Queensthroughandthrough
Nov 3 2007, 17:11
I still don't know what the real result is as they give differnt results on different web sites.
Did Queens win?
QUOTE (Queensthroughandthrough @ Nov 3 2007, 17:11)

I still don't know what the real result is as they give differnt results on different web sites.
Did Queens win?
Yes , Brian Gilmour and David Bingham , 2 goals within a minute midway through the 2nd half !
Todd_is_God
Nov 3 2007, 17:16
QUOTE (billyg @ Nov 3 2007, 17:14)

Yes , Brian Gilmour and David Bingham , 2 goals within a minute midway through the 2nd half !
Wasn't it two OG's? McLauchlin and Halliwell?
Either way, Queens won.
QUOTE (Queensthroughandthrough @ Nov 3 2007, 17:11)

Did Queens win?
Yes the BBC and Sky have confirmed it. I don't know who got ours. I think they might have been two own goals, according to the Accies guys on the results thread. They must have been late goals and that will have been a bit of a sickener for the Accies lads.
Still, it's our first three points in a while, so I don't mind who gets them. That's us up to seventh now, and I think fourth place is only another three or four points off that. Jesus, this league is tight!
QUOTE (Todd_is_God @ Nov 3 2007, 17:16)

Either way, Queens won.
Yeah i heard two og's from someone at the game. Still cant believe that!! Oh well cant complain, a win's a win!
Dfs-Blu
Nov 3 2007, 17:22
QUOTE (mucky @ Nov 3 2007, 18:19)

Yeah i heard two og's from someone at the game. Still cant believe that!! Oh well cant complain, a win's a win!
Not at the game but was told Queens winner was a shot from "Gilly" came off the post & in off the keeper. A wins a win all the same.
Todd_is_God
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Nov 3 2007, 17:19)

They must have been late goals and that will have been a bit of a sickener for the Accies lads.
They weren't though. 66 and 68th minute. You'd think the fact that we'd scored two OG's inside 60 seconds might have caught someone's attention, but it appears to have been completely ignored!
hotrodqos
QUOTE (filing @ Nov 3 2007, 18:14)

sorry but Hamilton scored 3 goals and lost, 2 own goals first 1 hit of a Hamilton player on the line the second hit the post and went in of the back of the keeper.Hamilton were the better team for most of the game.I find Chisholms team decisions very strange and the sooner he goes the better.I will probably get shot down for my views but tuff.we put a centre midfield player (scally) at centre back and we put our centreback on the bench.other strange decisions but this result has probably gave him time to tinker with the team again.
The Magic Moose
Nov 3 2007, 17:34
Both Queens goals were OGs! The first one was one of the funniest goals ive ever seen. Cant wait to see it again on the OS.
I thought Hamilton were the better team in the first half and Queens in the Second we got lucky but its about time we had some.
Scally at centre half was a strange one with Aitken on the bench but he had a good game i thought. Infact apart from the first minute we defended well today.
Lets hope this is the start of a wee run of form.
Mabawsa_Ritchie
Nov 3 2007, 17:47
QUOTE (hotrodqos @ Nov 3 2007, 17:22)

sorry but Hamilton scored 3 goals and lost, 2 own goals first 1 hit of a Hamilton player on the line the second hit the post and went in of the back of the keeper.Hamilton were the better team for most of the game.I find Chisholms team decisions very strange and the sooner he goes the better.I will probably get shot down for my views but tuff.we put a centre midfield player (scally) at centre back and we put our centreback on the bench.other strange decisions but this result has probably gave him time to tinker with the team again.
Spotrsound credited Bingham and Gilmour !
The Magic Moose
Nov 3 2007, 17:51
QUOTE (billyg @ Nov 3 2007, 17:47)

Spotrsound credited Bingham and Gilmour !

