Chazz Michael Michaels
Sep 29 2007, 16:32
Terrible game.......
SK made a complete baws of the tactics, 1 up front for most of the game, the funniest thing was Hamilton on the left wing. Pub team tactics from a pub team manager.
Goal wasnt bad, Pars shaded it in the first half, even with some terrible defending and passing. Second half all Thistle and they deserved at least a point.
Kenny needs a kick up the arse, I've never seen as many players playing out of position in one game.
Kenny is a disaster, tactically he is the worst i've seen.
We made an ordinary Thistle team look good.
The personnel is at the club but isnt getting used properly.
Kenny GTF
parsboi
Sep 29 2007, 16:38
QUOTE(DAFC @ Sep 29 2007, 17:35)

Kenny GTF

Jesus get a grip guys, we won ffs.
Chazz Michael Michaels
Sep 29 2007, 16:46
QUOTE(parsboi @ Sep 29 2007, 17:38)

Jesus get a grip guys, we won ffs.
That doesnt make a difference to me, a better team would have totally fucked us today. We played just as bad last week and lost, we rode our luck today.
Yankee_Dollar
Sep 29 2007, 16:52
QUOTE(Chazz Michael Michaels @ Sep 29 2007, 17:46)

That doesnt make a difference to me, a better team would have totally fucked us today. We played just as bad last week and lost, we rode our luck today.
I gave into last weeks result and decided to myself that we'll start getting it right today. Has it f**k. Still the same piss poor tactics and performance.
gingapar
Sep 29 2007, 16:53
aye, but we've played worse teams and been beaten or only drawn. To get out of a start like we've had, results become important however you achieve them. The team has been needing to show they can do the ugly stuff and grind out victories. we did that today, job done, 3 points, next!
no wonder the rest of the league thinks we're arrogant if this is the sort of shite that appears after a win
I thought we were pretty poor really, but I'm happy to get a win. I've been looking for Kenny to make some tactical changes, but I'm not too sure what formation that was today or what position some players were supposed to be playing! I suppose it worked since we won but Thistle definitely deserved something (although Ian McCall claiming they "totally and utterly dominated" is taking it too far).
Istvan B
Sep 29 2007, 17:42
I was also pretty disappointed. I think we played well enough in the first half but in the sescond half the fear of conceding a goal started to set in as Partick started to push for an equaliser.
In the first half I thought Partick were one of the poorest teams I'd seen this season, but I thought they looked quite good against a nervous Pars defence in the second half.
Good 3 point though.
washsacks
Sep 29 2007, 17:50
We didn't play that well but it was a massive improvement on last week.Would you prefer wins? or good performances and draw and losses?Winning is everything and if we play like that every week and win 1-0 i will be a happy man come May.
Partick were ok.Not the worst ive seen but not the best.They played better in the 2nd after lookinh horrific in the first.Just ash yourselves though,was Gallacher tested really?I would say no.They had the ball across the face of goal at the end but that was about it in terms of clear cut chances.
It was a poor game but i am just happy we have the points in the bag.
Stoo61
Sep 29 2007, 17:57
I'll just take the win, whatever way it comes.
Burchill had flu all week and asked to be taken off at half-time because he was totally drained, in case anyone was wondering.
stockcar willie
Sep 29 2007, 17:57
QUOTE(DAFC @ Sep 29 2007, 17:35)

Kenny GTF
christ your about as bad as steven at raith
Chazz Michael Michaels
Sep 29 2007, 18:06
QUOTE(gingapar @ Sep 29 2007, 17:53)

no wonder the rest of the league thinks we're arrogant if this is the sort of shite that appears after a win
So its arrogant for me to say I think the team were fucking rank and didnt deserve a win? thats a funny one. If Thistle were a wee bit better today, they would have pissed on us, I totally fail to see whats arrogant about stating this and wanting a decent performance. That wasnt grinding out 3 points, that was robbery.
I expect the team I support to play better, I expect them to show heart and play for the jersey.
I've never expected Dunfermline to win the league but I would've hoped they gave it a good shot.
washsacks
Sep 29 2007, 18:30
QUOTE(Chazz Michael Michaels @ Sep 29 2007, 19:06)

