Full Version: Peterhead 0-1 Raith
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
MonTheRovers!!
Great win for us today. Really pleased.

1st half i thought that we dominated the play, and dictated most of the match without too much of a reply.

Second half was another story though, backs to the wall job!

Sloan's goal was a bit fortious (sp?) and took a wicked deflection off the defender.

Andy Tod's goal was ruled out to the bewilderment of the whole stadium apart from the man in the middle - who had a bad day at the office.

Still, another three points heading into the international break.

Get in! smile.gif
CALDERON
I thought that right up till we had the goal chopped off, we were more or less in control. Peterhead rallied a bit after that, and had lots of possesion without really causing us too much problems. A few good stops by Fahey and a Marv clearance, but all in all im happy with the win.

I think substitutions need to be more effective though, at about 60 mins into the game, it was clear that we needed some fresh legs, yet no change from Mglynn.

Never mind, a well earned 3 points to take us through the break! biggrin.gif
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE(CALDERON @ Oct 6 2007, 19:57) *
I thought that right up till we had the goal chopped off, we were more or less in control. Peterhead rallied a bit after that, and had lots of possesion without really causing us too much problems. A few good stops by Fahey and a Marv clearance, but all in all im happy with the win.

I think substitutions need to be more effective though, at about 60 mins into the game, it was clear that we needed some fresh legs, yet no change from Mglynn.

Never mind, a well earned 3 points to take us through the break! biggrin.gif

Agree with that. Big Toddy was blowing out his arse with 20 to go.
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(CALDERON @ Oct 6 2007, 19:57) *

Agreed. Just back from the game after getting lost in Aberdeen unsure.gif Apart from the first 10 minutes we were on top until the disallowed goal, then we saw the Rovers of the last couple of home games with bad passing and control in midfield. After that Peterhead more or less took over and there were a few scares and they looked a decent team.

At the end I twice heard home fans say Rovers were the best team theyve seen up there this season.
Cliche Guevara
At the end I twice heard home fans say Rovers were the best team theyve seen up there this season.

congratulations on being better than Alloa, Cowdenbeath, Berwick and Queens Park
CALDERON
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 6 2007, 20:12) *
Agreed. Just back from the game after getting lost in Aberdeen unsure.gif Apart from the first 10 minutes we were on top until the disallowed goal, then we saw the Rovers of the last couple of home games with bad passing and control in midfield. After that Peterhead more or less took over and there were a few scares and they looked a decent team.

Howd ya manage to get lost in Aberdeen?

Really handy game for me, as i stay in a village not far from Ellon, which Rovers fans may have past on the way up, certainly makes a change from the 4 hour round trips!
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(Alun @ Oct 6 2007, 20:20) *
congratulations on being better than Alloa, Cowdenbeath, Berwick and Queens Park

I should have added that one of them shouted over 'How the fuk did you get beat by Ayr United?'
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(CALDERON @ Oct 6 2007, 20:21) *
Howd ya manage to get lost in Aberdeen?

Really handy game for me, as i stay in a village not far from Ellon, which Rovers fans may have past on the way up, certainly makes a change from the 4 hour round trips!

I'm still trying to figure that out. The streets just started to get narrower, with traffic lights every hundred yards blink.gif Eventually ended up in Union Street, from where I got my bearings again.

I left at 11:30 and got into the McDonalds at the first Peterhead roundabout at 2pm, but there were no roadworks or traffic holdups. Took an extra 20 minutes coming back.
Martin Nelson
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 6 2007, 20:36) *
I'm still trying to figure that out. The streets just started to get narrower, with traffic lights every hundred yards blink.gif Eventually ended up in Union Street, from where I got my bearings again.

I left at 11:30 and got into the McDonalds at the first Peterhead roundabout at 2pm, but there were no roadworks or traffic holdups. Took an extra 20 minutes coming back.

That happened to me once on the way back from Peterhead as well. No idea how it happened!

Anyway, a great 3 points for us today. 5 games played up there and we've still to concede a goal, Can't be bad eh?!!
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(Martin Nelson @ Oct 6 2007, 20:41) *
That happened to me once on the way back from Peterhead as well. No idea how it happened!

