Steven
Oct 17 2007, 10:23
Thought I would get the ball rolling since nobody else seems to have started it!
Predictions on the score and how many red cards please
CALDERON
Oct 17 2007, 10:27
2-0 Rovers, with Hislop finally hitting form....
Looking forward to the game though, have only missed one league game so far this year
Andy.C
Oct 17 2007, 10:32
I cant wait for this game.
I've had a sneaky suspicion that it'll be 3-1 Raith for a while so that's the prediction I'll go with.
Kenny Black will be sent to the stand.
Can see this being a close game. Will either be a 0-0 draw or a 1-0 win to Rovers.
Michael W
Oct 17 2007, 10:40
I think that we'll win by 1 goal. Our best results seem to come away from home. That said, Airdrie have had a couple of poor results recently (I know this as they burst my coupon 2 weeks running) So hopefully we can increase that poor run for them. I just hope the fans get behind the team and don't expect too much fro the players. I think this is wht we have'nt been particularly brilliant at home this year, the fans expect too much and this places more pressure on the players.
graeme_p
Oct 17 2007, 10:55
I can't see any goals in this one at all.
10-1 for a 0-0 draw on the correct scores seems too good to miss.
Raith_Raver
Oct 17 2007, 12:54
We've all played 9 games, and Rovers have had 5 away and 4 at Stark's. If our home form was anything like our away results we'd be a few points clear. But we're pish at home and I dont see things changing against Airdrie, who are a good midfield passing team. They hardly threatened our goal on the first game but at Stark's we leak blunder goals and are inexplicably pish poor going forward. 0-1 seems most likely to me.
raith_94
Oct 17 2007, 13:06
A cagey 1-1.
Although the no scorer bet may well be a good shout.
Ron Burgundy
Oct 17 2007, 19:25
QUOTE(AndyC27/11 @ Oct 17 2007, 11:32)

I cant wait for this game.
I've had a sneaky suspicion that it'll be 3-1 Raith for a while so that's the prediction I'll go with.
Kenny Black will be sent to the stand.
he's not that animated on the touchline.
No idea what the score will be as I have no idea whether it's the jeckyl or hyde team this week.
thediamonddude
Oct 17 2007, 22:22
To be honest I really think this is one of those games that you just can't afford to lose if we are serious about trying to win this league. Defeat on Saturday means we trail by 8 points which isn't good enough after 10 games and the players know that.
From Kenny's comments in the press this week it looks like he may be planning to ring in the changes which I think is crucial at this stage, we need to try and find our strongest 11 ASAP and start getting some consistency on the go. My team would be...
Robbo
Smith Smyth Sharp Lovering
McDougall McKeown Holmes Waddell
Russell Noble
Subs:- Hollis, McKenna, Donnelly, McDonald and Prunty
The back line looked very good that way and we haven't been conceding many, our problems stem from attack and I think Dougall on the right would give us a bit more of a threat. I know many don't like Ricky Waddell but I still think he is capable of doing a job down the left.
Looking forward to this, ain't been to Starks Park in a few years so can't wait to revisit once again!
Michael W
Oct 18 2007, 01:56
Mon the rovers! we can do this. I hope we can get our home form back on track.
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 18 2007, 07:45
QUOTE(thediamonddude @ Oct 17 2007, 23:22)

To be honest I really think this is one of those games that you just can't afford to lose if we are serious about trying to win this league. Defeat on Saturday means we trail by 8 points which isn't good enough after 10 games and the players know that.
From Kenny's comments in the press this week it looks like he may be planning to ring in the changes which I think is crucial at this stage, we need to try and find our strongest 11 ASAP and start getting some consistency on the go. My team would be...
Robbo
Russell Noble
The back line looked very good that way and we haven't been conceding many, our problems stem from attack and I think Dougall on the right would give us a bit more of a threat. I know many don't like Ricky Waddell but I still think he is capable of doing a job down the left.
Looking forward to this, ain't been to Starks Park in a few years so can't wait to revisit once again!
Was Sharp not the one who the Airdrie fans were booing he was that bad?
Ron Burgundy
Oct 18 2007, 08:37

