Full Version: Raith 2 Cowdung 0
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
vince sinclair
QUOTE (Blueminer @ Nov 3 2007, 17:46) *
Kind of glad I was at work stuck on the phone most of the day getting Scotland v Italy tickets for mates that were at the game! At least I was able to get 2, which was more than Cowden could achieve. Think you are both due me a pint if you read this wink.gif

Just got another 7 BM biggrin.gif

Never really looked like scoring, Raith were the better side, would have been interesting if Clarke had scored or at least went down when one on one with that tosser Fahey.

Somey
QUOTE (vince sinclair @ Nov 4 2007, 14:57) *
Just got another 7 BM biggrin.gif

Never really looked like scoring, Raith were the better side, would have been interesting if Clarke had scored or at least went down when one on one with that tosser Fahey.

was u at the game vince.

Hope Scotty G puts in a claim
Cowden Cowboy
QUOTE (centralparker @ Nov 4 2007, 13:41) *
No complaints about the result - the better team won. Cowden lifted themselves in the second half but the damage had already been done.

What annoyed me was the erses shouting for Welshy to resign. We are sitting mid-table in the second division, can Cowden really expect to be any higher up than that? I wasn't happy when Welsh was initially appointed but fair play to the big man, he's done a good job.

Completely agree some of them need to grow up. We don't want moaners and quitters like them. Welsh has done fine and we are doing OK - we need to battle to stay in the League and build a sound platform for the future. Not his fault he doesn't have the flair and ability of Buchanan, Paatelainen, and Gomis to call on now. With those guys we'd be at or near the top I feel but that aint the way of the football world for small clubs like Cowden.
lzreid
QUOTE (Cowden Cowboy @ Nov 4 2007, 14:50) *
Ah'll get ma big brither tae ye! I can just see Welshy carefully thinking it out - 'look it's Marvyn I can belt him and he can't hit back because he's a Christian who'll turn the other cheek' - do me a favour.

And he never started on Davidson for the only actually bad challenge of the game because? I suspect its because he knew Davo would hit him back. It is also true that Welsh is a greeting wee bairn who might need to consider growing up a bit.
cowdenbeath
QUOTE (lzreid @ Nov 4 2007, 16:24) *
It is also true that Welsh is a greeting wee bairn who might need to consider growing up a bit.

Sounds like some of the Raith fans on here rolleyes.gif
Raith_Raver
If Marv had no religious convictions to restrain him and he was assaulted by Welsh I think Welsh would be lying in QMH right now.
Qwerty
Raith were streets ahead, especially in the first half. Badcock will score a few this season with his pace and directness. Only Armstrong, Clarke, in patches Gilfillan and particularily Ramsay impressed me for Cowden. He could be real find and his inventivness might be the difference between us being mid table or being involved in a dog fight.
Cliche Guevara
If Welsh hit Marv he is a fucking clown. You didn't see the same reaction from Allan Moore after the challenge on Stevie Bell

Allan Moore starting a fight with Marvyn Andrews? I'm pretty sure that's something you'll never see.

As for Andrews and whether he intends to injure people or not: I'm surprised he hasn't ended somebody's career by now, as he's one of the most reckless players I've ever seen. I think he relies on other players getting out of his way. Any player daft enough not to could easily end up on the scrap heap. In my opinion referees let him away with murder.
R.R.FC
Well Marv looked like big Welshy sorted you out!

do u really think welsh could take marv??? huh.gif laugh.gif
Toddy
QUOTE (Qwerty @ Nov 4 2007, 16:27) *
Raith were streets ahead, especially in the first half. Badcock will score a few this season with his pace and directness. Only Armstrong, Clarke, in patches Gilfillan and particularily Ramsay impressed me for Cowden. He could be real find and his inventivness might be the difference between us being mid table or being involved in a dog fight.

