Full Version: Raith 2 Cowdung 0
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
lzreid
QUOTE (onegaryteale @ Nov 3 2007, 20:23) *
ah I see. Obviously not watching Raith every week I wouldn't know, but I had them on my coupon and was pretty confident they'd win today.

Derby day syndrome and all that. What I wasn't expecting was our right footed second choice left back to play a stormer, our much maligned striker to have another belter of a game and Borris to be excellent in his first start since injury.

I had Ayr on my coupon.
MarvMarvSuperMarv
Derby day syndrome and all that. What I wasn't expecting was our right footed second choice left back to play a stormer, our much maligned striker to have another belter of a game and Borris to be excellent in his first start since injury.

I agree i also thought Mark Campbell looked quite solid today! Anyone else?
lzreid
QUOTE (MarvMarvSuperMarv @ Nov 3 2007, 20:35) *
I agree i also thought Mark Campbell looked quite solid today! Anyone else?

Walker and Goodwillie were excellent as was Wilson, Fahey (when needed) Weir when he came on.
cowdenbeath
Didn't really expect us to take anything from today as we are still missing Baxter and David Armstrong in our defence.
On the positive side it was good to see young Ramsay in the side today I thought he looked a bit of a prospect and should do ok for us in the future.
Steph McConalogue also seemed to have a bit more fight about him when he came on in the 2nd half perhaps getting dropped will give him a bit of a wake up call.
Agree with the Cowden Cowboy that I don't think that we can play the two 'auld heids' in the middle of the park one or the other, although the manager is restricted in that department as well with Doherty and Mackle still out.
staggy4life
top of the league and you're no tongue.gif
rw89
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Nov 3 2007, 21:40) *
top of the league and you're no tongue.gif

Fair play...county have been much more consistent than us so far. Hopefully this can change with the signings of Walker and Goodwillie until january. laugh.gif
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (onegaryteale @ Nov 3 2007, 20:12) *
Must have been one exciting game with all the pictures of the crowd that were taken.

Did Raith fans really not expect to win?...I mean really.....

Good crowd of just under 2400, about 250 of whom were Coodung supporters. Naturally they were quite for most of the game rolleyes.gif

I had no doubt we'd win but expressing it makes one somewhat unpopular, especially amongst some of the Rovers fannies who would rather they pretend we'd struggle so theyd look humble and objective. unsure.gif

useless basturts wink.gif
Robbo
QUOTE (BlooCoo @ Nov 3 2007, 20:28) *
His smirk was soon removed after being asked about the challenge that resulted in Andy Howatt going to hospital.

And what was wrong with the challenge on Andy Howatt?

We scored 2 but really should have had a barrowload.C/beath,played some tidy football at times but no cutting edge.
Growl3th
QUOTE (Robbo @ Nov 4 2007, 00:19) *

Who is Andy Howatt and when did he go to hospital?

And why?
Growl3th
QUOTE (Robbo @ Nov 4 2007, 00:19) *

And why?
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (Growl3th @ Nov 3 2007, 23:27) *

And why?

Never saw nothing. Never even knew who he was.
Growl3th
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Nov 4 2007, 00:31) *
Never saw nothing. Never even knew who he was.

Checked my team sheet and he was cowdung's number 14.

Can't really remember him though.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (Growl3th @ Nov 3 2007, 23:35) *
Checked my team sheet and he was cowdung's number 14.

Can't really remember him though.

Marv goes for the ball and if an opponent gets in the way theyre liable to get flattened, which happens a lot. But I've never seen him make a dirty challenge.
Raith_Raver
QUOTE (MarvMarvSuperMarv @ Nov 3 2007, 20:23) *
When we pass the ball around on the ground we could beat anyone.

