Full Version: Berwick 0 Alloa 3
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
number one wasp
well done to the lads today done fantastic the last few games another confidence boosting clean sheet for jellie wasnt at the game what was it like
Steven
QUOTE(number one wasp @ Oct 6 2007, 16:56) *
well done to the lads today done fantastic the last few games another confidence boosting clean sheet for jellie wasnt at the game what was it like

I'm not surprised as you looked like one of the best teams we have played this season, you deserved at least a point at Starks if not all three.
BerwickMad
Worsed performance in years from Berwick. Its ashame Cough leaves after such a terrible game.

And can I put myself forward for the left wing roll in the next game. My qualities include being able to look up when on the ball and at least get one cross in during the game. I feel that would be a massive improvement on todays performance from McMullen.
Waspie
Couldnt make it down either today but thats another excellent result from the Wasps. Credit to Allan Maitland because he told the fans when we were bottom after 5 games not to panic, that it was almost a new team and wouldnt settle immediately but that it was coming together and to judge the team after the first quarter. Thats 10 points from the four games since he said that and we've done it without our two main strikers and with a few other players also still to come back. 14 points is a decent tally for the first quarter and as Steven says it might have been more, both Raith and Ayr fans felt their teams were a bit fortunate to beat us.
Two tough home games coming up after the international break but for the moment we can enjoy being 3rd in the league smile.gif .
marty_j
mad.gif Glad I couldn't make it. Cough definitely away then?
bsd
I think Alloa should employ me to stay away from games - that 3 wins and a draw in our last 4 all of which I've missed. Changed days from our hammering from Airdrie. Like Waspie says we still have first choice strikers Broonie and Ferguson to come back form injury. Things are looking up for a change. How pissed off must the Binos be that they let Dougie Wilson go. laugh.gif
Cowans a Square Heed
Shocking performance, suprised it was only 3. Agree with BM about him playing on the left in the next game McMullen is a disgrace. If we are this bad under Coughlin then its only going to get worse when he is gone.
bsd
Fuxake, just noticed we're top scorers in our league ohmy.gif and our goal difference isnt in minus ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

When was the last time we could say that.
BerwickMad
QUOTE(Cowans a Square Heed @ Oct 6 2007, 17:31) *
If we are this bad under Coughlin then its only going to get worse when he is gone.

Aye. My thoughts exactly. He has just been on the radio basically confirming he is leaving. I can't see how we would be able to bring in anyone anywhere near as good. sad.gif
Cowans a Square Heed
QUOTE(BerwickMad @ Oct 6 2007, 17:58) *
I can't see how we would be able to bring in anyone anywhere near as good. sad.gif

Aye especially for the pennys that Wilsons gonna pay
heedthebaa
QUOTE(BerwickMad @ Oct 6 2007, 17:58) *
Aye. My thoughts exactly. He has just been on the radio basically confirming he is leaving. I can't see how we would be able to bring in anyone anywhere near as good. sad.gif

your right mad but he's got a point what he said. players get used to the same voice. hope we get a right b**tard to give them the kick up the jinka the players need. good luck coff wherever u go
dreamteamer

Coff should stay and sack some of the players that played today.......that performance was shocking....only credit was due to Swanson for his efforts in the second half, and Woody tried a bit .... sad.gif
g-force1967
I never had Coff down as a quitter. I think he has realised just what is ahead of us this season.
He has juggled whats available to him and today was probably the final straw. I have to say that is the worst Berwick performance I have witnessed in a long time. We were totally flat. Apart from Danny Swanson's directness there was absolutely no creativity whatsoever. The first two goals were from poor defensive clearances. The third was a very well worked and well taken goal.
All season we have offered no threat at set pieces. We need to start at the back and get a settled defence. Lennox will never be a full back. He gives 100% every game and he is quick but his positional sense lets him down. I would put Bolo at right back simply because of his defensive ability. McMullen is beyond belief. Why he plays when we have Noble I don't know. Noble delivers some of the best left foot crosses and set pieces I have seen at this level. If everyone were fit then I don't think we would be too far off the other teams. But unless we start keeping clean sheets and offering some sort of goal threat, even if it is only from set pieces, we are doomed.
I don't want be involved in the play offs unless it's to go up.A quarter of the way through the season already and I think it's safe to say it's only going to be a one season stay in this division for us.

fitbin
QUOTE(Cowans a Square Heed @ Oct 6 2007, 17:31) *
McMullen is a disgrace

Agreed.