Anyway, a great 3 points for us today. 5 games played up there and we've still to concede a goal, Can't be bad eh?!!

I seem to remember coming to a roundabout with a signpost to Inverness with no indication of the route south. I think I maybe took a wrong turn of two or three alternatives there. First time Ive been to Peterhead. The inside of the ground reminded me of New Bayview, except for the extra stand.
rw89
Fantastic result today. Good to see us distance ourselves from the likes of Alloa and Peterhead who have had excellent starts to their season. Hopefully we can go into the game against Airdrie at home without suffering the consequences of the boo-boys. Would happily see us take a 1-0 win there. All in all a great result to keep up our form up north.
kilgour11
good Raith turnout?
Mon the Rovers
I'm over the moon to get the victory in a very difficult place to go, especially after the way Peterhead have started.

I think we just shaded the match overall, Peterhead never really threatened much until late on, which you would expect. Goal was lucky, but I'm not really bothered.

Anyone shed any light on why Tod's goal was disallowed?
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Oct 6 2007, 21:41) *
good Raith turnout?

About 300 of us I'd guess.
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Oct 6 2007, 22:06) *
Anyone shed any light on why Tod's goal was disallowed?

Allegedly for shoving the defender, but only the ref saw it.
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 6 2007, 22:19) *
Allegedly for shoving the defender, but only the ref saw it.

I was totally mystified with the decision to be honest, perhaps I'm just biased though.

Raith_Raver
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Oct 6 2007, 22:28) *
I was totally mystified with the decision to be honest, perhaps I'm just biased though.

Everyone seemed to be mystified. Even the two Peterhead stewards near us thought it should have been a goal.
Andy.C
QUOTE(Alun @ Oct 6 2007, 20:20) *

Bitter as fuck! laugh.gif

Cliche Guevara
I should have added that one of them shouted over 'How the fuk did you get beat by Ayr United?'

biggrin.gif

It wouldn't surprise me. I hope you told him in laborious detail how it was all your goalkeeper's fault

ph34r.gif
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(Alun @ Oct 7 2007, 01:40) *
biggrin.gif

It wouldn't surprise me. I hope you told him in laborious detail how it was all your goalkeeper's fault

ph34r.gif

No, we didnt. We left him to ponder a great unsolved mystery.
Yoss
Mostly a good performance. Rather like last week the failure to turn possession into chances and kill off the game while on top nearly cost us, ended up under the cosh and Peterhead had enough pressure during those last twenty minutes to consider themselves a bit unlucky not to take something, but nonetheless I thought Raith were the better side for most of the game.

Interesting formation (though obviously dictated by the players available), 4-4-2 but with a midfield diamond - Davidson at the base and Weir the tip, with Sloan and Silvestro either side. That asks a lot of Davo in the holding role and I thought he had a very good first half, always seemed to be in the right place to break-up oncoming attacks, before fading towards the end.

Ref signalled a push for Tod's goal; I didn't see any such push myself but then I was ballwatching and it may have been just before the ball came over. The ref was fine apart from that anyway. The actual goal I thought was Hislop's last touch, but everyone seems to be crediting it to Sloan.

Another good away win anyway, well done the lads, well done the fans for making some noise again, and to big Marv for taking the ribbing in good humour, he was clearly trying not to laugh in the first couple of minutes.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE(Yoss @ Oct 7 2007, 09:25) *
Mostly a good performance. Rather like last week the failure to turn possession into chances and kill off the game while on top nearly cost us, ended up under the cosh and Peterhead had enough pressure during those last twenty minutes to consider themselves a bit unlucky not to take something, but nonetheless I thought Raith were the better side for most of the game.

Interesting formation (though obviously dictated by the players available), 4-4-2 but with a midfield diamond - Davidson at the base and Weir the tip, with Sloan and Silvestro either side. That asks a lot of Davo in the holding role and I thought he had a very good first half, always seemed to be in the right place to break-up oncoming attacks, before fading towards the end.

Ref signalled a push for Tod's goal; I didn't see any such push myself but then I was ballwatching and it may have been just before the ball came over. The ref was fine apart from that anyway. The actual goal I thought was Hislop's last touch, but everyone seems to be crediting it to Sloan.

