Full Version: Airdrie 4-0 Berwick
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Allstars #9
Finally a plan comes together. Four good goals and rarely a threat from Max Branning. Berwick's 4-5-1 was borke down time and again and in all honesty it could have been 7 or 8. if we back this up with another win next week our season might well just be up and running. I knew we had that in us and it was just a matter of time before it showed, not a lot for Berwick and there new manager to shout about butb they were well beaten.
Gartleahill
That Berwick team is as poor a side as I have seen all season so I won't be getting carried away with this result. We got away with some really sloppy passing etc because of the standard of the opposition.
stockcar willie
QUOTE(Gartleahill @ Oct 27 2007, 18:17) *
That Berwick team is as poor a side as I have seen all season so I won't be getting carried away with this result. We got away with some really sloppy passing etc because of the standard of the opposition.

it's not looking good down engerland way laugh.gif
++Ammo - Airdrie++
well that'll save the managers job for another week but in all truths he woulda had to walked if it was anythin but 3 points today. As was previously posted, not getting to carried away as next 2 games will really show if things are bucking up!! What does Kevin McDonald have to do to be dropped....4 or 5 times the ball was actually taken right off his foot and he gifted possession away time and again. Didn't think we missed holmes at all as the middlefield actually BATTLED when we didn't have possession, thought mark smyth had a cracker down the right linking up a few times with darren smith well. all the goals were taken well and I dont think there can be too much complaint about the penalty either...more of the same please at hampden next week.....
AIRDRIES ON THERE WAY TO HAMPDEN......
HibeeJibee
If our chairman thinks that signing 2 or 3 players in January is going to help, he is as the Cockney w*nker who sits beside me at Easter Road frequently screams at the referee, "having a giraffe mate". He also shouts "your silly people, no-one likes you, go home" to the opposition fans but that's by-the-by......We will be marooned in January, we have to get people in now (from non-league or temporary loan, due to transfer window) or we have to start getting results with the players we already have. Ourselves and Brechin are already getting separated from the pack of teams in 4th-8th (we are now 8 points behind guaranteed safety, which is 3 points more than we've managed to accrue from almost 1/3 of the seasons matches) and it's looking more and more like a straight shoot-out between ourselves and Brechin to finish 9th and take our chances in the convoluted play-off system. Paying off the debt (which the board ran up in the first place!) and improving the ground (which we don't even own!) means nothing if we get relegated I think.
BerwickMad
That was as bad as I have ever seen us play. We arnt even half the team we were in August, never mind last season. Gary O' was on top form and without him it could have hit 7 or 8. It will take a good 3 or 4 weeks before Renwick has any chance of turning around this team he has left. Suppose Horn going off early knocked us to f**k at the back but it was general defending rather than single performances which was shocking.

Well done to Cough for getting us promoted, but my god, what the f**k has he left us with?!
HibeeJibee
Well, I'm sure the chairman will be telling us all to look at the positives - at least we will have some new seats in the Main Stand, some new Fire Exit signs, and a resurfaced tractor entrance to admire when we're back in the Third Division next season. Can you hear the Elgin sing, no-no, can you......
BerwickMad
QUOTE(HibeeJibee @ Oct 27 2007, 19:10) *
Well, I'm sure the chairman will be telling us all to look at the positives - at least we will have some new seats in the Main Stand, some new Fire Exit signs, and a resurfaced tractor entrance to admire when we're back in the Third Division next season. Can you hear the Elgin sing, no-no, can you......

I dont see where the chairman comes into this tbh.
HibeeJibee
"When I took over as Chairman nearly 5 years ago the liabilities of this club where in excess of £150,000 and I am very proud of our current financial situation. There has been a reduction in our playing staff budget but the club could not sustain the wages that were being paid 2 to 3 years ago. As I mentioned earlier it is very important that we keep our second division status this year as it will be a massive to boost to start next season with no debt which would allow us to invest more money in the playing squad and help with ongoing maintenance of Shielfield Park."
Robert Wilson, Chairman
Frankly, I don't give a flying f*ck whether the shareholders get their loans and capital outlays back this season or next season, and I don't give a flying f*ck whether we fit new seats and signs at Shielfield. To somehow argue for diverting cash into these areas rather than players is mince. It will quite possibly be too late in January, and getting relegated will make the finances WORSE.
OZMO
ho ho ho ho I even predicted the correct score at precisely 13.28 today! biggrin.gif
fitbin
Ach well, always next season, eh?

