Full Version: Dundee 2-1 St Johnstone
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Matty_True_Dee
As posted on Dundee-Mad.

Match summary

First 20 mins - Shocking, game should've been over
Next 25 - Better team without a cutting edge.
First 25 of 2nd half - Best football we've played all season. One way traffic with Sw**kie coming on making the difference.
Last 20 - Anyones game, Saints wasted a lot of the ball in good positions.
Last 1 - You feckin beauty!

Point would've probably been fair but K McD took his chance in end.

One more thing, Martin Corrigan must stay.

Really, really good day. Really.
Dundee-Derry-Boys
Sw**kie made the big difference when he came on,
why did Rae drop Sw**kie to the bench today, and keep Freddy on,
at least he seen the error of his ways
BigAl024
Doesnt get much better. Hamilton drop points after looking like they would extend their lead at the top - We come from behind yet again to beat the fermers - And the DABS get humped by the sheep.

Good day all in all.
wattie_rojas
The best team won although Saints could have been out of sight if they'd taken their chances early on. Maybe Saints made the mistake of trying to sit on a lead-something you just cannae do with the mighty Dee about! Shame Corrigan is going back to Well as he was excellent.
themuzzle
better team won. we were not good enough.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (wattie_rojas @ Nov 3 2007, 17:42) *
The best team won although Saints could have been out of sight if they'd taken their chances early on.

Don't go sticking those rose tinted spectacles on now!

Some truly cynical fouls on their part on both Rocco and Gary Irvine, some horrendous play from Dundee. We should have devoured them in the first 10 minutes, should have been at least three. Lost it a little in the second half but we were never out of it, certainly had the better of the first half.

Atmosphere in the Dundee end was pretty awful as well. Could barely hear them, well up until they scored that is. Very vocal Saints crowd all the way through the match. Not sure what went on with regard to the first goal. We converted a scramble in the box, but instead of playing advantage and giving the goal the referee gave a penalty. At which point due to a blatant handball the Dundee player should have been sent off. Sheerin converted and 1-0.

We controlled the game in the first half but Dundee came out with renewed vigour. It wasn't so much the case of Dundee winning it, more the case that we threw it away. We really lacked that extra threat in the second half. We were still well in the game but didn't look as dangerous. Dundee through their limited means still managed to capitalise and it obviously ended up 2-1, with Dundee scoring with what was nigh on the last kick of the ball.

No outstanding performer, no bad performer. We need to up the ante. We cannot continually expect to go to places like Dens and Forthbank and come away with an easy victory. The effort has got to be there, we have got to start moving out of second gear.
bonniedundee
Fully deserved win for the Dee today. Dundee started slowly as ever and Perth had a few good chances. Samson made a couple of good saves to deny them.

The penalty incident was the first of a number of bizarre decisions by the referee. Palenik clearly handled the ball to a St Johnstone player to give him the easiest of knock ins. When the referee choose to disallow the goal and award a penalty, i was fully expecting Palenik to be sent off for deliberate handball, but no, he just awards a penalty with no red card. Surely that cannot happen?

After St Johnstone scored Dundee took a hold of the game and stopped then creating any more chances. Dundee came out flying in the second half and St Johnstone were pinned in their own half for long spells. Some really good passing football from Dundee with Sw**kie and McHale in particular causing them lots of problems. McDonald held the ball in the penalty box for what seemed liek an age. 4 St Johnstone players around him could not get the ball from him, leaving Davidson unmarked to side-footed it in beside the post. St Johnstone briefly came back into it before Dundee again had a few chances. Nice McDonald finish and 2-1 the Dee.

rolleyes.gif
bonniedundee
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 18:56) *

Don't go sticking those rose tinted spectacles on now!

Some truly cynical fouls on their part on both Rocco and Gary Irvine, some horrendous play from Dundee. We should have devoured them in the first 10 minutes, should have been at least three. Lost it a little in the second half but we were never out of it, certainly had the better of the first half.

Atmosphere in the Dundee end was pretty awful as well. Could barely hear them, well up until they scored that is. Very vocal Saints crowd all the way through the match. Not sure what went on with regard to the first goal. We converted a scramble in the box, but instead of playing advantage and giving the goal the referee gave a penalty. At which point due to a blatant handball the Dundee player should have been sent off. Sheerin converted and 1-0.

We controlled the game in the first half but Dundee came out with renewed vigour. It wasn't so much the case of Dundee winning it, more the case that we threw it away. We really lacked that extra threat in the second half. We were still well in the game but didn't look as dangerous. Dundee through their limited means still managed to capitalise and it obviously ended up 2-1, with Dundee scoring with what was nigh on the last kick of the ball.