They are talking pish. I was right behind the goals when they were scored. Our tannoy guy awarded them to Bingham and Gilmour as well. Gilmour perhaps has a slight case for the second but theres no way the first could be anything but an OG.
FC_1919
Nov 3 2007, 18:15
Definatly two OG's, a win's a win tho.
Still alot of players playing out of position. What a difference 5 minutes makes to a season!
Todd_is_God
Nov 3 2007, 18:18
QUOTE (FC_1919 @ Nov 3 2007, 18:15)

What a difference 5 minutes makes to a season!
You're tellin me!
academical
Nov 3 2007, 18:28
Just back from Palmerston.
Fair play to Queens - you scored the goals and deserved the win.
We had enough chances to bury you, but we didn't get the breaks, and your keeper played a blinder. If you don't score goals, you don't win games, and that was the lesson our players learned today.
I'm still a bit shell-shocked by the two second-half minutes that turned the game, but The Magic Moose's assessment is about right - Accies bossed the first half and Queens the second.
If we're going to win this league, we need to win games like that one.
BigRubberFist
Nov 3 2007, 18:30
Definetly two OGs from where I was standing.
Great result for the team that wanted it more. Thought Tosh looked way more effective on the right hand side once Gilmour had came on to play on the left side. Bingham had by far his best game in a Queens shirt (ok, thats not saying much...) and, bar the utterly useless Mole, we had no passengers today.
Terrific result, and we should build on today's performance in coming weeks.
academical
Nov 3 2007, 18:39
QUOTE (BigRubberFist @ Nov 3 2007, 19:30)

result for the team that wanted it more
I think that's right. I just posted something similar on AcciesWorld. In the second half, Accies seemed to let Queens come at us more, and you certainly seemed hungrier for the points. In mitigation, perhaps we were tired after Wednesday night's game in Dundee.
Skyline Drifter
Nov 3 2007, 18:41
QUOTE (The Magic Moose @ Nov 3 2007, 17:51)

They are talking pish. I was right behind the goals when they were scored. Our tannoy guy awarded them to Bingham and Gilmour as well. Gilmour perhaps has a slight case for the second but theres no way the first could be anything but an OG.
On the goals. I think the reason for the lack of confirmation of goals on the teletext, websites, etc was that no-one was at all sure who to credit either to. I have never had to deal with more post match phone calls about the score and scorers, many of which were from bookmakers anxious to confirm the correct score before paying out.
The Definitive Answer.
We spoke to both Assistant Referees and the Hamilton team for definitive answers post match.
Goal No 1Offiicially it will go down as a
Mark McLaughlin own goal. Harris' long throw into the box caused chaos, Bingham did superbly well to flick it away from Halliwell and force McLaughlin to play it and he turned it into his own net.
Goal No 2Officially will be credited to
Brian Gilmour. Gilmour's shot hit the post, hit Halliwell on the back and bounced back into the net. If this was the English Premiership with its' Dubious Goals Panel it would be given as an own goal undoubtedly just as Craig Gordon's was last week at West Ham. But it isn't and both officials confirmed as far as they are concerned it was Gilmour's goal.
FCUnited
Nov 3 2007, 18:46
a wins a win, but i still want to see chisholm go he is a grade 1 w**ker his selections are at times questionable i see no logic in them at all! credit to adny aitken for putting up with this and not knocking f**k out the wee fanny!
badger_whacker
Nov 3 2007, 18:59
I can't complain about the result today. It was the same against Morton last week with early goals, which then cause us to take the foot of the pedal. I thought we were still the better team in the first half, queens were definetly the better in the second. With Neil and Gilhaney aside, I thought every perform to their usual standards, but those two make us tick.
I think it should be credited to Halliwell, He dropped it straight onto the guys head and was man of the match for queens. The guys a liability: being at fault for United's first goal midweek, not coming out for Templeman's "goal" and being so indecisive about coming to things.
The question is.....should Halliwell be shot....computer overwhelming says yes.
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
Nov 3 2007, 19:07
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Nov 3 2007, 17:47)

