbarton fans most were in the spirit of the game) was abused a guy who is ther doing his job. would you like someone to turn up at your place of work and even school in some cases and shout at you the way you lot shouted at those men.

that just out of order guys no other way to describe it!!!
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Nov 15 2007, 20:07) *
Any chance of stopping the immature 'tit for tat' pish with the Dumbarton weans? It's absolutely puerile!

i'm with this guy! same goes for our lot.

as for this whole shouting at the ex manager or whatever pish went on at the tunnel, i'm good friends with most of the older (over 18) crowd that like to show enthusiasm at the games and not one of them have said they went to the tunnel, so it must have been the younger lads which is understandable if they are frustrated. everyone is young once (i'm only 19 by the way) and everyone loses the head once in a while.

see to be perfectly honest who gives a crap if they are shouting at the ex manager/ex players/referee? unless they are shouting abuse in your face personally why should you give a toss? it's their opinion and it's up to them how they voice it. i'm sure plenty of folk were shouting abuse during the game so whats the difference if it happens then or over at the tunnel at full time?

i'd like to add that had i been there on saturday i wouldn't have been one of the tunnel bandits.
spindlingdude
refs and players take enough abuse during a game without having to put up wif it in their face heading down a tunnel at half time
QUOTE (spindlingdude @ Nov 15 2007, 22:51) *
refs and players take enough abuse during a game without having to put up wif it in their face heading down a tunnel at half time

boo fuckin hoo, they play in the scottish third division, they're all big boys, im sure they can handle it.

like i've said giving abuse to someone during or after a game is absolutely no different it is still abuse.
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (spindlingdude @ Nov 15 2007, 21:22) *
passion in supporting your team comes in many forms but it shouldnt take the form of shouting and swearing a couple of folks faces because your team is getting beaten. i was given the vicky if u wanna put it that way by the player who was sent off but i can understand that because we were winding him up it was all banter, you get that in football you should get that in football, you shouldnt get a bunch of no brained idiots who dont know the laws of the game shouting and swearing in your face so what the ref had a nightmare. goto B and Q buy some wood, build yourselvs a bridge and get over it. what you lot done (not all the dumbarton fans most were in the spirit of the game) was abused a guy who is ther doing his job. would you like someone to turn up at your place of work and even school in some cases and shout at you the way you lot shouted at those men.

that just out of order guys no other way to describe it!!!

So when you 'wind up' a guy doing his job it is 'banter' and when other people shout at the ref for doing a bad job it is to be frowned upon?

Hypocrite.
sons-team

it seemed to me that JG quite enjoyed the banter/abuse he got , he couldnt keep the smile of his face at half time.

and as for davy mcfarlane being our best player against albion rovers because he worked hard--- he always does try his best but its simply not enough
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE (sons-team @ Nov 16 2007, 21:47) *
it seemed to me that JG quite enjoyed the banter/abuse he got , he couldnt keep the smile of his face at half time.

and as for davy mcfarlane being our best player against albion rovers because he worked hard--- he always does try his best but its simply not enough

You need to play off the guy. He won't score 20 goals a season, but he'll create that and more.

In my opinion, he's one of the top 10 (maybe even top 5) players in the 3rd Division.
sons for spl

Yes at times agree that some abuse showen toward refs is a bit over the top ... but having said that alot of that is down to the piss poor refereing of games...

Some (most) refs are a complete joke SFA or who ever deals with refs should be made to get the finger out ... these guys aint fit to ref an Under 5's game...

RANT OVER! laugh.gif
spindlingdude
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Nov 16 2007, 16:18) *
So when you 'wind up' a guy doing his job it is 'banter' and when other people shout at the ref for doing a bad job it is to be frowned upon?

Hypocrite.

no no i accept that players get abuse alnong with refs but wen its over its over ther is no need to run over at half time and shout in the guys face after the incedent took place. if a seen him agen a wouldnt hold it against the guy just like some of the sons fans shouldnt hold anyfing against the likes of paul martin a deseved for him to react that way and to be honest i expected it. lol
Boghead ranter
QUOTE (spindlingdude @ Nov 18 2007, 14:33) *
no no i accept that players get abuse alnong with refs but wen its over its over ther is no need to run over at half time and shout in the guys face after the incedent took place. if a seen him agen a wouldnt hold it against the guy just like some of the sons fans shouldnt hold anyfing against the likes of paul martin a deseved for him to react that way and to be honest i expected it. lol

Is there a prize for spotting the one bit of punctuation in your post?
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE (Boghead ranter @ Nov 18 2007, 15:13) *
Is there a prize for spotting the one bit of punctuation in your post?

I spotted two full-stops.

What do I win? huh.gif
Boghead ranter
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Nov 18 2007, 15:26) *
I spotted two full-stops.

What do I win? huh.gif

my prize doubled laugh.gif
spindlingdude
very good guys tongue.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.