No outstanding performer, no bad performer. We need to up the ante. We cannot continually expect to go to places like Dens and Forthbank and come away with an easy victory. The effort has got to be there, we have got to start moving out of second gear.

Given their was a decent crowd in the away end (by St Johnstones standards), i thought your fans were muted for most of the game. A few chants of 'We hate dundee' but that was it. Not a whisper from them in the second half. Thought the Derry was very noisy in the second half.

As for the referee, there was a hideous incident in the first half where your left back passed the ball back to Main in the goal, who picked it up as if nothing was wrong. That decision was even worse than the penalty nonsense.
Unlikely
We made a ridiculous start to the game and could, probably should have been 3 down in 15 minutes. Two poor finishes and a good save from Samson kept the scores level. St. Johnstone took the lead from a penalty after Palenik handled the ball to stop it going in, the referee decided to show him a yellow card which to me seemed a strange decision. Anyway Sheerin sent the goalkeeper the wrong way. Rae made two good decisions, firstly removing Daquin', who having a nightmare, before half time and putting McHale on. You can see a massive difference in our team when McHale's on - how that boy doesn't play more is a mystery. He put Sw**kie on at half time for Dixon and moved Malone to left back which completely changed the way we played.

Sw**kie almost made an immediate impact when his cross was turned wide by Davidson when a goal seemed certain. The wequaliser came from good play by McDonald who held the ball in the box, attracting the attention of about 5 or 6 Saints players and rolled to the unmarked Davidson who slotted home. Sw**kie came close to putting us ahead after turning the Saints defence inside out again before we were denied a clear penalty for handball. The referee stood and shook his head. Quite simply unbelievable. St. Johnstone had another couple of decent chances but Samson saved well from a long range strike and a header whilst McKenzie's last gasp tackle stopped a one on one opportunity. The winner came in injury time after Davidson cut the ball across the box, McDonald made a late run and passed the ball into the corner.

Once again we give away the first goal and come back to get something. It's not very amusing anymore!! A habit we really have to get out of. St. Johnstone fans probably won't believe their team came away with nothing from that game particularly after the way they started the game. We'll take the 3 points though!! Credit must go to Rae though, as whatever he said at half time clearly worked.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (bonniedundee @ Nov 3 2007, 18:01) *
i was fully expecting Palenik to be sent off for deliberate handball, but no, he just awards a penalty with no red card. Surely that cannot happen?

Well no. But in all fairness, its no the first time it has happened. Look back to the last time we played Dundee, Hardie was sent off for what was in truth an innocuous jab. Its just another in a long chain of events which play tribute to the song: "same old Dundee, always cheating."
bonniedundee
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 19:07) *
Well no. But in all fairness, its no the first time it has happened. Look back to the last time we played Dundee, Hardie was sent off for what was in truth an innocouous jab. Its just another in a long chain of events which play tribute to the song: "same old Dundee, always cheating."

Surely that would be the referee cheating? Or do Dundee have the ability to send players off now?
Matty_True_Dee
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 18:07) *
Well no. But in all fairness, its no the first time it has happened. Look back to the last time we played Dundee, Hardie was sent off for what was in truth an innocouous jab. Its just another in a long chain of events which play tribute to the song: "same old Dundee, always cheating."

Yeah it was Dundee's fault Hardie got sent off. And we're cheaters for a hand ball. We made some fouls throughout the game, that counts as cheating as well. Is every foul a form of cheating?

Yir spewing.
Unlikely
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 18:07) *

I really don't understand what the referee booked Palenik for. If he's penalised him for deliberate handball then surely it has to be a red card as he stopped it going in the goal. If he thinks the ball has just hit his hand then it would surely be a penalty but no card. What was the yellow card for?
Radford
For the second week running, we encounter a team who save their best football of the season for the second half of our games! Matty has the game summed up though, first quarter was all Saints, Dundee were on top in the next hour and then we came back into it towards the end. Point would probably have been fair but can't begrudge Dundee the win for a good performance in the second half, we were poor again though after our goal, which was a shame as before that we'd played some really nice stuff and cut Dundee open at will.

Turning point seemed to be the introduction of McHale in place of Daquin, re-enforced with the introduction of Swankie for Dixon, who had a stinker. Rae got the subs spot on, Coyle made a mess of his for the second week running. McLaren was looking dangerous and is again hooked whilst McInnes stays on the pitch. Also thought Rae picked his strongest front pairing and he finally seems to have seen sense and ditched Zemlik.