Certainly a big improvement. Borris Walker and Sloan were a much more creative midfield. He axed Winter and moved Davidson further back. I hope he keeps it that way. Maybe McGlynn watches what we say on this forum biggrin.gif

The forwards were good too, Hislop (MOM) and the new guy were very good I thought.
We saw a flash of what Carcary can do when he came on, but by that time we were starting to settle for what we had.
Yoss
All this GIRFUY stuff is a bit embarrassing. It's all fine and well after you've beaten Celtic in a cup final or something, but for a home win over Cowdenbeath? Has it really come to that?

As for the game, very pleased with that given some of the last few home performances, and especially given the way we've been slow starters too often. Cowdenbeath looked a shadow of the side who caused us so many problems earlier in the season, bad day at the office for them but I think we're due some credit for getting after them from the off.

Liked the look of Goodwillie, I was confidently stating yesterday that he'd start on the bench, but an excellent decision from McGlynn to throw him straight in, and indeed to shake up the side more generally (five changes, I think). Shame we couldn't add to the score, and that the ref failed to acknowledge it when we did, but very pleased nonetheless.

Davidson - I was defending him as a player on another thread the other day and would continue to do so, but his discipline remains a worry, as someone else has mentioned there was a bad tackle in the first half and I wasn't particularly impressed with his antics in the second.

Pat Clarke - this scarcely need saying but I'll once again express my mystification as to why Dalziel played him so rarely and then let him go.
Scary Bear
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Nov 3 2007, 19:59) *
Diddy team derby whistling.gif

3rd Division rubbish...3rd Division rubbish...Harry Ramp is the 3rd Div player of the year
Yoss
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Nov 3 2007, 23:42) *
Marv goes for the ball and if an opponent gets in the way theyre liable to get flattened, which happens a lot. But I've never seen him make a dirty challenge.

Not often, no, but that one in the play-offs last season was bad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=57XdESqh1pU
Scary Bear
QUOTE (Yoss @ Nov 4 2007, 00:11) *
All this GIRFUY stuff is a bit embarrassing. It's all fine and well after you've beaten Celtic in a cup final or something, but for a home win over Cowdenbeath? Has it really come to that?

As for the game, very pleased with that given some of the last few home performances, and especially given the way we've been slow starters too often. Cowdenbeath looked a shadow of the side who caused us so many problems earlier in the season, bad day at the office for them but I think we're due some credit for getting after them from the off.

Liked the look of Goodwillie, I was confidently stating yesterday that he'd start on the bench, but an excellent decision from McGlynn to throw him straight in, and indeed to shake up the side more generally (five changes, I think). Shame we couldn't add to the score, and that the ref failed to acknowledge it when we did, but very pleased nonetheless.

Davidson - I was defending him as a player on another thread the other day and would continue to do so, but his discipline remains a worry, as someone else has mentioned there was a bad tackle in the first half and I wasn't particularly impressed with his antics in the second.

Pat Clarke - this scarcely need saying but I'll once again express my mystification as to why Dalziel played him so rarely and then let him go.

Aye, it has. We're in the 2nd Division!
Scary Bear
QUOTE (Yoss @ Nov 4 2007, 00:13) *

Didn't see much wrong with that challenge.
Raith_Raver
QUOTE (Yoss @ Nov 4 2007, 00:11) *

The story is that Clarke criticised Dalziel's tactics and was dropped, and eventually freed him.

As we all know it came back to haunt him because he went to score prolifically for Cowden while we could hardly buy a goal, and then he stuffed us single handedly at Stark's. It was Clarke it was who got Dalziel fired. Justice was never sweeter.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Nov 4 2007, 01:12) *
3rd Division rubbish...3rd Division rubbish...Harry Ramp is the 3rd Div player of the year

wink.gif
Andy.C
QUOTE (Raith Born and Bred @ Nov 3 2007, 18:13) *
Davo and that twat of a keeper was my moment of the game...what the hell was Davo actually doing? laugh.gif Hope its his new celebration, we should all start doing it if Davo scores!!!!

I'm sure he was doing the 'cigar' action as if to tell the 'keeper that it was easy.