Credit to Airdrie today, certainly a better side than when we played each other a couple of months ago, just wish I woulc say the same about us...

Don't get me wrong, don't intend to slag certain people off here (I think the only person I've singled out for criticism this season has been McMullan, though some people are thin skinned when it comes to criticism).

Ok. The positives. Gary had another decent game, without him the score could have been twice that. Erm, other positives? unsure.gif

In the bad news column, Robbie Horn looked to have shoulder problems, hope he's ok. We hit the crossbar twice, but don't think their keeper had anything to do (the Albion Rovers goalie along the road probably had a busier afternoon against Burntisland).

Dunno. We had some experienced players missing (Woodsy with his hamstring etc), but looked pretty over run in the middle (despite having eleventyone midfielders a couple of months ago). Maybe the positive to take from today's match was that at least Renwick saw how we're truly been recently, so he should be clear about what is to be done if we're to overtake a couple of teams. But that's a big "if" at the moment sad.gif
fitbin
QUOTE(OZMO @ Oct 27 2007, 20:14) *
ho ho ho ho I even predicted the correct score at precisely 13.28 today! biggrin.gif

Congratulations.

I predicted that Montrose should be good enough to beat a non league side at home in the Scottish Cup. Shows what I know, eh? unsure.gif
OZMO
QUOTE(djn @ Oct 27 2007, 20:21) *
Congratulations.

I predicted that Montrose should be good enough to beat a non league side at home in the Scottish Cup. Shows what I know, eh? unsure.gif

you sure is right.! tongue.gif
fitbin
QUOTE(OZMO @ Oct 27 2007, 20:33) *
you sure is right.! tongue.gif

To be fair, Pollock are certainly a bit better than Burntisland Shipyard, but you know what I mean...
OZMO
QUOTE(djn @ Oct 27 2007, 20:35) *
To be fair, Pollock are certainly a bit better than Burntisland Shipyard, but you know what I mean...

I had this argument at work over the spelling of the P team is it Pollock or Pollok. I say Pollok cos the other one is a fish. also where exactly in Weegieland is Pollo©k? £5 on the second question.
nick cash
Pollock is on the southside. note the spelling
OZMO
QUOTE(nick cash @ Oct 27 2007, 20:44) *
Pollock is on the southside. note the spelling

wheres it near to?
Rocco
Make no bones about it, 3 players won't make a single bit of difference by the time the window opens because by then the relegation coffin will be well and truly nailed shut by then. Door shut, horse bolted seems to be a saying that springs to mind.
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE(OZMO @ Oct 27 2007, 20:46) *
wheres it near to?

Don't know but i used to know a classy bird fron Pollock rolleyes.gif

On the footballing side i don't usually say this but, i was glad to be at work for the last 2 saturdays. sad.gif
HibeeJibee
It's Pollok. No 'c'.
OZMO
QUOTE(HibeeJibee @ Oct 27 2007, 21:07) *
It's Pollok. No 'c'.

cheers a fiver in the bag.
mn07
I notice we were out in our numbers today . 850 at the game is plain embarrassing
Monster
QUOTE(mn07 @ Oct 27 2007, 21:22) *
I notice we were out in our numbers today . 850 at the game is plain embarrassing

Ach, don't let it bother you, it was only 150 less than at an EssPeeEll game. wink.gif
OZMO
QUOTE(Monster @ Oct 27 2007, 21:27) *
Ach, don't let it bother you, it was only 150 less than at an EssPeeEll game. wink.gif

danger... potential crowdw@nk post. SimonLichtie will sue you know.! tongue.gif
fitbin
QUOTE(OZMO @ Oct 27 2007, 21:28) *
danger... potential crowdw@nk post. SimonLichtie will sue you know.! tongue.gif

biggrin.gif

Sadly the away support wasn't great, but once the good times return and we win a second game this season then who knows? unsure.gif sad.gif
HibeeJibee
Technically speaking, we've won 4 games actually. 1 league, 1 Challenge Cup, 1 League Cup, 1 City Cup.
OZMO
QUOTE(HibeeJibee @ Oct 27 2007, 21:34) *
Technically speaking, we've won 4 games actually. 1 league, 1 Challenge Cup, 1 League Cup, 1 City Cup.

