Add as Friend
Send Message
Find Member's Topics
Find Member's Posts Today, 10:16 Post #48
Third Division Regular
Group: Pie People
Member No.: 10,094
Raith Rovers
QUOTE(Don Diego De la Vega @ Oct 20 2007, 03:24)
what a difference a couple of months makes, what happened to the cocky raith fans that thought they would walk this league this year? after falling on their faces going to steamroll the playoffs has reality finally set in? anyway i will go 2-1 the diamonds prunty with a double
as the 'dude says 'mon the diamonds
Get a grip, pal. Not one Raith fan thought that we would walk the league this year.
--------------------
France 0-1 Scotland
McFadden (64)
12/19/2007
Parc Des Princes
Since when has their been a 19th month in the year???
Michael W
Oct 20 2007, 11:00
QUOTE(Don Diego De la Vega @ Oct 20 2007, 03:24)

what a difference a couple of months makes, what happened to the cocky raith fans that thought they would walk this league this year? after falling on their faces going to steamroll the playoffs has reality finally set in? anyway i will go 2-1 the diamonds prunty with a double
Basically since we lost a couple of games, they have fucked off, and good riddance. I hate to admit it but part of me hopes we lose another couple as I'm rather enjoying the 2nd division forum without the "Raith are fucking superb" brigade. If we get another wee run going, no doubt they'll be back though

Raith_Raver
Oct 20 2007, 11:45
QUOTE(The Todd @ Oct 20 2007, 12:00)

Basically since we lost a couple of games, they have fucked off, and good riddance. I hate to admit it but part of me hopes we lose another couple as I'm rather enjoying the 2nd division forum without the "Raith are fucking superb" brigade. If we get another wee run going, no doubt they'll be back though

They're probably part of the brigade who turned up at Stark's Park for big games or when things are going well then disappear when the club most needed them. But I havent really noticed many Rovers loudmouths on here.
Michael W
Oct 20 2007, 11:48
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 20 2007, 12:45)

They're probably part of the brigade who turned up at Stark's Park for big games or when things are going well then disappear when the club most needed them. But I havent really noticed many Rovers loudmouths on here.
Judging by your post count, your reletively new to the site. Most the fuckwits have'nt been seen around here for about a month or so. You'll notice them if they appear though. Bring_back_the_twa_hoops is one of them and he was a complete arsehole.
Still, it's good to see some sensible Raith fans coming through rather than the idiot brigade

EDIT: poor spelling
Raith_Raver
Oct 20 2007, 11:54
QUOTE(The Todd @ Oct 20 2007, 12:48)

Judging by your post count, your reletively new to the site. Most the fuckwits have'nt been seen around here for about a month or so. You'll notice them if they appear though. Bring_back_the_twa_hoops is one of them and he was a complete arsehole.
Still, it's good to see some sensible Raith fans coming through rather than the idiot brigade
EDIT: poor spelling
I only found out about this forum recently - its pretty good, and there seems to be a lot of good honest banter between the different sets of fans.
lzreid
Oct 20 2007, 12:36
Just about to leave, thought I'd go with the radical 'I don't have a fucking clue'. 2 teams who are not particularly consistent. I'm going for our 1st draw of the season.
R.R.FC
Oct 20 2007, 13:33
michael brown on the bench today for us according to sky sports score centre thing

highlander
Oct 20 2007, 14:51
RAITH 0 - 1 AIRDRIE.... WHAT A SHAME..............
staggy4life
Oct 20 2007, 15:47
2-1 raith, sloan with a late goal.
Steven
Oct 20 2007, 15:54
QUOTE(highlander @ Oct 20 2007, 15:51)

2-1 Full-time GIRFUY
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 20 2007, 16:23
Absolute belter from Slaon for the second.
Get in
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 20 2007, 16:31
raithfortheleague
Oct 20 2007, 16:36
QUOTE(MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 20 2007, 17:31)