QUOTE (BlooCoo @ Nov 3 2007, 19:28) *
Let's just say, Marv 'turned the other cheek'.

His smirk was soon removed after being asked about the challenge that resulted in Andy Howatt going to hospital.

Big Marv goes in hard but I never believe that he injures people intentionally.
If Andy Howatt had to go to hospital then I wish him all the best.

We were the better team today and I'd have had young Joe Dingwall as my MoM but it could've been a different game if the shot that hit the post had went in. Obviously it didnt though and I felt that we ran the midfield today, what a difference a couple of attacking players coming into the team makes. Hissy ran tirelessly, Goodwillie impressed me a lot and Chris Fahey was back to his safe handling best.
Probably the most enjoyable match I've watched this season.
Stevo Fife
I hate Cowdungbeath. I dislike Raith, but i fookin hate Cowdungbeath.

Thanks for listening.
Steven
QUOTE (BlooCoo @ Nov 3 2007, 19:02) *
Steven - you really need to take a close look at yourself. Remember all the boastful predictions last season and you were made to look a real fud - you're still looking like a fud with some of the postings here.

QUOTE (Cowden Cowboy @ Nov 3 2007, 19:14) *
Steven shows up Raith again - the guys got no class and never learns.

Oh the fucking irony!!! rolleyes.gif
CooCoothenoo
No complaints about the result. Raith took their chances, we didn't, but Marv's behaviour after his challenge on Howatt was out of order, smiling and waving at the Cowden fans. I didn't think it was intended as a bad challenge but his reaction was ridiculous. Seems he met his match in Brian Welsh after the game though laugh.gif

Steven, you're a fud. You've always been a fud and it looks like you'll always be a fud but I'm sure you'll come to terms with it in time.

Fife's Finest laugh.gif Why were so many Rovers supporters walking up Pratt Street before the final whistle? blink.gif Absolutely bizarre.
stockcar willie
QUOTE (Raith_Raver @ Nov 3 2007, 17:21) *
Rovers more or less had it won in first half. Cowdenbeath didnt threaten until they were two down. I thought the shot that came back off the inside of the post might have made a difference to the game. Second half was fairly even and open, tho Rovers had the better chances, and the ref chalked off a goal just for suspicion of handball - he couldnt have seen anything from where he was. We should have won by more, but 2-0 will do fine.

have to agree with you there,we just did'nt get going too many poor performances across the pitch.if we'd got anything from this we'd be looking at a stretch inside for daylight robbery.
Stag Knight
Nice to see Rovers strikers in key positions for the goals and looking sharp. It's been a feature that was missing in recent weeks. As for Cowdenbeath, Pat Clarke and Mark Ramsay were outstanding and although we were clearly the better team, I think we've lost a good one by missing out on Ramsay.

Heard the story too about Welsh landing one on Marv, and if that is so then I fully expect Cowdenbeath to impose some sort of disciplianary measure on their manager, but then again as he's the chairman's son-in-law that'll be a no.

We clicked in every department yesterday. Steve Hislop was exceptional, but special praise has to go to Joe Dingwall who came in for Marco Pelosi and had a great game. We didn't miss Pelosi at all.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Stag Knight @ Nov 4 2007, 09:49) *
Nice to see Rovers strikers in key positions for the goals and looking sharp. It's been a feature that was missing in recent weeks. As for Cowdenbeath, Pat Clarke and Mark Ramsay were outstanding and although we were clearly the better team, I think we've lost a good one by missing out on Ramsay.

Heard the story too about Welsh landing one on Marv, and if that is so then I fully expect Cowdenbeath to impose some sort of disciplianary measure on their manager, but then again as he's the chairman's son-in-law that'll be a no.

We clicked in every department yesterday. Steve Hislop was exceptional, but special praise has to go to Joe Dingwall who came in for Marco Pelosi and had a great game. We didn't miss Pelosi at all.

