Casper Rose
Oct 6 2007, 16:31
Pish, we dominated all game and lacked the cutting edge that couldv'e (and should've) finished them off. Ayr are a bunch of timewasting thugs. Discuss.
onegaryteale
Oct 6 2007, 16:41
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ Oct 6 2007, 17:31)

Pish, we dominated all game and lacked the cutting edge that couldv'e (and should've) finished them off. Ayr are a bunch of timewasting thugs. Discuss.
Did
anyone else except you make it out alive? Or did the massive riot some Ayr fans seemed to be expecting kill everyone?
davidkennedyshand
Oct 6 2007, 16:44
Why are we thugs??
Last i looked it was 3 bookings each.
onegaryteale
Oct 6 2007, 16:46
QUOTE(davidkennedyshand @ Oct 6 2007, 17:44)

Why are we thugs??
It's because Airdrie didn't win, he's clearly projecting all his anger about his team's inability to finish onto out innocent players. Classic.
davidkennedyshand
Oct 6 2007, 16:47
Bet we're "Lucky" by half 7.
thediamonddude
Oct 6 2007, 16:59
I'm actually pretty disappointed with the draw to be honest, Ayr had one clear effort on goal which Robertson saved and a few long range efforts that went past the post but that was it.
Ayr started very lively and I thought for the first 10/15 mins we just weren't at the races, however, after that we started picking up a bit and played much better.
We played very nice football at times and created a lot more in the second half as well including 2 Bryan Prunty efforts, one which looked to have beaten Corr after a poor header from Forrest put Prunty in the clear but somehow Corr managed to tip it wide with his foot. The other was an effort from the edge of the box which Corr almost spilled into the net, we also had strong periods of pressure where crosses whistled across goal and efforts were blocked by defenders. We just couldn't find the net though.
Ayr were okay but looked fairly toothless in the final third but if we don't start putting games like this to bed when we have the chance then we won't be anywhere near the league title in May.
Michael Moore is a thug, he always has been and always will be. He was elbowing, kicking and moaning all game yet somehow escaped with just a yellow. Fair bit of timewasting from Ayr with about 20 mins to go as they looked happy with the draw but then time wasting seems to happen every week in this league
Standouts for us today were big Sharp, Lovers, Graeme Holmes and Allan Russell who all played well. Bryan Prunty worked hard and Steven McDougall looked very sharp and worked hard when he came on. I really hope another poor performance from Kevin McDonald will see Kenny drop him for the Raith game, get McDougall out on the right as K McD just isn't interested at all.
Casper Rose
QUOTE(davidkennedyshand @ Oct 6 2007, 17:44)

Why are we thugs??
The "challenge" on Graeme Holmes for a start son.
glensburgh
naw, only moore (king of the the flying elbow) was lucky the ref was related.
davidkennedyshand
Oct 6 2007, 17:02
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ Oct 6 2007, 17:59)

The "challenge" on Graeme Holmes for a start son.
Sorry faither i wasn't there..i asked a question
Casper Rose
Oct 6 2007, 17:03
QUOTE(davidkennedyshand @ Oct 6 2007, 18:02)

Sorry faither i wasn't there..i asked a question
Well by using the pointless statistics you were implicating we were as bad as you lot, and for that you are a dick.
davidkennedyshand
Oct 6 2007, 17:06
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ Oct 6 2007, 18:03)

Well by using the pointless statistics you were implicating we were as bad as you lot, and for that you are a dick.

Why were your players booked??
Just out of interest..
QUOTE(davidkennedyshand @ Oct 6 2007, 18:06)

Why were your players booked??
Just out of interest..
Tackles which weren't boooked in the rest of the game for either team. Inconsistency from the ref. Moore elbowed his way through the whole game and the rest of the ayr team were ok until the second half. Think it was the left back who got a yellow for pulling holmes back and then trying to wrestle him to the ground. The worst example of pulling back i've ever seen
anyway, Ayr don't look too great this season and how we didn't bury this is beyond me. Airdrie had most of the possession and apart from maybe 2 chances, small spells of pressure and a couple of long range wide efforts from ayr , airdrie dominated. Disappointed with the result but big sharp lovering russel and mcdougall all looked good . dosser and darren smith also gave a solid performance.
Somerset
Oct 6 2007, 17:53
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ Oct 6 2007, 17:31)

Without using statistics, pointless or otherwise, can you tell the fans who weren't at the game why Ayr (the entire team?) are a bunch of 'timewasting thugs?
You mentioned a 'challenge' on Holmes - who was it and did it earn a booking?
I blame the refs for most of it.
QUOTE(Somerset @ Oct 6 2007, 18:53)