sloans goal

belter
Scary Bear
Oct 20 2007, 16:38
Good to see us getting a home win. Looking good at the top of the league.
bobbykdy
Oct 20 2007, 16:45
I thought we played really well today, but we had to as we were up against a good Airdrie side.
We pressurised for long spells but some of Airdries defending was outstanding, they hardly lost a high ball or set piece and it was like they had 5 John Terrys at the back diving in to block away shots etc.
Got a break by getting the penalty (it was one though) then got the winner with an absolute piece of magic by Sloan.
A hard fought but well deserved 3 points in book against a very well organised Airdrie side, it wasnt hard to see why they had only lost 7 goals before today.
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 20 2007, 16:47
Right.
Great win for us today. Really pleased with the nature of it.
Thought that Pelosi and Wilson were both superb for us, and Hislop was also very good. Absolutely skinned Sharp for the penalty. Chipped it over his head and ran onto it, got wrong side of him. I'm not sure if there was contact or not but the Ref has no choice but to give a PK in that sort of situation.
Airdrie scored with their first real attack of the game, good finish from the lad though. (Who was it that scored for them? Thought he looked good.)
As mentioned previously, Hislop did well and won us the penalty, and it took balls from Weir to step and and slot it past the keeper who had also went the correct way.
It looked like the game was set to end 1-1 but Sloan stepped up with an absolute peach from around 30 yards. He was looking to pass the ball from as soon as he collected the ball but as nothing was on, decided to strike it. The ball flew into the top right of the net (from the SS) and left the sub keeper without a hope in hell fo saving it.
Cue much madness from the Raith support.
Didn't catch who got the man of the match award but if it wasn't Wilson or Pelosi then it's a disgrace.
Good win in the end. Be interesting to see what the Airdrie fans thought of the game, as they seemed to be doing a hell of a lot of moaning!
renton
Oct 20 2007, 16:49
Well, we pretty much came out with the same set up as the P'heid game with Winter replacing Silvestro. First twenty minutes we were piss poor and definatly deserved to be in the mire. The airdrie goal came from a complete inability to close down the opposition around the 18 yard line. For the rest of the first half we came more into it but despite the pressure Raith never really tested either Robertson or Hollis(?) - strange injury to the airdrie keeper mind you, no one near him and it looked like he twisted his back badly. Poor b*****d, that's gonna hurt for a while.
Second half we continued to have the majority of the play, Pelosi seemed to hit his stride after a couple of less than stellar performances and was great getting forward. At this point everything we hit seemed to break airdrie's way. Was beginning to look like a lost cause, Airdrie's defenders were very good aerially and closed us down quickly. Hislop was first class today running down everything and easily our best forward out of the three. Weir, in my opinion was less than great today. Hislop broke into the box after dinking the ball over his man and won a penalty which Weir put away to get us back in the match.
Even at that point Raith continued to gift Airdrie time on the ball and they could have easily taken the lead back. Carcary came on for 6 minutes and then off again after a fairly bad challenge. Sloan's goal was an absolute beauty, cutiing inside one man, skinning another and hitting it into the top corner at 25 yards out.
Not quite a smash and grab victory, but a real battle. Good three points and some encouraging signs.
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 20 2007, 16:52
QUOTE(renton @ Oct 20 2007, 17:49)

Well, we pretty much came out with the same set up as the P'heid game with Winter replacing Silvestro. First twenty minutes we were piss poor and definatly deserved to be in the mire. The airdrie goal came from a complete inability to close down the opposition around the 18 yard line. For the rest of the first half we came more into it but despite the pressure Raith never really tested either Robertson or Hollis(?) - strange injury to the airdrie keeper mind you, no one near him and it looked like he twisted his back badly. Poor b*****d, that's gonna hurt for a while.
Second half we continued to have the majority of the play, Pelosi seemed to hit his stride after a couple of less than stellar performances and was great getting forward. At this point everything we hit seemed to break airdrie's way. Was beginning to look like a lost cause, Airdrie's defenders were very good aerially and closed us down quickly. Hislop was first class today running down everything and easily our best forward out of the three. Weir, in my opinion was less than great today. Hislop broke into the box after dinking the ball over his man and won a penalty which Weir put away to get us back in the match.
Even at that point Raith continued to gift Airdrie time on the ball and they could have easily taken the lead back. Carcary came on for 6 minutes and then off again after a fairly bad challenge. Sloan's goal was an absolute beauty, cutiing inside one man, skinning another and hitting it into the top corner at 25 yards out.
Not quite a smash and grab victory, but a real battle. Good three points and some encouraging signs.
Shocking 'challenge'. Not even a challenge though as he was bundled into the boards at the side of the pitch after beting his man to the ball. Lovering (i think it was) made no attempt for the ball and just decided to have him into the boards.
Arsehole
Hopefully he's ok.
renton
Oct 20 2007, 16:55
QUOTE(MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 20 2007, 17:52)