Still about 18 million points clear of you whingers,so I won't lose any sleep over it.
As for the GAME,Accies were strolling it,but any game is never over at 1-0.Today proved that.
Geri Halliwell in the Accies goal has been threatening a monumental cock-up for weeks and today was the day it happened.The old Gary Sprake classic "You Need Hands" must be due an airing.Queens scored the second while the Accies players and fans were flabbergasted at the way the first goal was conceded.
Gilhaney clipped the post when it looked as if he would score and Halliwell partly redeemed himself-not- saving a couple of blocks.Accies threw everything except the kitchen sink at Queens,but by then the damage was done.
Once again,Sean O'Connor was outstanding for Queens.A good old bustling centre forward who put in a power of work for his team.All the Accies fans around me were very impressed.The kind of player who would look good next to Offiong who had no chance today with the amount of stupid high balls thrust towards him when he was wanting the ball to feet.
Some of the Accies kids such as Easton and McArthur looked on their feet as the heavy schedule caught up with them.
Still,QOS fans as always were a great bunch and you can't begrudge them a result.One of them said to me walking to the game that he thought the big darkie would run riot against the Queens defence.I told him that you can't say such things in these PC times,whereupon the old guy said:"I'm 86,I can say what I want"
Oh how we laughed.You had to be there to witness it.
Finally,a lot of Accies fans have been calling for Cerny to get a chance.The guy is the Czech under 21 keeper and could be the next Peter Cech.We will never find out if Reid doesn't give him a fair chance.
TheAcciesAreBack
Nov 3 2007, 19:09
Didn't make it to palmerston today. From what I heard accies sat back after the early goal by mcarthur and tried to defend thier lead. This also happened against saints away when we went 1-0 up early and were defeated 4-1
a'well on the bright side we're still top

bring on plastic whistle !
BigRubberFist
Nov 3 2007, 19:19
QUOTE (Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Nov 3 2007, 19:07)

One of them said to me walking to the game that he thought the big darkie would run riot against the Queens defence.I told him that you can't say such things in these PC times,whereupon the old guy said:"I'm 86,I can say what I want"
Buy the guy a pint...
Skyline Drifter
Nov 3 2007, 19:26
QUOTE (academical @ Nov 3 2007, 18:28)