Another good away win anyway, well done the lads, well done the fans for making some noise again, and to big Marv for taking the ribbing in good humour, he was clearly trying not to laugh in the first couple of minutes.

That was fantastic, he eventually gave up and you could see him smiling. You'll always get a good laugh with the Rovers fans.
Andy.C
QUOTE(Yoss @ Oct 7 2007, 09:25) *
4-4-2 but with a midfield diamond - Davidson at the base and Weir the tip, with Sloan and Silvestro either side. That asks a lot of Davo in the holding role and I thought he had a very good first half, always seemed to be in the right place to break-up oncoming attacks before fading towards the end.

I wasnt there yesterday but from that description it sounds like John McGlynn tried out a wee tactic he learned at the coaching meetings he goes to.
European teams sit a defensive midfielder in front of the defence to protect the defence and Davo is totally suited to that kind of role.

We had a wee hiccup at home recently but John McGlynn is a bloody fantastic manager.
Scottydog
I spoke at half time to a P'heider that I used to work beside and he was also adamant (he kept singing "Prince Charming" rolleyes.gif) that we were far and away the best team they'd seen so far and how the fcuk did Ayr beat us?, he also thought the ref was psih and that the bluetoon had never scored against us at balmoor and didn't look like they ever will. I wholeheartily agreed with 2 out of 3 of that lot but by full time was willing to agree that the ref was a total p***k too.

We were brilliant in the 1st half and as stated up until the chalked off goal, then we lost our way and had to hang on. Fahey was MOM for me with his 2nd half heroics, but for him being back to his best it would have been a not totally undeserved draw.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE(Scottydog @ Oct 7 2007, 11:18) *
I spoke at half time to a P'heider that I used to work beside and he was also adamant (he kept singing "Prince Charming" rolleyes.gif ) that we were far and away the best team they'd seen so far and how the fcuk did Ayr beat us?, he also thought the ref was psih and that the bluetoon had never scored against us at balmoor and didn't look like they ever will. I wholeheartily agreed with 2 out of 3 of that lot but by full time was willing to agree that the ref was a total p***k too.

We were brilliant in the 1st half and as stated up until the chalked off goal, then we lost our way and had to hang on. Fahey was MOM for me with his 2nd half heroics, but for him being back to his best it would have been a not totally undeserved draw.

Can't agree with that. I thought Craig Wislon was the best player on the park yesterday. Closely followed by Silvestro.
Scottydog
On the lighter side huh.gif or should that be heavier side , it looks on yesterdays evidence that Bobby Mann or should I say Blobby Mann is on the same diet as L'east Fife's Kev Fotheringham these days.

Jesus H Christ even Arman One's erse wisnae that wide. unsure.gif
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(Scottydog @ Oct 7 2007, 15:14) *
On the lighter side huh.gif or should that be heavier side , it looks on yesterdays evidence that Bobby Mann or should I say Blobby Mann is on the same diet as L'east Fife's Kev Fotheringham these days.

...even Arman One's erse wisnae that wide. unsure.gif

I thought Armand had a tight erse? unsure.gif
Scottydog
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 7 2007, 15:17) *
I thought Armand had a tight erse? unsure.gif

I bow to your insider knowledge unsure.gif
MonTheRovers!!
Was that their number 4?
p&b is a disgrace
It would be nice if a Peterheid fan contributed to this thread.
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(Scottydog @ Oct 7 2007, 17:33) *
I bow to your insider knowledge unsure.gif

He always looked like he was wearing hotpants blink.gif
bluetooner
QUOTE(PnB is a disgrace @ Oct 7 2007, 15:28) *
It would be nice if a Peterhead fan contributed to the game

Well considering neither of the 2 of us who post on here actually were at the game, would be difficult.

From the Peterhead forum, it sounds as though there are a few biased reports on here. (although that could be the Peterhead fans also - so cant say anything). From what they said, Raith were pretty poor, played route 1 football all game, got a lucky goal and bullied their way to a win. The ref was supposed to have been dreadful, not punishing the Raith tackles/fouls all game. There was no mention of the dissalowed goal, but Peterhead supposedly had the best of the first 20 minutes, last 30 minutes and deserved a draw.