Shocking 'challenge'. Not even a challenge though as he was bundled into the boards at the side of the pitch after beting his man to the ball. Lovering (i think it was) made no attempt for the ball and just decided to have him into the boards.
Arsehole
Hopefully he's ok.
True, I was understating the fact, Can't believe Weir got booked for what looked like a 50-50 that he came out on top of, Ref was murder the day (penalty aside

)
Steven
Oct 20 2007, 16:55
QUOTE(MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 20 2007, 17:52)

Arsehole
Hopefully he's ok.
Lovering has always been a thug, should have been sent off on the first day of the season against us!
QUOTE(MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 20 2007, 17:47)

Right.
Great win for us today. Really pleased with the nature of it.
Thought that Pelosi and Wilson were both superb for us, and Hislop was also very good. Absolutely skinned Sharp for the penalty. Chipped it over his head and ran onto it, got wrong side of him. I'm not sure if there was contact or not but the Ref has no choice but to give a PK in that sort of situation.
Airdrie scored with their first real attack of the game, good finish from the lad though. (Who was it that scored for them? Thought he looked good.)
As mentioned previously, Hislop did well and won us the penalty, and it took balls from Weir to step and and slot it past the keeper who had also went the correct way.
It looked like the game was set to end 1-1 but Sloan stepped up with an absolute peach from around 30 yards. He was looking to pass the ball from as soon as he collected the ball but as nothing was on, decided to strike it. The ball flew into the top right of the net (from the SS) and left the sub keeper without a hope in hell fo saving it.
Cue much madness from the Raith support.
Didn't catch who got the man of the match award but if it wasn't Wilson or Pelosi then it's a disgrace.
Good win in the end. Be interesting to see what the Airdrie fans thought of the game, as they seemed to be doing a hell of a lot of moaning!
QUOTE(renton @ Oct 20 2007, 17:49)

Both sum it up perfectly. Have to say i found it funny when the Airdrie keeper who crocked himself in the first half tried to catch a ball destined for the tunnel and proceeded to hurt himself even more. He turned away very embaressed. Good game if you look past the first 20 mins. I'd say Airdrie didn't deserve the goal but thats football. Good to get a home win and the winner wouldn't have looked out of place in the champions league.
highlander
Oct 20 2007, 16:59
QUOTE(highlander @ Oct 20 2007, 15:51)

Damm my big mouth, good result coming from a goal down, Airdrie's League postiion ain't looking too healthy.
Big G...
Oct 20 2007, 17:25
To be honest I thought we had the better of the first half and might even have had 2 or 3 goals in that period. A couple of good saves by Fahey, and a couple of near misses, which if they had gone in, would have killed the game off by half time. However, I dont know what Black said to them at half time, but we were absolutely shocking in the second half. It was like a different team. Once again, it looked like we were content to sit back and try and defend a 1 goal lead, inviting Rovers on to us.
I was sitting about 20 yards away from the " penalty" incident, and honestly, the big number 9 took a dive. Fair play, as he knew the standside linesman, and referee were going to give it, after giving almost every other decision Rovers way in the second half. They were absolutely shocking. The second goal was an absolute peach, although how he was allowed to progress so far up the park without us trying to close him down, I'll never know.
Kenny Black must seriously consider his position now, or the Board must consider it for him. He has good players at his disposal, but playing them out of position all over the park. He talked about a shake up during the week, but the players he should have been "shaking up" were still given a starting slot, and players like MacDougall, Noble, and Darren Smith were left sitting on the bench.
Not good enough,and I really doubt our ability to even get a play off place now, never mind challenging for the league.
QUOTE(MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 20 2007, 17:47)

I'm not sure if there was contact or not but the Ref has no choice but to give a PK in that sort of situation.
rubberneck nelson
Oct 20 2007, 17:34
Had a right good laugh before the game started today, i was in the toilets chatting to one of the other lads, and i said to him "could be worse, could be a celtic fan", much to the annoyance of a ned who was standing further along, and as the ned walked out the door, he shouted "aye, it'l no be that when the rovers git humped the day"
Michael W
Oct 20 2007, 18:05
I can't comment on the penalty decision as it was so far away but what a goal from Sloan. Absolute belter. I thought he was going to duff it as it was on his weaker foot. I liked Hislop's wee flick over the Airdrie player in the lead up to the penalty too.
I have to say it took us quite a while to get going, it was all Airdrie for atleast the first 25 minutes and then we began to get into the game a little. Fahey had a great save before Airdries goal too. Second half we started better and we got the goals which we wanted. I think Hislop and Pelosi were both great today with some other fine individual performances across the pitch.
The ref was baffling today. Gave Airdrie everything first half and gave us everything second half.
Andy.C
Oct 20 2007, 18:16
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 20 2007, 11:05)

Silvestro and Borris both out with knee injuries - the only two midfielders in our squad who could kick their own arse.