Diack at least showed some consistancy today up front - he showed that his howler against Queen's Park wasn't a one off and that he's perfectly capable of being just as mince against Alloa. He must have covered about half a mile in the whole afternoon dry.gif

I'd like to clutch at some straws (like "what if Greenhill had won a penalty for being fouled instead of being booked for diving" or "what if McLeish hadn't bust his ankle in the warm up" or "what is McMullen had been replaced by my Grannie"...), but the simple truth is we deserved nothing today. Like the Spiders last week, Alloa didn't do lots but they didn't need to, we looked a real mess.

Such a shame to end Cough's time with such a poor afternoon, he gave us a lot of good days, started on a real high at Methil, hope we can remember those times and not the farce that things have looked recently.

Still, I'm sure that the board will scour European Football for a replacement manager and everything'll be alright wink.gif
Cowans a Square Heed
QUOTE(djn @ Oct 6 2007, 18:48) *
Still, I'm sure that the board will scour European Football for a replacement manager and everything'll be alright wink.gif

Hmm I'm sure Mourinho's just waiting for his call
alloagh
IS it my machine or is the alloa fans site down for some reason?
any way it looks likely that we won't be playing the albion next season
Stewie Griffin
It's on official website that Coff has resigned, Jimmy Crease to take charge and they hope to have someone in place for Cowden game.

Jimmy Waspy
There is a problem with the site.
Very professional performance today from the team, didn't need to do a great deal to get past Berwick to be honest, which must be a real concern for them.
Only opportunity that Berwick created over 90 mins was the dive in the box, we were at the other end so couldn't get the best view of this, but there weren't many complaints at the decision on the park.
Alloa's first came from a great run at the heart of the defence by John Grant. Earlier in the season he looked like he was struggling but the last few games he is back on form and was my man of the match today. Thought we could have got a second before half time but it was not to be.
Into the second half and the second goal came from a rocket from Bomber which was diverted into the net by Joe, great effort. Icing on the cake was the training ground freekick which Dougie deservedly tucked away.
I like the way that Maitland is pulling this team together, great movement and width in the team. Both Wilson and Agnew are causing problems and Bomber is putting a good bite into the midfield. When you consider that we ended the game with our reserve reserve strikers it is great to see the goals still firing in. Credit also to the defence and Jelly they were commanding today.
If i have to find criticism it is that I am still not convinced with Fleming at left back. His set pieces are excellent but I am still concerned about his ability to defend at times.
Also would like to add that it was great to see Bolo on the park today. He probably suffered at the Recs from his ability to play in many positions and never was setled in one place, always was a trier and I was disappointed when he left.
All in all a great result into the break and we continue the great week of Scottish results in European Football. cool.gif
Father Barrys Sign (Top Half)
Comfortable win for Alloa, never looked in doubt. Played some decent stuff without being forced to move up the gears. For the first, looked like Grant was looking for a team mate to pass to but the goal opened up for him.

Took Berwick about an hour to manage a shot on goal, and although they had a wee spell in possesion in the second half never really threatened. I expected a bit more fight from them at least.

Very encouraged by our team at the moment. Perfect balance in midfield, 2 battlers, Ferguson and Grant, combined with 2 ball players, Wilson and Agnew. Jellema has also made a big difference in goals.

If i have to find criticism it is that I am still not convinced with Fleming at left back. His set pieces are excellent but I am still concerned about his ability to defend at times.

I heard this from a few fans, he definitely seems more of a left midfielder to me. As you say, his set pieces are great, and also his distribution from the back is top notch.

With Fairbairn getting a run, and a few still to come back from injury we have a far better squad this year, and hope we can maintain our decent run.

Finally, was well impressed with the Berwick fans who applauded their team at the final whistle, despite a poor performance.
berwick-the-unbeatable
Paul McMuffin... What the f**k is he doing here??? He couldn't even play for a fucking pub team!!!