Never let technical details get in the way of a post. ph34r.gif
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE(HibeeJibee @ Oct 27 2007, 21:34) *

QUOTE(OZMO @ Oct 27 2007, 21:38) *
Never let technical details get in the way of a post. ph34r.gif

Technically speaking we're quite shit (at the moment!) sad.gif
mid-table
I am sad.

My team is shit.
Their away support is shit.

I have virtually stopped going to the games therefore I am helping to cause both of the above.

It makes me feel bad (although I would like to blame Network Rail and their constant engineering works in part).
thediamonddude
Much better from us today, doesn't matter about the level of opposition to be honest because most weeks in this league you hardly see a dominating side that looks like running away with the league yet we have still struggled against many of these teams. On top of the that the very 'poor' Alloa side we thrashed earlier in the season are above us currently so we can't afford to put down good results as a bit of luck as some of our more pessimistic fans do. A big victory can genuinely mean you've stopped a side playing ya kno!

Largely solid performances all round with the possible exception of McDonald (who was caught in possession/gave the ball away numerous times in the first half) and McKenna who made a number of sloppy passes. In fairness though, both improved in the 2nd half and looked like they had a kick up the backside.

On the crowd issue, its simple, with our prices if the results aren't good and performances are poor of course the attendance will drop below the 1000 mark. However, a few more games like today with some wins will see a number of the folk who just give it a miss coming back. Its swings and roundabouts, at least we do still have that hardcore base of 700/800 who seem to make every home game.

In any case, I've been saying since last weeks heart-breaker at Kircaldy that we needed 9 points from 9 in our next 3 games and we're off to the right start. Let's keep it rolling onto next week now, obviously other results also helped, but we're hopefully back on track!

Bit miffed as to why both Homer and Dougall were dropped today, Holmes played well at Raith last week and I reckon both he and McDougall could have really added to that performance today.

Anyways, bring on tyhe trip to Hampden! smile.gif
BerwickMad
QUOTE(HibeeJibee @ Oct 27 2007, 19:45) *
Frankly, I don't give a flying f*ck whether the shareholders get their loans and capital outlays back this season or next season, and I don't give a flying f*ck whether we fit new seats and signs at Shielfield. To somehow argue for diverting cash into these areas rather than players is mince. It will quite possibly be too late in January, and getting relegated will make the finances WORSE.

Well, quite frankly, I couldn't give a flying f**k what you, the Hibs/Raith/Berwick fan thinks whilst sitting in his cosy seat in Easter Road whilst me and 20 others sit in Airdrie watching Berwick get beat 4-0! Who the f**k are you to judge?

No cash has been diverted from the playing squad towards these areas. If anything, more money has been spent on wages this year than in previous years. We have went from signing players from the Juniors and EOS, to signing players from the SPL and the SFL, on bigger wages no doubt. Cough made the signings, and the blame on the poor quality of the players brought in has to fall at his door.

And for your information, the new seats arnt funded by the club, the are funded by the supporters club, so none of the money for the new seats is being diverted from anything!!! The money from the Danny Swanson sale was made AFTER the transfer deadline. The compo from Cough joining Stenny will obviously get to us AFTER the transfer deadline. We can't spend money we don't have before then!!!
Monster
QUOTE(BerwickMad @ Oct 28 2007, 02:19) *
Well, quite frankly, I couldn't give a flying f**k what you, the Hibs/Raith/Berwick fan thinks whilst sitting in his cosy seat in Easter Road whilst me and 20 others sit in Airdrie watching Berwick get beat 4-0! Who the f**k are you to judge?