I'm glad Robert Sloan didnt stop to see if he could kick his own arse before firing in an absolute beauty via the junction.
I thought we looked alright until Airdrie scored with our defenders backing off, nice finish actually.
Stevie Hislop was brilliant today I thought and I really admire the character of the man after all the crap he got at the Ayr game.
I hope that the Airdrie 'keeper makes a quick recovery, the poor bugger looked in absolute agony but I must admit to smiling too when his instincts got the better of him when he was standing at the tunnel.
Good win and I'm certainly a happy Rover.
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 20 2007, 18:21
QUOTE(RedV @ Oct 20 2007, 18:33)

He doesn't. If he doesn't see the incedent and the player goes down inside the box on the goal side of the defender 9/10 times it's a PK.
Michael W
Oct 20 2007, 18:22
What actually happened to the Airdrie keeper? looked like his back went or something?
rubberneck nelson
Oct 20 2007, 18:24
I thought the majority of the players did well today, davidson, wilson, pelosi, and hislop were standouts for me today. The winner was a belter, i just wish we'd shoot from outside the box more often!!
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 20 2007, 18:36
Totally! Whenever we do, we some to score some belters!
Carcary away at Clyde, Sloan today....
Michael W
Oct 20 2007, 18:38
It's been a while since I last saw a goal like that scored at Stark's.
thediamonddude
Oct 20 2007, 19:16
I'm absolutely gutted at that today, we really didn't deserve to lose over the piece and a draw really would have been a very fair result. It was very much a game of two halfs from my view, with us looking very comfortable in the first and then taking a lot of good pressure from Raith in the second.
Created a lot in the first half and Dosser took his goal very well, was once again the standout in midfield. Good chances for Homer and Allan Russell well saved by Fahey and had they went in it might have been a different story. Though we also defended v well in the first half, held together very solidly.
Looked a sore one for Robbo, he tipped a goal bound header over the bar and jerked his back in teh process. I know he's had a lot of bother with his back so heres hoping it aint too serious, Lee Hollis came in and looked very assured though with a few good saves.
Second half I thought we played well (but only defensively). Credit to Raith who came out and had a go and were unlucky not to get back in on a couple of occasions but there is no way and I mean NO WAY that it should have been a penalty. The guy knocked the ball past Sharp, went to run on to it and then fell over as Sharp was running next to him, blatant dive. The ref was never giving it and then the linesman flagged. After that we continued to defend well until for some reason we decided to open up a bit and let Raith come forward and have a shot. Was a cracking goal tho!
As I say I felt the game was even enough for a draw but it wasnt to be. The ref was dreadful, we got hee-haw in the 2nd half while I thought we were given a few daft fouls our way in the first but nothing as big as the penalty incident which totally turned the game. Would also be interesting to see what Raith were like without Andrews because he wins everything at both ends.
Kenny Black has to sort something now, I was never certain of his appointment but have always been determined to support him regardless but I fear his lack of coaching experience may really be costing us. We need to win these next three games before the next international break tho and if we don't I dread to think of the season ahead!
Edited to add:- Get Kevin McDonald to f**k please KB
starks mad
Oct 20 2007, 19:57
If thats the same goalie who played in the first match of the season and intentially got Weir sent off then GIRUy. What goes around comes around. If not hope he gets better soon
R.R.FC
Oct 20 2007, 20:20
I'm absolutely gutted at that today, we really didn't deserve to lose over the piece and a draw really would have been a very fair result. It was very much a game of two halfs from my view, with us looking very comfortable in the first and then taking a lot of good pressure from Raith in the second.
Created a lot in the first half and Dosser took his goal very well, was once again the standout in midfield. Good chances for Homer and Allan Russell well saved by Fahey and had they went in it might have been a different story. Though we also defended v well in the first half, held together very solidly.
Looked a sore one for Robbo, he tipped a goal bound header over the bar and jerked his back in teh process. I know he's had a lot of bother with his back so heres hoping it aint too serious, Lee Hollis came in and looked very assured though with a few good saves.
Second half I thought we played well (but only defensively). Credit to Raith who came out and had a go and were unlucky not to get back in on a couple of occasions but there is no way and I mean NO WAY that it should have been a penalty. The guy knocked the ball past Sharp, went to run on to it and then fell over as Sharp was running next to him, blatant dive. The ref was never giving it and then the linesman flagged. After that we continued to defend well until for some reason we decided to open up a bit and let Raith come forward and have a shot. Was a cracking goal tho!
As I say I felt the game was even enough for a draw but it wasnt to be. The ref was dreadful, we got hee-haw in the 2nd half while I thought we were given a few daft fouls our way in the first but nothing as big as the penalty incident which totally turned the game. Would also be interesting to see what Raith were like without Andrews because he wins everything at both ends.
Kenny Black has to sort something now, I was never certain of his appointment but have always been determined to support him regardless but I fear his lack of coaching experience may really be costing us. We need to win these next three games before the next international break tho and if we don't I dread to think of the season ahead!
Edited to add:- Get Kevin McDonald to f**k please KB
pretty fair report. first half i thought airdrie were very good passed and moved well and probably the best team weve played at starks this season. second half we played really well, best weve played at starks in the league this season although it didn't look like we were going to score as we had a lot shots blocked well and saved. I thought wilson, pelosi and hislop were very good today and our midfield began to get a hold of the game 2nd half. Very pleased to get a win against a good side who im pretty sure will be at least in the play offs come the end of the season
I thought we deserved the win on the balance of play, but maybe not on chances created. We had more play but the defence opened up too easily when Airdrie did go forward. Their back-line defended rather better, but they won't have been happy to have been defending as deep as they did, particularly in the second half - no matter how well you defend you're likely to get a break go against you when that happens.
And the break certainly went against them with the penalty award. With which (from 100 yards away) I have to say I was surprised.
No arguments about the winning goal though. Better than Carcary's at Clyde? I think so, but will wait and see the video. I'm trying to think when I last saw a better one at Starks.
Hislop was excellent today, man of the match for me. I really hope it wasn't a dive for the penalty though, I don't want to see Raith players doing that. Again, will wait and have a look at the video.
p&b is a disgrace
Oct 20 2007, 21:34
Hyslop knew exactly what he was doing for the PK. To be honest though - it was a penalty. From where we were sitting you could se that the defender had a full handful off his shirt. However, he didn't go down at that point but stayed on his feet for a couple of steps before throwing himself theatrically to the ground. The linesman penalised the earlier tug.
I thought that was a piss poor game between 2 piss poor sides who at times played like schoolboys. A draw wolud have been fair.
Special mention to Lovering who should have been shown a straight red for his assault on Carcary. Disgraceful behaviour from a complete thug.
Raith_Raver
Oct 20 2007, 21:40
QUOTE(Big G... @ Oct 20 2007, 18:25)

