Full Version: Morton At Ndp
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
F.T.W
how many fans will u be bringing to new douglas? i was thinking possibly 500-700 ?

vikingTON
There's a lot of defeatists who might not go - happened for the dunfermline game. wink.gif
I dunno, its quite close: 500-700 may be correct, although I'd err on the 500 side of it.
Accies1
Should be a really good game but no offence to Morton but if we play like we did on Saturday then we will wipe the floor with you but I'm sure you won't be as poor as Dunfermline. I'm going to go for the same result as we had at Cappielow

2-0 Accies
zutons
QUOTE(Accies1 @ Oct 22 2007, 19:38) *
Should be a really good game but no offence to Morton but if we play like we did on Saturday then we will wipe the floor with you but I'm sure you won't be as poor as Dunfermline. I'm going to go for the same result as we had at Cappielow

2-0 Accies

Does that include a pen?
stuart.
I have a funny feeling we will be pretty good on that pitch they have there, not sure why, I just do.
zutons
Is this the pitch that's an advantage to the home team?
stuart.
So it has been claimed.
AyrshireTon
Just don't beat us 6-1 this time. ph34r.gif
GreenOak_Ton
We've some decent ball players in McAllister,Stevenson,Millar and Gardyne.The pitch might just suit their style of play.We'll see come saturday.All the pressure on the Accies now for every game, so i'll be brave and predict a very tight match that could go either way.
The Naitch
Looking forward to this game. Will be my first away game of the season, for various reasons.

Hamilton are the best team I've seen so far, so hoping for a keen contest, if nothing else.

As AT said, just don't pump us 6-1 again! ph34r.gif tongue.gif
Jydo
QUOTE(GreenOak_Ton @ Oct 22 2007, 20:50) *
All the pressure on the Accies now for every game, so i'll be brave and predict a very tight match that could go either way.

I dont think there is alot of pressure on us to be honest, we have played like and been a confident and care-free team for most part of the opening quarter, what have we got to lose? Everyone is waiting for "the bubble to burst" If we got something up at Perth then some of the "we are undefeated" pressure might have still been on us. Outwith our own support not many folk on here have given us any chance of promotion, not even after thrashing the mighty pars (the team who apparently gave Dundee their biggest test so far this season.)

All credit to Accies, they are the team to beat........bring on the ton!!!!!
hoody
morton to win this game by 2 goals wink.gif cool.gif
Marc
3-2 to Morton
Jydo
3-0 to Acads and if we water one particular corner of the turf at HT we might get a fourth.
Owsley
Acads!!! Grrrrrrrrrr.
Dunning1874
Hoping we can fluke a result here, as we did that 2nd Division season when we were outplayed at NDP for 90 minutes and won 2 - 1 with a late winner.
No doubt that Hamilton are a better team, so we'll need to have a great tactical set up to take something from this one.
hoody
also hoping none of our supporters cars get its window put in again by the local neds mad.gif
Grant228
2-1 morton
IainMorton
I'll be glad if we get a point from this game TBH. ph34r.gif
AyrshireTon
QUOTE(hoody @ Oct 22 2007, 22:52) *
also hoping none of our supporters cars get its window put in again by the local neds mad.gif

Funny, we had a bus stoned by local neds after the 3-2 defeat at ODP (our last ever game there). dry.gif
academical
No cocky predictions of our margin of victory, but Accies should win this one. Any other result would be quite a surprise.
Trevor
QUOTE(AyrshireTon @ Oct 23 2007, 06:32) *
Funny, we had a bus stoned by local neds after the 3-2 defeat at ODP (our last ever game there). dry.gif

I've heard of a few stories like this in recent seasons, last term the Livingston supporters bus also got stoned by some idiots.

You will find that 99.9% of the Accies fans are more than welcoming and hospitable, also if it's any consolation there is a bigger police presence at our games now than there was in the Second Division, especially in light of trouble in recent weeks.
Jie Bie
QUOTE(hoody @ Oct 22 2007, 22:52) *

Thats a fukking joke. Did it happen during the game? I ask as i normally park in the council car park where a lot of away fans park. I've often thought that its pretty obvious every car in that car park is left unattended from 3pm until 5pm. Makes the cars an easy target for theives/vandals.
RosscoTon
Obviously not real Accies fans. The Accies fans who came to Cappielow were fantastic, before and after the game. Pity we were shite that day. laugh.gif
centralTon
QUOTE(GreenOak_Ton @ Oct 22 2007, 20:50) *
We've some decent ball players in McAllister,Stevenson,Millar and Gardyne.The pitch might just suit their style of play.We'll see come saturday.All the pressure on the Accies now for every game, so i'll be brave and predict a very tight match that could go either way.