Excellently put.

thumbup2.gif

Nobby
QUOTE(thediamonddude @ Oct 28 2007, 00:43) *
at least we do still have that hardcore base of 700/800 who seem to make every home game.

right enough not too many years ago we'd have called that the hardcore 1000 that went to every home game...
berwick-the-unbeatable
QUOTE(BerwickMad @ Oct 28 2007, 02:19) *

No cash has been diverted from the playing squad towards these areas. If anything, more money has been spent on wages this year than in previous years. We have went from signing players from the Juniors and EOS, to signing players from the SPL and the SFL, on bigger wages no doubt. Cough made the signings, and the blame on the poor quality of the players brought in has to fall at his door.

And for your information, the new seats arnt funded by the club, the are funded by the supporters club, so none of the money for the new seats is being diverted from anything!!! The money from the Danny Swanson sale was made AFTER the transfer deadline. The compo from Cough joining Stenny will obviously get to us AFTER the transfer deadline. We can't spend money we don't have before then!!!

I agree with every word of that.
skully
QUOTE(berwick-the-unbeatable @ Oct 28 2007, 10:39) *
I agree with every word of that.

what he said
hazel1884
Sorry for hijacking the thread but noticed McDougall hasn't featured much season for Airdrie? Is he injured or just out of favour? Looked promising last season when he played!

thediamonddude
QUOTE(hazel1884 @ Oct 28 2007, 10:08) *
Sorry for hijacking the thread but noticed McDougall hasn't featured much season for Airdrie? Is he injured or just out of favour? Looked promising last season when he played!

Black hasn't been impressed by him I don't think, if he's been involved this season at all, its usually only been for around 20 mins maximum as a substitute.

Don't get me wrong, some of his performances at the end of last season/beginning of this season when he got the odd start/sub appearance were terrible but I think the guy was just lacking confidence due to our terrible dip in form over the year. I reckon he deserves another wee run as he has looked a bit more dangerous in his last few sub appearances, however he and Holmes were completely dropped yesterday. Not sure if it was injury though.

Hope that clears that up for you...you lot still can't have him tho! tongue.gif
shaft
We are a 3rd Div club and dont have the funds to spend so why should we spend to get into debt when at the end of the day if we were top we would still only have 450 at a home game,
Pollok is in Shawlands.
HibeeJibee
Think I may have touched a raw nerve......so apologises for having upset anyone, and I do accept that I hardly ever travel away with Berwick, and only manage about 50% (maybe less) of home games. So I salute those of you who do and agree that I'm not in a position to claim to know how the team are playing week in, week out. BUT quite clearly the answer is: poorly!!

On the seats thing - why are the Supporters Club having to pay for new seats? Are you telling me that we wouldn't be getting new seats, if it wasn't for the Supporters Club? If that is the case then I'd be tempted to ask what the hell our chairman is talking about investing in the ground, if it won't even stretch to replacing the pidgeon sh*t-stained, broken Main Stand seats.

My original point was essentially that, in his address to the BRFC supporters in the wake of Renwick being appointed, the chairman used almost two-thirds of it to try to justify putting all the money we have earned from player transfers (transfer to lower-league or non-league clubs of players who we should have kept IMO) into the ground and the debt. Worthwhile causes I'm sure, but I'm not really getting (1) what these groundworks are, if we have to get the fans to buy their own seats; and (2) signing players in January when it is too late is not much use either. We can only get non-league players or loans in the next 2 months, I think we should be using cash for that - and trying to stay in Div 2, instead of half accepting relegation.

I'm sure Mr Wilson has the clubs interest at heart, but his statement disappointed me greatly.
Shielfielder
QUOTE(HibeeJibee @ Oct 28 2007, 14:43) *
Think I may have touched a raw nerve......so apologises for having upset anyone, and I do accept that I hardly ever travel away with Berwick, and only manage about 50% (maybe less) of home games. So I salute those of you who do and agree that I'm not in a position to claim to know how the team are playing week in, week out. BUT quite clearly the answer is: poorly!!

