Full Version: Queens Park 0 - 1 Cowdenbeath
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
The Minertaur
Mon the Cowden! Finally a win! It is hell sitting watching the scores come in over the internet sad.gif and how come the Cowden games the last to come through! Berwick and Brechin falling behind by 6 points.

So how was the game? Was it a penalty? Pat Clarke is hitting form I take it??

Well done the lads anyway!! biggrin.gif
Toddy
Well done Cowden` today. Puts a bit of light between yourselves and the bottom 2......any chance of Pat Clarke back??
Spidersmad
The game was mostly pish, the penalty was soft after a Queen's defensive blunder and Queen's look as though they will never score another goal this season. A dreadful afternoon. No wonder I drink. That is all.
an86
A pish game with an even pisher referee. Utterly dreadful doesn't even begin to cover it. The final ball was shocking at times. Never a penalty. If there was a way that both teams could have lost the game it would have been thoroughly merited. I want my tenner back.
WattyArnott
QUOTE(an86 @ Oct 6 2007, 17:47) *
with an even pisher referee. Utterly dreadful doesn't even begin to cover it.

QUOTE(Spidersmad @ Oct 6 2007, 17:19) *
the penalty was soft

GeeJay
Pish game, but this time we didn't take three points. I thought it was a penalty, it was really careless defending. Seems like we are slipping back to the QP I know only too well - passing it around the outside of the box with little penetration. A couple of weeks break should do us good to regroup, and perhaps try a few new things out in training.
WattyArnott
QUOTE(GeeJay @ Oct 6 2007, 18:13) *
perhaps try a few new things out in training.

Pip pip! the jolly old parasites try out some new training techniques in preperation to keep up their top form of 7 defeats in 8 matches. Tally ho!
GeeJay
Also, credit to Cowden for their decent away support, but very little noise. Hope you all enjoyed the day out anyway.
Zanetti
Right, own up, who shot him?

I thought we were poor again but I'm still not dishearted (am I crazy?). I'm still confident we'll find form again.
GeeJay
QUOTE(queenspark-mad @ Oct 6 2007, 19:31) *
Right, own up, who shot him?

I thought we were poor again but I'm still not dishearted (am I crazy?). I'm still confident we'll find form again.

You were crazy even before today's game. You have always been crazy.
flyingscot
Poor game, neither team were good and lack a finisher. I never saw the penalty was too far away, but it was careless to give them the chance. For me both were too defensive, and Queens, despite being a goal behind never seemed bothered about it and didn't go for it- weren't flooding the Cowdenbeath defence. There was even a moment where the ball went into the air in the Cowdenbeath box and no Queens player went to it!

FWIW I didn't think the referee was all that bad, although there was a decent shout for a Queens penalty, but both ref and linesman were on the wrong side.
Spiders For Life
We need a fully fit squad to do well, we lack depth in our squad and cannot afford stupid suspensions. I didn't think either team was brilliant today, we had more possession but again lack a finisher. I don't think McGrady can cut it to be honest.

2 week break will do us good. C'mon on queens...
stockcar willie
could'nt make the game today due to being in (of all bloody places) inverness.still by the look of things i did'nt miss a great deal,about time we got another win though rolleyes.gif
Monster
QUOTE(Spidersmad @ Oct 6 2007, 17:19) *
The game was mostly pish, the penalty was soft after a Queen's defensive blunder and Queen's look as though they will never score another goal this season. A dreadful afternoon. No wonder I drink. That is all.

Mystic Monster predicts Boxing Day. rolleyes.gif

King Kong Bundy
The foul/lunge on Ronald by Galloway cost us the game as the big man had to go off. Galloway should have been sent off for it.
vince sinclair
It was a poor game, however we've played a lot better this season and NOT won, so it was a welcome 3 points.

Clarke should have scored in the opening few minutes and QP should have scored when it looked easier to score (header in 1st half).

The "cat" pulled of a great save in the 2nd half.

Didn't have a great view of the penalty being at the other side of the ground, but it looked like a silly clumsy challenge by the QP player.

dubs
See you next season QP - you're coming back down with Berwick
Gall09
QUOTE(dubya @ Oct 7 2007, 17:28) *

You may well be right, but thank f**k i don't support Stenny.
Spiders For Life

Shut up.
an86

Always nice to see a jealous visitor from the diddy league. 2-0 up at home to Elgin then losing 3-2 ouch! laugh.gif
cowdenbeath

What ever happens at least they got up in the first place laugh.gif
King Kong Bundy
The referees are getting worse. I've already mentioned Galloway's rugby tackle on Ronald, which I'm surprised the big man got up from.

The Cowden penalty was a dive but this was no surprise as Clarke was at it all day. There was another laughable attempt at getting a penalty from him which should have seen him booked - the referee motioned for him to 'get up', so why no card? McKendrick saw fit to book Trouten (rightly) for diving seconds later, however.