Just wanted to pay respects to the Cowden fans who have been very gracious in defeat ( even if the big talking point just now is Marv and Welsh scrapping laugh.gif ).I`d still have Pat Clarke back in my team..... young, pacy,knows where the goals are and isn`t afraid to have a dig.
No 5 yesterday was Gilfillan but who was no 11?? The pair of them are stupid.....less than 5 mins to go and a decision goes against them, 1 gets a card for throwing the ball away and the other gets a card for mouthing off !! The game was over, should have just got on with it and shut up. With Cowdens injury list the last thing you need is for players to be suspended because of stupid bookings.

lzreid
QUOTE (R.R.FC @ Nov 4 2007, 17:10) *
do u really think welsh could take marv??? huh.gif laugh.gif

Off course he could, didn't you know despite not being smart enough to hire any strong players Welsh is really really tough and Marv would have been shiting himself if he wasn't surrounded by big boys who were his pals.
MonTheRovers!!
In actual fact he's a fat, pish manager who's getting the sack! tongue.gif
Raith Born and Bred
QUOTE (Toddy @ Nov 4 2007, 18:33) *
Just wanted to pay respects to the Cowden fans who have been very gracious in defeat ( even if the big talking point just now is Marv and Welsh scrapping laugh.gif ).I`d still have Pat Clarke back in my team..... young, pacy,knows where the goals are and isn`t afraid to have a dig.
No 5 yesterday was Gilfillan but who was no 11?? The pair of them are stupid.....less than 5 mins to go and a decision goes against them, 1 gets a card for throwing the ball away and the other gets a card for mouthing off !! The game was over, should have just got on with it and shut up. With Cowdens injury list the last thing you need is for players to be suspended because of stupid bookings.

The number 5 was mouthing off alot to Steven Hislop during the game I noticed. Remember when he took a shot to the back of the head? He got up and went down again and Hissy ran over to check on him and ushered for there Physio to come on (I thought it was a good gesture) then when he was back up on his feet Hissy checked he was ok and put out his hand which the guy snubbed and soon after they were exchanging words blink.gif

The number 11 looked a decent player.
Only coo in the village
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Nov 4 2007, 02:00) *
I hate Cowdungbeath. I dislike Raith, but i fookin hate Cowdungbeath.

Thanks for listening.

Is that cause we are a better team than you and avoid having paedophiles involved with our club laugh.gif ?.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Pacman83 @ Nov 4 2007, 19:34) *
Glad to hear Goodie scored and played well for you, hope his loan spell is successful and helps him develop as a player, should score goals in that division. Good luck to Rovers as well, hope you get promoted this season.

Cheers, mate.

Reckon there'll be any chance of us getting him till the end of the season?
CALDERON
Very pleased indeed.

Almost all of the previous week's shortfalls were adressed yesterday. The ball was played on the deck, the team attacked as a unit, our strikers looked like strikers and also, the passing game was encouraged right from the start, ie, Fahey has started rolling the ball out! biggrin.gif

The whole team played well, but special mention must go to Hislop and Goodwillie. Im so pleased to see Hislop finally get the goal he deserved so much, and Goodwillie looked a real threat and could prove to be a valuable player in games to come. Also encouraging was that both goals came from open play, and were scored by forwards.

Cowden werent bad as such, but were never really in the match. Any chances they did have stemmed from individual errors on our part, and i feel that we were well worth the 3 points in the end.

Bring on Queens Park.
CALDERON
QUOTE (Steven @ Nov 3 2007, 17:08) *
Oh and a message for Bleubrazil & Blue Brazil Forever....................

GIRFUY tongue.gif laugh.gif cool.gif

Hmmm

Real Mature.
Raith_Raver
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Nov 4 2007, 22:13) *
Very pleased indeed.

Almost all of the previous week's shortfalls were adressed yesterday. The ball was played on the deck, the team attacked as a unit, our strikers looked like strikers and also, the passing game was encouraged right from the start, ie, Fahey has started rolling the ball out! biggrin.gif ....

...Cowden werent bad as such, but were never really in the match. Any chances they did have stemmed from individual errors on our part, and i feel that we were well worth the 3 points in the end.

Bring on Queens Park.