Predictable result really, just like Morton always went to Balmoor and got a good thrashing, you lot seem to be a stick on for a 1-0 win sad.gif
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(bluetooner @ Oct 7 2007, 22:08) *
From the Peterhead forum, it sounds as though there are a few biased reports on here. (although that could be the Peterhead fans also - so cant say anything). From what they said, Raith were pretty poor, played route 1 football all game, got a lucky goal and bullied their way to a win. The ref was supposed to have been dreadful, not punishing the Raith tackles/fouls all game. There was no mention of the dissalowed goal, but Peterhead supposedly had the best of the first 20 minutes, last 30 minutes and deserved a draw.

Predictable result really, just like Morton always went to Balmoor and got a good thrashing, you lot seem to be a stick on for a 1-0 win sad.gif

The goal was a lucky deflection, but we had a few near things before that, especially a Tod sitter. I would say Peterhead were on top for the first 10 minutes, and after that it was all Rovers until the last 5 minutes of the first half. We played a lot of good stuff on the deck, tho we did punt a few balls up towards Tod.

The second half was a reversal of the first, with Rovers on top for the first 10 minutes or so until the goal was chalked off. After that it was mostly Peterhead, with Rovers only hitting on the break, not very effectively. If the goal had stood it wouldnt have flattered us, but the let off gave Peterhead a big lift and swung the run of play. It was a close thing in the end, but I think we just about deserved the win.

Edit - about the ref, in the first half he didnt give Peterhead much at all, with a few fouls not given. In the second half he seemed to change and penalised us a lot and didnt do us any favours in the big decisions, especially chalking off the goal just because Tod had a height advantage over the defender. In the second half too the linesman wrongly called for offside against us a couple of times when we looked dangerous.
BIGQ FAE KDY
Well considering neither of the 2 of us who post on here actually were at the game, would be difficult.

what a lot of biased pish mad.gif mad.gif
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(BIGQ FAE KDY @ Oct 7 2007, 22:37) *
what a lot of biased pish mad.gif mad.gif

Nope, it not a fair account of Rovers play and exaggerates Peterhead's a bit.
Monster

Hmmmm.....exactly the same was said in the 'report' about the Ayr game last week.

Wonder who wrote it? Was it an embittered oompah-loompah by any chance?
Steven
I wonder if your friend has an Alias on the Peterhead forum wink.gif

http://www.peterheadfc.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2059

Not sure what happened today. Very poor game. Raith top of the league, what a joke! Sure table doesn't lie but if all it takes to win leagues is commiting fouls endlessly, filling your team with strapping 6 footers and playing route one football I think I'll pack up and head for the golf course.

Peterhead were poor today and lost to a dreadful team. Sure Raith forced two outstanding saves from Kulac but they have one game plan. They pass once or twice , lump it forward and hope for a knock on or touch. If that fails they pass again and try same route! How Paterson and Cooper failed to mastermind a method against this I'm amazed. Sadly Peterhead played the same way! Lumping balls forward was no use. Andrews is a massive guy and Bav had no chance. How Andrews ever played for Rangers still amazes me tho, the ball is hoofed clear every time, such finesse! Tiredness in Raith was always going to happen and it is no coincidence we had the last 20 mins or so as they were done. Big strapping guys can't run for 90 mins so it amazed me more that Mckay or Isted was not used as they have pace to burn.

Playing against 12 men also didn't help. I lost count how many fouls Raith players committed without punishment. I have defended refs before as its a really tough job but today's ref was a disaster. Blatant handballs, a foul against Peterhead because a Raith player trips over his own feet, climbing by Mr Andrews throughout the list goes on and on.

The defeat is no way disastrous as we have now played all teams and sit in a good spot just off the top but I do wonder if all the speculation about the management had an effect? Worth pondering?

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Andy.C
QUOTE(Steven @ Oct 8 2007, 10:16) *

Loved this sig from 'Amp'...........

Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. Give a man a net, and he'll eat for a lifetime. What do you mean he doesn't like fish? Jees you try to help somebody...

Also, I thought this guy hit the nail on the head............

balmoor-blue Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 6:30 pm

Agree with most of the comments made so far about the game against Raith but I think (unfortunately) that building a team around players of height and stature does work at this level of the game.

