Full Version: Dundee 2-1 St Johnstone
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
davidy233
QUOTE (wattie_rojas @ Nov 3 2007, 18:18) *
There were 3 defenders and a goalie behind Palenik and that's why he was only booked for a deliberate hand-ball.

There was just the keeper behind big Gary when he handled.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (davidy233 @ Nov 3 2007, 19:18) *
There was just the keeper behind big Gary when he handled.

Shhhhhh! WHAT ARE YOU DOING!?!?!?!?

STICK WITH THE PARTY LINE YOU FOOL!

davidy233
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 19:20) *
Shhhhhh! WHAT ARE YOU DOING!?!?!?!?

STICK WITH THE PARTY LINE YOU FOOL!

What party line? Deal in facts and trolls like you have nothing to fantasise about rolleyes.gif
the bino
how is former bino david O'Brian getting on at dundee?
cpc33
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 3 2007, 19:15) *
This could have gone in the match thread. Indeed David has already pointed it out.

good save from big gary - how bad is that big dumplin deuchar. even looks like an arab :-)
bonniedundee
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 20:14) *
And GBH is merely slapping someone on the back of the head. He kicked Gary into the air! laugh.gif

The ferociousness and damn right disregard for the welfare of others shown by this Dundee XI is beyond belief.

The country sissy boys suffering from the cold couldn't comepete with the big bad city boys. Ever considered rounders? laugh.gif
captain sensible.
QUOTE (Gibraltar Dees @ Nov 3 2007, 19:02) *
Why would I be greetin' on a night where we prove fortress Dens WILL win us promotion, United edge closer to their rightful place of bottom-six obscurity, Savo's silenced and Saint Sam can't even bring herself to comment. laugh.gif

On the other hand, you Sir, continue to prove to everyone, that originality isn't in your skillset.

On the other hand, my team sit comfortably in the SPL - something you can only dream of. cool.gif

cpc33
QUOTE (bonniedundee @ Nov 3 2007, 19:31) *
The country sissy boys suffering from the cold couldn't comepete with the big bad city boys. Ever considered rounders? laugh.gif

faf, the guys a rocket :-)

they might get a win at dens in the glass cup tho blink.gif
Jamie_Beatson
What you don't see in that pic is the way the ball is travelling - ie away from the keeper towards the corner he is diving to. I don't think he was getting it.

Anyway, its beside the point. The red card should have been for denying a clear goalscoring opportunity. I don't think anyone can deny he did that. If he doesn't handle it Samson is going to have to pull of an exceptional save to deny us the opener.
cpc33
QUOTE (Jamie_Beatson @ Nov 3 2007, 19:32) *
What you don't see in that pic is the way the ball is travelling - ie away from the keeper towards the corner he is diving to. I don't think he was getting it.

Anyway, its beside the point. The red card should have been for denying a clear goalscoring opportunity. I don't think anyone can deny he did that. If he doesn't handle it Samson is going to have to pull of an exceptional save to deny us the opener.

ach ya scored the pen m8 so made no difference wink.gif
Gibraltar Dees
QUOTE (the bino @ Nov 3 2007, 21:29) *
how is former bino david O'Brian getting on at dundee?

I've only seen O'Brien in the pre-season friendly at Montrose (during my 'summer' hols back in Scotland), and he looked excellent that day! He's been out with a hernia op, but returned to the bench today - reckon he should be back in real contention next week.

PS - don't know if any of the other Dees on here were at Montrose that day, but that John Baird of theirs looked some player - defo better than Div 3 standard and noticed he's banging in the goals regularly (Snap him up in January Eck!)
davidy233
Never mind lads the way Dunfermline are going you should still get a win at Dens this season ph34r.gif
rumple
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 3 2007, 19:18) *
It was difficult to see from our end, did Palenik prevent the ball going in with his hand? If so then it has to be a red card and Brines has made an absolute arse of things.

Saints only cause for complaint was that the ref blew for the penalty too quickly, since the ball ended up in the net.