Is this surface similar to the one at Stenny? We played ok pre season there, so if it's the same, it may well be suited to the more skillful players.
josecomehome
we'll go one better this week.
6nil

nah -only kidding. 1nil.
BluebirdTon
Undoubtedly our toughest test so far this season.I can't see Hamilton hitting 5 against us but they certainly won't be leaving the field after 90 minutes without one.

I'm going for an optimistic 1-1 draw.Negative tactics may actually be in favour for this one.unsure.gif
SaltyTON
Tempted to go up early to the bar under the stand, see if I can find a fan with more than 7 teeth.

I was unsuccessful in this quest before the Accies/Stenhousemuir game a couple of years ago.
DomDom
I'll take a 1-1 draw from this game. There it is. My prediction.

Of course if anyone wins, it's obvious who it's going to be.

Morton.
Tubbs
Teams still under estimate us and play a normal game, despite our position and results there is still a 'its only Accies' attitude. For instance if Morton were playing Dunfermline who were sitting where we are in the league and having won 5 nil away the week previous i am sure The Ton fans would be more wary.

Teams will need to decide if they can approach the game as normal or try and play a defensive game.

vikingTON
QUOTE(Tubbs @ Oct 23 2007, 22:04) *
Teams still under estimate us and play a normal game, despite our position and results there is still a 'its only Accies' attitude. For instance if Morton were playing Dunfermline who were sitting where we are in the league and having won 5 nil away the week previous i am sure The Ton fans would be more wary.

Teams will need to decide if they can approach the game as normal or try and play a defensive game.

The team won't underestimate you - they'll set up defensively on Saturday.
Hamilton are a strong side, but we're playing well and there's no preesure on the boys.
I'd be delighted with a draw but I have a feeling we might win on Saturday.
As do quite a few. smile.gif
Accies1
QUOTE(vikingTON @ Oct 23 2007, 22:23) *
The team won't underestimate you - they'll set up defensively on Saturday.
Hamilton are a strong side, but we're playing well and there's no preesure on the boys.
I'd be delighted with a draw but I have a feeling we might win on Saturday.
As do quite a few. smile.gif

With no disrespect but Dunfermline fans also thought they'd win wink.gif In fairness I'm positive it won't be as easy but I still think 2-0 accies, we've only conceded 2 home goals all season so I doubt morton will score than 1 if any and accies will definetly score.
vikingTON
QUOTE(Accies1 @ Oct 23 2007, 22:26) *
With no disrespect but Dunfermline fans also thought they'd win wink.gif In fairness I'm positive it won't be as easy but I still think 2-0 accies, we've only conceded 2 home goals all season so I doubt morton will score than 1 if any and accies will definetly score.

I'm not exactly an eternal optimist though.
I'm on a great run as well - I felt we'd win on Saturday and Raikkonen would win the title. wink.gif
6-1 Hamilton it is then. laugh.gif
Accies1
QUOTE(vikingTON @ Oct 23 2007, 22:28) *
I'm on a great run as well - I felt we'd win on Saturday and Raikkonen would win the title. wink.gif

I thought that too ohmy.gif
Marc
Looks to me like most Accies fans think their gonna hammer Morton,for that reason I hope Morton win... Over confidence is NOT a good think, think of Scotland.
vikingTON
QUOTE(Accies1 @ Oct 23 2007, 22:30) *
I thought that too ohmy.gif

We have a conundrum.
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
QUOTE(SaltyTON @ Oct 23 2007, 20:55) *
Tempted to go up early to the bar under the stand, see if I can find a fan with more than 7 teeth.

I was unsuccessful in this quest before the Accies/Stenhousemuir game a couple of years ago.