Raith have dominating players in the vital positions of defence and attack with the result that they can opt to play high balls into the opposition area knowing that teams such as PFC will have difficulty coping - especially at set pieces where we cannot deal with 4 or 5 tall players - Kula produced another excellent performance and probably should have been MotM.

I think that Raith will go close to winning this division this season but we can certainly be pleased with the battling qualities displayed by PFC given that Raith were such a physical side and I think that Kula is improving each week and is now looking a very good keeper.

Yoss
That second report is much close to the mark than the first one. I think he / she overestimates our title chances a bit, but they're right that you do need to be able to mix it physically at this level, and Raith can.
CALDERON
QUOTE(Steven @ Oct 8 2007, 10:16) *

Haha that is soo funny laugh.gif laugh.gif

How bitter can you get?

With the exception of a late 20 minute surge, Peterhead were pretty poor and had Todd's goal been allowed, we could have easily scored 3 or 4.

Mon the Rovers
I thought that our fans were bitter!
Michael W
Great that we managed to get the 3 points. We get better results away from home and I think this is due to the fans expecting too much from our home games. Hopefully we can get a result against Airdrie in 2 weeks time and keep the pressure on Ross County.
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(CALDERON @ Oct 8 2007, 12:36) *
How bitter can you get?
With the exception of a late 20 minute surge, Peterhead were pretty poor and had Todd's goal been allowed, we could have easily scored 3 or 4.

Not really fair, Peterhead were a decent team who passed the ball about well. We were good for the first hour and snuffed Peterhead out but we were poor after that and Peterhead started to look good. I agree maybe if Tod's goal had stood we might have gone on to a 3-0 win but everything considered I think 1-0 was about right.

Edit - as for Peterhead saying we were a fouling team, I thought it was a pretty fair game, but they should look at their number 7 Sharp, who's a dirty wee sneaky shite.
Yoss
Graham Weir is a dirty wee shite too.
(But he's our dirty wee shite, so it's okay.)
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(Yoss @ Oct 8 2007, 17:32) *
Graham Weir is a dirty wee shite too.
(But he's our dirty wee shite, so it's okay.)

Aye, and Davo has a tendancy to upend anything that moves past him. Still, I didnt notice them being particularly bad on Saturday. Campbell's booking was the only bad one I noticed. Cant say that Davo and Campbell are sneaky nigglers tho, when they foul you know its a foul. Its the sneaky stuff which is designed to get players to retaliate and booked that players and fans hate.
Scottydog
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 8 2007, 17:47) *
Aye, and Davo has a tendancy to upend anything that moves past him. Still, I didnt notice them being particularly bad on Saturday. Campbell's booking was the only bad one I noticed. Cant say that Davo and Campbell are sneaky nigglers tho, when they foul you know its a foul. Its the sneaky stuff which is designed to get players to retaliate and booked that players and fans hate.

Like the sneaky punch in the puss that Silvo gave Gillfillan on our last visit laugh.gif

"Route 1 football"? not in the first half and I can't say I noticed too much of it in the 2nd either huh.gif
"You'se are the best team we've seen so far, how the f**k did Ayr beat ye's?" Asked Wullie that I used to work offshore beside. His grip on reality seemed fine to me at half time;)
We had answers for anything that they threw at us while the reverse was not true, at least until the ref chalked off a perfectly good Tod goal.

Not a vintage performance but it sooooo nearly was, or at least it would have been if we hadn't let them into it in the 2hd hauf.
doulikefish
questions have to be asked

did quinny but a round ?ohmy.gif

what were fifes finest doing in ballies a bar frequented by homos??? cool.gif

Ricoh
QUOTE(doulikefish @ Oct 11 2007, 10:05) *
questions have to be asked

did quinny but a round ?ohmy.gif

You seem to have answered your own question, if Quinny was "butting around"
Here to help
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(doulikefish @ Oct 11 2007, 10:05) *

We wouldnt be familiar with either Peterhead bars or homos. Might be the only place some of our poofy forwards would score tho dry.gif
bluetooner
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 11 2007, 13:21) *
We wouldnt be familiar with either Peterhead bars or homos. Might be the only place some of our poofy forwards would score tho dry.gif

Cmon don't lie. You could have told the truth and said that Steven was wanting to get lucky wink.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.