Full Version: Raith 2 Cowdung 0
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (bleubrazil @ Nov 5 2007, 15:29) *
Now for the REAL truth.

Pastor Andrews butted Gilfillan hence his collapse and then head butted Howat as well. (Howat was taken to hospital for a brain scan.)

The good Christian thought the Howat incident was very funny and this incensed the Cowden fans as well as the Cowden dug-out.

Something everyone on hear seems to have seen, but no-one actually noticed during the game....

I certainly saw no headbutt on any Cowdenbeath player, and for these Cowden fans 'going mental', I think you imagined that. The only time there was any major shouting was after the referee's inexplicable decision not to book Davidson for his karate kick.

Incidentally, I thought Davo was hilarious, although I suppose unprofessional. The keeper had a wee swing at him with his head, nothing major but if in the Premiership or something would no doubt have resulted in a red card. Handbags at dawn really.

As Steven has said, as well as countless Raith players before him, Cowdenbeath as a club really do lack class in the way they approach many incidents. I'm not placing all the blame on them for this incident, but seriously, for a manager to assault someone? It's ridiculous and sums up the way the club act, especially at home matches.

Oh, and I can now know for a fact that Cowden players retreated into the dressing room, locked the door and shouted childish insults from behind the safety of it. The only part of my earlier post that is definitley true.
NELLY
should have let dougie hill out the dressing room he would have knocked fcuk out of borris/davidson who ever. just ask garry wood ph34r.gif
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (NELLY @ Nov 5 2007, 16:45) *
should have let dougie hill out the dressing room he would have knocked fcuk out of borris/davidson who ever. just ask garry wood ph34r.gif

I have no idea what Hill done to Garry Wood, but Davidson is by no means a jessie. I'm sure half of Kirkcaldy High School knew that 10 years ago laugh.gif laugh.gif
rw89
QUOTE (NELLY @ Nov 5 2007, 16:45) *

Borris is fucking mental. Just ask the sons fans about his discipline last year...
R.R.FC
Quite disapointed with Davidson's conduct towards the Cowden keeper, No doubt that had a bearing on the alleged "incident" later. I'm glad the keeper didn't rise to it though.

bit harsh in the second half davo chased a ball and it went into the keepers arms and davo nudged into the keeper and the keeper went to headbutt davo but missed as davo jogged past hence all the verbals for the rest of the game
MonTheRovers!!
Now for the REAL truth.

Pastor Andrews butted Gilfillan hence his collapse and then head butted Howat as well. (Howat was taken to hospital for a brain scan.)

The good Christian thought the Howat incident was very funny and this incensed the Cowden fans as well as the Cowden dug-out.

Happily Welshy gave him his tatties in the tunnel and the preacher man ran and told his mates. The rest was handbags at dawn with the usual suspects on both sides doing plenty o pointless posturing but no action. One brave Raith warrior waited until a door was safely locked then ran up and kicked it

Both teams later enjoyed tea and scones (In the pastor's case Tattie scones)

Ahh, always the voice of reason, eh. laugh.gif

Seriously hope something is done about Welsh because, as previously said, a manager assaulting an opposition player is about as low as it goes.

Lets face it, if there was a real fight between between Welsh and Marv, therw ould only be one winner. And it wouldn't be the fat one. laugh.gif
Raith_Raver
QUOTE (NELLY @ Nov 5 2007, 16:09) *
Id love to have seen the wages of the raith players compared with cowdens. still reckon raith wont get out this league wont that be a shame for the MIGHTY ROVERS. ph34r.gif

What are you talking about, we cant compete with East Fife's wages mad.gif
bleubrazil
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Nov 5 2007, 17:35) *
Lets face it, if there was a real fight between between Welsh and Marv, therw would only be one winner. :

So it was just a play fight then?

Welshie won - just accept it.

PS And the door beat Doris as well. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Raith Born and Bred
QUOTE (bleubrazil @ Nov 5 2007, 16:29) *
Now for the REAL truth.

Happily Welshy gave him his tatties in the tunnel and the preacher man ran and told his mates. The rest was handbags at dawn with the usual suspects on both sides doing plenty o pointless posturing but no action. One brave Raith warrior waited until a door was safely locked then ran up and kicked it

Both teams later enjoyed tea and scones (In the pastor's case Tattie scones)

Did they find one? laugh.gif

I can see why Cowden fans are upset in fairness, there players went down 3times with head knocks after Marv goes through the back....but everytime he wins the ball.
Doubt Marvin would ever intentionally hurt anyone considering he is actually one of the most down to earth players around.
If Welshy has struck him he deserves to be and should be punished in the strongest possible form, violence of any kind is wrong and doesn't deserve to go unpunished.
As for Davo, his "Tackle" on the cowden player was reckless and was lucky he got away with it so leniently. His treatment towards Greeting faced Hay wasn't that bad IMO, yes maybe it was unprofessional, but Hay over-reacted to a shoulder nudge and Davo just tried to get him wound u more.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (bleubrazil @ Nov 5 2007, 17:57) *
So it was just a play fight then?