Yes, McGlynn must have read that we've been saying we need to get some activity into the midfield and get into the match from the kick off. rolleyes.gif

After saying Fahey was poor at Alloa I thought he was good on Saturday and his distribution was a big improvement.

We'll need the same commitment and attitude against Queen's Park - they'll be out to put that 2-5 result straight, just as we we're fired up against Cowden for that earlier defeat.
Yoss
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Nov 4 2007, 22:13) *
Almost all of the previous week's shortfalls were adressed yesterday. The ball was played on the deck, the team attacked as a unit, our strikers looked like strikers and also, the passing game was encouraged right from the start, ie, Fahey has started rolling the ball out! biggrin.gif

The whole team played well, but special mention must go to Hislop and Goodwillie. Im so pleased to see Hislop finally get the goal he deserved so much, and Goodwillie looked a real threat and could prove to be a valuable player in games to come. Also encouraging was that both goals came from open play, and were scored by forwards.

All good points.
Steven
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Nov 4 2007, 22:20) *
Hmmm

Real Mature.

It's called Irony rolleyes.gif

Funny how they seemed to all think it was funny when they were giving the childish pish out, I notice Blue Brazil Forever hasn't even logged in since Friday night either.

I can't say I'm shocked, quick enough to dish it out but "not man" enough (in his words) to take it back.
socrates2
QUOTE (Cowden Cowboy @ Nov 4 2007, 16:18) *
Completely agree some of them need to grow up. We don't want moaners and quitters like them. Welsh has done fine and we are doing OK - we need to battle to stay in the League and build a sound platform for the future. Not his fault he doesn't have the flair and ability of Buchanan, Paatelainen, and Gomis to call on now. With those guys we'd be at or near the top I feel but that aint the way of the football world for small clubs like Cowden.
Don't understand the mentality of shouting abuse at your own team, pointless. Rovers deserved 3 points though 2nd half was more even. Going to be a struggle unless we can start scoring some goals!
St. Starko
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Nov 4 2007, 22:20) *
Hmmm

Real Mature.

lighten up wink.gif
Kierkegaard
QUOTE (Toddy @ Nov 4 2007, 18:33) *

Good point, Toddy. I wasn't at the game, but will be down for Saturday's game v Brechin. From what the Cowden fans were saying, Raith deserved to win and we can have no complaints. I think we have a good squad and we should stay up again, but we've been decimated by injuries, with some of our best players out. From what I've both seen and heard, we need more energy and pace in our midfield. We're playing decent football, but lacking the killer ball to the strikers.
Raith should be there or thereabouts at the end of the season. Still, I hope we give you a right good humping at Central Park. rolleyes.gif
NELLY
cowden deserved sweet FA from the game. Welshy i thought got his first 11 wrong. Dalziel shouldnt start games now he has been given his chance.

i still think welshy is doing a good job and he will improve our results.
steven = fud

Steven
QUOTE (NELLY @ Nov 5 2007, 08:30) *
steven = fud

Just fud? no Lino licker or tink comment huh.gif
NELLY
just fud.
Steven
QUOTE (NELLY @ Nov 5 2007, 11:23) *
just fud.

Ok I can cope with that but calling me a lino licker and/or tink might have pushed me over the edge! tongue.gif
NELLY
you are a tink and a lino licker then. go on fcuk off and jump over the cliff laugh.gif
Mon the Rovers
Easy win for us, most certainly.

Sloan's goal should NEVER have been chalked in a million years, a shocking decision, but apart from that the referee had a suprisingly good game. A bit picky at times, but better than the usual muck.

It's all been said already to be fair, easy win against the worst team at Starks this season.
Steven
QUOTE (NELLY @ Nov 5 2007, 12:12) *
you are a tink and a lino licker then. go on fcuk off and jump over the cliff laugh.gif

Only if you jump first wink.gif
Mon the Rovers
Incidentally, here is what happened at full time from a pal at work who knows Pat Clarke. Or something like that.