Also, Dunlop was blatantly elbowed and went down with an injury. Of course the referee was nowhere near the incident (just as he was nowhere near the penalty, which the assistant didn't see as a problem). After noticing Dunlop had a cut on his head, he sent Mick off the field for treatment. Can you imagine what would have happened had Cowden scored during this time? I wonder if it crossed the referee's mind at any stage how Dunlop acquired this injury.

A funnier incident was when Cowden's McBride committed his second offence within the space of a minute just after getting booked. He had his head in his hands, knowing that he probably would be sent off for what was a late tackle. The referee, probably forgetting that he had booked him seconds earlier, just gave the free-kick and moved on. A poorly programmed robot.

-------------

Neither team really deserved to score yesterday as Cowden and Queen's were hardly in each other's penalty areas. I'm struggling to think of a polite word to describe them, so I'll just state the obvious and say that we need to be back at full strength ASAP!
BC USA
QUOTE(King Kong Bundy @ Oct 7 2007, 21:54) *
The referees are getting worse. I've already mentioned Galloway's rugby tackle on Ronald, which I'm surprised the big man got up from.

The Cowden penalty was a dive but this was no surprise as Clarke was at it all day. There was another laughable attempt at getting a penalty from him which should have seen him booked - the referee motioned for him to 'get up', so why no card? McKendrick saw fit to book Trouten (rightly) for diving seconds later, however.

Also, Dunlop was blatantly elbowed and went down with an injury. Of course the referee was nowhere near the incident (just as he was nowhere near the penalty, which the assistant didn't see as a problem). After noticing Dunlop had a cut on his head, he sent Mick off the field for treatment. Can you imagine what would have happened had Cowden scored during this time? I wonder if it crossed the referee's mind at any stage how Dunlop acquired this injury.

A funnier incident was when Cowden's McBride committed his second offence within the space of a minute just after getting booked. He had his head in his hands, knowing that he probably would be sent off for what was a late tackle. The referee, probably forgetting that he had booked him seconds earlier, just gave the free-kick and moved on. A poorly programmed robot.

-------------

Neither team really deserved to score yesterday as Cowden and Queen's were hardly in each other's penalty areas. I'm struggling to think of a polite word to describe them, so I'll just state the obvious and say that we need to be back at full strength ASAP!

Do you want some cheese with that "whine"
Cowden Cowboy
QUOTE(King Kong Bundy @ Oct 7 2007, 22:54) *
The Cowden penalty was a dive but this was no surprise as Clarke was at it all day.

You don't need to dive when Agostini's around - just stand there waiting and he'll upend you sure enough.
Hampden Diehard

If there's a pyramid system introduced in the SFL this year, you'll be playing Easthouses Welfare and Lothian Thistle, not us.
Hampden Diehard
Not a great day for us, but we certainly did enough to get a point. Wee Clarke could be a player if he even stops throwing himself to the ground at every challenge. I can't comment on the penalty decision as I didn't see it, but his record over the game would make me doubt it.

Dreadful elbow to Ronald's face.

Thankfully we've got an easy run coming up: Brechin and Rossco away, Airdrie at home and Roth Ravers away. Twelve points in the bag.
Convenor
Like last week, a draw would have been a fair result. So we should be happy as we have one more point from the last 2 games than we should have.

We’re still closer to the top than the bottom (points wise) which is amazing considering we’ve had 5 defeats from our last 6
Spider From Mars
Dire, dire game sad.gif

Cowden are a bit pish really and QP showed no imagination at all in the final third.

Ferry should've scored. He. Should. Have. Scored. I still can't believe he missed.

Dunno what Trouten was thinking about blink.gif I know the Cowden forwards were going down rather easily at times (probably was a penalty though, silly situation to get ourselves into), but our players should be above such things. Ain't that right Watty? Yeah it's right. No excuses for such shenanigans.

Worst shout of the season goes to the Cowden fan who kept shouting "can you hear the Queen's Park sing..." (the ...s indicate the shout fading into nothing as nobody else joined in). He was persistent though and he kept shouting it throughout the game despite nobody joining in (see above) and despite the Cowden fans singing absolutely nothing until injury time in the second half blink.gif He was a bit of a wazzock, as our Watty would say.

While we're here........ TWO QUID for a tiny little packet of chips? Has the world gone mad? I could go across the road and get a bag of chips FOUR TIMES the size and THREE TIMES as tasty for just over a quid! Yarbles to that. I had a macaroon bar instead. It cost me 50p. It was delicious. cool.gif
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(Spider From Mars @ Oct 9 2007, 13:38) *
While we're here........ TWO QUID for a tiny little packet of chips? Has the world gone mad? I could go across the road and get a bag of chips FOUR TIMES the size and THREE TIMES as tasty for just over a quid! Yarbles to that. I had a macaroon bar instead. It cost me 50p. It was delicious. cool.gif

while we're there.. you get a good size dish of stovies at Stark's... only a quid (I think). Not sure if they offer them to away fans tho unsure.gif . Forfar's bridies are the best half time munch. I'll miss that this season sad.gif

While I'm here.. i mean talking to Queens fans, the Peterhead program on Saturday looked like a QP production - front page was a big pic with a Queen's defender and the back page was a full size Irn Bru ad. huh.gif
dubs
QUOTE(Gall09 @ Oct 7 2007, 17:33) *
You may well be right, but thank f**k i don't support Stenny.

