Full Version: Feed The Baird
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
fife dark blue
Another 2 for the wee man and another 3 points for the Mo.
toffee
QUOTE(fife dark blue @ Oct 6 2007, 19:31) *
Another 2 for the wee man and another 3 points for the Mo.

yeah another good win, great to be back on track, also good to see rodgers on the score sheet, lots more will follow
Links_Park_Dynamo
We played well enough today. Wasn't that impressed with East Stirling it has to be said. We scored 3 and could of had more but thats the way football is I suppose. The assistant ref on the stand side was useless today.

Good to see Mad Bill with a scotmid plastic bag the day instead of the usual Tesco's one. Also for him to wander round & into the stand to shout some abuse at Wylde was priceless.
montrosefc
We've played better thjis season but still a good result and a hard-working team effort.
Thought Rodgers was excellent today an posed a continual threat to the 'Shire defence and took his goal well.
Gull
Our managers bizarre team selection had us all baffled today - we weren`t at the races at all in the 1st half and by the time things got sorted out were were 2 goals down. 2nd half was much better but we just couldn`t claw back the defecit - our hoodoo persists. Montrose looked a much improved outfit from last season and look as if they might well be there or thereabouts in the playoffs. I was a little puzzled that with a decent surface to play on why a lot of the Montrose play seemed to be in the air - this sort of stuff might well work to their advantage at other folks grounds in winter though I suppose.
montrose 5 forfar 1
I thought we played alot of good football today with Rodgers at the centre of most of it! He would get my man of match vote. The Linesman at the stand side was a complete arsehole who wasnt even watching the game at a penalty shout huh.gif
The defence was preety solid apart from the start of second half! Peat also had good game! Overall good team performence! smile.gif

Bring on Elgin!
mo ultra
QUOTE(montrose 5 forfar 1 @ Oct 6 2007, 22:31) *
I thought we played alot of good football today with Rodgers at the centre of most of it! He would get my man of match vote. The Linesman at the stand side was a complete arsehole who wasnt even watching the game at a penalty shout huh.gif
The defence was preety solid apart from the start of second half! Peat also had good game! Overall good team performence! smile.gif

Bring on Elgin!

Coudnt agree more, although I was suprised with rodgers performace although Gary Wood will be missed i do think if rodgers plays like that he will make some new fans! huh.gif
And the penalty what game was the Linesman watching!
any news on Bairds apparent injury?
montrose 5 forfar 1
Bairdy seemed to run it off so fingers crossed hes okay.
i was abit dissapointed with Marco Andreoni today seem of the pace...
mo ultra
Aye as befor today i though the partnership of gibby and marco were doing alrite and also good to see baz get on. Overall a good win in the end

b ross
After a swift nologo.gif in the Golf (a pleasant novelty) went to the game hoping for some good wholesome entertainment.

It ended up being a fairly dull affair interjected with some good passages of play from both sides, mostly Montrose though. ES not at the races in the first half and most of their good play came in the final 3rd, sadly not at the back!
Didnt think it was a penalty, from my angle the defender got all of the ball then the Montrose player- its a mans game. Looked more of a pen in the 2nd half when Jay got booked for diving ohmy.gif

Thought Savage was the best ES player on the park and unlucky not to score several, great shot stopping from Peat. No4 was a liability for ES against fast 9, 10, 11 + 12 for Montrose, a handful for any defence.

Result was never in doubt, Mad Bill is as mad as ever and went home with a suntan! thumbup2.gif

montrose 5 forfar 1
it was Gardiner who got booked for diving dry.gif There was contact and the defender got none of ball but i can understand if it looked like a dive to the ref who was about 50 yards behind play mad.gif
b ross
QUOTE(montrose 5 forfar 1 @ Oct 6 2007, 23:46) *
it was Gardiner who got booked for diving dry.gif There was contact and the defender got none of ball but i can understand if it looked like a dive to the ref who was about 50 yards behind play mad.gif

My mistake, did Jay get booked for diving as well at some point? (I only had one pint!)