We had enough chances to bury you, but we didn't get the breaks, and your keeper played a blinder. If you don't score goals, you don't win games, and that was the lesson our players learned today.
I'm still a bit shell-shocked by the two second-half minutes that turned the game, but The Magic Moose's assessment is about right - Accies bossed the first half and Queens the second.
Not trying to be funny about it but I didn't think you had masses of chances. After the first minute there was a shot by Offiong across the face of goal first half from a very tight angle and another hammered from a tight angle that hit the outside of the post though it may have been touched there by MacDonald or not. Second half he made one brilliant flying parry from McArthur and then Gilhaney (I think) missed a sitter of a lob when clean through.
Probably enough to win given all of those barring the last one were whilst the score was 1-0 but I think "bury" is too strong. Oddly that's as poorly as we've played all season almost with the obvious exception of the game at Perth a fortnight ago and maybe the home one with Dunfermline and yet we won! We got a lot of the luck we haven't had to date. I don't think we bossed the second half but we did from about the time Gilmour replaced Mole take control. It was a surprising change because I thought Mole had done really well (though he has had a toe injury and maybe he wasn't up to any longer?). Either way it certainly paid off.
I thought the much maligned David Bingham was excellent second half too and forced the equaliser. He's deceptively good in the air and caused Accies more problems aerially today than Sean did! The goal came from him beating Halliwell in the air and then perseverence forcing the mistake from McLaughlin.
Couple of minutes later and Gilmour gets the ball at his feet arriving late in the box on another flowing move and actually shot to the wrong side. There was a fecking open goal at the other side but he went near post and missed but got lucky when it bounced back in off Halliwell. They all count.
Apart from Gilhaney's lobbing opportunity I never thought Accies looked much like equalising and indeed we had a couple of good chances to wrap it up.
Thought McFarlane had an excellent game in front of the back four again. I said it last week too but I think he's more effective in there when he and Scally aren't treading on each other's toes. I thought after a ropey first ten minutes Scally played brilliantly at centre half and indeed looked more assured back there on the day than JT did. The two full backs were excellent with McQuilken having an especially good first half. Robertson worked hard too and I thought in the last fifteen minutes Stevie Tosh was a wise head when one was needed though he didn't have a great game before that. Mole was effective wide right too. The strikers though had probably their least effective game all season as a partnership. Didn't work out at all and I thought Bingham changed the game when he came on giving Accies far more problem than either Dobbie or O'Connor did on the day. Credit where it's due too I thought Gilmour (obviously given that he scored the winner) made a big difference when he came on. That's more like the player I thought we were getting when he signed. Man of the match to McFarlane for me though.
queenslad
Nov 3 2007, 19:27
I don't know how we managed to escape with the points today after having been ouclassed for the first hour. Accies were the better team and fans were getting on players, manager and refs back. How we actually managed to score two goals beats me as up until then we never looked like scoring but hey its goals that wins matches.
After the two goals Accies fell to pieces and Queens midfield looked impressive with Tosh, McFarane, Roberston and Gilmour ruling the match. Thought we could have had a couple of pens Robertson in second half and Gilmour when he could easily have went down over keepers arms.
Dobbie looked injured a couple on mins before he went off, pulled hansting??? but why we never got him off earlier I'll never know. Queens were awarded free kirk and as Dobbie was walking off Queens took a quick free kick, queue angry words between defence and Dobbie.
Hopefully the win will mean we turn the corner and can grind out a few more wins. When we played the ball on the deck we looked good. We only need another 8 to relativily safe
queenslad
Nov 3 2007, 19:34
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Nov 3 2007, 19:26)

Thought McFarlane had an excellent game in front of the back four again. I said it last week too but I think he's more effective in there when he and Scally aren't treading on each other's toes. I thought after a ropey first ten minutes Scally played brilliantly at centre half and indeed looked more assured back there on the day than JT did.
Must agree that McFarlane played well, on eor two negative passes at times but better to keep the ball than play aimless long ball to forwards.
I was surprised to see Scally playing centre half and wonder if his in experience cost us the opening goal. Surely JT should not have gone forward for the free kick as when the defence won the head one pass later McCartney was running clean through on goal with only McDonald to beat. I would have thought it better to have left experienced JT at back. A couple of times later it was effectivily on on one at the back with Scally and Offilong. Scally did play better second half but for last 30 mins Accies were a beaten team
Skyline Drifter
Nov 3 2007, 19:40
QUOTE (queenslad @ Nov 3 2007, 19:27)

I don't know how we managed to escape with the points today after having been ouclassed for the first hour. Accies were the better team and fans were getting on players, manager and refs back. How we actually managed to score two goals beats me as up until then we never looked like scoring but hey its goals that wins matches.
Yeah, that's what I thought. I thought the back line (other than on the day JT who had one of his poorer games at least early on) were excellent with McFarlane in front of them but we offered nothing much going forward for an hour.
After the two goals Accies fell to pieces and Queens midfield looked impressive with Tosh, McFarane, Roberston and Gilmour ruling the match. Thought we could have had a couple of pens Robertson in second half and Gilmour when he could easily have went down over keepers arms.
They did fall apart a bit and we could have had a couple more goals. I'd forgotten about the challenge on Robertson. I DID think that was a penalty at the time and I also thought both Bingham and Gilmour in the one move could have gone over the keeper's arms and got a penalty later on but they thought they could score and went on.
Dobbie looked injured a couple on mins before he went off, pulled hansting??? but why we never got him off earlier I'll never know. Queens were awarded free kirk and as Dobbie was walking off Queens took a quick free kick, queue angry words between defence and Dobbie.
Dobbie injured his thigh. Hopefully nothing too serious though Bingham had easily his best game for us when he came on anyway. I don't think Scally realised Dobbie was trying to walk off injured when he played a quick free kick to him. Words were exchanged when Dobbie lost the ball as a result but they were all pals at the end.
CheStadium
Nov 3 2007, 19:59
QUOTE (academical @ Nov 3 2007, 18:28)