Was more disappointed with last week than this, probably down to expectation levels. That's us pretty much out of things with regards the title. Today wouldn't have been a disaster usually but we had no margin for error after taking six games to get a win.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (bonniedundee @ Nov 3 2007, 18:10) *
Surely that would be the referee cheating? Or do Dundee have the ability to send players off now?

Well to be honest when the referee actually gave a rare decision in our favour it was the most vocal i'd heard your lot all day. Its pretty much the only time you'd stand up and slur some Dundonian into the air.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Matty_True_Dee @ Nov 3 2007, 18:11) *
Yeah it was Dundee's fault Hardie got sent off. And we're cheaters for a hand ball. We made some fouls throughout the game, that counts as cheating as well. Is every foul a form of cheating?

Some honesty at last.
Radford
It was difficult to see from our end, did Palenik prevent the ball going in with his hand? If so then it has to be a red card and Brines has made an absolute arse of things.
wattie_rojas
QUOTE (Unlikely @ Nov 3 2007, 19:13) *
I really don't understand what the referee booked Palenik for. If he's penalised him for deliberate handball then surely it has to be a red card as he stopped it going in the goal. If he thinks the ball has just hit his hand then it would surely be a penalty but no card. What was the yellow card for?

There were 3 defenders and a goalie behind Palenik and that's why he was only booked for a deliberate hand-ball.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 3 2007, 18:13) *
That's us pretty much out of things with regards the title. Today wouldn't have been a disaster usually but we had no margin for error after taking six games to get a win.

C'mon! 10 points behind is hardly insurmountable, particularly when the leaders have got the bombscare between the sticks.
bonniedundee
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 19:15) *
Well to be honest when the referee actually gave a rare decision in our favour it was the most vocal i'd heard your lot all day. Its pretty much the only time you'd stand up and slur some Dundonian into the air.

Are you on the drink? There was a clear handball by a St Johnstone player in the box - no penalty. Main picked up a straigh forward passback - no indirect free kick. They were even wearing St Johnstone colours.

As for your anti-dundonian nonsense, away and crawl back under your brick.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (bonniedundee @ Nov 3 2007, 18:19) *
Are you on the drink? There was a clear handball by a St Johnstone player in the box - no penalty. Main picked up a straigh forward passback - no indirect free kick. They were even wearing St Johnstone colours.

As for your anti-dundonian nonsense, away and crawl back under your brick.

A clear handball? Whit? Easy to manipulate any argument to get your own way, cheating in the game and now cheating your way into an argument.

Simple truth be told you player should have gone. It was a turning point in the game. You played on with eleven men (twelve if you include the ref) when really you should have been down to ten.

But ah well. We have come to expect these things when we play Dundee.

EastFootball
Brilliant.

Simply brilliant.

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
perthquake
Ach well - visit Dundee and you always run the risk of being mugged.

Should have been at least two up after 30 mins. Not sure how a deliberate-looking handball which prevented a goal didn't merit a red.

First 20 mins of second half poor from saints. Dundee had a lot of the ball and got a deserved equaliser - ball should have been cleared though which was just indicative of our slovenliness after the restart.
Thereafter woke up a bit and had the bulk of opportunities although Dundee No. 11 had a good effort curling just wide.
Last minute goal just one of those things but again defended badly.

From a saints perspective it was disappointing how the longer the game wore on, the more the approach seemed restricted to looking for Deuchar to win the ball in the air.
Every time we had the ball on the deck and actually passed from yellow shirt to yellow shirt we created chances and looked dangerous. What's the point in having, IMO, the best creative midfielder in the division in Quinn if he's continually being bypassed?

Deuchar was actually pretty poor today and McLaren was just appalling, same as last week. I'm sure he has a good game in him somewhere but it's bloody well hidden.

Thought Dundee did ok (Daquin excepted) but didn't look as threatening as earlier in the year at McD.

Still believe that post festive period there will be only about 3/4 points covering the top three and it will be nip & tuck for the run in.
Radford
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 18:19) *
C'mon! 10 points behind is hardly insurmountable, particularly when the leaders have got the bombscare between the sticks.

The problem is we are now relying on two teams dropping points. The last week has been huge, six points and we're right back in the mix but we've taken one and even if we make up seven points on Dundee, there's a chance Accies will still be ahead of them.

QUOTE (bonniedundee @ Nov 3 2007, 18:19) *

McInnes clearly handled the ball and it should have been a penalty but there is no way it was a passback from Stanic, it was a hashed clearance which Main looked to Brines to ask if he could pick up.
Matty_True_Dee
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 3 2007, 18:18) *
It was difficult to see from our end, did Palenik prevent the ball going in with his hand? If so then it has to be a red card and Brines has made an absolute arse of things.

