Full Version: Arbroath 2 Stenny 2
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
WEHATEMONTROSE
A draw was a fair result in the end,but we could and should have won the game in the last 10 mins.

Stenny were by far the better team first half and deserved there lead.The game changed when Arbroath brought on Paul Tosh,who got in about the Stenny back four and we started to play abit of football after that.Thought the referee was very poor today with some weird decisions.
SimonLichtie
First 60 minutes were completely unacceptable. I cant believe those individual players could play so badly together.
the_russian
The smokies are awful.
smokiejoe
Thought it woulda been x-ass starting this thread... or did he miss ANOTHER game... AGAIN!
xbl
QUOTE(smokiejoe @ Oct 20 2007, 19:15) *
Thought it woulda been x-ass starting this thread... or did he miss ANOTHER game... AGAIN!

I dont know, did he?
Lichtielegend
Despite the first 60 minutes, it still feels like a defeat.

Top class save by Brown from Reilly at the end.
1 John Lambie
How did Gordon Lennon play? Where did he play?
Fudge
QUOTE(1 John Lambie @ Oct 20 2007, 18:41) *
How did Gordon Lennon play? Where did he play?

He did quite well.All the Arbroath threat was down the wings as they targeted John Dillon as being a week link, as well as our keeper, sir flap a lot.
the_russian
QUOTE(Fudge @ Oct 20 2007, 19:44) *
He did quite well.All the Arbroath threat was down the wings as they targeted John Dillon as being a week link, as well as our keeper, sir flap a lot.

Was the gibbering bald gimp still in goal?
Lichtielegend
QUOTE(the_russian @ Oct 20 2007, 19:49) *
Was the gibbering bald gimp still in goal?

No, it was 2-2, not 6-2
Mel Hutchwright
We were shocking for the first hour or so and I really didn't see us getting back into it at all, but Tosh made a hell of a difference when he came on and he really worried the Stenny defence.

It was an entertaining last 15 minutes and we had good chances to sneak it, but it would have been a bit of an injustice given that Stenny were by far the better team for the majority of the game.
farflung lichtie
On a lovely afternoon, we were extremely poor as usual at home and seem to need to give the opposition a goal start. Stenny could have easily taken this since we didn't stir until near the end. McLaughlin had a great game from what i could see - Webster was outstanding for us and Tosh when he came on. Referee again dire and inconsistent. Gayfield for thrills
b ross
Yep- we were pish for 60 mins. I'd like to say that it was Stenny that were good but.......

No idea where Raeside was playing in the first half. I did think Tosh made a diference when he came on but I think it was the more positive formation that put us back into the game. Three at the back and Watson in the centre rather than wide left made a huge diference!

Football is about scoring goals so I dont get why we cant be that positive from the start? Lets face it, the last 20mins is the best sustained spell of attacking play we've seen this season but for a fantastic save by Stenny keeper and the ball falling to the blundering Raeside as apposed to one of our forwards in the last seconds we could have stolen an undeserved three points.

Id be delighted if we could come out of the blocks like that next week and scare the shit out of Elgin!
dubs
QUOTE(Mel Hutchwright @ Oct 20 2007, 20:21) *
We were shocking for the first hour or so and I really didn't see us getting back into it at all, but Tosh made a hell of a difference when he came on and he really worried the Stenny defence.

It was an entertaining last 15 minutes and we had good chances to sneak it, but it would have been a bit of an injustice given that Stenny were by far the better team for the majority of the game.

I've got to be honest here, I really respect what you have said here - I think we were the better team (although we didn't create many chances) for the first hour lo and behold we could'nt convert it into a win. That's just basically what is wrong with us at the moment- we are a team low on confidence which is understandable after some of the pastings we've taken.

I felt personally that the capitualtion was ineviatbale butoverall we were a different team - the 4-5-1 worked well. The new keeper was, lets say erratic.

However its not doom andgloom here, I feel we are on the up. Just wish we could've held on today.
philpy
QUOTE(dubya @ Oct 21 2007, 02:54) *
The new keeper was, lets say erratic.

In what sense was brown erratic dubs?
Lichtielegend
QUOTE(philpy @ Oct 21 2007, 12:29) *
In what sense was brown erratic dubs?

First half, he claimed pretty much every cross we put in comfortably. He was at fault for our first goal, as he was beaten in the air by Tosh, who went on to nutmeg him with the loose ball. After that, he began to fall apart a bit, as he was again beaten to a high ball, but we couldn't finish.

He had no chance with the 2nd goal, but he looked a bit shaky from the shot Watson hit just after, fumbling it to our striker, who was offside.

Then he finishes the day by pulling off the best save I've seen this season.
Neilly
Aye the save he made looked like one of the best I have ever seen in all honesty. He was solid in the first half, shaky in the second but I think he will do a job like.

First half was the best we have played in a long, long while. For the first time since he joined us Brian McLaughlin was at the centre of everything. The wee man certainly has the ability and we really need it on a consistent basis.

Second half was a real advert for the division. Great end to end stuff. Tosh made a big difference when he came on he bullied us and we just couldn't cope with his physical style of play.
dubs
I thought he punched a lot of the time, sometimes it was the right option but half the time when he was coming it was getting cleared or something - we were always going to get stung. The way he arranged his wall for the second was a joke - not sure what he was going to gain from standing behind the wall.
Tonsilitis
Was Gilbride suspended/injured or just dropped because he's poor? The latter would not surprise me!
montrose 5 forfar 1
Quite pleasing result. Slows down Arbroaths run and doesnt start a winning run for Stenny! smile.gif
Neilly
QUOTE(Tonsilitis @ Oct 21 2007, 15:12) *
Was Gilbride suspended/injured or just dropped because he's poor? The latter would not surprise me!

Like I said on another thread I don't think Coughlin will fancy Gilbride much as he isn't hard enough.

But I don't know if he was injured or just dropped as I presume.
Links_Park_Dynamo
QUOTE(b ross @ Oct 20 2007, 21:53) *
No idea where Raeside was playing in the first half. I did think Tosh made a diference when he came on but I think it was the more positive formation that put us back into the game. Three at the back and Watson in the centre rather than wide left made a huge diference!

Running around being the ref no doubt
b ross
QUOTE(Links_Park_Dynamo @ Oct 21 2007, 16:40) *

With your wit and humour you are really spoiling us! sad.gif
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE(b ross @ Oct 20 2007, 21:53) *
No idea where Raeside was playing in the first half.

QUOTE(Links_Park_Dynamo @ Oct 21 2007, 16:40) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif
berwick-the-unbeatable
laugh.gif Thats class