Full Version: East Fife 4 - 0 Albion Rovers...
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
Mon_The_Fife
Another great win for us but again like last week's win over Stenny we didn't start playing until the 2nd half.

Frist half both teams were poor and it was a scrappy 45 minutes. The referee awarded Albion a penalty for no reason. No Albion players claimed for a penalty and no one was fouled in the box from the corner. McCulloch saved from Hunter and somehow the rebound hit the post from the guy following up with an empty net.

Albion were reduced to 10 men when Donnely was sent off for handball on the line. Cameron scored to make it 1-0.

2nd half we played a lot better and began to create more chances. McCulloch's long kick was missed by Albion's keeper for McManus to squeeze the ball in 2-0.

Bobby Linn got a run out and scored a cracker, McManus did all the work and Linn smacked the 3rd in from around 25 yards. Game Over.

The best centre-half in the world Jonny Smart scored the 4th late on and O'Reilly had a few chances but his luck seems out at the moment.

Not a great performance but a good win and a sign of a good side when you can win convincngly without playing great. biggrin.gif
Faraday
Didn't think we were that great. Albion were unlucky not to score in the first half. Second half we could have scored a lot of goals. Linn looked very good. We played a lot better when he came on, put his foot on the ball a bit. Would like O'Reilly to start, reckon a few games will see him scoring again.

Edit: Smart was absolutely immense. Could have scored 3.
Screamin' Skull
Poor performance in the main by East Fife today despite winning 4 -0. Very pedestrian and only started playing in the last 15 minutes. Made many more chances too but we were totally lacklustre at times. A better team could have punished us today I felt but in the end you've got to be happy with a 4 goal win and performing far from your best.
The referee Charleston was atrocious. Over fussy, and puzzling decisions indeed. The sort who can ruin any game. Awarded AR the softest penalty in the history of the game. Nobody knew what it was for, nobody claimed, evrybody just looked on in bewilderment and it seemed surreal. McCulloch saved the spot kick and the Albion player somehow missed the target from the follow up.
East Fife scored with a penalty by Cameron a few minutes before half time. Albion player handled on the line and was sent off. McKenzie should have walked right after but the pedantic useless ref and linesman missed the incident.
Thought we'd improve second half especially against 10 men but never really started until Linn came on for Walker. What a player he looks.
McManus scored a deserved goal, doggedly following a long through ball and pressurising the defender and keeper.
Linn rifled home a peach and then Smart added a 4th when he ventured upfield.

First quarter gone, 7 wins a draw and a defeat plus a couple of big cup upsets. It's good to be an East Fife supporter right now.

Victorinox
How was Bobby Linn's overall performance ? Great to see him score,just looks to have a lack of confidence when hes playing for us.
Screamin' Skull
Linn only came on as a sub with about 15 or 20 minutes to go. He was very impressive and had a real impact in that time and scored a cracking goal.
Tam EF
QUOTE(BluebirdTon @ Oct 6 2007, 18:05) *
How was Bobby Linn's overall performance ? Great to see him score,just looks to have a lack of confidence when hes playing for us.

Looked really up for it when he came on and scored an absolute peach from about 25 yards. Would imagine he will start for the next game.
Angusfifer
Four nil definitely flattered us. Albion Rovers matched us for an hour before we finally began to carve them open.
The referee was absolutely shocking. Ridiculous decision for the first penalty and the sending-off looked harsh.
Plus points were we ground out a decent win in the end and the performances of McManus and Smart.

Perhaps we are getting a bit demanding, moaning after a 4-0 win though... blink.gif
roy of the rovers
EF certainly look a league winning side IE not playing well but still winning by a clear margin!

Blood referee BTW
Beachcomber
Well it was a bit of a scrap but i dont remember Rovers creating much, especially in the 2nd half. They put in some effort though so credit to them.
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE(Angusfifer @ Oct 6 2007, 18:26) *
Four nil definitely flattered us. Albion Rovers matched us for an hour before we finally began to carve them open.
The referee was absolutely shocking. Ridiculous decision for the first penalty and the sending-off looked harsh.

Totally agree with all of that.

We looked o.k up until the secong goal, even with 10 men, but once that went in it the game was done. Disappointingly, it looked to be yet another howler from our keeper, whose jaiket was already on a very shakey peg. We signed Tony Mitchell during the week and I assume he'll start against Forfar on Tuesday.

As for the East Fife penalty, I was one of the few in our end who reckoned Ciaran did handle the ball, and if that's the case he has to go. However, there was a handling offence in the lead up to it that, which should have seen us with a free kick. That was what our players were raging about.

The one positive was that we've finally found a physical striking presence in the ample frame of Big John Gemmell. I was very impressed with him in the 20 mins he got. He's a brave big guy who is certainly not afraid to take a knock or two, and also looks to have a reasonable touch. We'll need to dust down Big Yardley's old shorts for him though.

