Mon_The_Fife
Nov 7 2007, 09:04
First V Second.... Champions V Runners-up... ?
Stranraer's recent form hasn't been too great with draws against Elgin and Forfar but after a good win at Montrose confidence will be high. Stranraer have been leaking a good number of goals where as that's 10 goals we have scored in total in our last 3 league games. We haven't conceded in 5 games so here's hoping for 6.
Should be a good game with the pressure on Stranraer to close the gap on us but a win for us will open up a 10 point gap if Montrose fail to beat Arbroath.
All aboard the Venga bus...
Gonna a even more difficult game for us now although I see Michael Mullen must be doubtful.
For me that was the result of the season so far, just didn't see that coming at all!
What an opportunity for EF to open up a huge gap with wins in the next 2 games.
Exciting times ahead?
19 goals in the last 5 games with none conceded is even more impressive. Agree that the next few games are crucial to for everyone.
Blue Moon
Nov 7 2007, 10:39
QUOTE (Mon_The_Fife @ Nov 7 2007, 09:04)

First V Second.... Champions V Runners-up... ?
Stranraer's recent form hasn't been too great with draws against Elgin and Forfar but after a good win at Montrose confidence will be high. Stranraer have been leaking a good number of goals where as that's 10 goals we have scored in total in our last 3 league games. We haven't conceded in 5 games so here's hoping for 6.
Should be a good game with the pressure on Stranraer to close the gap on us but a win for us will open up a 10 point gap if Montrose fail to beat Arbroath.
All aboard the Venga bus...
Unbeaten in 7 league games isn't bad form. In fact unbeaten since we had a nightmare shocker at Methil. Draws against Forfar and Elgin were points thrown away, both games we should have won. The other draw a sickening last kick of the game equaliser by Arbroath. Won the other 4.
Confidence will be high in our camp for Saturday. Looking forward to turning you Fifers over and bringing you back to the pack. Should be a good one. Any EF fans got an idea of what sort of support you are expecting to bring down for the game of the season so far?
gav-ffc
Nov 7 2007, 23:04
what did everyone think of mark stewart?
heard his goal was good,
tight angle and squezed the ball by the keeper
Mon_The_Fife
Nov 9 2007, 10:09
QUOTE (Blue Moon @ Nov 7 2007, 10:39)

Unbeaten in 7 league games isn't bad form. In fact unbeaten since we had a nightmare shocker at Methil. Draws against Forfar and Elgin were points thrown away, both games we should have won. The other draw a sickening last kick of the game equaliser by Arbroath. Won the other 4.
Confidence will be high in our camp for Saturday. Looking forward to turning you Fifers over and bringing you back to the pack. Should be a good one. Any EF fans got an idea of what sort of support you are expecting to bring down for the game of the season so far?
3000. Yet Arbroath still have a bigger support than us...
Hard to say but I would think around 100.
the_russian
Nov 10 2007, 11:51
This should be a much closer game than our recent routs, it'll be a nervy afternoon with Jeff.
Uddy_Fifer
Nov 10 2007, 11:59
This is going to be a very difficult game and is thge biggest game of season so far.
but im confident well come through this winners!
Cant wait for this game
Roll on 12:15 thats when im leaving
the_russian
Nov 10 2007, 13:51
Someone of AFTN says the team bus broke down on the way
At least thats my excuse ready if we don't win.
Ladyfan
Nov 10 2007, 14:57
QUOTE (the_russian @ Nov 10 2007, 13:51)