PS And the door beat Doris as well. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Aye, ok blink.gif
bleubrazil
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Nov 5 2007, 19:20) *
Aye, ok blink.gif

Thank you

rw89
QUOTE (bleubrazil @ Nov 5 2007, 17:57) *

But Welshie is still a greeting p***k- everyone accepts this of course...
cowdenbeath
QUOTE (Raith Born and Bred @ Nov 5 2007, 19:15) *
Did they find one? laugh.gif

Aye its funny as fcuk a player having to go for a scan on his brain right enough mad.gif
philpy
IF the stories are true, then i hope the cowden lad is ok.
Andy.C
* Writes up proposals for a charity Raith v Cowden boxing night *
Martin Nelson
Now for the REAL truth.

Presumably the Gilfillan incident was the one where he got treatment, then got up and collapsed again before requiring further treatment? I'm pretty certain that it wasn't Andrews involved in that incident. I think from memory it was either Walker or Goodwillie who was involved as I remember noticing a Rovers player holding his head while Gilfillan was being treated.
I vaguley remember a Cowden player going down in the 2nd half but I can't remember seeing anything unusual, although it was at the opposite end of the pitch. If it's true it's unlike Marv but it's guaranteed that the sparks will be flying at the next derby anyway!!
pub car king
this was my first game of the season and for me raith deserved their victory both strikers played well as did the number 3. rovers played well without setting the pitch alight and i just felt they could have turned it up if they needed too where as cowden huffed and puffed and chased balls down but it didn't get them very far. as for the various incidents don't know why the cowden goal was ruled, out the raith goal should have stood it was never hand ball and the pictures prove it, the incident with the cowden player getting a knock and then needing treatment twice really didn't look much at the time and personally didn't think it was malicious as for iain davidson it was funny the goalkeeper trying to nut him but he seems to get involved far to often. all in all your average local derby
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (pub car king @ Nov 5 2007, 20:54) *
this was my first game of the season and for me raith deserved their victory both strikers played well as did the number 3. rovers played well without setting the pitch alight and i just felt they could have turned it up if they needed too where as cowden huffed and puffed and chased balls down but it didn't get them very far. as for the various incidents don't know why the cowden goal was ruled, out the raith goal should have stood it was never hand ball and the pictures prove it, the incident with the cowden player getting a knock and then needing treatment twice really didn't look much at the time and personally didn't think it was malicious as for iain davidson it was funny the goalkeeper trying to nut him but he seems to get involved far to often. all in all your average local derby

Offiside.
The_Pit_Owns
Andy Howat after his clash with that thug, Andrews :

BIGQ FAE KDY
It looks bad but players get injured all the time in games so your either ignorant or looking for an argument if you really think that marv [who travelled halfway round scotland to visit a bairn in hospital] would go out to deliberately injure anyone.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (The_Pit_Owns @ Nov 6 2007, 00:24) *

Ugly fooker aint he laugh.gif
bleubrazil
QUOTE (philpy @ Nov 5 2007, 20:28) *
IF the stories are true, then i hope the cowden lad is ok.

They are true and he is okay, no thanks to the Raith tattie.

Steven
Hightlights from the match biggrin.gif
rw89
Faheys reaction after the goal is brilliant! laugh.gif
MarvMarvSuperMarv
It looks bad but players get injured all the time in games so your either ignorant or looking for an argument if you really think that marv [who travelled halfway round scotland to visit a bairn in hospital] would go out to deliberately injure anyone.

Marvin would never mean to injure anybody when he attacks tha ball both eyes are on the ball then if he goes for the ball and the other player is tight to him he'll go through them. Theres nothing wrong with that wink.gif
NELLY
trust me there is something wrong with it. He has basically been beaten to the ball and he still went through howat - maybe he couldnt stop but it was a bad challenge. certainly looks nasty - surely the video camera at the game would have picked up the incident.

Whistle Blower
I remember in my day if a player nailed an opposing player, it was dealt with on the park by his team mates. None of this managers hooking folk after the final whistle, or players trying to get in the oppositions changing room.

Pathetic.