To be honest I thought we had the better of the first half and might even have had 2 or 3 goals in that period. A couple of good saves by Fahey, and a couple of near misses, which if they had gone in, would have killed the game off by half time. However, I dont know what Black said to them at half time, but we were absolutely shocking in the second half. It was like a different team. Once again, it looked like we were content to sit back and try and defend a 1 goal lead, inviting Rovers on to us.
I was sitting about 20 yards away from the " penalty" incident, and honestly, the big number 9 took a dive. Fair play, as he knew the standside linesman, and referee were going to give it, after giving almost every other decision Rovers way in the second half. They were absolutely shocking. The second goal was an absolute peach, although how he was allowed to progress so far up the park without us trying to close him down, I'll never know.
Not good enough,and I really doubt our ability to even get a play off place now, never mind challenging for the league.
Fair summing up of the game. I thought Rovers hardly had a kick in the first half, except the last 7 or 8 minutes when we at last put you under some pressure. Before that we were our usual piss poor at home, with our midfield over run. Second half started fairly even then Rovers started to get on top. For the penalty I only saw Hislop run round the defender then go down, but people around me thought it was soft. After that I thought we played much better and were well on top, but I'd stop short of saying we deserved all three points, because a two goal lead wouldnt have flattered Airdrie from first half.
I dont know if Airdrie fell out of it because we started to play, you stopped playing, or whether it was due to tactical changes at the interval, but first half I thought Airdrie were as good as any team in the league this season. Rovers were Jekyl and Hyde, which is a big improvement, as we're usually just Hyde at home.
Edit - the ref changed sides at half time
bagpuss
Oct 20 2007, 22:35
The proverbial game of two halves: Airdrie were far and away the best in the first half and deserved to lead, but Rovers were much better in the second. Wasn't sure it was a pen, but the ref (crap for both sides) had given us nothing before then so I'll take it. Sloan's strike was a cracker, but the Airdrie defence should have tackled him three times before he hit it.
Still a lot of work to do but three very welcome points.
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 21 2007, 08:16
Interviews now up on the site:
http://www.raithroversfc.com/cgi-bin/match...=767&type=3I also found the still of Kenny Black's face particularly amusing
Click to view attachment
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Oct 21 2007, 11:42
What can I say that hasn't already been posted......
Fist half, very surprised at how well the Airdrie 'team' passed the ball around in first 25 mins and deservedley lead through a well taken steven mckeown shot and were unlucky not to have lead after about 5 mins with graeme holmes 1 on 1 but fahey saved well.
the worst thing that happened that game was the ref blowing for half time (from an aidrie p.o.v). the players had obviously been told....we're winning lads.....lets not lose (or score more goals). Credit to raith though they came out n had a go n done what they had to do....it wasn't a penalty but am not that bothered coz if they hadn't a gotten the penalty they'd a scored someway or other but definately the best goal i've seen for a while for the second. Loverings 'assault' on Carcary was uncalled for and was undoubtedly down to frustration but still not an excuse. Kenny Black has to take a long hard look at himself coz we need a midfield thats supplying chances to strikers and that just aint happening now. Right now the players don't look interested or motivated and it says a lot wen Steven McKeown is your best performing midfielder