Someone of AFTN says the team bus broke down on the way
At least thats my excuse ready if we don't win.
Panic over. Off now to bite my nails for the next hour and 50 minutes!
Ladyfan
Nov 10 2007, 15:27
According to Jeffy baby on Sky Sports we are now the leading scorers in Britain. Another couple to settle the 'sitting in front of the telly watching the scores coming in' nerves wouldnae go a miss!
Forest_Fifer
Nov 10 2007, 18:56
Nobody got home yet in Stranraer?
10 points clear - oh yes.......
tuckersloan
Nov 10 2007, 19:12
East Fife deserved to win IMO - they looked physically stronger than Stranraer. Stranraer were missing a few of their more influential players though. The sending off of McKinstry was significant - from where I was sitting I didn't think it was a justified red card. Unless he said something to the ref it was a shocking decision. Even the visiting players and crowd were not calling for a dismissal.
First goal was a free kick after Black had slipped up by handling outside the box when it could have been avoided. The second goal came with Stranraer pushing for an equaliser and leaving gaps at the back. East Fife looked fairly competent (without being great) but Stranraer only really played in small spells. Britton was in the paper today boasting about his exploits this season. In all honesty am still not impressed and reckon its only the dire quality of third division football which is making this team look half decent.
The lack of quality should ensure Stranraer make the top 4 okay. Can't see us getting even close to catching East Fife though! So IMO there is now about 6 months of mediocre football to come before the play-offs rear their head. Best for Stranraer today were IMO Tade, McLaughlin (as per usual) and Kane in the second half. Thought Fotheringham and Tweed were commanding for the league leaders.
Ladyfan
Nov 10 2007, 19:45
QUOTE (tuckersloan @ Nov 10 2007, 19:12)

East Fife deserved to win IMO - they looked physically stronger than Stranraer. Stranraer were missing a few of their more influential players though. The sending off of McKinstry was significant - from where I was sitting I didn't think it was a justified red card. Unless he said something to the ref it was a shocking decision. Even the visiting players and crowd were not calling for a dismissal.
First goal was a free kick after Black had slipped up by handling outside the box when it could have been avoided. The second goal came with Stranraer pushing for an equaliser and leaving gaps at the back. East Fife looked fairly competent (without being great) but Stranraer only really played in small spells. Britton was in the paper today boasting about his exploits this season. In all honesty am still not impressed and reckon its only the dire quality of third division football which is making this team look half decent.
The lack of quality should ensure Stranraer make the top 4 okay. Can't see us getting even close to catching East Fife though! So IMO there is now about 6 months of mediocre football to come before the play-offs rear their head. Best for Stranraer today were IMO Tade, McLaughlin (as per usual) and Kane in the second half. Thought Fotheringham and Tweed were commanding for the league leaders.
Spoke to one of the boys on the Venga bus and he reckons that the sending off was soft however it was karma as your keeper should've been sent off.
the gub
Nov 10 2007, 20:19
QUOTE (Ladyfan @ Nov 10 2007, 19:45)

Spoke to one of the boys on the Venga bus and he reckons that the sending off was soft however it was karma as your keeper should've been sent off.
Ref was shocking,you're right sending off wrong and our keeper should've been sent off for handling outside the area-only twice though.
East Fife are the football anti-christ we were whilst winning promotion twice-sh!te to watch but hard to beat.
Top four will be East Fife,Stranraer,Montrose & Arbroath
Tam EF
Nov 10 2007, 20:40
What a load of p!sh! Surely the top scoring team in Britain can`t be that sh!te to watch?
Another rant from a bitter fan (just like the one`s on the Stanraer forum)
Stranraer needed the result more than us and EF knew that. If playing "ugly" to get a win then so be it.
10 POINTS CLEAR.........WAHEY!!!
the gub
Nov 10 2007, 20:47
QUOTE (Tam EF @ Nov 10 2007, 20:40)

What a load of p!sh! Surely the top scoring team in Britain can`t be that sh!te to watch?
Another rant from a bitter fan (just like the one`s on the Stanraer forum)
Stranraer needed the result more than us and EF knew that. If playing "ugly" to get a win then so be it.
10 POINTS CLEAR.........WAHEY!!!
I think we were one of the highest scorers in Britain when we won the third division,it was even a worse league then.
I'm sure East Fife will go on to win the division,given their budget they should.I for one won't miss them.
Tam EF
Nov 10 2007, 21:04
QUOTE (the gub @ Nov 10 2007, 20:47)