Robbo
Russell Noble
starting mcdougall seems like a good plan if your actually looking to get some balls fired into the box......but do you think Kenny will start him?
Sharp has gone from boo boy to club talisman in the space of three stone...he started thew season looking like an out of shape hulk hogan but now appears to be a fit domineering centre half....
Raith_Raver
Oct 18 2007, 09:38
QUOTE(The Todd @ Oct 18 2007, 02:56)

Mon the rovers! we can do this. I hope we can get our home form back on track.
We've been disappointed by home form so often that we've come to expect to be let down. Its like two different teams, home and away. If something miraculous happens and we can string 3 or 4 passes together without giving the ball away or farting about on the touchline until the ball goes out we would be clear favourites for promotion in my book. But we just cant control a game at Stark's the way we do away from home.
SteamingparBoz
Oct 18 2007, 10:15
Battle of the fandans of evil
Steven
Oct 18 2007, 10:16
QUOTE(SteamingparBoz @ Oct 18 2007, 11:15)

Battle of the fandans of evil

Why are the Pars playing Dundee
SteamingparBoz
Oct 18 2007, 10:51
Michael W
Oct 18 2007, 13:04
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 18 2007, 10:38)

We've been disappointed by home form so often that we've come to expect to be let down. Its like two different teams, home and away. If something miraculous happens and we can string 3 or 4 passes together without giving the ball away or farting about on the touchline until the ball goes out we would be clear favourites for promotion in my book. But we just cant control a game at Stark's the way we do away from home.
I meant results wise

. We have been far from convincing at home this year so far.
Raith_Raver
Oct 18 2007, 13:24
QUOTE(The Todd @ Oct 18 2007, 14:04)

I meant results wise

. We have been far from convincing at home this year so far.
Home form you said. I'll take a result tho even if we play the usual shite, which I fully expect. The only team we dominated at Stark's in the league was Berwick, which says it all. He needs to do something about the midfield, urgently. But I agree, we should be capable of getting a result - even a lucky one like against Alloa would do. But who knows, we might just click for once

Edit - I'm still going for something like 1-1 or 0-1
St. Starko
Oct 18 2007, 13:47
Can't see past a Airdrie victory. It'll be close, it'll be fustrating and it'll be another defeat at Starks.
QUOTE(St. Starko @ Oct 18 2007, 14:47)

Can't see past a Airdrie victory. It'll be close, it'll be fustrating and it'll be another defeat at Starks.
Honestly cannot see us(Airdrie) winning this one, Kenny can only juggle the players he has,cannot see how the players are going to suddenly become winners,watched too much of them to say we dont have it to win this game or this league.
SteamingparBoz
Oct 18 2007, 14:19
St Starko- yer sig pic- you FUGGING WISH!!!!!!!!!!! (I miss my Dorus

)
St. Starko
Oct 18 2007, 19:03
QUOTE(allyp @ Oct 18 2007, 15:07)

Honestly cannot see us(Airdrie) winning this one, Kenny can only juggle the players he has,cannot see how the players are going to suddenly become winners,watched too much of them to say we dont have it to win this game or this league.
Well Raith would have a better chance of getting points in airdrie, but to get them at starks is a fight against a brick wall sometimes.
QUOTE(SteamingparBoz @ Oct 18 2007, 15:19)

St Starko- yer sig pic- you FUGGING WISH!!!!!!!!!!! (I miss my Dorus

)

it's not that i wish he was our keeper it's taking the michael because it was his blunder that got yous relegated. He's a closet Rovers fan
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Oct 19 2007, 08:13