Without using statistics, pointless or otherwise, can you tell the fans who weren't at the game why Ayr (the entire team?) are a bunch of 'timewasting thugs?
You mentioned a 'challenge' on Holmes - who was it and did it earn a booking?
I blame the refs for most of it.
The entire team weren't timewasting thugs , just the one's who managed to take throw ins and tackle. Seriously though, They weren't that bad just moore and the 2 full backs i felt. Holmes was going down te right wing and skint him easily . The left back then grabbed holmes left shoulder of his shirt. Holmes didn't stop immediately so both arms were needed to pull him right back. It was one of those tackles that it was so bad for the type of it you were asking for a red because of the intent but you knew it just wasn't a red card, if you know what i mean
Cliche Guevara
Oct 6 2007, 18:02
Moore and Williams have scored thirteen goals between them, as well as Stevenson having scored six from midfield. We generally seem to be able to score goals, but perhaps the midweek game took it out of the players. We were great at Dunfermline.
Somerset
Oct 6 2007, 18:04
QUOTE(mn07 @ Oct 6 2007, 19:00)

The entire team weren't timewasting thugs , just the one's who managed to take throw ins and tackle. Seriously though, They weren't that bad just moore and the 2 full backs i felt. Holmes was going down te right wing and skint him easily . The left back then grabbed holmes left shoulder of his shirt. Holmes didn't stop immediately so both arms were needed to pull him right back. It was one of those tackles that it was so bad for the type of it you were asking for a red because of the intent but you knew it just wasn't a red card, if you know what i mean

The three you mentioned all got yellow cards so seems fair enough. We had the same situation last week with Bobby Mann who brought Jerome down after getting a yellow and the ref bottled it. Sometimes it works out as a 'good' card to take for the team. Not sporting, but what team is?
QUOTE(Somerset @ Oct 6 2007, 19:04)

The three you mentioned all got yellow cards so seems fair enough. We had the same situation last week with Bobby Mann who brought Jerome down after getting a yellow and the ref bottled it. Sometimes it works out as a 'good' card to take for the team. Not sporting, but what team is?
In Ayr's perspective it was a good card to take as holmes was clean through on the wing but for us not the best of tackle's. Don't think it would have gained a red by most refs though
Only Moore was a thug today - but it shouldn't surprise anybody, since he always has been. I've never seen any other player lead into every single challenge with his elbow and get away with it so much.
As for time-wasting - why was the Ayr keeper doing it from the moment the game started?? I mean quite literally from the word go, he was taking an absolute age over goal kicks.
Very frustrating day, because we were obviously by far the better team, but yet again lacked a cutting edge. I think it's time McDougall got a few starts, as when he came on, he was everything Waddle hadn't been.
Ayr's number 6 looked excellent - was that Stevenson, by any chance?
Somerset
Oct 6 2007, 18:26
QUOTE(RedV @ Oct 6 2007, 19:25)

Ayr's number 6 looked excellent - was that Stevenson, by any chance?
Yes.
Crap game. Airdrie passed the ball around well but didnt create much. We hoofed the ball long all day and created even less.
Any time the ball is given to Stevenson its like he's expected to go all the way with it. Midfield was really poor today, looked a bit better at the end when Casey came on who is surely worth a start. As my father pointed out on the way home, Watt has made a good squad but we just aren't playing our best starting 11.
Moore was totally ineffective today. He really hasn't been at the races the last few weeks in my opinion. Dunn was Dunn

(Casey did more in 5 mins than he did all game) and yet again we had nothing going down the flanks.
Crap
Ron Burgundy
Oct 6 2007, 18:41
there was one single piece of entertainment all game.....Lovers taking out two Ayr players with one tackle....nothing more...when we had possession it was like a fucking training match....it got considerably better once macdougal came on but deary me.
QUOTE(Ron Burgundy @ Oct 6 2007, 19:41)

there was one single piece of entertainment all game.....Lovers taking out two Ayr players with one tackle....nothing more...when we had possession it was like a fucking training match....it got considerably better once macdougal came on but deary me.
Forgot about that - sublime!
Has anyone else noticed that Ayr have Father Dick Byrne managing them?
Ron Burgundy
Oct 6 2007, 18:48
QUOTE(RedV @ Oct 6 2007, 19:43)

perhaps not worth 15 quid though.....not being able to put teams like that away especially at home means an extended stay in this pissy league....
Diamonds are Forever
Oct 6 2007, 19:08
Game went just as I thought it would, apart from us not gifting Ayr a goal. It's the same every week. Lots of good football, no urgency, no real fight, no pace - until McDougall comes on. Woeful at set-pieces. As I keep saying, I am all for trying to play good football, but the passing football we are playing doesn't work, because it's far too slow.
Still don't see why, after Holmes' performance on the right against Brechin, he's stuck back in the middle and K Mac put on the right