I think we were one of the highest scorers in Britain when we won the third division,it was even a worse league then.
I'm sure East Fife will go on to win the division,given their budget they should.I for one won't miss them.
Yeh, I suppose you`re right. I too wouldn`t miss a team that you couldn`t beat. ie. Last 4 games.
Not one,yes not one, goal conceded in the last 6 games plus Britains top scorers and STILL room for improvement.
Ladyfan
Nov 10 2007, 21:13
QUOTE (Tam EF @ Nov 10 2007, 21:04)

Yeh, I suppose you`re right. I too wouldn`t miss a team that you couldn`t beat. ie. Last 4 games.
Not one,yes not one, goal conceded in the last 6 games plus Britains top scorers and STILL room for improvement.
Venga bus lot getting on the bus singing 'we are the champions'
P*ssed off Stranraer fan shouting 'the league is not won in November'
Venga bus lot getting on the bus reply 'you're right mate, it was won in August'!
P*ssed off Stranraer fan restrained by friends!
Blue Moon
Nov 10 2007, 21:14
QUOTE (Tam EF @ Nov 10 2007, 21:04)

Wrong. We beat you 1-0 in May in the playoff 2nd leg at Stair Park
Beachcomber
Nov 10 2007, 21:16
"East Fife are the football anti-christ we were whilst winning promotion twice-sh!te to watch but hard to beat."
no we are actually good to watch,especially at home. didnt make the game today but wouldnt dream of judging Stranraer on the only time i saw them, even if they were rank rotten.
EdinburghBlue
Nov 10 2007, 21:18
QUOTE (the gub @ Nov 10 2007, 20:47)

East Fife will win the divison, but that's because the standard is very poor. Not one team is anywhere near the standard of the top four the year Stranraer won the third division. But EF are better than the rest.
The standard is so poor that the Blues probably will get into the play-offs, and if they happen to win will be in a relegation dogfight next year. Until Britton goes we are not going to have a good team. And we are just kidding ourselves that the recent undefeated run means that he is at last getting things right. He is lacking in leadership skills and has no charisma
Blue Moon
Nov 10 2007, 21:25
This should have been a great occasion and an entertaining game. It may have been had it been 11-11 but 12-10 with the referee deciding to take star billing killed it stone dead.
For the second game in a week tthe paying public at a Stranraer game have been seriously shortchanged by a show off incompetent official with the belief that the punters have come to watch himself. Its pathetic and something needs to be done.
Before I get accused by EF fans of sour grapes, the officials in our other game this week were shocking for Montrose also and we were sitting laughing at some of the decisions in that game so I've not got blinkers on.
I have seen the sending off on video. It is a foul, possibly a harsh booking and that is all and the sending off was for the tackle not for anything else. A shocking decision.
Credit to East Fife for taking advantage when things like this go your way. It is to be hoped that it will even itself out over the season. I would not go as far as to say you were lucky - you did what you had to do. However, Stranraer were robbed today of the chance to get ourselves into a better challenging position for the league title.
I didn't see anything from East Fife today that suggests this league is over. Not pretty to watch but big and strong and effective at stopping others from playing. Hopefully the bandwagon will get derailed soon and the better football teams in this league (im thinking of ourselves and possibly Montrose) will be able to capitalise.
10 points is catchable and we are not out of it. The fat lady hasn't even cleared her throat yet.
Ladyfan
Nov 10 2007, 21:31
QUOTE (Blue Moon @ Nov 10 2007, 21:25)

This should have been a great occasion and an entertaining game. It may have been had it been 11-
I didn't see anything from East Fife today that suggests this league is over. Not pretty to watch but big and strong and effective at stopping others from playing. Hopefully the bandwagon will get derailed soon and the better football teams in this league (im thinking of ourselves and possibly Montrose) will be able to capitalise.
10 points is catchable and we are not out of it. The fat lady hasn't even cleared her throat yet.
I do take that s sour grapes mate. Better football teams? Wtf? You seem to be an expert on our style of play this season. I think that perhaps that we adjusted our style of play to suit the expected game against your lot. I have seen sod all to suggest that Stranraer are better at football than us. I'll give Montrose credit here though. They did play very nice football against us.
Tam EF
Nov 10 2007, 22:05
QUOTE (Ladyfan @ Nov 10 2007, 21:31)