On the seats thing - why are the Supporters Club having to pay for new seats? Are you telling me that we wouldn't be getting new seats, if it wasn't for the Supporters Club? If that is the case then I'd be tempted to ask what the hell our chairman is talking about investing in the ground, if it won't even stretch to replacing the pidgeon sh*t-stained, broken Main Stand seats.

My original point was essentially that, in his address to the BRFC supporters in the wake of Renwick being appointed, the chairman used almost two-thirds of it to try to justify putting all the money we have earned from player transfers (transfer to lower-league or non-league clubs of players who we should have kept IMO) into the ground and the debt. Worthwhile causes I'm sure, but I'm not really getting (1) what these groundworks are, if we have to get the fans to buy their own seats; and (2) signing players in January when it is too late is not much use either. We can only get non-league players or loans in the next 2 months, I think we should be using cash for that - and trying to stay in Div 2, instead of half accepting relegation.

I'm sure Mr Wilson has the clubs interest at heart, but his statement disappointed me greatly.

You are starting to show your outright ignorance concerning Berwick Rangers Football Club. rolleyes.gif
The Supporters’ Club are the lease holders of Shielfield Park and not the Football Club, and as such are replacing the broken seating as part of the up keep of the ground.

The money that the Supporters’ Club has is not an endless pit and any monies that the Club put into the pot for ground refurbishment is welcome. The Club has had no money to invest or help in the up keep of the stadium until the money raised by the transfers. Where the hell is the money supposed to come from apart from the directors pockets? Not through the turnstiles anyway – too busy watching Hibs! The ground has to be up to a certain standard to get a safety certificate; if there was no ground there would be no football club Division Three or not!

The Club is quite correct in using the money from players to clear the debt. We don’t want to go back to the days of boom and bust. Clear the overdraft and start a fresh as the chairman quite rightly states. We can’t live above our means. If we don’t stay in Division Two then so be it – it’s not the end of the world – we will always be a yo-yo club. Throwing money away in an attempt to live above or level and still only get 450 spectators through the gate because most of the so called supporters are at Easter Road watching Hibs is not a viable option.

As for signing non-league players or loans that are better than what we’ve already got – have you ever thought about becoming the bloody manager? When Danny Swanson was signed by Dundee United, the club was offered loan signings as part of the deal. John Coughlin travelled to watch a reserve match but didn’t see any players that would do much better than what we already had (with a boot up the arse in my opinion).

Now do us all a favour – piss off back to Easter Road and stop pretending to be a fan of Berwick Rangers and your endless drive about us and the East of Scotland League. mad.gif

shaft
QUOTE(Shielfielder @ Oct 28 2007, 15:24) *
You are starting to show your outright ignorance concerning Berwick Rangers Football Club. rolleyes.gif
The Supporters' Club are the lease holders of Shielfield Park and not the Football Club, and as such are replacing the broken seating as part of the up keep of the ground.

The money that the Supporters' Club has is not an endless pit and any monies that the Club put into the pot for ground refurbishment is welcome. The Club has had no money to invest or help in the up keep of the stadium until the money raised by the transfers. Where the hell is the money supposed to come from apart from the directors pockets? Not through the turnstiles anyway – too busy watching Hibs! The ground has to be up to a certain standard to get a safety certificate; if there was no ground there would be no football club Division Three or not!

The Club is quite correct in using the money from players to clear the debt. We don't want to go back to the days of boom and bust. Clear the overdraft and start a fresh as the chairman quite rightly states. We can't live above our means. If we don't stay in Division Two then so be it – it's not the end of the world – we will always be a yo-yo club. Throwing money away in an attempt to live above or level and still only get 450 spectators through the gate because most of the so called supporters are at Easter Road watching Hibs is not a viable option.

As for signing non-league players or loans that are better than what we've already got – have you ever thought about becoming the bloody manager? When Danny Swanson was signed by Dundee United, the club was offered loan signings as part of the deal. John Coughlin travelled to watch a reserve match but didn't see any players that would do much better than what we already had (with a boot up the arse in my opinion).