So its arrogant for me to say I think the team were fucking rank and didnt deserve a win? thats a funny one. If Thistle were a wee bit better today, they would have pissed on us, I totally fail to see whats arrogant about stating this and wanting a decent performance. That wasnt grinding out 3 points, that was robbery.
I expect the team I support to play better, I expect them to show heart and play for the jersey.
I've never expected Dunfermline to win the league but I would've hoped they gave it a good shot.
Robbery?
I suppose, Gallacher had to pull of a string of stunning saves today to keep us in it.After their 15th open goal miss i thought it would be our day....f**k off.Partick huffed and Puffed but didn't have a cutting edge and what they have was one cross across the box and a shot from about 30 yards.That was it.
Better decison making by individuals in the final 3rd would of seen us score two or three more.It was a game of little chances.We took ours and they didn't,therefore we deserved to win.
We won and got the three points.That is ALL that matters.If we played like today and won every game 1-0 would you complain?Like f**k you would.
TheBanter
Sep 29 2007, 18:34
Dunfermline were rank rotten today and if any of you still believe you'll be going back up you're highly deranged.
We pummelled you second half but yet again showed that with Roberts shooting blanks we have very little up front. Stevie Murray terrorised you when he came on and why that tit McKinlay started ahead of him only McCall knows.
Terrible first half with no pace to it whatsoever but when the pace was upped your superstars were found seriously wanting, though I was baffled by some of the positioning of them by the tottie that is Kenny.
We deserved a point, no doubt about that but if we can't turn possession into chances then it's gonna be a long hard season yet again.
washsacks
Sep 29 2007, 18:41
QUOTE(TheBanter @ Sep 29 2007, 19:34)

Dunfermline were rank rotten today and if any of you still believe you'll be going back up you're highly deranged.
We pummelled you second half but yet again showed that with Roberts shooting blanks we have very little up front. Stevie Murray terrorised you when he came on and why that tit McKinlay started ahead of him only McCall knows.
Terrible first half with no pace to it whatsoever but when the pace was upped your superstars were found seriously wanting, though I was baffled by some of the positioning of them by the tottie that is Kenny.
We deserved a point, no doubt about that but if we can't turn possession into chances then it's gonna be a long hard season yet again.
You should of seen how bad we were last week,that was rank rotten.
As i said, you huffed and puffed but created very little.Pummling would be an overstatment.We took our chance and thats all that matters.If you can't turn possession into chances then you don't deserve to take anything from the game.
3 points. Job done.
Steve McQueen
Sep 29 2007, 19:06
QUOTE(Par @ Sep 29 2007, 19:42)

3 points. Job done.

Is this the only thread that fails to mention the score?
I assume DA win!
I thought we were pretty poor today as well, and based on how the game went, a draw would probably have been the right result. Both teams were pretty dreadful, although I thought our defence did OK, and comfortably managed to handle everything in the second half. The second half was in fact very much like a reverse of our game against St Johnstone the last time we were at home - Partick had most of it, but without any real edge and without ever really looking like they were going to score. Given that, I don't really think they can say they deserved to win.
The only real chances today came form mistakes, and no surprise it finished 1-0 with a bad pass in midfield leading to the only goal. From our point of view, all you can really say is that it was a start. The most important thing was the points (duh...) and although we were far from brilliant, and far from looking like a side who wil compete at the top end of the table, I'd have taken that, against a team who has been in slightly better form than us. Anyway, we were probably saving ourselves for a vital semi final on Tuesday!
As for the complaints about the formation - I totally disagree. I was saying to my dad before the game that I thought we needed to start to put an extra man in midfield, and so I was quite happy to see a 4-5-1 today, which must have been a complete surprise to Ian McCall. I thought McManus in particular did well playing out wide today. I wasn't convinced about Hamilton playing on the left late in the game either, but he was only kept on for his extra height surely.
revolvingduck
Sep 29 2007, 19:25
QUOTE(Steve McQueen @ Sep 29 2007, 20:06)