Diamonds are Forever
Oct 21 2007, 12:23
Time for KB to go I'm afraid. The first 25 minutes were were brillaint, great passing, Raith couldn't get near us, then a big blow for us... we score

Cue Black's negative tactics. As soon as we scored I said to my mate we were just going to sit back and defend, and that's what happened. It's almost as if he is scared, there's not one team in this league who has better players than us, so why the f**k are we scared ? Blatant dive for the penalty, Sharp put his hands up in the air to show he wasn't shirt pulling and his legs were no-where near him, but he just collapsed. Wouldn't expect any less from him though tbh, suppose you can't blame him either, with an inept ref and linesman like that he was always going to get it. Once it went to 1-1, we could have pushed up a bit and tried to win it by replacing Kevin McDonald with McDougall, but no, he decides to sit in and play for the draw, Raith score a wonder goal and that's us f**ked, a game we should have won, thrown away (a familiar phrase for us ).
If his negative tactics only happened now and then then maybe I could accept it, but it happens in every game, not only that, you know it's going to happen before it does, and you know what the end result will be because of it, unfortunetly KB doesn't seem to.
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Oct 21 2007, 12:39
McDonald is repeatedly proving to be a waste of a jersey, I want to believe the lad can play but i'm finding it very difficult due to his showings in past 7 games (and counting), As was pointed out earlier, Kenny spoke of "Ringing the changes", unfortunately his changes were proven to be damp squibs with McDougall (who looked lively against Ayr), D. Smith (who has been consistently the best player over the course) and Noble (a strong hold up centre forward, whho can finish) all on the bench and starts for McDonald OUT WIDE AGAIN, Holmes THROUGH THE MIDDLE AGAIN it just aint happening. Holmes has showed what a danger he can be out on the right pushing forward but every week he starts in the centre the only obvious thing now is BLACK OUT!!
QUOTE(++Ammo - Airdrie++ @ Oct 21 2007, 12:42)

What can I say that hasn't already been posted......
Fist half, very surprised at how well the Airdrie 'team' passed the ball around in first 25 mins and deservedley lead through a well taken steven mckeown shot and were unlucky not to have lead after about 5 mins with graeme holmes 1 on 1 but fahey saved well.
the worst thing that happened that game was the ref blowing for half time (from an aidrie p.o.v). the players had obviously been told....we're winning lads.....lets not lose (or score more goals). Credit to raith though they came out n had a go n done what they had to do....it wasn't a penalty but am not that bothered coz if they hadn't a gotten the penalty they'd a scored someway or other but definately the best goal i've seen for a while for the second. Loverings 'assault' on Carcary was uncalled for and was undoubtedly down to frustration but still not an excuse. Kenny Black has to take a long hard look at himself coz we need a midfield thats supplying chances to strikers and that just aint happening now. Right now the players don't look interested or motivated and it says a lot wen Steven McKeown is your best performing midfielder

