Francesc Fabregas
Oct 5 2007, 11:45
Having plummed one of the lowest depths in my time supporting Stenny, we look forward to facing a resurgent Elgin side who seem to be on a bit of a scoring run. I don't know how our players will react to Campbell Money's departure, purely because some of them haven't bothered their arses all season. I don't really know what to expect from Elgin either - I was pretty sure that they'd finish rooted to the bottom, but now I'm not so sure.
Very close one to call, but I reckon Elgin could sneak it. we're really horrid at the moment.
I'd expect us to go:
Dempster - Hampshire
Dillion - Tyrell - Menzies - Flynn
McEwan - McCulloch - Gilbride - Smith
Hillcoat
Purely because there's no other players capable, but after some of the wacky lineups we've seen of late, who knows?!
More importantly its the big one at half time. The main event, the tie of the first round. Big Jim vs Neilly...............
Francesc Fabregas
Oct 5 2007, 12:25
QUOTE(Waldo @ Oct 5 2007, 13:19)

More importantly its the big one at half time. The main event, the tie of the first round. Big Jim vs Neilly...............
Haha, that'll be braw

Apparently a lot of people are going to be dropped for this, allowing some of the youngsters in for a game.
Give nthat there will again be a lot of changes I actually quite fancy our chances....
The game is irrelevant to the Big One at half time. I would put money on it will be more entertaining than the 45 minutes before and after.
It's going to be a scrappy encounter tomorrow for sure and I don't see much between the teams.
4-0 to us.
Have you been putting in some practice?
Nah. In fact before Saturday I don't think I had kicked a ball in about a year
Should be a good laugh. Be lucky if there is a penalty scored between the two of us
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
Oct 5 2007, 15:51
i reckon stenny will win it by a decent margin. team out to prove their worth after last weeks shocker.
3-0 stenny
cityfan
Oct 6 2007, 16:13
What a result. Came back from 2-0 down aswell.
We just cant stop scoring
percyboy
Oct 6 2007, 18:03
QUOTE(cityfan @ Oct 6 2007, 17:13)

hope we can keep this run going. glad to see zander got a goal the way he has been playing he derserves one
Neefie Noodle
Oct 6 2007, 18:46
Where are all the Stenny fans now? ha ha ha
17 goals in 3 games. bet we go on a 0-0 run from now till Xmas!
Francesc Fabregas
Oct 6 2007, 19:04
Gutted with today's result. We didn't deserve to lose the game by any means. For long periods of the time we had the better of the play and forced their keeper into some excellent saves. We had one goalmouth scramble and had the ball cleared off the line right at the end of the game. Elgin had two goals disallowed for offside.
Our first goal came after a corner (I think) - the ball broke to Gilbride on the edge of the area who's shot was deflected and bounced in front of John Dempster who controlled in and buried from six yards out. Our second came after Stevie Hampshire was tripped as he made his way into the box - The Animal made no mistake as he scored his fifth league goal of the season.
It all went "Pete Tong" five minutes later - Hugh Dickson (best player on the park, by the way) scored from a routine corner. Soon after, as we pressed high up the pitch, we lost possession and Zander Sutherland made his way into the area before firing a cracking shot beyond Scott Johnston to draw level. Elgin took the lead ten minutes later when we lost possession after a corner - they burst up the park and scored with an absolute belter of a volley from outside the area - that's the best goal I've seen this season.
I didn't think that Elgin looked all that brilliant, but we played right into their hands. PLaying with a 3-5-2 formation and two goals up, I felt that we should have dropped to a 4-4-2 and shored up the defence. We didn't and Elgin matched us and exposed our weaknesses - most namely Paul Tyrell. The number of times he was caught up the park instead of sitting in front of the defence cost us badly, especially for the second and third goals. Craig Menzies was pretty good throughout, but as the game went on, he tired and Sutherland was seeing more of the ball and was allowed to run at him more and his full-time fitness began to show, especially for his goal. I think most of the Elgin fans who were there would agree that we probably deserved something from that match.
In fairness, it was a much changed team to what we've seen - half the players who started at East Fife last week were binned and some the youngsters brought in. Scott Johnstone and Scott McManus (the wee #10, who I thought was our best player this afternoon) came in and did well, while the experimental formation worked well for most of the game. That was the best we've played this season and individually a lot of the players did well; even though, we're sitting eighth now and I only think we'll turn it around when half the players are punted from the squad and a whole new raft of players brought in. Hopefully John Coughlin takes charge and gets us in decent shape for the 2008/2009 season...
beaver1
Oct 6 2007, 20:06
Dissappointed we didn't get anything from that match, but for us we just need to get the new man in and then take it from there.
Gustav Mahler
Oct 6 2007, 21:31
At least we seem to have a bit of spirit back in the team and we gave a few different faces a chance today. Pity we have so much dead wood for the new gaffer to cope with. Anyone like to give odds on who they think it will be.
vince sinclair
Oct 7 2007, 11:22
QUOTE(dubya @ Oct 5 2007, 13:26)