Thats a pretty fair assessment I think.
Looking back, the QOS keepers great save from McArthur in the 2nd half was pivotal. If we had gone 2 up the game was over.
From an Accies perspective, the 2nd goal was a kick to already sore balls and I think tired legs got even more tired after that.
Well done Queens though. Their players got closer to the Accies midfield in the 2nd half and that allowed them to start playing further up the field.
I didn't get my 2nd ticket for the Italy game either.
I've had better days
setterday sanny
Nov 3 2007, 20:27
[Thought it was a great gutsy performance from queens. After a disasterous start (horrific defending for Hamilton goal, McCarthy let clean through ,Jamie gave him a huge target to hit ), i thought Hamilton totally outplayed us for whole of first half .
Different story in the second half ,dont think anyone can moan about effort shown by usual suspects Tosh and Bingham who had thier best games in ages .Sean did his usual heroes shift up front and at the back defending set pieces Youngsters Gilmour and Harris both had good games .
Bingham did well to get above Hallywell at goal and his pressure won us the goal (whoever got final touch )cant class second goal as an own goal, Gilmour beat two defenders ,hits shot off post onto back of keeper and in, has to be Gilmours !!
Hamilton looked slicker moving ball better than queens and jamie had to make a couple of good saves but i think THE SOUTHs effort deserved that little bit of luck that has been absent all season....
P S. Noticed three Airdrie fans at game today (see attachment)
Click to view attachment
veteran
Nov 3 2007, 20:51
We rode our luck in this one and the game really started to change when we were forced into the substitutions.That was when we actually started to keep possession and pass the ball a bit.Up till then long balls to O'Connor seemed to be the preferred option.
Other than Gilmours goal I can't really remember us having anything on target.
Weird does not do justice to Chisholm's team selections - todays was the best yet.
Players 1 Chisholm 0 was the result.
To be fair
Nov 3 2007, 21:35
A strange game.
The Accies goal just seemed ludicrously straightforward. Perhaps I wasn't paying sufficient attention having just arrived, but it seemed that nobody did anything particularly clever and that by virtue of simply knocking it forward, they were clean through - a decent finish, mind you.
It looked to be fizzling away to one of those dreary one nil defeats when we stumbled over a couple of goals. I'd love to see the first again as I'm still not clear what happened after the ball escaped the 'keeper. The second was a better goal and should surely rightfully be regarded as Gilmour's, despite the intervention of luck and the goalie's baldy heid.
Thereafter, we did better than I'd expected and were fairly untroubled apart from that bad miss with the lob. We missed a couple of decent chances of our own during this period.
All in all, a very valuable win, but Chisholm's selections continue to baffle and I'm still not filled with hope. Still, the table looks better and the situation could be worse, as any Dunfermline fan would surely confirm.
Our midfield was shambolic for an hour. I don't know why, because you'd think Tosh wide left and Mole wide right would have been excellent.
It was only after Gilmour came on and Tosh switched to the right that we looked anything like a football team. Prior to that, the only reason we were still in it was due to the effort of the players making the best of a bad lot plus a couple of good saves by MacDonald.
I know we have injuries, but there is no excuse for Chisholm sending out the team that started today. Does he do it on purpose just to annoy the fans, or does he actually think that was a good midfield?
We got lucky with the goals but in our position you take anything.
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Nov 3 2007, 17:47)