I was right behind the incident. I couldn't see whether the ball struck MacKenzie's hand because his body was in the way. If it hadn't hit his hand it would have hit his chest, and Samson was right behind him anyway, so the ball was not going in. No reason for a red card.
dazzle-dfc
QUOTE (davidy233 @ Nov 3 2007, 19:52) *
Never mind lads the way Dunfermline are going you should still get a win at Dens this season ph34r.gif

Dave those pics are quality keep them coming laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

How long till you put them on the DFCsite?
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 19:14) *
And GBH is merely slapping someone on the back of the head. He kicked Gary into the air! laugh.gif

The ferociousness and damn right disregard for the welfare of others shown by this Dundee XI is beyond belief.

No surprise there about Malone.A nasty bit of work on and off the park ITBK.
davidy233
QUOTE (dazzle-dfc @ Nov 3 2007, 20:04) *
Dave those pics are quality keep them coming laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

How long till you put them on the DFCsite?

These ones aren't going on the DFC site - there's lots more.

What I'm really looking forward to is seeing the highlights tomorrow wink.gif - it was a cracking match.
dazzle-dfc
QUOTE (davidy233 @ Nov 3 2007, 20:26) *
These ones aren't going on the DFC site - there's lots more.

What I'm really looking forward to is seeing the highlights tomorrow wink.gif - it was a cracking match.

aye it'l be worth paying the money to DFCTV cool.gif
birdeeman
whilst looking for a website that might have st.johnstones's take on the game i came across this most bitter site i have ever been on!! i have never seen anything so hateful and makes united fans look like wee school bairns!!
http://www.grange.demon.co.uk/saints/reps0708/dundee2.htm
shame on the "saints" fan who invented this site, i have never seen chips on shoulders as big as this guys!! about time saints got a rival somewhere as unfound hate towards dundee seems to drive you boys crazy! must be spewin in tae his pint tonight!! laugh.gif laugh.gif

mon the dee great result, if any other saint johnstone fans feel this bad about dundee (i thought you were decent chaps!!) girfuy tongue.gif
Steve McQueen
I thought we were rubbish today, started well but stopped playing at 1-0.

Could have got away with 3 points, a bit unlucky not to get 1.

Did think it should have been a red card but wouldn't have mattered.
EastFootball
QUOTE (birdeeman @ Nov 3 2007, 21:04) *
whilst looking for a website that might have st.johnstones's take on the game i came across this most bitter site i have ever been on!! i have never seen anything so hateful and makes united fans look like wee school bairns!!
<a href="http://www.grange.demon.co.uk/saints/reps0708/dundee2.htm" target="_blank">http://www.grange.demon.co.uk/saints/reps0708/dundee2.htm</a>
shame on the "saints" fan who invented this site, i have never seen chips on shoulders as big as this guys!! about time saints got a rival somewhere as unfound hate towards dundee seems to drive you boys crazy! must be spewin in tae his pint tonight!! laugh.gif laugh.gif

mon the dee great result, if any other saint johnstone fans feel this bad about dundee (i thought you were decent chaps!!) girfuy tongue.gif

That site's always good for a laugh after Saints get beaten.

The amount of bitterness on show there would make a bag of lemons jealous.
dazzle-dfc
QUOTE (birdeeman @ Nov 3 2007, 21:04) *
http://www.grange.demon.co.uk/saints/reps0708/dundee2.htm

christ I thought some of the farmers I speak to are bad blink.gif but all I can say about that report is HA BLOODY HA
dee4life
who cares at the end of the day they got what they deserved nothing.best team won and hopefully that ends all the crap that comes from perth.ps maybe next time we will play our 1st 11 from kick off.ps is there a better midfield than robbo mcdonald and mc hale.Mr rae paul mchale must play and we win the league.
davidy233
QUOTE (dazzle-dfc @ Nov 3 2007, 21:14) *
christ I thought some of the farmers I speak to are bad blink.gif but all I can say about that report is HA BLOODY HA

Anyone who writes "There are times when you want the ground to just open up and football to stop meaning anything to you - this was one of those times" can't be all bad.
FTDabs
what a great set of results for the mighty Dee.
Added to the DABS finally getting what their negative style of pish football deserves.
Insight
Pity Wilkie didn't get his leg broken - but a sending off will kinda do and the summers getting fucked
davidy233
QUOTE (Insight @ Nov 3 2007, 22:30) *
Pity Wilkie didn't get his leg broken - but a sending off will kinda do and the summers getting fucked