Is this the only thread that fails to mention the score?
I assume DA win!
1-0
Wasn't a great game, but we did enough to win it! Partick didn't have any real chances in the game, and never troubled Gallacher at all til about the last 10 mins.
We need a few scrappy results to get the confidence back, although it doesn't help when people are booing our own players every time they touch the ball
I'll take a performance like that every week if it means we get the 3 points!
Scofield
Sep 29 2007, 19:52
Some folk are never happy eh.
Bunch of moaning kants.
Rusty Shackleford
Sep 29 2007, 21:08
We're still totally decimated by injuries and unable to field anything approaching a consistent side. Some of you bawheids need to quit moaning and take a reality check.
Credit should also go to Thistle who looked pretty tidy in spells. We cant expect to sweep aside teams in this league, let alone when we have over 10 players either injured or half fit.
Thomson, Wilson, McManus, Young, McIntyre and Phinn today were all less than 100%. Could probably name more if I thought about it.
gingapar
Sep 29 2007, 22:33
QUOTE(Chazz Michael Michaels @ Sep 29 2007, 19:06)

sorry, not meaning to pick on you especially, but it does seem like looking down on other teams when all Pars the fans seem to have to say after a win is that we are shite
vikingTON
Sep 29 2007, 22:37
QUOTE(gingapar @ Sep 29 2007, 23:33)

sorry, not meaning to pick on you especially, but it does seem like looking down on other teams when all Pars the fans seem to have to say after a win is that we are shite
Just a bit.
Still, not that that scenario happens too often.
Dundee Par
Sep 29 2007, 23:46
We were poor today but the most important thing is the 3 points. Totally baffled by people saying Partick were all over us. I missed the last 20 mins or so, but up until then, we still looked the more likely to score again. Also don't understand the thoughts about poor tactics from Kenny. The 2 wide players caused problems for their full backs, and the 3 we had in midfield seemed to dominate. And it seems Kenny was pretty much forced into all 3 subs.
I was pleasantly surprised with Simmons today. Fought for every ball and showed that with a bit of effort he can be a very good player. Also thought Nipper was comfortable when he came on. 2 guys who always come in for criticism from the fans, but both proved their worth today. MOM for me though was Crawford. Always looked dangerous on the ball and was full of running.
I still think we can improve but at least it looks like we can grind out results. QoS next week will be a difficult one but if we wan't to shoot up the league it's a game we should be looking to win.
Mon the Rovers
Sep 30 2007, 00:12
Fucking hell, what a shower of moaning b*****ds in this thread!
I was going to come in and congratulate the Pars on their second win of the season, but going by this thread, Teletext isnae working right....
QUOTE(gingapar @ Sep 29 2007, 23:33)

I don't really think that a simple statement that 'we didn't play very well' means anyone is trying to look down on the rest of the league. While I'm quite happy with the result as I'm sure every Pars fan is, particularly so given the injuries, I'd be amazed if anyone who watched it thought that the Pars played particularly well. It's perfectly possible for people to pick out some good points after a loss, and so by the same reasoning, it should also be acceptable for people to state that the team weren't that good after a win.
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Sep 30 2007, 01:12)

I was going to come in and congratulate the Pars on their second win of the season, but going by this thread, Teletext isnae working right....
Ah, starting to crap it after last week were you, in case it came to be that you would have to do your naked run after all?!
As I say, I don't think it's ridiculous for people to say they didn't think we played well, although admittedly a post near the top (with who wrote it not being a surprise) is a bit extreme.
Slazey
Sep 30 2007, 02:36
A grudging 'well done' to the pars- they got what they needed.
We rode our luck against QOTS and you rode yours against us today. Fair's fair. It's going to be a long season, and from the sounds of it we're going to see a lot more games of this ilk.
gingapar
Sep 30 2007, 08:24
QUOTE(Socks @ Sep 30 2007, 02:30)