Do you ever give up? Its becoming rather fucking annoying.
GreenOak_Ton
Nov 3 2007, 21:43
QUOTE (accies @ Nov 3 2007, 22:41)

Do you ever give up? Its becoming rather fucking annoying.
Good.
p***k
Mak QOSFC
Nov 3 2007, 22:11
Neil MacFarlane was a different class as usual.
southview
Nov 3 2007, 22:11
Both the Queens goals were telephoned through to the Press Association within a minute of them happening. What happened after that (ie: sending them to the organisations who use the PA service) is anyone's guess. They should have been up long before 4.40pm!
As for the goals, both og's in my book. Everyone felt it was Mark McLaughlin for the first and I have given second to Bryn Halliwell. I know referee is giving it to Brian Gilmour but the fact is Gilmour's shot hit the post and was coming back OUT the way before striking the keeper on the back. Had it not, then it wouldn't have rolled into the net without someone helping it on his way.
Accies score all three goals and still lose, eh?! That takes some doing.
hotrodqos
Nov 3 2007, 22:12
[quote name='BigRubberFist' date='Nov 3 2007, 18:30' post='1961628']
and, bar the utterly useless Mole,
I thought the lad did ok and you can't expect someone to be able to instantly turn it on when they have hardly had a fair chance to win a place in the team.
Wowbagger
Nov 3 2007, 22:24
Always new you guys would struggle on solway turf!
Insight
Nov 3 2007, 22:28
Well done QOS
academical
Nov 3 2007, 22:38
Incidentally, those were the first league goals Accies have conceded since September.
Before today, we had conceded goals in just three of our eleven league games.
And in the three league games when we've dropped points (including today, away to St Johnstone and Livi at NDP), we've led one-nil at half-time on each occasion.
God bless the Queen
of the South that is
just in case that p***k from paisley is watching (take your pick which one )
Insight
Nov 3 2007, 22:47
QUOTE (academical @ Nov 3 2007, 23:38)

Incidentally, those were the first league goals Accies have conceded since September.
And in the three league games when we've dropped points (including today, away to St Johnstone and Livi at NDP), we've led one-nil at half-time on each occasion.
Big deal - an odd injury and suspension and your fucked.............stick to community games on a monday night on your ridiculous plastic pitch with a few watching from the exercise lounge and get real teams on real grass sticking with playing real football.
Wowbagger
Nov 3 2007, 23:03
Guys................what do you think? playing on the pure solway turf?
academical
Nov 3 2007, 23:04
QUOTE (Insight @ Nov 3 2007, 23:47)

Big deal
Who said it was a big deal? They're facts that I thought might be of interest to QoS and Accies fans.
The rest of your post isn't worth commenting on, you bitter twisted little man.
Wowbagger
Nov 3 2007, 23:09
History lesson.............. Wembley was turfed with solway turf for gererations. too much for the hamilton boys.
Insight
Nov 3 2007, 23:12
QUOTE (academical @ Nov 3 2007, 23:38)

LOL.......................so lets talk about the plastic pitch.........you c**ts would rather stay down to make money from that disgrace of a pitch from c**ts on a monday night than getting into the big league!!
Wowbagger
Nov 3 2007, 23:20
QUOTE (billyg @ Nov 3 2007, 17:14)

QUOTE (Todd_is_God @ Nov 3 2007, 17:16)

Either way, Queens won.
one word - solway grass . this is long ball forgiving, slide tackle possible and yellow card whoops!! cmon guys yer plastic pitch is shite. our perfect pitch is better.
ect pitch brings out the best,
Wowbagger
Nov 3 2007, 23:31
This is unaccepatble how. did you do it freeqeue?
Mr Cravat
Nov 3 2007, 23:43
Good to see Gilmour showing what we know he can do and actually doing it.
Bring on the 'ton
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.