Match report: (Bias for Berwick) rolleyes.gif

Kevin McLiesh was stretchered off, before the game started. huh.gif
Alloa came out for kick off, but went back in, then came back out huh.gif
Then Berwick came out. cool.gif
Then the ball was passed a bit.
McMullen and Diack were pish. dry.gif
The Alloa physio runs onto the pitch for a Berwick player huh.gif
Alloa scored. sad.gif
The team was pish, McMullen and Diack even pisher now. sad.gif dry.gif
Half time. biggrin.gif
Berwick came out. unsure.gif
Alloa came out. sad.gif
The team were pisher, McMullen and Dickhead so pish they might as well have not played. thumbdown.gif
Alloa scored.
Diack and McMullen subsitiuted thumbup2.gif
Alloa Scored
Game dragged on for a year... sad.gif
Full time biggrin.gif

sad.gif
dougster
Arrived at the ground and it was deathly quiet, the championship flag was wrapped around the pole flapping limply in the breeze. The players warmed up looking flat and uninspired, the board members avoided eye contact and spoke in whispers, one or two of the background staff were visably upset.
Not a good preparation for the game.
Meanwhile, Alloa warmed up loudly shouting for the ball, working hard, up for it and they deserved their victory.
Impressed with their team spirit and football, they should do well this season. Third goal was a peach. A better attack might stretch their ponderous defence though.

The end of a short era for Berwick. Who knows what will happen next, Jimmy Thomson anyone?
TerraceWasp
Brilliant result for the Wasps, played well without ever needing to go into top gear.

Berwick are poor, expected them to be at least mid-table this year after their fantastic season last year but seems they are stuck in a big rut. Maybe a new manager can come in and solve it. I suggest Tom Hendrie cool.gif

Well done the Wasps and roll on Peterhead and Raith. It's looking great right now. Best Alloa team for 4/5 years.
fitbin
QUOTE(TerraceWasp @ Oct 7 2007, 10:51) *
I suggest Tom Hendrie

dry.gif mad.gif sad.gif
gemz22
quote "Lennox will never be a full back. "
he wil never be a singer either goin by lastnite anyway laugh.gif good luck 2coff he seemed very upset when he left black and gold last nite!
Raith_Raver
QUOTE(dougster @ Oct 6 2007, 23:58) *
The end of a short era for Berwick. Who knows what will happen next, Jimmy Thomson anyone?

rolleyes.gif

Surely not THE Jimmy Thomson, the man who is to football what the Junta is to Bhuddism? ph34r.gif
Dink
Another good performance by Alloa on Saturday, albeit against a Berwick team who were very poor, and to be in the top four after the first round of games is very welcome. Once we got in front on Saturday the reult was never really in doubt despite never quite hitting top form. How far ahead of Berwick we were was probably beset demonstrated by Dougie Wilson getting away with doing keepie uppies in the middle of the park. We perhaps got a little bit lucky in the second half as I thought we might have given away a penalty but thankfully the referee never gave it.

After the roller-coaster first couple of games the team has started to settle down and the new signings have certainly lifted the overall quality of the team. Dougie Wilson has been fantastic since recovering from injury and his directness and pace always give the opposition problems, albeit Saturday probably wasn't his best game. Scott Agnew also looks to be a fantastic find by Maitland he has a great touch and the confidence to try and beat players or take shot from distance and along with Dougie Wilson he gives us a genuine threat from the wide areas. Then there's Joe Andrews who had a bit of a shaky start for us but in recent weeks he has really come on to a game, his link up play with the midfield has been excellent in recent games and often it is him who is able to bring the likes of Wilson and Agnew into the game.

In addition to the new guys it has also been good to see John Grant recapturing his form and it looks like he could have a very good season for us.

I agree with the other Alloa fans who have voiced doubts over Fleming as a left back, he definitely looks as though he would be more at home on the left side of midfield but he is doing a decent enough job as a full back and his delivery from set pieces and ability to pick out a pass probably make up for the odd lapse of concentration or questionable positioning.

For Berwick I thought Swanson was really quite impressive and despite the rest of the team really struggling he still managed to put in a good display. Excellent feet and a real directness to his play, he should have a really good future in the game.

It's still a bit too early to be getting excited by our position in the league but it is already evident that Allan Maitland is making real progress each season and even if we don't manage to make the play-offs this year I don't think we'll have to wait too long until we're challenging to get out of this league (and in the right direction).
josecomehome
Allan Maitland is a top manager and a real decent guy. Come on the Alloa!
Eckauskas
Was Creer-o playing?
Yoss
QUOTE(josecomehome @ Oct 8 2007, 11:55) *
Allan Maitland is a top manager and a real decent guy. Come on the Alloa!

Agreed, one of football's good guys.
Waspie
QUOTE(Eckauskas @ Oct 8 2007, 12:12) *
Was Creer-o playing?

No, he is reserve keeper and is on the transfer list. Try and persuade Vlad to make an offer, £500,000 should be enough to prise him away from th Recs
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.