I do take that s sour grapes mate. Better football teams? Wtf? You seem to be an expert on our style of play this season. I think that perhaps that we adjusted our style of play to suit the expected game against your lot. I have seen sod all to suggest that Stranraer are better at football than us. I'll give Montrose credit here though. They did play very nice football against us.
Spot on Ladyfan. This is indeed sour,sour grapes from Stranraer fans. We had to go to our biggest game of the season so far and try and get a result. If that meant stopping the home team from playing then so be it. 2-0 job done I`d say.
We, IMO,have been a joy to watch at home this season and our recent form proves that.
If Baikie fucks it up then he deserves to be shot. East Fife have spent money in trying to go up and i can't see any team strong enough to stop them. The fans have had so much shite with Brown, and i wish them all the best but i hope it doesn;t turn pear-shaped like it did with us under Gray.
the_russian
Nov 10 2007, 22:23
Jimmy MCcabe
Nov 10 2007, 22:25
The old saying league tables don't lie applies EF are top because they win more games than the rest, people can argue till the cows come home about their style of play but at the end of the day they score goals and don't concede very many. Thousands upon thousands of people are scrambling around to get tickets to see Scotland play Italy will Scotland play with flair,guile and skill against the Italians?I think not but all would still take a win over losing pretty.
QUOTE (rw89 @ Nov 10 2007, 22:15)

If Baikie fucks it up then he deserves to be shot. East Fife have spent money in trying to go up and i can't see any team strong enough to stop them. The fans have had so much shite with Brown, and i wish them all the best but i hope it doesn;t turn pear-shaped like it did with us under Gray.
Yep,spent a lot of money but where/how are they going to recuperate it,certainly not on the crowds they get.There`s no dosh in the 2nd division.
Mon_The_Fife
Nov 10 2007, 23:32
QUOTE (Robbo @ Nov 10 2007, 23:24)

Yep,spent a lot of money but where/how are they going to recuperate it,certainly not on the crowds they get.There`s no dosh in the 2nd division.
First of all f**k off.
Anyway, not long in from a cracking day out with the Venga crew in sunny/rainy Stranraer.
"East Fife aren't good to watch" awwww boohoo!! We pissed all over your lot today and the mighty Stranraer with their free flowing football forced Scott Fox into errmmm... possibly 1 save

Apart from Tade who is decent the rest of the team are pretty poor and even the home fans were having a go at your keeper.
Your keeper should have been sent off for handling the ball a yard or so outside his box but justice was done with McManus scoring from the free-kick. I didn't think McKinstry should have had a red card but the referee was maybe trying to even up his mistake. Stranraer did play a bit better the 2nd half but well done Craig O'Reilly who just couldn't buy a goal for killing the game with his 1st league goal of the season.
Plenty sing songs by the travelling support today and a few sore voices and heads tomorrow morning. 10 points clear! Fantastic!!
Stevo Fife
Nov 10 2007, 23:36
QUOTE (Robbo @ Nov 11 2007, 00:24)

We`ll just have to attract more support from the Kirkcaldy area through our exciting style of play, league dominance and cheap pies
Stranraer fans seem to forget they have a lousy record against East Fife. Last seasons play off's ring any bells or the last game at Bayview where you were very very average, or for want of a better word.......shite.
Sour grapes all round blues boys. Cheers to your good health
Guess what guys, this ain't fucking La Liga, no one plays attractive football.
If my team played direct football which was as succesful as East Fife's I would be more than happy, and consider those tactics at this level to be 'good football' if succesful.
Tam EF
Nov 10 2007, 23:38
QUOTE (rw89 @ Nov 10 2007, 22:15)

Nice one.
tuckersloan
Nov 11 2007, 00:33
QUOTE (EdinburghBlue @ Nov 10 2007, 21:18)