Well Palenik(I thought was McKenzie tbh but there you go) threw himself in front of the ball and it hit his hand. Undeliberate IMO but its worth consulting the rules.

I don't know why he didn't just give the goal. Imagine the outcry if Sheerin had missed.
Unlikely
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 3 2007, 18:18) *

I'd have to look at it again but I didn't think Samson was getting near the ball and it hit Palenik's handed as he dived across. I was expecting a red card to be produced.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 3 2007, 18:24) *
The problem is we are now relying on two teams dropping points. The last week has been huge, six points and we're right back in the mix but we've taken one and even if we make up seven points on Dundee, there's a chance Accies will still be ahead of them.

There is a precedent here. Albeit a pretty shitty one, but certainly a precedent which shows that a ten point lead is far from being an insurmountable one.

spammersunitedisac*ck
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 18:15) *

Did no one else spot st j's number 11 kicking out at k mcd off the ball after he was beaten to a 50/50??? I know he made sure the ref or linesman didnt see it as that would have been a straight red.
And to think the saints have the cheek to say we are the cheats!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jamie_Beatson
Not deliberate handball! Matty - it was a great save and totally deliberate.

I think the reason no passback was given was because Stanic had stuck out his leg to block a through ball and shinned it back to the keeper. Thought he was going to give the free kick though.

Looked distinctly like handball in the second half in the Saints box, but hard to tell if he meant it or not. The ref was shite anyway for both teams throughout. Incredible.
The Real Saints
Would have to agree with what has been said by others. We were brilliant in the first 20 minutes or so until our goal. After that, we just fell apart, albeit we improved a bit in the last 10 minutes of the game. I didn't see the handball incident, so can't state whether I feel it should have been a red card or not.
I would like to mention Dundee's horrific tackling. How the referee only brought out the yellow card is beyond me.
It's always hard to lose a goal in the last seconds of a game, but the better side won on the day.

I don't believe that we are out of the title race yet. We came back from more points behind last season, and there's still plenty of time to close the gap. However, we must start taking advantage of our rivals' slip-ups now.
I will not be taking down my sig just yet. wink.gif
Radford
QUOTE (Matty_True_Dee @ Nov 3 2007, 18:24) *
I don't know why he didn't just give the goal. Imagine the outcry if Sheerin had missed.

I guess the Dundee players have stopped because of the whistle. Bad refereeing but I don't have a problem calling things back if he's blown the whistle.
wattie_rojas
It's got to be said that Saints have got some minging players; McInnes, McLaren, Deuchar and Jackson being the worst. Quinn looked good early on but faded and Sheerin did quite well. I actually expected more of Saints and less of Dundee with their respective form. That said I'm as happy as an arab in boob tube.
Jamie_Beatson
I thought MLaren and Jackson were pretty good today. I could say the same about Dixon and Daquin for Dundee. They were fucking awful. The introduction of McHale and Sw**kie totally revitalised Dundee and that was what changed the game. Unfortunately for us we took off our pacy young players and left on Sheerin who was knackered and McInnes who put the ball out the park with every other touch.
spammersunitedisac*ck
The fairest reflection of this game was that st j should have had us dead and burried in the first half hour but after they scored they didnt seem to look interested in getting the second goal which allowed us to come back into things.
If st j played like the first half hour for 75mins off there matches then i would honestly tip them to go up.
It was a realy good first half performance by them (as much as i hate to say it) but fair play to dundee for weathering the storm and getting back into it.
A point each would have been the fairest result
Radford
QUOTE (wattie_rojas @ Nov 3 2007, 18:34) *
It's got to be said that Saints have got some minging players; McInnes, McLaren, Deuchar and Jackson being the worst.

Don't talk shite. Jackson is "minging" based on one game, even though he scored but for the ref calling play back for the penalty. I suspect you are on the wind up anyway but McLaren gave Dixon a torrid time in the first half and saw him subbed off. I'd never say he was a poor player though.
captain sensible.
Surely Coyle must go now?
Gibraltar Dees
QUOTE (captain sensible. @ Nov 3 2007, 20:44) *
Surely Coyle must go now?

so unoriginal as usual - FUD
dazzle-dfc
YYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!

last minute winner get in!!

Saints fan were only singing for a short period after they scored and after Alan Main was abused blink.gif

although the dundee support weren't exactly loud
captain sensible.
QUOTE (Gibraltar Dees @ Nov 3 2007, 18:46) *
so un-original as usual - FUD

Oh dear. You're not still greetin' are you?