What a clown. laugh.gif

Welshy not able to take it that his side were well beaten so he hits someone. blink.gif

As said above, i hope that Cowden discipline him in some way. Either them or the SFA.

Lifetime touchline ban shoudl about do it, eh. Not that they'd miss him, though! laugh.gif
rw89
If Welsh hit Marv he is a fucking clown. You didn't see the same reaction from Allan Moore after the challenge on Stevie Bell. From what i've seen Welsh is an extremely sore loser and can be very bitter when things don't go his way.
cowdenbeath
QUOTE (rw89 @ Nov 4 2007, 11:34) *
If Welsh hit Marv he is a fucking clown. You didn't see the same reaction from Allan Moore after the challenge on Stevie Bell. From what i've seen Welsh is an extremely sore loser and can be very bitter when things don't go his way.

Is there any proof that our manager planked one on Marv or is this just going to be an urban myth unsure.gif
rw89
QUOTE (cowdenbeath @ Nov 4 2007, 10:56) *
Is there any proof that our manager planked one on Marv or is this just going to be an urban myth unsure.gif

Dunno....not heard much about this. More than likely a myth.
MonTheRovers!!
I know for a fact there was a scuffle at full time but it was described as handbags.
onegaryteale
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Nov 4 2007, 00:17) *
Didn't see much wrong with that challenge.

See, people always over-react to challenges.

Can you believe this one got a red card? blink.gif http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vF0xeo5uZmw
MonTheRovers!!
Click to view attachment

As many claimed, this tackle was not two footed, it was late, however no malice in the challenge. Marvin goes into every challenge wholeheartedly.
turboshandy
Thought we played some nice stuff yesterday. Agree with those who said Joe Dingwall was MOM, a composed performance which belied his lack of first team experience. Cowden looked a tidy side at times too but lacked that cutting edge. Had the shot that hit the post, or the one on one that Marv kindly set up for them gone in, it would have put a whole new complexion on the game. Thankfully they didn't and that's another three points in the bag.
MonTheRovers!!
Does the Cowden site do a report at all? Nothing up yet, anyway.
Yoss
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Nov 4 2007, 11:36) *
Click to view attachment

As many claimed, this tackle was not two footed, it was late, however no malice in the challenge. Marvin goes into every challenge wholeheartedly.

We discussed this one to death at the time and I didn't really mean to rake over old coals by bringing it back up again. However, while you can't see it too clearly on that clip but it does nothing to change my impression from the time that it was a very bad challenge. If Carcary had to go off the field after being clattered like that I'd have been distinctly displeased.

I didn't notice the incident with Andrews on Howatt yesterday so can't comment.
Blueminer
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Nov 4 2007, 12:39) *
Does the Cowden site do a report at all? Nothing up yet, anyway.

cowdenbeathfc.com has a brief report on it with the full one to come later and cowdenbeath.net has a bit about the game as well.
BIGQ FAE KDY
Apparently welsh punched marv so marv laughed at him then sent psycho borris into sort him out but cowden players locked the door. Anyway that makes change as normally they are banging on the home team door at starks laugh.gif laugh.gif
centralparker
No complaints about the result - the better team won. Cowden lifted themselves in the second half but the damage had already been done.

What annoyed me was the erses shouting for Welshy to resign. We are sitting mid-table in the second division, can Cowden really expect to be any higher up than that? I wasn't happy when Welsh was initially appointed but fair play to the big man, he's done a good job.
Raith Born and Bred
QUOTE (BIGQ FAE KDY @ Nov 4 2007, 14:30) *
Apparently welsh punched marv so marv laughed at him then sent psycho borris into sort him out but cowden players locked the door. Anyway that makes change as normally they are banging on the home team door at starks laugh.gif laugh.gif