The standard is so poor that the Blues probably will get into the play-offs, and if they happen to win will be in a relegation dogfight next year. Until Britton goes we are not going to have a good team. And we are just kidding ourselves that the recent undefeated run means that he is at last getting things right. He is lacking in leadership skills and has no charisma
Don't make all of the games due to other commitments but I totally agree. Good post IMO.
the_russian
Nov 11 2007, 06:43
Looking on the Stranny forum, their fans fancy them as some sort of great football team. And we are crap apparently
Mon_The_Fife
Nov 11 2007, 09:55
QUOTE (the_russian @ Nov 11 2007, 06:43)

Looking on the Stranny forum, their fans fancy them as some sort of great football team. And we are crap apparently

Of course, hence why we have been gubbed by them 3-1 and 2-0 this season...
Angusfifer
Nov 11 2007, 11:01
On the subject of fans, it was good to see a decent number of kids supporting Stranraer.
But who were the three eejits who came rushing over after O'Reilly scored? One of them was brandishing an umbrella, while another, rather alarmingly looked like he was the product of an incestious relationship...
Great day out though, what a laugh...
Traffic Cone Megaphone
Mon_The_Fife
Nov 11 2007, 13:48
QUOTE (Angusfifer @ Nov 11 2007, 11:01)

On the subject of fans, it was good to see a decent number of kids supporting Stranraer.
But who were the three eejits who came rushing over after O'Reilly scored? One of them was brandishing an umbrella, while another, rather alarmingly looked like he was the product of an incestious relationship...
Great day out though, what a laugh...
Traffic Cone Megaphone
The traffic cone in question is still outside Kirkcaldy train station. Went to pick up my car today and had a wee chuckle to myself. "Traffic Cone... Megaphone"
QUOTE (the_russian @ Nov 11 2007, 07:43)

It's the biggest cop-out ever, 'we played well', 'they play boring football' who gives a f**k how you play it's results that matter folks. And East Fife are in danger of actually lapping themselves, they're that good.
Gordon EF
Nov 11 2007, 21:01
Some of the comments on the Stranrear forum are pathetic. In two games against us, they've shown nothing to suggest that they are a great football side or that they're capable of giving us a decent challenge for the league. Tade looks like a really good player and one of the very few in the 3rd who I wouldn't mind seeing in the black and gold. McLaughlin is also a good defender but not a patch on Smart or Tweed.
We're hardly Barcalona but we've been incredibley functional and pretty ruthless at times. We've scored far more goals than anybody else and we've conceded less. Montrose have been the only team who've outplayed us this season but they're clearly not a better team.League tables don't lie!
As for the sending off, I didn't see McKinstray's tackle but Black should have been sent off for handling outside his box so there's hardly much ground for complaints.
Sanny's army
Nov 12 2007, 19:51
To be fair, last time we were in the 3rd Stirling fans said the same to us as SFC are accusing EF of now, we humped other teams but for whatever reason were nothing special when we face Stirling. The table (and the wage bill) don't lie though, EF should romp it from here.
QUOTE (Mon_The_Fife @ Nov 11 2007, 00:32)

Anyway, not long in from a cracking day out with the Venga crew in sunny/rainy Stranraer.
The SFC venga bus last time out in the 3rd...oh the memories
Distalgesic
Nov 13 2007, 07:57
One thing which came out of the game was East Fife actively condoning blatant cheating. Your #3 went down at one point like he'd been shot, spent a minute rolling around holding his leg as if it was broken and looking at the ref hoping to get a free kick or a yellow card for the Stranraer player, when he realised he was getting nothing he got up and ran away no worse the wear. Now, that is simulation pure and simple, just as bad as Dida at Celtic, and if the referee was any good he'd have booked him.
Still, what goes around, comes around.
Must admit though the EF fans are funny, a wee bit of success at the bottom of the footballing world and you'd think they were watching Barcelona, still when you live in Fife of all places then I suppose you would leap at any glimmer of light that comes into the bleankess of your life.
Jimmy MCcabe
Nov 13 2007, 08:34
There are some very nice places in Fife, just Methil is not one of them.
Tatty Boabie
Nov 13 2007, 08:58
QUOTE (Jimmy MCcabe @ Nov 13 2007, 08:34)