Give nthat there will again be a lot of changes I actually quite fancy our chances....
Talking to a few QP fans in the QP social club when the results were coming through.
We all said how funny it would be if Stenny were 2 up and guess what...........
vince sinclair
Oct 7 2007, 11:37
QUOTE(Neilly @ Oct 7 2007, 12:29)

Very funny.
It was, just ask Convenor and co.
Whit?
And you lads go on about a Stenny and Berwick love in.
QUOTE(vince sinclair @ Oct 7 2007, 12:22)

Talking to a few QP fans in the QP social club when the results were coming through.
We all said how funny it would be if Stenny were 2 up and guess what...........
Oh well at least ma grannys no ma faither ya inbred fuckwit
ictforeurope
Oct 7 2007, 12:53
QUOTE(cityfan @ Oct 6 2007, 17:13)

and who scored elgins winner? my workmate and guy i give a lift to work every day ant!!! well done mate no doubt hear all about it tommorro morning
ictforeurope
Oct 7 2007, 12:54
QUOTE(Francesc Fabregas @ Oct 6 2007, 20:04)

they burst up the park and scored with an absolute belter of a volley from outside the area - that's the best goal I've seen this season.
my mate ant with the yellow boots was it??
montrose 5 forfar 1
Oct 7 2007, 16:24
QUOTE(ictforeurope @ Oct 7 2007, 13:54)

my mate ant with the yellow boots was it??
Calm doon about you boyfriend eh
ictforeurope
Oct 7 2007, 17:28
QUOTE(montrose 5 forfar 1 @ Oct 7 2007, 17:24)

Calm doon about you boyfriend eh

your just jealous because he,s not
banging them in for you
QUOTE(Neilly @ Oct 7 2007, 12:40)

Whit?
And you lads go on about a Stenny and Berwick love in.
QP and Cowden, united in gleeful pity for the joke that is Stenny
King Kong Bundy
Oct 7 2007, 22:08
At least you didn't let in seven this week, that's a positive.
QUOTE(King Kong Bundy @ Oct 7 2007, 23:08)

At least you didn't let in seven this week, that's a positive.
Gearing up for next season by browsing the 3rd division board?
King Kong Bundy
Oct 7 2007, 22:19
I like to check out how the division is coping without the best teams.
Tolstoy
Oct 8 2007, 11:00
QUOTE(Gustav Mahler @ Oct 6 2007, 22:31)

At least we seem to have a bit of spirit back in the team and we gave a few different faces a chance today. Pity we have so much dead wood for the new gaffer to cope with. Anyone like to give odds on who they think it will be.
I've heard a few names bumping about. Jim Sinnet of Linlithgow is a runner but he will only be a good appointment if he brings Gordon Rae with him (Rae is the brains of the Linlithgow management team and the man behind their success, Sinnet is the figurehead). Sinnett, as an ex Stenny winger from the 80s, might be a popular choice with you guys, I don't know.
I also know Jim Chapman (ex Albion Rovers) was interviewed last week and Hetherston is meant to be a strong contender (why God only knows).
vince sinclair
Oct 8 2007, 11:11
QUOTE(dubya @ Oct 7 2007, 13:35)

Poor reply mummy's boy
Tomsk The Beano
Oct 8 2007, 11:22
QUOTE(Tolstoy @ Oct 8 2007, 12:00)

Hetherston is meant to be a strong contender (why God only knows).
Cos he phoned his pals at the Daily Ranger and told them.
Good to read that Slaphead was "injured" and in no way dropped because he's pish, oh no!
QUOTE(Tolstoy @ Oct 8 2007, 12:00)

I've heard a few names bumping about. Jim Sinnet of Linlithgow is a runner but he will only be a good appointment if he brings Gordon Rae with him (Rae is the brains of the Linlithgow management team and the man behind their success, Sinnet is the figurehead). Sinnett, as an ex Stenny winger from the 80s, might be a popular choice with you guys, I don't know.
I also know Jim Chapman (ex Albion Rovers) was interviewed last week and Hetherston is meant to be a strong contender (why God only knows).
It's going to be John Coughlin, do you understand
Tolstoy
Oct 8 2007, 12:16
hmmn, maybe....
(I can read thanks, so I did understand your post)
Blueminer
Oct 8 2007, 13:11

Anymore of that and we'll send the Pars dwarf through
Into The Valley
Oct 8 2007, 14:14

No, his granny is YOUR faither. Ya Stenny woodtink!!
Convenor
Oct 8 2007, 14:45
Dubya in “making an arse of himself” shocker!
Yes a right arse, indeed, I wish I was 'sound' like you lot, grown men laughing at internet forum user.
Sad c'nts
vince sinclair
Oct 8 2007, 15:07
QUOTE(dubya @ Oct 8 2007, 15:59)

Sad c'nts
From someone with 9950 posts
QUOTE(vince sinclair @ Oct 8 2007, 16:07)

From someone with 9950 posts

Never saw that one coming, this one's a brainbox!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.