My team would be...
Robbo
Russell Noble
u n me in the same boat with the fact that mcdonald deseves some time clicking his heels on the bench....thats 6 games he has contributed Feck all and had the ball clean took away from his feet numerous times!! not been to starks for about 10 years so lookin 4wd to sum fish n chips on the way home if nothing else

. prediction.....
Raith 2 - 0 Airdrie
renton
Oct 19 2007, 08:27
Apparently Chris Silvestro is out, Borris is still injured... our two best midfielders gone, I can't see us winning this one - 2-0 Airdrie
SteamingparBoz
Oct 19 2007, 09:13
QUOTE(St. Starko @ Oct 18 2007, 20:03)

Well Raith would have a better chance of getting points in airdrie, but to get them at starks is a fight against a brick wall sometimes.

it's not that i wish he was our keeper it's taking the michael because it was his blunder that got yous relegated. He's a closet Rovers fan

Raith_Raver
Oct 19 2007, 09:43
Silvestro's out for 8 weeks for a knee op.
Michael W
Oct 19 2007, 15:21
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 19 2007, 10:43)

Silvestro's out for 8 weeks for a knee op.

He is our best defensive midfielder IMO. He will be a big miss.
highlander
Oct 19 2007, 15:24
Is this game for second spot ??
Steven
Oct 19 2007, 15:26
QUOTE(highlander @ Oct 19 2007, 16:24)

Is this game for second spot ??
No that's getting played in Ayrshire!
Raith_Raver
Oct 19 2007, 16:35
QUOTE(Steven @ Oct 19 2007, 16:26)

No that's getting played in Ayrshire!
highlander
Oct 19 2007, 17:49
I think in this game, the team that scores the most will win.
QUOTE(highlander @ Oct 19 2007, 18:49)

I think in this game, the team that scores the most will win.
But what happens if it was a 0-0 draw and a goal was offside?
highlander
Oct 19 2007, 17:55
QUOTE(rw89 @ Oct 19 2007, 18:50)

But what happens if it was a 0-0 draw and a goal was offside?

If it was offside it wouldnt be a goal. However "own Goals" I haven't taken into account.
QUOTE(highlander @ Oct 19 2007, 18:55)

If it was offside it wouldnt be a goal. However "own Goals" I haven't taken into account.
:lol:true.
Gartleahill
Oct 19 2007, 21:38
I reckon we will get humped three nil. Sad I know But its what I expect from a pish poor Airdrie side.
Raith_Raver
Oct 19 2007, 21:48
QUOTE(Gartleahill @ Oct 19 2007, 22:38)

I reckon we will get humped three nil. Sad I know But its what I expect from a pish poor Airdrie side.
youre not leaking goals, and we arent scoring many
Gartleahill
Oct 19 2007, 21:52
Aye, but we are brutal at set pieces and I expect yer big colured chap who plays centre half to cause havoc in such circumstances.
Raith_Raver
Oct 19 2007, 21:57
QUOTE(Gartleahill @ Oct 19 2007, 22:52)

Aye, but we are brutal at set pieces and I expect yer big colured chap who plays centre half to cause havoc in such circumstances.
We probably wont get up the pitch very much tomorrow, if its the usual home form
Gartleahill
Oct 19 2007, 22:10
Believe me mate we will get horsed the morra .This is a crucial match for us the morra if we get beat we drop 8 point behind ya and that will be unacceptable for a Club who are looking to be promoted at the first attempt. KB will play a 451 formation which is so wrong. This will mean that we will be inviting you lot to attack us all day long and our pish poor defence will never hold out . Hope I'm wrong but that's the way I see it.
Michael W
Oct 19 2007, 22:13
QUOTE(Gartleahill @ Oct 19 2007, 23:10)