Unless my contact lenses are broken your wrong about the other (first) pen incident, the defender did get the ball. Ill call vision express the morn. blink.gif
montrose 5 forfar 1
QUOTE(b ross @ Oct 6 2007, 23:58) *
My mistake, did Jay get booked for diving as well at some point? (I only had one pint!)

Unless my contact lenses are broken your wrong about the other (first) pen incident, the defender did get the ball. Ill call vision express the morn. blink.gif

Jeezo laugh.gif only 1? Jay got booked for scoring after the whistle had gone for offside. I ment the defender didnt get the ball when Gardiner went down. The penalty that was given in the first half yes defender got abit of the ball but he clattered into rodgers and i thought it looked like a pen..
b ross
QUOTE(montrose 5 forfar 1 @ Oct 7 2007, 00:02) *
Jeezo laugh.gif only 1? Jay got booked for scoring after the whistle had gone for offside. I ment the defender didnt get the ball when Gardiner went down. The penalty that was given in the first half yes defender got abit of the ball but he clattered into rodgers and i thought it looked like a pen..

Its just a case of crossed wires then!
My point was that the 2nd half claim seemed to me much more of a penalty than the first which I thought was harsh.
Its a topsy turvy old world init! rolleyes.gif
montrose 5 forfar 1
QUOTE(b ross @ Oct 7 2007, 00:04) *
Its just a case of crossed wires then!
My point was that the 2nd half claim seemed to me much more of a penalty than the first which I thought was harsh.
Its a topsy turvy old world init! rolleyes.gif

Well both could of been given both couldnt of so i happy with the 1-1 laugh.gif Glad to see bairdy bang it in this week! wink.gif
Gull
The Montrose keeper Peat had a really excellent game and pulled off 2 or 3 really top drawer saves today to stop us from coming back into the game. The linesman you are talking about was the now grey haired Brian McGarry - a notorious ex ref with Shire fans who, after a truly woeful performance, hold him responsible for our eventual defeat on pens by Edinburgh City in 1998.
Love_Machine
Well that was a fun day out, and we barely watched the football.

First half was dire for us. After the penalty it was as if we just collapsed untill half time. Second half we actually decided to give it a go, but as said before, it was too late. As said, the team selction was....unique/confusing, and we definetly left some of our players more suited to the pitch on the bench.

First time up in Montrose for me, never really had the money to go before, nice little place, and thanks to the Ash Bar who put up with our antics before/after the game. Sorry we didn't visit the social, couple of things happened and i couldn't have the drink i planned to.

I actually felt like 'Mo should have had more in the first half, but the second half was relatively even. Didn't we get a handball in the box turned down as well in the first half, or was that just me trying to make something out from the shadows in the sunshine? Should have brought my shades.
wellibob
the shire fans spent most of the 1st half chanting/singing at some poor bird who's pals had locked her oot the hoose.
typical montrose hsire game which we never seem to win. nebver expected anything else. My only question is who is the bus driver who kept driving his bu thru the centre of our defence? Oh maybe that woul dbe the whole montrose team as our defence was very very bad.
Links_Park_Dynamo
QUOTE(wellibob @ Oct 7 2007, 19:37) *
the shire fans spent most of the 1st half chanting/singing at some poor bird who's pals had locked her oot the hoose.
typical montrose hsire game which we never seem to win. nebver expected anything else. My only question is who is the bus driver who kept driving his bu thru the centre of our defence? Oh maybe that woul dbe the whole montrose team as our defence was very very bad.

The lassie looked like she was shitting herself when you all started singing
Love_Machine
Probably the most entertainment for us though, as our team were as good as being on an island with a plug in radio.
the_russian
QUOTE(wellibob @ Oct 7 2007, 19:37) *

Imagine her horror as a rabid Mad Bill, wild eyed and hairy, belted out horrifying rants, leading his band of cut-throats and pirates, I suspect she's now a gibbering wreck hunched in the corner of a padded cell in a local asylum. Tragic.
Love_Machine
Did you actually just call us pirates? o.O
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.