Oh and finally, a word for the jobsworths working at Bayview. We all got moved 5 mins into the game because an Associate Director (no less) wasn't happy that we weren't behind 'the chain' that designates the away end. Unsurprisingly, the seats we were originally in remained unoccupied. What is it with football giving insignificant arseholes the opportunity for a power trip?

Gordon EF
We won 4-0 without really looking at our best, which is a very good thing I suppose. Rovers could easily have led at HT and looked OK, certainly not one of the worst teams to come to Bayview this season. With a man down and a goal down though, the game was always ours. It was good to see Dave Baikie throwing the strikers on to try and get more goals and Linn had a good debut. McManus and Smart were both outstanding for the 2nd week running.
GreenOak_Ton
Nice one Bobby Linn.Keep it going EF.Ton supporters are behind you this season after you humped the St Mirren. rolleyes.gif
the_russian
We are simply too good for this league.
SaltyTON
QUOTE(the_russian @ Oct 6 2007, 22:21) *

No you're not, you have Paul Walker, and you've loaned the fourth choice striker of a team who's top scorer before today was a wee boy slower than Brian Rice on 3 goals.
the_russian
QUOTE(SaltyTON @ Oct 6 2007, 22:28) *
No you're not, you have Paul Walker, and you've loaned the fourth choice striker of a team who's top scorer before today was a wee boy slower than Brian Rice on 3 goals.

And you layed Hamilton to win div1 so shut your puss you feckin eejit.
Boghead Ben
QUOTE(Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Oct 6 2007, 18:50) *
Totally agree with all of that.

We looked o.k up until the secong goal, even with 10 men, but once that went in it the game was done. Disappointingly, it looked to be yet another howler from our keeper, whose jaiket was already on a very shakey peg. We signed Tony Mitchell during the week and I assume he'll start against Forfar on Tuesday.

As for the East Fife penalty, I was one of the few in our end who reckoned Ciaran did handle the ball, and if that's the case he has to go. However, there was a handling offence in the lead up to it that, which should have seen us with a free kick. That was what our players were raging about.

The one positive was that we've finally found a physical striking presence in the ample frame of Big John Gemmell. I was very impressed with him in the 20 mins he got. He's a brave big guy who is certainly not afraid to take a knock or two, and also looks to have a reasonable touch. We'll need to dust down Big Yardley's old shorts for him though.

Oh and finally, a word for the jobsworths working at Bayview. We all got moved 5 mins into the game because an Associate Director (no less) wasn't happy that we weren't behind 'the chain' that designates the away end. Unsurprisingly, the seats we were originally in remained unoccupied. What is it with football giving insignificant arseholes the opportunity for a power trip?

Oh dear Flying Spaghetti Monster! You've not signed 'The Beast' have you?

So, what went on with the EFFC jobsworths then Just read on your official site a scathing comment on how the Rovers fans were treated. What happened?
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE(Boghead Ben @ Oct 7 2007, 14:53) *
Oh dear Flying Spaghetti Monster! You've not signed 'The Beast' have you?

So, what went on with the EFFC jobsworths then Just read on your official site a scathing comment on how the Rovers fans were treated. What happened?

Yup, we've got The Beast and first impressions are good. We need a physical presence up front and he's certainly that.

As for getting moved, we sat just the other side of the tunnel and according to a steward with an English accent that was fine as the tunnel gates acted as segregation. However, an Associate Director then sent over another steward who asked us politely to move and we politely refused.

Five minutes later, they sent a supervisor (ginger bespectacled p***k) who told us that the Associate Director wanted us moved or the police would be involved. There was no explanation given as to what risk they thought we posed, nor did the Associate Director come over for a chat himself. The supervisor was an aggressive little cnut, of the type that are all too common in football grounds nowadays.

Anyway, it wasn't the biggest deal and we moved 10 yards down the stand as requested. If we had refused, there was little doubt that PC Plod would have been along, and no one needs that kind of shit on an afternoon out.
Mon_The_Fife
QUOTE(Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Oct 7 2007, 15:50) *
Yup, we've got The Beast and first impressions are good. We need a physical presence up front and he's certainly that.

As for getting moved, we sat just the other side of the tunnel and according to a steward with an English accent that was fine as the tunnel gates acted as segregation. However, an Associate Director then sent over another steward who asked us politely to move and we politely refused.

Five minutes later, they sent a supervisor (ginger bespectacled p***k) who told us that the Associate Director wanted us moved or the police would be involved. There was no explanation given as to what risk they thought we posed, nor did the Associate Director come over for a chat himself. The supervisor was an aggressive little cnut, of the type that are all too common in football grounds nowadays.

Anyway, it wasn't the biggest deal and we moved 10 yards down the stand as requested. If we had refused, there was little doubt that PC Plod would have been along, and no one needs that kind of shit on an afternoon out.

Strange, but I think the seats are reserved on either side of the tunnel for board members of each club. Saying that you did have half a stand to sit anyway.