Believe me mate we will get horsed the morra .This is a crucial match for us the morra if we get beat we drop 8 point behind ya and that will be unacceptable for a Club who are looking to be promoted at the first attempt. KB will play a 451 formation which is so wrong. This will mean that we will be inviting you lot to attack us all day long and our pish poor defence will never hold out . Hope I'm wrong but that's the way I see it.
Our midfield lack's creativity so I can see us being even more useless than usual if you's go with 5 in there. I predict now we will score no goals. It's down to Airdrie to determine the outcome of this game

R.R.FC
Oct 19 2007, 22:15
This will mean that we will be inviting you lot to attack us all day long and our pish poor defence will never hold out .
we play better at home when the away team attacks us and we can hit on the break we struggle to dictate games and break through teams that get people behind the ball
thediamonddude
Oct 19 2007, 22:25
QUOTE(Gartleahill @ Oct 19 2007, 23:10)

No offence mate, as everyone is entitled to their opinion, but what Airdrie side have you been watching so far this season? We haven't played 4-5-1 in a hell of a long time and although we haven't been playing as well as we can our defense is anything but 'pish poor', we have the second best defensive record in the league so far.
We do have problems in terms of turning the possession we have into goals but I think based on what I've seen so far this season we definetly have a squad capable of winning this league. We just need to develop a bit of consistency and things will start to pick up.
There still such a negative mentality going on in our support right now and I just don't get it, folk seem to be turning wee problems into absolute disasters. We're only a quarter of the way into the season and I'm sure we'll start turning all these draws or near misses into wins!
Mon' the Diamonds!
Raith_Raver
Oct 19 2007, 22:38
QUOTE(The Todd @ Oct 19 2007, 23:13)

Our midfield lack's creativity so I can see us being even more useless than usual if you's go with 5 in there. I predict now we will score no goals. It's down to Airdrie to determine the outcome of this game

and it'll be even worse with Silvestro out, the only midfielder who has created anything recently. I'm hoping Borris will be back at least. Otherwise it'll be a constant stream of passing to red shirts and throw ins to Airdrie.
Gartleahill
Oct 19 2007, 23:05
We haven't played 4-5-1 in a hell of a long time
I reckon because of the importance of this match [we cannot afford to go 8 points behind Raith] KB will adopt this formation with a mind to not losing.
Raith_Raver
Oct 19 2007, 23:14
QUOTE(Gartleahill @ Oct 20 2007, 00:05)

I reckon because of the importance of this match [we cannot afford to go 8 points behind Raith] KB will adopt this formation with a mind to not losing.
all KB needs to do to prevent losing is to man mark our midfield, because none of them can control, pass or move
Don Diego De la Vega
Oct 20 2007, 02:24
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 20 2007, 00:14)

all KB needs to do to prevent losing is to man mark our midfield, because none of them can control, pass or move
what a difference a couple of months makes, what happened to the cocky raith fans that thought they would walk this league this year? after falling on their faces going to steamroll the playoffs has reality finally set in? anyway i will go 2-1 the diamonds prunty with a double
as the 'dude says 'mon the diamonds
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 20 2007, 09:16
QUOTE(Don Diego De la Vega @ Oct 20 2007, 03:24)

what a difference a couple of months makes, what happened to the cocky raith fans that thought they would walk this league this year? after falling on their faces going to steamroll the playoffs has reality finally set in? anyway i will go 2-1 the diamonds prunty with a double
as the 'dude says 'mon the diamonds
Get a grip, pal. Not one Raith fan thought that we would walk the league this year.
Raith_Raver
Oct 20 2007, 10:05
Silvestro and Borris both out with knee injuries - the only two midfielders in our squad who could kick their own arse.
Raith_Raver
Oct 20 2007, 10:12
QUOTE(Don Diego De la Vega @ Oct 20 2007, 03:24)

We had reason to be confident at the start of the season, with good showings against premier and 1st division sides. We havent done as well as we hoped, especially at home, but Airdrie havent done as well as they'd hoped either.
PS -
anyway i will go 2-1 the diamonds prunty with a double - youre not short of cockiness yourself
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.