The one time today Holmes did go down the right he skinned 2 guys before getting his shirt pulled off him. Either Holmes or McDougall should be right midfield. Nothing comes down the right the way we play just now. Everything relies on the ball being played into Russell's feet, or giving the ball to Waddell, who more often than not crosses the ball out for a throw-in on the other side. KB is far too cautious, I could understand it last year because we were playing against good teams, but to still be so negative this year, against the rubbish we are up against is crazy.
Tam_O_Shanter
Oct 6 2007, 23:30
A pretty dire game, Ayr huffed and puffed without creating many chances much like midweek, Airdrie weren't much better. 0-0 summed it up.
Pretty poor crowd for Airdrie, compared with our last visits to whatever it's called now stadium, I suppose the Airdrie fans outing to blackpool did clash with the fixture though.
GoRdY_b
Oct 7 2007, 09:15
QUOTE(mn07 @ Oct 6 2007, 18:48)

Moore elbowed his way through the whole game and the rest of the ayr team were ok until the second half. Think it was the left back who got a yellow for pulling holmes back and then trying to wrestle him to the ground. The worst example of pulling back i've ever seen
The left-back is David Lowing and I agree, it was a silly challenge. Ironically enough, the player booked for taking too long over a throw was Steven Swift
On the 'keeper timewasting, Corr hasn't usually a clue what he's doing anyway so indecision is no surprise where he's concerned. If I was an Airdrie supporter, I'd be livid that despite a few good crosses into the area, Corr was able to claim them without any difficulty, a function he's hardly adept at.
Lovering looked his old self and picked up his customary booking.
Moore's reputation seems to have clouded some opinions. I honestly didn't see much in the way of elbows used, no Airdrie player seemed to complain and he was pushed a fair amount of times when rising to head the ball, so swings and roundabouts would be my take on the situation. As I remember, he was booked for not fouling
Think moore was booked for persistent fouling
el Gringo
Oct 7 2007, 09:59
It's not so much "elbowing" by Moore, but every time he goes up for a header he leads with his arm and blocks the opposing player's attempt to get the ball. Which is a foul, but he seems to get away with it almost every time.
Barring that he uses both hands to push players when he's attempting to tackle for the ball, uses both hands to hold players off when he's got the ball, dives, feigns injury, attempts to influence the ref's decisions and attempts to get opposing players booked. In short, he's a cheat. I can't stand the man, I thought we'd seen the last of that shite when Scott Crabbe retired.
I'm surprised no one mentioned the incident at the end of the game when Ayr had a throw in and Moore threw himself backwards into Steven McKeown, a players who's a good foot shorter than him, then flung himself to the ground clutching his head. Absolutely embarassing. Dida-esque even.
GoRdY_b
Oct 7 2007, 10:07
QUOTE(el Gringo AUFC @ Oct 7 2007, 10:59)

It's not so much "elbowing" by Moore, but every time he goes up for a header he leads with his arm and blocks the opposing player's attempt to get the ball. Which is a foul, but he seems to get away with it almost every time.
Barring that he uses both hands to push players when he's attempting to tackle for the ball, uses both hands to hold players off when he's got the ball, dives, feigns injury, attempts to influence the ref's decisions and attempts to get opposing players booked. In short, he's a cheat. I can't stand the man, I thought we'd seen the last of that shite when Scott Crabbe retired.
I'm surprised no one mentioned the incident at the end of the game when Ayr had a throw in and Moore threw himself backwards into Steven McKeown, a players who's a good foot shorter than him, then flung himself to the ground clutching his head. Absolutely embarassing. Dida-esque even.
Evidently the sort of player you prefer to have playing for you than against, a battering ram "bully", the likes of which we have lacked for some time and dare I say, perhaps what Airdrie lack in the final third?
Any chance of taking "Lard arse" Dunn back in a swap for Waddell? Yes, Dunn really is that bad!!!!!
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Oct 7 2007, 10:16
agreed gringo a had only seen the man once or twice before and hes an absolute disgrace to the profession but thats a different story.
As for the game, thought it was pretty diabolical due to the finishing, or lack of it. a home game and to have that much possesion and to not score is criminal.
As for McDougall i aint been his biggest fan this season but totally agree with giving K Macdonald a stint on the bench, Homer wide right, McDougall left and run at part time teams....everytime mcdougall got the ball when he came on he was flying by the right back and actually putting balls into the box but....no-one atacking them. Homer had an excellent second half when drifting to the right funnily enough! Robbo won't have an easier game this year in goals either.
Bankies
Oct 7 2007, 10:20
Sounds like a great game,well worth the money.
Aye right.
el Gringo
Oct 7 2007, 10:22
QUOTE(GoRdY_b @ Oct 7 2007, 11:07)