Get lost savo
Insight
WTF you on about??
accies
All i can say is well done Dundee good result against saints, but whos 3 points clear and + 17 on GD biggrin.gif. ?
Radford
QUOTE (cpc33 @ Nov 3 2007, 19:29) *
how bad is that big dumplin deuchar. even looks like an arab :-)

You lot have sat and defended Zemlik all season when he's scored one (?) goal in the league. Deuchar didn't have his best game but his record suggests he's far from "bad". Davidson had a good game in the second half, when the service improved, but I still wouldn't swap our front pairing for yours.

The game was won in the midfield and our lack of depth in that one area cost us as we had nothing to counter Rae bring on McHale. When McInnes starts treading water around the 50 minute mark each week, our midfield is left without a tackle with Hardie absent.

I think some refs would have sent McKenzie off - seeing the picture - and I guess that is what is frustrating about it, that you know on another day Dundee would have been playing with 10 men.
Gibraltar Dees
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 4 2007, 10:11) *
I think some refs would have sent McKenzie off - seeing the picture - and I guess that is what is frustrating about it, that you know on another day Dundee would have been playing with 10 men.

Not sure that would have made any difference really, considering you couldn't beat us when we were down to 9 men in the corresponding fixture last season wink.gif
A_dee4life
Saints supporter were very quiet, I was sitting at the far end of the Derry and I only heard them sign we hate Dundee once.
dee4life
[ but I still wouldn't swap our front pairing for yours.

Half your fron pairing is actually a gretna player and before yesterday I was looking forward to him leaving saints in december,but having seen him yesterday wouldna be a bad thing if he stayed.arab dumpling springs to mind.
Clyde4life
Notice one particular poster is missing blink.gif blink.gif
Radford
QUOTE (dee4life @ Nov 4 2007, 10:22) *
Half your fron pairing is actually a gretna player and before yesterday I was looking forward to him leaving saints in december,but having seen him yesterday wouldna be a bad thing if he stayed.arab dumpling springs to mind.

When does Paul Dixon make his debut for Forfar?

Half your defence in the second half - when you actually played well - belong to SPL clubs as well. In the here-and-now, Jackson and Deuchar have scored 16 goals in 10 games, you can't possibly knock that return. Yesterday was the first time one of them hasn't scored when they've been paired together. Dundee fans seem to have a real problem giving anything to do with St Johnstone credit, yet we are supposed to be the ones that hate you.
Jamie_Beatson
Today's papers say that Brines told Coyle at half time that no red card was given as the defender knew the keeper was behind him and was diving so therefore he could handle it. Apparently saving a ball that your keeper is stretching for and probably won't get to is not denying a clear opportunity. The ref cannot second guess what the keeper may or may not do, especially in this scenario where the ball was travelling towards the far corner from where Samson was.

I rest assured that next time Mr Brines referees our game our players can chop down someone who is one on one with the keeper, because the keeper is behind them and may make a save.

Totally bizarre.
dee4life
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 4 2007, 10:50) *
When does Paul Dixon make his debut for Forfar?

Half your defence in the second half - when you actually played well - belong to SPL clubs as well. In the here-and-now, Jackson and Deuchar have scored 16 goals in 10 games, you can't possibly knock that return. Yesterday was the first time one of them hasn't scored when they've been paired together. Dundee fans seem to have a real problem giving anything to do with St Johnstone credit, yet we are supposed to be the ones that hate you.

I thought deucher looked pish yesterday I cant knock his scoring record though but not a great player imo.About the penalty incident I agree if it was the other way I would expect a red card for the defender so we got away with that,but I also remember derek lyle getting sent off last season against saints for very little.As for the game hoefully now we will start playing paul mchale from the start he is a class player as I,m sure clyde fans know.
Michael
The Saints were only really singing we hate Dundee and same old Dundee always cheating.

they only sang them once

IronChicken
Are St. Johnstone planning for next season in div 1 now. cool.gif
Michael
i think that St Johnstone will catch up and Hamilton will slip so it will be a race between Dundee and the Saints
bonniedundee
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 4 2007, 08:11) *
You lot have sat and defended Zemlik all season when he's scored one (?) goal in the league. Deuchar didn't have his best game but his record suggests he's far from "bad". Davidson had a good game in the second half, when the service improved, but I still wouldn't swap our front pairing for yours.