I don't really think that a simple statement that 'we didn't play very well' means anyone is trying to look down on the rest of the league. While I'm quite happy with the result as I'm sure every Pars fan is, particularly so given the injuries, I'd be amazed if anyone who watched it thought that the Pars played particularly well. It's perfectly possible for people to pick out some good points after a loss, and so by the same reasoning, it should also be acceptable for people to state that the team weren't that good after a win.
and surely, again by the same reasoning, you should also be able to take some positives from a win? Of course a simple statement that we didn't play very well doesn't equate to looking down on the other teams but did you read the initial post? a bit over the top i think.
I've already said that I completely disagree with the criticism of Kenny's tactics this week, and that some of the stuff at the top was over the top. However, I still can't see why, even though I agree that some of that is a bit extreme, an analysis saying our own team didn't play well can be interpreted as looking down on the opposition.
By all means try to find something positive as well. Other than the result, the only things I can think of are that the defence did quite well in the second half and kept Partick out pretty comfortably, and that Stephen Simmons had his best game for a while. As I said earlier, it's a start, and all teams who are struggling as we have done recently will likely need a scrappy win to get them going.Hopefully it will lead on to better things, but on it's own yesterday's showing was nothing to be particularly excited about.
Fallen Angel
Sep 30 2007, 15:50
QUOTE(Socks @ Sep 30 2007, 12:24)

By all means try to find something positive as well.
Jim McIntyre finally got a run out.
Hopefully he'll get a game on tuesday tohelp sharpen him up.
As soon as he's fully fit we can lose Hamilton.
I thought Wilson was immense for us despite being a week or so off being fit (according to what he told me after the game).
And young Nick Phinn was totally knackered after the game. Remeber we played 200 mins of footy in midweek and some of them ran outta steam with 15 mins to go.
Dafc-15
Sep 30 2007, 16:06
Played poor , but got the points !
Was not nice to watch either.
A good result ground out with,in theory,one of the poorer teams away next.Win that and Dundee at least draw with Hamilton and the huge deficit disappears(down to single figures).The next game could be against a totally shell-shocked Hamilton side and winning this one will put us right back into the running.
I'll start either worrying or getting excited after the next two games.
Yankee_Dollar
Sep 30 2007, 20:07
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Sep 30 2007, 01:12)

Thank for the congratulations wee team fan. Milk it while you can. The DA will still be in the SPL next season. Just wait and see. Bookies are very rarely wrong.
vikingTON
Sep 30 2007, 20:11
QUOTE(Yankee_Dollar @ Sep 30 2007, 21:07)

Thank for the congratulations wee team fan. Milk it while you can. The DA will still be in the SPL next season. Just wait and see. Bookies are very rarely wrong.
William Hill make Dunfermline 3-1 third favourites.
SteamingparBoz
Oct 1 2007, 08:30
Hammy stayed on because
A: McManus was totally knackered and it was our 3rd sub and
B: Hammy stayed on to win defensive headers in our box. Which he did plenty times and we should be grateful he was there to do it, otherwise SK would be critisied for not shoring up the win.
Thistle did very well second half and although neither team created much, we finally got a bit of luck and held on for a much needed win.
Have to say I expected more Thistle fans to come through??? Ah well, best of luck this season PT.
DA-go Par Adonis
Oct 1 2007, 08:47
I missed some of the first half - including the goal - due to being stuck on the Forth Bridge so perhaps my opinion is slanted somewhat but I thought Thistle were well worth a point if not all three. However, all Pars fans would have taken a scrappy 1-0 before the game so I'm happy enough. Pars were awful in the 2nd half but we had a team full of players unavailable at that time:
McKenzie
Woods
Shields
Labonte
Morrison
Ryan
Young
Ross
Muirhead
Harper
Burchill
Added to that are Jamie Harris as well as Owen Morrison - who would have come on if we hadn't been forced into 2 half time substitutes. Plus McManus, McIntyre and Thomson aren't fully fit.
We should still be playing better stuff but as soon as I heard the news of the half time subs, I would have happily taken 3 points and a 1-0 win at that time.
Larbert_Par
Oct 1 2007, 09:07
Pleased to come out of work and see we won. The faither admitted it wasn't a great performance, but given our prediciment, results matter more than silky football.
I'd start McIntyre on Tuesday, even if he can only give us an hour or so.
Mon the Rovers
Oct 2 2007, 12:23
QUOTE(Yankee_Dollar @ Sep 30 2007, 21:07)

Well, they had us as favourites for the league.....
You make some of the Rovers fans on here look like Einstein. And yes Socks, I am beginning to worry about my pledge about the Pars

Looks like I'll be running to Dunfermline in all my glory.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.