Aberdeen Cowden
Used to be a Marvin fan until Saturday - he was at it all game. The Rovers fans who have played the game before they will know what was going on.
Remember Brian Irvine - his connections never stopped him being booked or sent off!
Whistle Blower is right though this should be dealt with in the correct place.
Every dog has his day!
Andy.C
QUOTE (The_Pit_Owns @ Nov 5 2007, 23:24) *

While you dont like to see players being injured it is part and parcel of football.
Andy Howatt would tell you that. Hope his injury clears up quick.

QUOTE (Aberdeen Cowden @ Nov 6 2007, 09:25) *
Used to be a Marvin fan until Saturday - he was at it all game. The Rovers fans who have played the game before they will know what was going on.

I've played the game plenty and been run through by bigger and stronger players than me who were actually intent on injuring you.
As I've said above, shit like that happens and if you cannae handle it then you may aswell do something else.
NELLY
I Hope gilfillan or dougie hill goes right through the big fcuker on new years. See what the raiths fans reactions are.
preacher my arse. he has bedded more women than hugh hefner
rw89
QUOTE (NELLY @ Nov 6 2007, 09:50) *
I Hope gilfillan or dougie hill goes right through the big fcuker on new years. See what the raiths fans reactions are.

laugh.gif Bitter, are we?
Steven
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Nov 6 2007, 08:41) *
I remember in my day if a player nailed an opposing player, it was dealt with on the park by his team mates. None of this managers hooking folk after the final whistle, or players trying to get in the oppositions changing room.

Pathetic.

Yeah well I would expect that kind of crap from Cowden, professional outfit my arse!!!

Run like a pub team with a pub team manager laugh.gif

QUOTE (Aberdeen Cowden @ Nov 6 2007, 09:25) *
Remember Brian Irvine - his connections never stopped him being booked or sent off!
Whistle Blower is right though this should be dealt with in the correct place.
Every dog has his day!

Yeah and hopefully Welsh will have his competence soon dry.gif

Jealous tongue.gif
renton
QUOTE (NELLY @ Nov 6 2007, 10:50) *

which would undoubtedly be followed by Davo or sparky (and who would mess with him, really?!) reducing Gilfillan or Hill and starting WW3 on the pitch.

It's a mans game, a contact sport. It may have been heavy but Marv did - and usually does - win the ball, like when he tore through the Stirling player - whatever else happened Andrews won the ball within the stated rules of the game.

Welsh's behaviour on the other hand is completely out of order and totally in character for the moany greeting twisted fat bawbag, what happens on a football pitch stays on the pitch, what he did constitutes assault.

Unbelievable that certain cowden fans seem to have latched on to this as if it was the one defining aspect of the game and the difference between victory and defeat. It was a heavy challenge, it happens, get over it..christ I've been injured like that during a football match, most everyone who plays the game at some point will come out of a game looking like the Cowden boy in the picture!
Yoss
Cowdenbeath hitting the post seems to be missing from those highlights. And though the video isn't on the backline at exactly the right moment, it looks like their goal was questionably disallowed, as well as our own.

Again, I didn't see the Andrews challenge on Howat. He's an uncompromising player, and it's impossible to be that way without mistiming the odd challenge which is going to look very nasty, the Steven Bell one being a case in point. I've never seen anything to make me think he's in any way malicious though.
Blueminer
QUOTE (AndyC27/11 @ Nov 5 2007, 20:37) *
* Writes up proposals for a charity Raith v Cowden boxing night *

Would this be between the players, fans or both?

In their correct weight divisions, Dougie Hill would take the Rovers players out no problem. It's ok to act hard on the pitch, off it is a different story!

As for myself, I think that I would be in the heavyweight division now. It's took years of intensive drinking and eating to get there though!

If you need a venue give me a shout, can maybe get Torleys to host it wink.gif
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (Steven @ Nov 6 2007, 09:52) *
Yeah well I would expect that kind of crap from Cowden, professional outfit my arse!!!

Steven I think you are becoming more deluded by the hour.

From the information given on here both teams have to ask serious questions about the conduct of their employees after the final whistle.

Andy.C
QUOTE (Blueminer @ Nov 6 2007, 10:21) *
Would this be between the players, fans or both?

In their correct weight divisions, Dougie Hill would take the Rovers players out no problem. It's ok to act hard on the pitch, off it is a different story!

As for myself, I think that I would be in the heavyweight division now. It's took years of intensive drinking and eating to get there though!