The game was won in the midfield and our lack of depth in that one area cost us as we had nothing to counter Rae bring on McHale. When McInnes starts treading water around the 50 minute mark each week, our midfield is left without a tackle with Hardie absent.

Maybe McKenzie not being sent off evens things up from last season when Lyle was sent off after 4 minutes for stamping on the grass. We came back for a draw that day as well. Maybe St Johnstone just arent good enough?
BigAl024
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 4 2007, 09:11) *

It could be argued that the signing of Deuchar sort of turned round St Johnstone's season. Before then, the saint strikers were minging. he seems to be getting the best out of the young boy jackson, and is good at what he knows - No fancy fitba - but putting it in the net. He didnt produce yesterday thankfully, but he's done well so far.

I'd have him at dens. he knows where the goal is.
Szamo's_Ammo
QUOTE (Insight @ Nov 3 2007, 22:30) *

You are a complete bitter p***k.
Insight
I thank you rolleyes.gif
dazzle-dfc
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Nov 4 2007, 13:59) *
You are a complete bitter p***k.

and you are an arab huh.gif id rather be a bitter p***k than one of them cool.gif
CC 33
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 3 2007, 19:04) *
The challenges - as I noted in my first post - on Irvine and Rocco were barbaric. Utterly atrocious, the kind of challenges which would make you revise the idea of allowing football players to be charged for assault.

The one on Irvine was a shocker. It was by Eddie Malone though so you'll need to have a word with Captain Scarlet about that one. McHale's on Quinn was just an out and out professional foul. If that was in Italy nobody would have thought anything of it. Certainly wasn't a bad tackle though.

Saints looked really goof for the first 25 mins but after that offered nothing. Quinn's through ball to Jackson was one of the best passes I've ever seen though.

McHale has to start every week now. Move Robertson to the right and let him drift in if he wants but it's time for Daquin to receive his jotters. Malone was pretty poor, although he looked a bit better when moved to the back. It's a real shame Corrigan is off because he played really well yesterday, far better than Worrel or Griffen.

How bad is Alan Main's kicking??
captain sensible.
QUOTE (CC 33 @ Nov 4 2007, 14:31) *
The one on Irvine was a shocker. It was by Eddie Malone though so you'll need to have a word with Captain Scarlet about that one.

Great to see that Eddie is back to what he does best - kicking the opposition. cool.gif
CC 33
QUOTE (captain sensible. @ Nov 4 2007, 14:37) *
Great to see that Eddie is back to what he does best - kicking the opposition. cool.gif

He certainly likes to get stuck in which I admire in a player. Not enough players these days who will take a booking, if it allows you to get a kick at some poof with streaked hair and white boots.

He isn't a left midfielder however.
shawfield shed boy
How did malone play ..
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (shawfield shed boy @ Nov 4 2007, 15:42) *
How did malone play ..

Like his namesake Bugsy.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (CC 33 @ Nov 4 2007, 14:31) *
The one on Irvine was a shocker. It was by Eddie Malone though so you'll need to have a word with Captain Scarlet about that one. McHale's on Quinn was just an out and out professional foul. If that was in Italy nobody would have thought anything of it. Certainly wasn't a bad tackle though.

Saints looked really goof for the first 25 mins but after that offered nothing. Quinn's through ball to Jackson was one of the best passes I've ever seen though.

McHale has to start every week now. Move Robertson to the right and let him drift in if he wants but it's time for Daquin to receive his jotters. Malone was pretty poor, although he looked a bit better when moved to the back. It's a real shame Corrigan is off because he played really well yesterday, far better than Worrel or Griffen.

How bad is Alan Main's kicking??

Finally, a Dundee fan with a level head (figuratively speaking and disregarding any anatomically challenged Dundonians); I can talk to you. Yes, Alan's kicking was a little wayward on occassion. But I reckon you will struggle to find a straight-kicking keeper in this league. Bryn's kicking was poor.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.