I liked the look of Gemmell too when he came on. He even won a few headers with Smarty, which is very rare.
Screamin' Skull
What was the problem with moving then if asked politely ?- it wasn't as if there were a shortage of seats for the away end.
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE(Mon_The_Fife @ Oct 7 2007, 16:16) *
Strange, but I think the seats are reserved on either side of the tunnel for board members of each club. Saying that you did have half a stand to sit anyway.

We were quite a bit down from the tunnel and nowhere near the boards of either side. Basically we were moved 10 yards to be the other side of a segregation chain with no explanation as to what risk we were causing.

QUOTE(Screamin' Skull @ Oct 7 2007, 16:17) *
What was the problem with moving then if asked politely ?- it wasn't as if there were a shortage of seats for the away end.

We were quite happy where we were and were causing no problem or stopping anyone getting a seat. Just because someone asks politely doesn't mean you can't also refuse politely and that's what we did. There was no cheek to the first steward just a few of us saying "we're quite happy here thanks" and the boy accepted that and went away. His supervisor colleague then came along and acted aggressively, but still didn't explain what the problem was.

Boghead Ben
QUOTE(Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Oct 7 2007, 16:34) *
We were quite a bit down from the tunnel and nowhere near the boards of either side. Basically we were moved 10 yards to be the other side of a segregation chain with no explanation as to what risk we were causing.

We were quite happy where we were and were causing no problem or stopping anyone getting a seat. Just because someone asks politely doesn't mean you can't also refuse politely and that's what we did. There was no cheek to the first steward just a few of us saying "we're quite happy here thanks" and the boy accepted that and went away. His supervisor colleague then came along and acted aggressively, but still didn't explain what the problem was.

That seems to be the lot of the steward at football grounds these days. At lower league level they can be aggressive yet at SPL grounds when teams are playing Euro matches, they don't notice fans escaping onto the pitch!

Who was the associate director then? And why should he be so bothered?
Gordon EF
I'm never usually on the side of stewards but there is segregation at Bayview and you weren't sitting in the right area, what's the problem?
Faraday
QUOTE(Gordon EF @ Oct 7 2007, 16:49) *
I'm never usually on the side of stewards but there is segregation at Bayview and you weren't sitting in the right area, what's the problem?

I'm not sure I totally understand this. They were sitting on the left hand side of the tunnel, is that not the away end? What is the chain they are talking about? Is this the bit of plastic that indicates where opposition directors may sit? Or are there more condemned seats that haven't been replaced?

I assume the problem is that no one tried to explain and be reasonable with them. It was just "oot or ah'll call the polis".
The Warrior
QUOTE(Faraday @ Oct 7 2007, 19:18) *
What is the chain they are talking about?

About 3/4 of the way down the stand, at the last exit for the pie hut/toilets etc there is a chain runs from top to bottom of the stand. Apparantly this is the new segregation in force, but noone actually tells you this until someone sits in the 'chained off' area.

We had the same problem last week when the 'head steward' decided it would be fun to pick on a 7 or 8 year old boy.
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE(Faraday @ Oct 7 2007, 19:18) *
I assume the problem is that no one tried to explain and be reasonable with them. It was just "oot or ah'll call the polis".

Exactly!

West Ham Knoll Boy
QUOTE(the_russian @ Oct 6 2007, 22:21) *

You are indeed an absolute A Hole!
the_russian
QUOTE(West Ham Knoll Boy @ Oct 7 2007, 20:37) *
You are indeed an absolute A Hole!

k thnx
WillieHague
After taking time to reflect I have decided to eventually comment on this game and the over the top treatment of our loyal fans! mad.gif

We were rather good in the first half, but the penalty miss was well, unfortunate.
East Fife were pish poor for the majority of the game and didn't really deserve the lead at Half Time. Craig Charleston, the referee, well he's a clausit w**ker! wink.gif

Ciaran Donnelly, did not, I repeat did not handle the ball to prevent any goalscoring oppertunity! huh.gif

The whole "Get behind the chain" issue, well the least said about that the better, East Fife's 'Associate' Director asked us to move and we did so only to be insulted by a bunch of teen morons laugh.gif

In a moronic chant, which I hope bites them on the arse they sang in chorus,

"We're top of the league and your no!"

Only to be met with the legendary reply;

" We're top of the food chain and your no!"

We shall hit form, hopefully starting tommorow night. cool.gif
the_russian
QUOTE(WillieHague @ Oct 8 2007, 19:27) *

And then two hijacked roflcopters flew into the power station chimney.
Mon_The_Fife
QUOTE(WillieHague @ Oct 8 2007, 19:27) *
The whole "Get behind the chain" issue, well the least said about that the better, East Fife's 'Associate' Director asked us to move and we did so only to be insulted by a bunch of teen morons laugh.gif

We shall hit form, hopefully starting tommorow night. cool.gif

laugh.gif blink.gif