Evidently the sort of player you prefer to have playing for you than against, a battering ram "bully", the likes of which we have lacked for some time and dare I say, perhaps what Airdrie lack in the final third?
Any chance of taking "Lard arse" Dunn back in a swap for Waddell? Yes, Dunn really is that bad!!!!!
Dunn's not a winger, but he had one excellent season for us in central midfield. Unfortunately at that time we had Marvyn Wilson and Steven Docherty playing really well, so the following season he found himself played on the wing or not at all, and lost the form altogether. Looks like he's put on a lot of weight since then too, but he was player of the year for us that season.
As for Moore... no thanks. We've had battering ram forwards before in Steve Cooper and Andy Smith, and they did it without cheating. I've only ever hated seeing one player in the diamond before, and that was Paul McGrillen, but were we to sign Moore, I'd feel exactly the same.
QUOTE(RedV @ Oct 6 2007, 19:43)

Nah mate...Watts just the father of all dicks.
diamonds2002
Oct 8 2007, 08:01
We are Shite - thanks for your time!
Monster
Oct 8 2007, 08:21
QUOTE(diamonds2002 @ Oct 8 2007, 09:01)

We are Shite - thanks for your time!
Thanks for ripping us off for £15 to watch that shite.

Although, our sublime skills and quick tempo passing football just didn't quite click this week. Kidding! We're shite too.
Casper Rose
Oct 8 2007, 16:37
QUOTE(Monster @ Oct 8 2007, 09:21)

Although, our sublime skills and quick tempo passing football just didn't quite click this week. Kidding! We're shite too.

Nobody kidnapped you, drove you to Craigneuk, put a gun to your head at the away gate and forced you to hand over the £15. So shut up.
Ayrgirl
Oct 8 2007, 17:58
I said I was a student! £10 woohoo
nick cash
Oct 8 2007, 20:08
CAN YOU LIVE WITH YOURSELF THOUGH, SEE YOU IN HELL
vikingTON
Oct 8 2007, 20:12

That's what happens when you buy Jim McInally for 27p and a Neil Watt.
Mucho gracias.
Monster
Oct 9 2007, 07:11
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ Oct 8 2007, 17:37)

Nobody kidnapped you, drove you to Craigneuk, put a gun to your head at the away gate and forced you to hand over the £15. So shut up.
Grow up.
QUOTE(vikingTON @ Oct 8 2007, 21:12)

That's what happens when you buy Jim McInally for 27p and a Neil Watt.
Mucho gracias.

If you think I got the worst of that deal wait until Watt floods Cappielow with players like David hamilton, then recoil in horror.
Raith_Raver
Oct 9 2007, 07:58

Not just the dearest place to watch 2nd division football, but they charge you another couple of quid to park your car on waste ground. It's been like that for ages - I remember Dumbarton fans complaining to Airdrie about their prices and all they got were platitudes. Nice stadium, but youre right, we're being ripped off.
SPACECOWS
Oct 9 2007, 08:34
QUOTE(Raith_Raver @ Oct 9 2007, 08:58)

Not just the dearest place to watch 2nd division football, but they charge you another couple of quid to park your car on waste ground. It's been like that for ages - I remember Dumbarton fans complaining to Airdrie about their prices and all they got were platitudes. Nice stadium, but youre right, we're being ripped off.
Wrong it is a shit stadium and has been poorly constructed. The car park along with many other things were never completed by Barr Construction.
You always have the choice of not parking in the car park (I never do)
Raith_Raver
Oct 9 2007, 10:44
QUOTE(SPACECOWS @ Oct 9 2007, 09:34)

Wrong it is a shit stadium and has been poorly constructed. The car park along with many other things were never completed by Barr Construction.
I mean, you get a good seat and view of the match, in comparison to a lot of places. As for the car, I want the wheels to still be on it when I get back.

OK OK, just kidding - I did park in the street at the last game and had no problem.
onegaryteale
Oct 9 2007, 10:46
QUOTE(SPACECOWS @ Oct 9 2007, 09:34)

You get what you pay for
Raith_Raver
Oct 9 2007, 10:51
QUOTE(onegaryteale @ Oct 9 2007, 11:46)

You get what you pay for

No matter how badly constructed it is it'll still be standing in another 140 years. Look at Central Park
SPACECOWS
Oct 9 2007, 11:57
QUOTE(onegaryteale @ Oct 9 2007, 11:46)

You get what you pay for

Or not in this case!
vikingTON
Oct 9 2007, 18:59
QUOTE(Monster @ Oct 9 2007, 08:11)

If you think I got the worst of that deal wait until Watt floods Cappielow with players like David hamilton, then recoil in horror.

Dont' worry - I'll sell him on December 31st just to make sure.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.