Here, put your Dundee Derry Dummy back in. laugh.gif

wattie_rojas
QUOTE (Jamie_Beatson @ Nov 3 2007, 19:36) *
I thought MLaren and Jackson were pretty good today. I could say the same about Dixon and Daquin for Dundee. They were fucking awful. The introduction of McHale and Sw**kie totally revitalised Dundee and that was what changed the game. Unfortunately for us we took off our pacy young players and left on Sheerin who was knackered and McInnes who put the ball out the park with every other touch.

Dixon and Daquin have been pretty average for most of the season tbh although Dixon is good enough to recover his form(notice how I never mentioned Freddie there).
I said to my mate that it's amazing that McInnes is still playing in the 1st division.
Unlikely
QUOTE (Matty_True_Dee @ Nov 3 2007, 18:24) *
Well Palenik(I thought was McKenzie tbh but there you go) threw himself in front of the ball and it hit his hand. Undeliberate IMO but its worth consulting the rules.

I'm only assuming it was Palenik because he seems to be the one that got booked. It may well have been McKenzie.
Gibraltar Dees
QUOTE (captain sensible. @ Nov 3 2007, 20:49) *
Oh dear. You're not still greetin' are you?

Why would I be greetin' on a night where we prove fortress Dens WILL win us promotion, United edge closer to their rightful place of bottom-six obscurity, Savo's silenced and Saint Sam can't even bring herself to comment. laugh.gif

On the other hand, you Sir, continue to prove to everyone, that originality isn't in your skillset.
davidy233
QUOTE (Unlikely @ Nov 3 2007, 18:57) *
I'm only assuming it was Palenik because he seems to be the one that got booked. It may well have been McKenzie.

Was definitely big Gary.

Isn't football a wonderful game.

SavotheGreat
QUOTE (wattie_rojas @ Nov 3 2007, 18:34) *
It's got to be said that Saints have got some minging players; McInnes, McLaren, Deuchar and Jackson being the worst. Quinn looked good early on but faded and Sheerin did quite well. I actually expected more of Saints and less of Dundee with their respective form. That said I'm as happy as an arab in boob tube.

QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 3 2007, 18:42) *
Don't talk shite.

So simple yet spot on. Terrific response.

Nice to see Savo has encouraged the Dundee fans to engage in their most favoured of hobbies:

ST JOHNSTONE BASHING!

They come and they go but i'm amazed at this most recent batch of Dundee supporters. They are as un-realistic as ever but on top of that, they are also entirely deluded. To say that some of their challenges were anything short of heinous is a massive understatement.

The challenges - as I noted in my first post - on Irvine and Rocco were barbaric. Utterly atrocious, the kind of challenges which would make you revise the idea of allowing football players to be charged for assault.
bonniedundee
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 20:04) *

So simple yet spot on. Terrific response.

Nice to see Savo has encouraged the Dundee fans to engage in their most favoured of hobbies:

ST JOHNSTONE BASHING!

They come and they go but i'm amazed at this most recent batch of Dundee supporters. They are as un-realistic as ever but on top of that, they are also entirely deluded. To say that some of their challenges were anything short of heinous is a massive understatement.

The challenges - as I noted in my first post - on Irvine and Rocco were barbaric. Utterly atrocious, the kind of challenges which would make you revise the idea of allowing football players to be charged for assault.

What? I dont remember the trainers being on once? The only bad tackle was Eddie Malones and he was booked for it. St Johnstone were outplayed by Dundee and got what they deserved. If Owen Coyle was a better manager you might have made some decent substitutions to try and get back in the game. St Johnstone wont do anything in this league until they get a decent manager.
Gibraltar Dees
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 21:04) *

ST JOHNSTONE BASHING!

No mention of Flu bugs or an injury-ravaged squad - maybe reality really is kicking in Savo! laugh.gif

Are you still confident that you'll finish 12 points above us?
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (bonniedundee @ Nov 3 2007, 19:09) *
The only bad tackle was Eddie Malones and he was booked for it.

And GBH is merely slapping someone on the back of the head. He kicked Gary into the air! laugh.gif

The ferociousness and damn right disregard for the welfare of others shown by this Dundee XI is beyond belief.

Matty_True_Dee
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 19:14) *
And GBH is merely slapping someone on the back of the head. He kicked Gary into the air! laugh.gif

The ferociousness and damn right disregard for the welfare of others shown by this Dundee XI is beyond belief.

Thank you Savo for making this win all the sweeter.
Shaggy Jenkins
OC had no answers when Ray changed things, end of story, good night Vienna
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Gibraltar Dees @ Nov 3 2007, 19:11) *
or an injury-ravaged squad

Correction. I have played notice to an injury ravaged squad. Mind you, that wasn't the case at 3pm this afternoon.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.