Now do us all a favour – piss off back to Easter Road and stop pretending to be a fan of Berwick Rangers and your endless drive about us and the East of Scotland League. mad.gif

here here.....f**k off back to easter road and watch mid table pish with the odd win against the old firm being the highlight of the season.
Pesadilla
Good performace by Airdrie and as has been said the away 'keeper kept the score reasonably respectable.
Thought Noble showed great strength and ability up front and the back line were rarely tested. Prunty looked a bit sharper when he came on and hopefully we're now headed in the right direction in terms of tactics and a settled team.
Only downside for me was another poor show from Kevin MacDonald in the midfield. Lost the ball several times one of which nearly cost us early on. Always available for a pass but really does need to buck up in terms of concentration and fight or he could quite easily follow the route of many before him down the leagues into junior football.
For Berwick, I'd say the only two who really could get pass marks were the 'keeper, some great saves, and the wee ginge up front who looked pacy and full of effort. Apart from that, your new manager has a hell of a job on his hands.
fitbin
QUOTE(HibeeJibee @ Oct 28 2007, 13:43) *
We can only get non-league players or loans in the next 2 months

Given Mr Renwick's involvement at Hibs for so long, and at Cowden (who have regularly had a decent supply of Hearts/ Hibs players on loan, especially in the Levein days), I'd hope that we could tap into this source too as a potential resource. Don't forget, our best player yesterday Garry O' was a youth at Hearts, but loaned out to Berwick before making the move permanant.

Haw Vlad, gonnae gee us some spare Lithuanians, we'll gee them back in wan piece likes?

Especailly with Hibs moving their training to East Lothian and the improvements to the A1, I think we're not too far for folks like that to travel. Remember, it's quicker to get from Edinburgh to Berwick by train than it is from Edinburgh to Cowdenbeath wink.gif
berwick-the-unbeatable
Haw Vlad, gonnae gee us some spare Lithuanians, we'll gee them back in wan piece likes?

fitbin
QUOTE(Pesadilla @ Oct 28 2007, 16:19) *
the wee ginge up front who looked pacy and full of effort.

Scott Gemmill, from St Mirren.

Least season we won the league without having the greatest individual players, but this season there's precious few who would get a game at another Second Division side. Gemmill and Garry O'Conner (the keeper you mentioned) are maybe the only two.
berwick-the-unbeatable
Swanson wink.gif
Wood?

Thats all though laugh.gif
fitbin
QUOTE(berwick-the-unbeatable @ Oct 28 2007, 16:27) *
Swanson wink.gif
Wood?

Thats all though laugh.gif

Sorry, was discounting Danny, as he's not going to be around much longer. But yeah, him.

As for Woodsy, a few years ago, definately, but I'm not sure whether he'd get a game week in week out elsewhere in the Second. Just my opinion likes...
berwick-the-unbeatable
Fair enough.

Canny belive we forgot but.... McMuffin? laugh.gif
HibeeJibee
How exactly did I show my ignorance? The chairman says that transfer money will be used for the ground, I say I think the club should pay for the seats, you say I'm ignorant because the Supporters Club have the lease? Missed something their, so the Supporters Club have to pay for the groundworks? Then why is the chairman saying the clubs transfer money will go on the ground? As you say, Supporters Club don't have a bottomless pit of money - which is exactly why I'm appalled a basic essential like seats is coming out of their pockets. (Are the Speedway board/trust paying for some? Or are they football-only seats? Or is Speedway rent going up?).

Anyway, onto the main topic of slagging me off - I think you guys need to get some kind of perspective. BRFC struggle to attract much more than 300 home fans per game, out of a population area of what must be hundreds of thousands (100,000+ in the Borders and similar number around North Northumberland). I, on a low income, travel at every opportunity from Edinburgh on public transport to attend home matches, and even reserve matches. I entirely reject any claims that somehow I don't count as a fan, so try going and berating the XYZ thousand folk who live in Berwick & turn up once a season if you want to slag someone.
fitbin
QUOTE(berwick-the-unbeatable @ Oct 28 2007, 16:37) *
Canny belive we forgot but.... McMuffin? laugh.gif

biggrin.gif

Aye, good old "Egg"

tongue.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.