Very fair assessment.
thediamonddude
Oct 21 2007, 13:12
QUOTE(++Ammo - Airdrie++ @ Oct 21 2007, 13:39)

McDonald is repeatedly proving to be a waste of a jersey, I want to believe the lad can play but i'm finding it very difficult due to his showings in past 7 games (and counting), As was pointed out earlier, Kenny spoke of "Ringing the changes", unfortunately his changes were proven to be damp squibs with McDougall (who looked lively against Ayr), D. Smith (who has been consistently the best player over the course) and Noble (a strong hold up centre forward, whho can finish) all on the bench and starts for McDonald OUT WIDE AGAIN, Holmes THROUGH THE MIDDLE AGAIN it just aint happening. Holmes has showed what a danger he can be out on the right pushing forward but every week he starts in the centre the only obvious thing now is BLACK OUT!!
Holmes played more on the left yesterday though didn't he? I actually thought Homer and McKeown were our best performers yesterday which reinforces what I've been saying for a while they are both much better than McDonald.
What makes McDonald's inclusion in the squad week in week out alot worse is the fact that he is getting played wide right when he just doesn't know how to play there. We have McDougall who plays naturally in wide positions yet he can't get a start.
To be honest I wasn't bothered about Smith being dropped as Marc Smyth done well at right back and it meant we got the chance to see Donnelly at centre back who I thought had a decent game. While I'm still not sure how fit Noble was on Saturday, as that was why he was missing in the Ayr game, I definetly think he should be partnering Russell up front again.
Did anyone else think Bryan Prunty looked incredibly pissed off or a wee bit uninterested as well yesterday? It was weird, just didn't seem like him at all.
For me though we have Berwick (Home), Queen's Park (Away) and Ross County (Home) in our next 3 games and we need 9 points from these games. If Kenny can't provide that then I seriously think he should consider handing over his resignation.
Ron Burgundy
Oct 21 2007, 13:34
i'm getting increasingly confused by mr blacks insistence on playing as many players, who as seen in the first half can play a bit of football, in positions they obviously cannae play in.
MacDonald i never gonna work wide right. Holmes will never work wide left.
What was the point bringing McDougall on for two touches of the ball?
I have no idea how the linesman who was a few yards away never saw lovering forearm smash the raith player into the advertising boards...interesting tackle. It may though answer how he managed to give a penalty for that embarassing dive.
That referee is simply not up tp the job, he seemed to have no understanding of the game whatsoever and penalised petty little shoulder charges whilst mysteriously missing a few poor challenges.
smithers-jones
Oct 21 2007, 13:36
QUOTE(philpy @ Oct 20 2007, 18:34)

Had a right good laugh before the game started today, i was in the toilets chatting to one of the other lads, and i said to him "could be worse, could be a celtic fan", much to the annoyance of a ned who was standing further along, and as the ned walked out the door, he shouted "aye, it'l no be that when the rovers git humped the day"

Hilarious, it must be a right laugh in those toilets!
Michael W
Oct 21 2007, 16:17
QUOTE(Ron Burgundy @ Oct 21 2007, 14:34)

I have no idea how the linesman who was a few yards away never saw lovering forearm smash the raith player into the advertising boards...interesting tackle. It may though answer how he managed to give a penalty for that embarassing dive.
I thought the ref was fair: gave Airdrie everything 1st half and us everything second half

Seriously though, I agree he had a poor game. Some strange decisions. The match highlights should be up soon so we'll see if Hislop dived and hopefully we get a replay of the Carcary incident.
smithers-jones
Oct 21 2007, 16:23
QUOTE(The Todd @ Oct 21 2007, 17:17)

I thought the ref was fair: gave Airdrie everything 1st half and us everything second half

Seriously though, I agree he had a poor game. Some strange decisions. The match highlights should be up soon so we'll see if Hislop dived and hopefully we get a replay of the Carcary incident.
Can you put a link to the match highlights? I'm a but hazy about the match for some reason.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.