If this is true its a disgrace, while its meant to have a bit "Heat" being a derby its not meant to be fuelled by violence from the teams after the game. Marv is a tough tackler no doubt, but he never goes into a game to deliberatly hurt or injure players like alot of opposition fans seem to think.
Also another bad note were the small bunch of mindless Cowden hooligans (18-25 years old) who called some young girls (No more than 15 years old) along links street..."Kirkcaldy Sluts" and offered them money for sex (Was said jokingly, but it was still sick considering the age of the girls). But this was only a few mindless morons who shouldn't let the Cowdenbeath fans down, was a good tempered derby between the fans which should be applauded.
Safe mid-table finish for Cowdenbeath I think, definately have potential.
rw89
QUOTE (BIGQ FAE KDY @ Nov 4 2007, 13:30) *

Cowden Cowboy
QUOTE (MarvMarvSuperMarv @ Nov 3 2007, 19:47) *
Do you mean the sfa?

Well Marv looked like big Welshy sorted you out! I presume this is an amateurish attempt to get me to say I want someone to boot or kick Davidson on the field and then I then too will be unveiled as a thug by MarvMarv - and no better than Davo.

Reality is I have seen Davidson 5 times - he's been booked in several of these games. In almost every one he has put in a shocking over the ball challenge and/or been involved in 'incidents'. He tackles like Souness. Quite happy if the SFA do something about him but maybe his club should. Not as though Raith fans can't see it. Failing that I will deliberately fall into your trap and say I'd be quite happy for someone to give him a taste of his own medicine.

As far as I know, Welsh was upset by young Howat having to go to hospital after injury in a clash with Marv. Marvyn I hear though was laughing and grinning after injuring Howat right in front of the Cowden bench and that's why Welsh was angry. Presumably Marvyn didn't know he'd injured Howat at the time. By the way I thought he was one of the best players on the park yesterday. Raith fans I see allege Marv was too feart to fight his own battles and had to send for reinforcements!
rw89
QUOTE (Cowden Cowboy @ Nov 4 2007, 14:24) *
Raith fans I see allege Marv was too feart to fight his own battles and had to send for reinforcements!

Strange that...imagine not wanting to lose the ball in a game of football so getting help from other people to do the same job. The one time he did muck up Fahey made the save comfortably. rolleyes.gif
Scary Bear
QUOTE (onegaryteale @ Nov 4 2007, 11:26) *
See, people always over-react to challenges.

Can you believe this one got a red card? blink.gif http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vF0xeo5uZmw

Booking at the most laugh.gif

I don't think I would like to be on the receiving end of one of Marv's challenges, or Roy Keane's for that matter.
Cowden Cowboy
QUOTE (rw89 @ Nov 4 2007, 14:30) *
Strange that...imagine not wanting to lose the ball in a game of football so getting help from other people to do the same job. The one time he did muck up Fahey made the save comfortably. rolleyes.gif

No comprende
lzreid
QUOTE (BIGQ FAE KDY @ Nov 4 2007, 13:30) *

I really hope that's true. I quite like the idea of someone picking on Marv because he knows Marv's religion means he'll walk away from most provocations but then running away from Ryan 'Killer' Borris.
rw89
QUOTE (Cowden Cowboy @ Nov 4 2007, 14:37) *
No comprende

Thought he meant on the pitch! ph34r.gif

Nonetheless, Marv did the right thing walking away and getting Borris...
Cowden Cowboy
QUOTE (rw89 @ Nov 4 2007, 14:46) *
Thought he meant on the pitch! ph34r.gif

Nonetheless, Marv did the right thing walking away and getting Borris...

Ah'll get ma big brither tae ye! I can just see Welshy carefully thinking it out - 'look it's Marvyn I can belt him and he can't hit back because he's a Christian who'll turn the other cheek' - do me a favour.
rw89
QUOTE (Cowden Cowboy @ Nov 4 2007, 14:50) *
Ah'll get ma big brither tae ye! I can just see Welshy carefully thinking it out - 'look it's Marvyn I can belt him and he can't hit back because he's a Christian who'll turn the other cheek' - do me a favour.

Lets face it, Welshy is a moany p***k who throws tantrums when officials don't agree with him.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.