You can say that again.
Mon_The_Fife
Nov 13 2007, 09:16
QUOTE (Distalgesic @ Nov 13 2007, 07:57)

One thing which came out of the game was East Fife actively condoning blatant cheating. Your #3 went down at one point like he'd been shot, spent a minute rolling around holding his leg as if it was broken and looking at the ref hoping to get a free kick or a yellow card for the Stranraer player, when he realised he was getting nothing he got up and ran away no worse the wear. Now, that is simulation pure and simple, just as bad as Dida at Celtic, and if the referee was any good he'd have booked him.
Must admit though the EF fans are funny, a wee bit of success at the bottom of the footballing world and you'd think they were watching Barcelona, still when you live in Fife of all places then I suppose you would leap at any glimmer of light that comes into the bleankess of your life.

awwwwwwwwwww! Have you had a wee cry? Poor wee soul. Don't worry your mum or dad will be along shortly to pick up your toys you have just launched out of your pram.
I thought the Arbroath fans were bitter folk but this Stranraer lot take the soggy biscuit.
Faraday
Nov 13 2007, 09:48

Aye, only East Fife players do this, they are bad people.
We think we are watching Barcelona? I don't remember any East Fife fans harping on about being 'the best footballing team in the league'.
How are the grapes?
Ladyfan
Nov 13 2007, 11:00
QUOTE (Faraday @ Nov 13 2007, 09:48)

Aye, only East Fife players do this, they are bad people.
We think we are watching Barcelona? I don't remember any East Fife fans harping on about being 'the best footballing team in the league'. How are the grapes?

I think you've hit the nail on the head there sir! Never, ever, ever have I said that we are the Methil version of Barcelona!
We have however, pointed out on a few occasions that we are top of the league. I have enjoyed the football we have played so far and as long as we continue to do as well in the league, I will continue to enjoy it. Whether we play like Barca or Dunfermline, if we win it is pleasing.
The bitterness shown by some of the Stranraer fans is quite tedious although it is tradition that at least one set of fans in the third division have to bleat on a bit in defeat!
Gordon EF
Nov 13 2007, 13:10

So what was McKinstray doing lying on the ground after he fouled Paul Walker?
I said the exact words "we're hardly Barcalona" in the previous post to your's you retard. This is the 3rd division board and in terms of the 3rd division we're like Brazil 1970 compared to the dross like Stranraer.
Exchange the words "Fife" and "Methil" for "Galloway" and "Stranraer" and you'd be just as correct. None of the football towns in Scotland tend to be very nice.
Stranraer are utterly mince and the sooner you accpet that the better.
"The bitterness shown by some of the Stranraer fans is quite tedious although it is tradition that at least one set of fans in the third division have to bleat on a bit in defeat!"
Quite right LF that thought was going thru my head as I read the posts.
Every other team has been quite magnanimous in defeat this season. Montrose fans thought we were shite but they were entitled to say that cause we were! Dumbarton didn't think we were up to much but again (although I wasn't there) by all accounts we were rubbish that day too. Bottom line is you can only beat what's put in front of you & that's what we have done by & large so far this season.
The long ball jibe is a falacy this season, some of the football we have played has been nothing short of brilliant, at other times we've done as much as we needed to to win games. Will it continue? I certainly hope so but time will tell.
Faraday
Nov 13 2007, 13:37
QUOTE (Ladyfan @ Nov 13 2007, 11:00)

I think you've hit the nail on the head there sir! Never, ever, ever have I said that we are the Methil version of Barcelona!
We have however, pointed out on a few occasions that we are top of the league. I have enjoyed the football we have played so far and as long as we continue to do as well in the league, I will continue to enjoy it. Whether we play like Barca or Dunfermline, if we win it is pleasing.
The bitterness shown by some of the Stranraer fans is quite tedious although it is tradition that at least one set of fans in the third division have to bleat on a bit in defeat!
The 'Methil Barca' just doesn't have the same ring as 'the Methil Milan' does it?
The Stranraer Stenny
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.