Welsh went running down the tunnel screaming at big Marv, Marvin turned round and asked what the problem was. Welsh planted a punch on his face, and Marvin laughed at him, told him to grow up and walked away.

Marvin went into the Rovers dressing room and told everyone what had happened. Borris and Davidson (shocker) charged out the dressing room towards Cowden's one only to find that an unnamed Cowden player had locked the door and was standing on the other side shouting insults about Marvin and his religion. Borris attempted to boot down the door but was eventually restrained. Davidson promised to break the keepers neck the next time he saw them, and more insults flew. John McGlynn eventually calmed things down

May or may not be true laugh.gif
renton
QUOTE (Mon the Rovers @ Nov 5 2007, 14:35) *
Incidentally, here is what happened at full time from a pal at work who knows Pat Clarke. Or something like that.

Welsh went running down the tunnel screaming at big Marv, Marvin turned round and asked what the problem was. Welsh planted a punch on his face, and Marvin laughed at him, told him to grow up and walked away.

Marvin went into the Rovers dressing room and told everyone what had happened. Borris and Davidson (shocker) charged out the dressing room towards Cowden's one only to find that an unnamed Cowden player had locked the door and was standing on the other side shouting insults about Marvin and his religion. Borris attempted to boot down the door but was eventually restrained. Davidson promised to break the keepers neck the next time he saw them, and more insults flew. John McGlynn eventually calmed things down

I love local derbies laugh.gif
Steven
QUOTE (Mon the Rovers @ Nov 5 2007, 13:35) *

Cowden lack class both on and off the field and it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest, I heard all about their pish before the 5-1 game at Central Park before the game last season.

Cowardly classless p***ks dry.gif
Whistle Blower
Good to get a derby (of sorts) victory at home.

There was a downside though as I had a wee bit of money on Cowden at 4/1

Monster
QUOTE (Steven @ Nov 5 2007, 13:40) *
Cowden lack class both on and off the field and it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest, I heard all about their pish before the 5-1 game at Central Park before the game last season.

Whereas you are the epitome of breeding and manners, as displayed throughout these six pages.
Michael W
A good win for us with the local bragging rights reclaimed. I thought we looked a lot more potent going forward. Goodwillie and Hislop looked like a forward pairing and both deserved their goals.

I think Dingwall had a good game, he done really well considering it was only his second start. I think he looks more defensively sound than Pelosi, although Pelosi is better going forward.

I was dissapointed with the referee today, he seemed awfully card-happy, a few bookings given for nothing.

Quite disapointed with Davidson's conduct towards the Cowden keeper, No doubt that had a bearing on the alleged "incident" later. I'm glad the keeper didn't rise to it though. That aside, I thought Davidson had a good game.

Well done to the team and hopefully we can gain another 3 points next week.
Michael W

Potential grudge match on show at New Year then laugh.gif .
Blueminer
QUOTE (Steven @ Nov 5 2007, 13:40) *

It's hard for us diddy teams to compete with a big team like the Rovers on the park and we've no chance of competing with the Rovers fans the class of you rolleyes.gif
Michael W
QUOTE (Blueminer @ Nov 5 2007, 14:27) *
It's hard for us diddy teams to compete with a big team like the Rovers on the park and we've no chance of competing with the Rovers fans the class of you rolleyes.gif

Given the amount of pish aimed at Steven after the 1-0 game earlier this year, I'm not really surprised he has acted in this way. He just wants his own back.

That said, I think it would be better if people stopped responding to the wind-ups. I'll admit I was guilty in the past, but I will be ignoring them from now on smile.gif .
lzreid
I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for enjoying the stick given to Cowden fans. It was immature, unpleasant and below us as humans. Like when I laughed at a girl falling off a scooter a few months ago. Still funny though.
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (Monster @ Nov 5 2007, 14:08) *
Whereas you are the epitome of breeding and manners, as displayed throughout these six pages.

laugh.gif laugh.gif

How's the Choo Choo ?
Steven
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Nov 5 2007, 14:41) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif

How's the Choo Choo ?