If you need a venue give me a shout, can maybe get Torleys to host it wink.gif

It'd be a good way to root out the talkers from the doer's anyway!
Blueminer
QUOTE (AndyC27/11 @ Nov 6 2007, 10:30) *
It'd be a good way to root out the talkers from the doer's anyway!

It certainly would!

I've missed both games this season, but I've managed to get time off for the New Year game, looks like that could be the one destined to be the most competitive derby so far!
Aberdeen Cowden
Marvyn cannot run/jump like he used to - every time he challenges in the air, if he doesn't get the ball he gets the player. Not so easy for a referee to spot but the players know fine what is going on.
Re the incident with Howat - what caused the problem wasn't so much the butt (that was bad enough) but Marvyn's reaction afterwards - he could have ended the guy's career but couldn't stop smiling. Not a sending off offence but is this in the spirit of the game?
As for post-match incidents - don't suppose we will ever discover what really happened and if anyone was assaulted then this isn't right. However, having witnessed the incident on the park, which most of the Rover's fans wouldn't have done! it is understanable that the Cowden management team would have been upset - it was right in front of them.
How would the Rovers supporters feel if one of their players was crocked - the culprit stayed on the park and turned round and smiled at them - I'm sure they would have all applauded! Aye right.
CALDERON
Marvin is a massive guy, who goes into every challenge/header full pelt, at 110%, fully committed to win the challenge. Obviously, this is going to result in some clashes.

Whilst i do sympathise with some Cowden fans, i dont think there is any way that Marv means harm to the other players, its just a consequence of going into a challenge with a guy thats built like a tank.
Whistle Blower
Good job it was Marvin and not Mark Campbell that was involved, I've seen him headbutt pub walls laugh.gif
Aberdeen Cowden
OK he's big ,slow,can't jump but what was so funny?
So when has size been a licence for careless use of the head?
It's all fixed now anyway, Cowden players been given permission to wear crash helmets for the game at New year.
Mon the Rovers
I sympathise with the lad Howat, he's got a sore one there, but there's someone like that in every dressing room in the country at some point in the season. I doubt Marvin deliberatley done that to him, and if his reaction is as the Cowden fans claim, he should be dealt with by John McGlynn.

However, Brian Welsh has never been one to mince his words, so perhaps Marvin was laughing at the childish insults being thrown at him by a supposed middle aged man? He's meant to be a football manager for f**k sake!

Oh, and Chris Fahey= LEGEND!
BlooCoo
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Nov 6 2007, 10:26) *
Steven I think you are becoming a deluded wee hoor.

From the information given on here both teams have to ask serious questions about the conduct of their employees after the final whistle.

Thought I'd read it wrong.

Here to help wink.gif
raith_94

So what? He's a preacher, no a vicar.

QUOTE (Aberdeen Cowden @ Nov 6 2007, 12:49) *
OK he's big ,slow,can't jump but what was so funny?
So when has size been a licence for careless use of the head?
It's all fixed now anyway, Cowden players been given permission to wear crash helmets for the game at New year.

steady on mate. that's about all he can do.
Whistle Blower
Fucking Hell, how many folk were in the tunnel on saturday ?
raith_94
QUOTE (cowdencracker @ Nov 6 2007, 14:35) *
Time for a few facts from saturday . Marvin Andrews could of killed the boy with the force he hit him with . Instead of making sure Andy was okay he turned around and decided to have a good laugh with his team mates . On entering the changing rooms the players were naturally upset to see a team mate in such a bad way .Welshy then approached Andrews to ask him if he still found it funny that ayoung player was seriously hurt Marvin then decided to have a good laugh at that as well Welshy then had a very diffferent Marvin by the throat but as other players arrived it all blew over with Welshy having to be dragged back into the away changing room by his coaching staff.

When's the book out?
raith_94
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Nov 6 2007, 14:37) *

laugh.gif good call
bleubrazil
QUOTE (cowdencracker @ Nov 6 2007, 14:35) *
Time for a few facts from saturday . Marvin Andrews could of killed the boy with the force he hit him with . Instead of making sure Andy was okay he turned around and decided to have a good laugh with his team mates . On entering the changing rooms the players were naturally upset to see a team mate in such a bad way .Welshy then approached Andrews to ask him if he still found it funny that ayoung player was seriously hurt Marvin then decided to have a good laugh at that as well Welshy then had a very diffferent Marvin by the throat but as other players arrived it all blew over with Welshy having to be dragged back into the away changing room by his coaching staff.

I believe Marv has two black eyes! laugh.gif laugh.gif

bleubrazil
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Nov 6 2007, 14:37) *

One less than usual after the preacher did a runner wink.gif wink.gif

Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.