QUOTE(Spiders For Life @ Oct 7 2007, 18:06) *
Shut up.

QUOTE(an86 @ Oct 7 2007, 19:33) *
Always nice to see a jealous visitor from the diddy league. 2-0 up at home to Elgin then losing 3-2 ouch! laugh.gif

QUOTE(cowdenbeath @ Oct 7 2007, 21:19) *
What ever happens at least they got up in the first place laugh.gif

QUOTE(Hampden Diehard @ Oct 8 2007, 09:05) *
If there's a pyramid system introduced in the SFL this year, you'll be playing Easthouses Welfare and Lothian Thistle, not us.

Too easy as per lads cool.gif
cowdenbeath

People shouldn't buy the stuff then although going by the size of the que most folk do so the catering company will continue with their rip off prices.
Spider From Mars
QUOTE(cowdenbeath @ Oct 9 2007, 14:04) *
People shouldn't buy the stuff then although going by the size of the que most folk do so the catering company will continue with their rip off prices.

Exactly. Everyone else should follow my example and buy macaroons and, given time, they will reduce the price of chips to a reasonable level. Or give us bigger portions. I feel like Gandhi.

What was it Trigger said about Gandhi? Yeah he was alright, but he made one great film and we never heard from him again laugh.gif

Misquoted to f**k sad.gif
Hampden Diehard
QUOTE(dubya @ Oct 9 2007, 14:03) *
Too easy as per lads cool.gif

You really are a twat... as well as a racist. The whole "you're hooked" stuff has been done to death. Try to be original.
Convenor
Don’t give the wee racist turd the credit of thinking he’s that bright.
Cowden Cowboy
Cowden are a bit pish really and QP showed no imagination at all in the final third.

Sadly though for you they are better than Queens. We can play much better than that as essentially acknowledged by most of our opponents this season. Queens were only 3rd in Division 3 as I recall and have since lost star man Weatherston. They play nice football but I always felt they would struggle to compete over a full season. There is always a honeymoon period for the newbies but their strengths and weaknesses are quickly found out. I may be wrong but I didn't feel Queens or Berwick really geared up for the step up in class and consistency required in Division 2. They certainly are making a mistake if they believe largely 3rd Division squads will make an impact in Division 2 without serious augmentation.
Spiders For Life
QUOTE(Cowden Cowboy @ Oct 9 2007, 17:27) *
Sadly though for you they are better than Queens. We can play much better than that as essentially acknowledged by most of our opponents this season. Queens were only 3rd in Division 3 as I recall and have since lost star man Weatherston. They play nice football but I always felt they would struggle to compete over a full season. There is always a honeymoon period for the newbies but their strengths and weaknesses are quickly found out. I may be wrong but I didn't feel Queens or Berwick really geared up for the step up in class and consistency required in Division 2. They certainly are making a mistake if they believe largely 3rd Division squads will make an impact in Division 2 without serious augmentation.

We certainly are lacking a striker just now but i think stark will pull things together. Everyone will have a bad spell and we are currently having ours dry.gif , and yea, still ahead of cowden berwick and brechin...
Kenzie
I had a macaroon bar instead. It cost me 50p. It was delicious.

Wise man, being doing that for a while, was informed I was the only one that ate them, glad someone else has seen the light! Sadly miss out on them sometimes this season due to me thinking public humilation is a more satisfying way to spend half-time!
Convenor
I thought Hippos were strictly herbivores.

What’s all this pish about eating food on a Saturday afternoon anyway?
Are we producing a generation of pussies that cannae handle a liquid diet?
Spider From Mars
QUOTE(Convenor @ Oct 10 2007, 13:13) *
I thought Hippos were strictly herbivores.

A common misconception. They eating all sorts of things.

Baby hippos, for example.

Hampden Diehard
As always, educational and enlightening, Spidey.
Ziggy
QUOTE(Spider From Mars @ Oct 11 2007, 08:39) *
A common misconception. They eating all sorts of things.

Baby hippos, for example.

Why's that hippo green?
Spider From Mars
QUOTE(Ziggy @ Oct 11 2007, 09:29) *
Why's that hippo green?

Hippos come in a whole host of colours.

Convenor
That’s a vile and disgusting thought!! I suppose that's how they make the babies though before they eat them
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.