I found a picture of it here...............

laugh.gif laugh.gif
rw89

Monster
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Nov 5 2007, 14:41) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif

How's the Choo Choo ?

Brian Reid is still unbeaten as manager of the juggernaut. cool.gif

I have started my own cult. It's only one letter of a difference from what most folk shout at me in the street anyway.
bleubrazil

Now for the REAL truth.

Pastor Andrews butted Gilfillan hence his collapse and then head butted Howat as well. (Howat was taken to hospital for a brain scan.)

The good Christian thought the Howat incident was very funny and this incensed the Cowden fans as well as the Cowden dug-out.

Happily Welshy gave him his tatties in the tunnel and the preacher man ran and told his mates. The rest was handbags at dawn with the usual suspects on both sides doing plenty o pointless posturing but no action. One brave Raith warrior waited until a door was safely locked then ran up and kicked it

Both teams later enjoyed tea and scones (In the pastor's case Tattie scones)

Michael W
QUOTE (bleubrazil @ Nov 5 2007, 15:29) *
Now for the REAL truth.

Pastor Andrews butted Gilfillan hence his collapse and then head butted Howat as well. (Howat was taken to hospital for a brain scan.)

The good Christian thought the Howat incident was very funny and this incensed the Cowden fans as well as the Cowden dug-out.

Happily Welshy gave him his tatties in the tunnel and the preacher man ran and told his mates. The rest was handbags at dawn with the usual suspects on both sides doing plenty o pointless posturing but no action. One brave Raith warrior waited until a door was safely locked then ran up and kicked it

Both teams later enjoyed tea and scones (In the pastor's case Tattie scones)

I don't really think we'll know what the truth is unless someone comes out and says something. It's best kept quiet though.
Blueminer
QUOTE (MW RRFC @ Nov 5 2007, 14:30) *
Given the amount of pish aimed at Steven after the 1-0 game earlier this year, I'm not really surprised he has acted in this way. He just wants his own back.

That said, I think it would be better if people stopped responding to the wind-ups. I'll admit I was guilty in the past, but I will be ignoring them from now on smile.gif .

I'm not bothered if fans on both sides have a good gloat after a derby win, that's part of the fun of P & B. Some of the stuff is juvenile though from both camps and I'm sure the response from Steven will be responded to by some of our worst offenders when we win the New Year derby.
Aberdeen Cowden
Rovers deserved the victory - no argument. However, Andrews is very clever - how many head clashes is he involved in, in a game? What he did to Howat was terrible - most of the Rovers fans wouldn't have seen it as it was at the Cowdenbeath end.
And as for Davidson - the guy is a disgrace. A real shame as he is a good player.
If the Rovers management don't sort him out, he is going to be watching a lot of games from the sidelines.
NELLY
got to admit that even quite a lot of cowden fans missed the andrews incident - it was a very bad and dangerous tackle by andrews and one im sure that he could have gotten out the way of.
davidson is a fanny and i think big davie hay would knock ten piles of rovers shite out of him.

of course raith deserved to win and of course they should almost every derby game. Id love to have seen the wages of the raith players compared with cowdens. still reckon raith wont get out this league wont that be a shame for the MIGHTY ROVERS. ph34r.gif
Double Jack D
QUOTE (Aberdeen Cowden @ Nov 5 2007, 16:57) *
And as for Davidson - the guy is a disgrace. A real shame as he is a good player.

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Maybe by Cowdung standards!

I don't remember Marv Headbutting anyone on Saturday, or even a player going off with a headknock.
There was a clash of heads between Walker and a Cowdenbeath lad but nothing major!

FWIW I thought Davos behaviour on the park was disgraceful with whatever gesture he was making to the goalie.

If true (a big if) Brian Welsh should be in major trouble with the authorities for what he done. A manager attacking a rival player is about as low as it goes. Borris and Davo should be punished for their role and if Marv was being taunted about his religion then Cowdung should be hit with a heavy fine for the Bigoted behaviour of their players.

Wonder if the ref will be putting anything in his report!

New Year game should be fun now though!
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.