I wonder if you are talking about the Stand Club jakes or the bingo gumsy grannies.
Anyway,plenty of pubs near the ground Salty Ton which are better than the Accies Club.The Vaults does a good number in musical chairs I hear.
The Railway Club,Bar West(the old Silver Tassie),Chambers and The Tap Room are close enough to the ground to get a few pre-match aperitifs.
Always good banter with the Ton fans.I think the 2 boys who came out with us after the infamous 6-1 game haven't made it home since.They were last seen heading to some Larkhall floozy's house that night.
Probably still in shock at finding themselves in Larky.Greenock's slightly more upmarket twin town.
LargsTON
Quietly confident about Saturday and with us at 4/1 for the win I'll be havin some of that! biggrin.gif
Tonsilitis
Last time we met we had a lot of injuries and were still experimenting a bit with formations and players best positions. This time we have a nearly full squad and the confidence is coming back. Plus of course, we now have Mr Goals, Peter Weatherson playing upfront and he can score against anyone.

You will lose at home sooner or later and there's no reason why it should'nt be us. We're a better team now than the one you played at Cappielow. There's no doubt that Hamilton are a better team than Morton but in football, its down to what happens on the day and we are as likely as anyone to get a result. Unfortunately we are also as likely as anyone to take a real pasting!!

Me. I'm having a wee bit of that 4 to 1 money at the bookies.
Swampy
I saw Tonsilitis had the last post and I knew that he'd be tipping us for a win after beating a dreadful Thistle side and (while I wasn't there, I have it on good authpority that it was a ) rather poor Clyde side. rolleyes.gif

I reckon we'll lose, but there's no shame in losing to the best first XI in the division.
Alibi
I have a suspicion Morton are going to win this one. Firstly, even when a team is clearly one of the best, if not THE best, in a division, they usually have a few rough patches when things just go wrong. Accies are due such a patch. Secondly, Weatherson up fron equates to Morton scoring more goals. I reckon we will win, probably only by 1 goal and that goal will come from Spoonsy.

So, 7-6 to the Ton.....
Satans_Husband
I was/am strangely confident about Saturday but the fact that 95% of the Morton fans seem to feel the same unsettles me a bit. Most likely outcome is that we'll win 2-1 followed by a 2-0 home defeat to Stirling the next Saturday!
josecomehome
QUOTE(vikingTON @ Oct 23 2007, 22:28) *
I'm not exactly an eternal optimist though.
6-1 Hamilton it is then. laugh.gif

6-1 was the score last time at NDP. Just thought I'd remind you. Oh what a day that was. laugh.gif
Owsley
Despite what Marc said above, most Accies fans seem to be predicting a narrow win. I'm a bit worried about this one, teams that score a barrowload one week often find it tricky to score the next. I predict a narrow 1-0 win. The key element could be who comes in for Tom Parratt.
vikingTON
QUOTE(josecomehome @ Oct 24 2007, 14:47) *
6-1 was the score last time at NDP. Just thought I'd remind you. Oh what a day that was. laugh.gif

Do you think I picked 6-1 at random? rolleyes.gif
SaltyTON
QUOTE(Tonsilitis @ Oct 24 2007, 09:34) *
Last time we met we had a lot of injuries and were still experimenting a bit with formations and players best positions. This time we have a nearly full squad and the confidence is coming back. Plus of course, we now have Mr Goals, Peter Weatherson playing upfront and he can score against anyone.

You will lose at home sooner or later and there's no reason why it should'nt be us. We're a better team now than the one you played at Cappielow. There's no doubt that Hamilton are a better team than Morton but in football, its down to what happens on the day and we are as likely as anyone to get a result. Unfortunately we are also as likely as anyone to take a real pasting!!

Me. I'm having a wee bit of that 4 to 1 money at the bookies.

Christ, you badly need some Valium. Cheer up FFS!! ph34r.gif
Tubbs
Ayr have beaten us at home this season we know how that feels.

For me if we score first its over, that has been the way all season. If Morton score first then that will be a different matter.
Shotts56
Like most Accies fans who have already posted, I too think this will be a tough game and would take a 1-0 or 2-1 to Accies in a minute. I probably think the former is the most likely.
Jydo
its mostly been Ton fans sounding over-confident on here, not Accies. Its not just down to your last result either, even tho we were superb at EEP. BR has got all the guys playing for each other, might not be the best *footballing* side in this division but Accies sometimes play like a different team from last season and I credit Reid for that. Big Marko has played out of his skin this season - except that dodgy penalty up at McDiarmid....cant see anyone getting past him at NDP....

2-0 Accies
Kevin Mckee is god
In response to the morton fans posting the odds of 4/1 on a morton win wink.gif

I'd say the score is probably going to be around 4-1 to the super Accies

We have had our wee slip up with the draw to Livi and a bad 45mins at Perth.

Its back to winning ways for Accies.

Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.