Full Version: Dundee 2-1 Morton
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Matty_True_Dee
Fortunate win to say the least. We startly excellently and gradually Morton fought there way back into the game and were the better side second half. Palenik and Mckenzie won the game for us. The rest weren't great. Shocking game overall with our worst showing of the season.
Swampy
I listened to ra gemme on the "wireless internet radiograph" and it sounded like we came into it nicely in the 2nd half, but still aren't good enough.

Disappointing to hear that Dundee were poor; I was hoping that we';d just lost gallantly.

Oh well.
wattie_rojas
Dundee started really well and ought to have been 3 up in the first few minutes. However Morton came right back into the game and deserved to equalize. Second half Morton played well and if Templeman hadn't missed with an easy header, could have easily won. Dundee dug in and won it with a close range effort from Sturm(twas written in the stars I suppose). Morton were much better than they were up at Dens earlier in the season and like Matty says were unfortunate to come up against 2 excellent centre-halves. Freddie apart, the rest of Dundee's team looked like they were knackered after the game on wednesday.
bonniedundee
QUOTE(Swampy @ Sep 29 2007, 17:46) *
I listened to ra gemme on the "wireless internet radiograph" and it sounded like we came into it nicely in the 2nd half, but still aren't good enough.

Disappointing to hear that Dundee were poor; I was hoping that we';d just lost gallantly.

Oh well.

A good win for us today. Dundee were there for the taking and looked like they hadn't fully recovered their energy levels after wednesday night. This was a game we could easily have lost but the defence held firm.
CC 33
Morton will be gutted they lost that one. Especially since Jani Sturm hit the winner laugh.gif

First goal came after a Daquin corner was cleared back to him. Passed it onto McDonald who then megged a Morton player before Daquin crossed it back in and Palenik got his head on it before smashing it in from one yard.

Davidson missed an absolute sitter, long ball knocked on by Zemlik. One on one with the keeper, ball bounced up lovely and he stuck it staight in the stand. McKenzie then got a goal chopped off for nothing as far as I could see, and that was pretty much it from us until the winner.

Morton's goal was a lovely strike from no.10 Graham? Samson just managed to get his hand to it but could only tip it into the top corner. Second half Morton had all the possesion but only had one real chance. No.7 skinned Dixon, whipped a lovely cross in but the unmarked Templeman headed just over.

Sturm goal came from a Sw**kie cross which Robertson headed onto the bar, the ball broke to Sturm who slid in to trickle the ball over the line. The last 15 minutes or so you would have thought Morton were the home team with Dundee having 11 players behind the ball. Palenik and McKenzie were terrific though.

The referee was absolutely shocking stopping play and the slightest hint of contact. There must have been about 10 bookings.

Finally.....will somebody at the club please give Danny Griffen his papers. After selling the jerseys for two goals and a penalty on wednesday he had another rotter today and nearly gave away a penalty again. f**k OFF GRIFFEN!
birdeeman
beauty of a strike from the morton no.10!! right in the top corner. davidson for the dees had a number of chances that looked harder to miss! morton played well, palenik for us was the outstanding dee! a wins a win and all that! rolleyes.gif
vikingTON
Can't defend and can't concentrate at the start of games.
Failure to take clear-cut chances.
Despite a very good performance in the 2nd half we were undone by these yet again.
6 league games without a win - Thistle next week is a biggie. sad.gif
BluebirdTon
Quite dissapointed to have left without a point which i think we deserved,it had to be that f*cking wee refugee that snatched it from us !

A fantatsic perormance from young Brian Graham and what a goal it was,if only Temps had stuck away that 2nd half header i might not be so dissapointed tonight.

Dundee's opener was just pathetic from the keeper,instead of lungeing for the ball he chose to wait for the bounce,by then Palenik had stuck his foot out and it had hit the net.There 2nd was just typical of our defence,letting a guy peg you and following him in an attempt to win it back,instead Weatherson allowed him to play the ball along the face of goal.

Overall a slightly better performnace but at the end of the day its goals an points that matter and we didn't do enough !
EastFootball
Morton deserved at least a point today. After taking an early lead and Davidson missing that sitter, we just fell right out of the game and it was a cracking equaliser.

Although it was brilliant that Sturm ended up scoring the winner biggrin.gif
davidy233
Thought Morton were very good second half, Jamie Stevenson and Jay Shields in particular.

Loved Jani scoring the winner thhough, he's barely had a scoring chance in his other league appearances and two defenders had a swing at the ball as it trundled home from his three yard effort.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE(davidy233 @ Sep 29 2007, 20:54) *
Thought Morton were very good second half, Jamie Stevenson and Jay Shields in particular.

Loved Jani scoring the winner thhough, he's barely had a scoring chance in his other league appearances and two defenders had a swing at the ball as it trundled home from his three yard effort.

Well spotted,they don't play like it but yes they are defenders. wink.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE(BluebirdTon @ Sep 29 2007, 21:43) *
Well spotted,they don't play like it but yes they are defenders. wink.gif

I give you:

Trade descriptions Act 1968

In a nutshell. wink.gif
Can I be cheif prosecutor pleeeease?
mungo
Thought Dundee played well for the first half but ran out of steam in the second. Morton deserved a point at least. They looked a decent side, pretty slow and static , but hard working and organised. Who was their number 7 ? - looked a no bad player.

vikingTON
QUOTE(mungo @ Sep 29 2007, 22:00) *
Thought Dundee played well for the first half but ran out of steam in the second. Morton deserved a point at least. They looked a decent side, pretty slow and static , but hard working and organised. Who was their number 7 ? - looked a no bad player.

Finlayson?
100k and you can have him.
Reluctantly.
EastFootball
QUOTE(vikingTON @ Sep 29 2007, 22:00) *
Finlayson?
100k and you can have him.
Reluctantly.

We'll give you a tenner and Freddie Daquin laugh.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE(EastFootball @ Sep 29 2007, 22:13) *

Done. cool.gif
BishyTON
QUOTE(EastFootball @ Sep 29 2007, 22:13) *

Make it a straight swap for Sw**kie and you have a deal.
vikingTON
QUOTE(BishopTON @ Sep 29 2007, 22:23) *
Make it a straight swap for Sw**kie and you have a deal.

I'd rather have a tenner than Finlayson.
Daquin can work the pie stall.
Or right wing, seen as ability is not necessary to fill that position...
Dunning1874
Thought we were worth a point today. First half, we got hammered for half an hour, could easily have been at least 3 - 0 down, then slowly fought our way back into the game, but never looked like scoring until a great strike from Brian Graham.
2nd half, this time it was us who dominated for half an hour, Templeman missing a total sitter, then Dundee got a goal with what I think was their first chance of the entire half, disgraceful defendng for that, as there was with the first. Get Harding to f**k now.
Thought the ref was poor, IMO both sides had a stonewall penalty turned down and Shields booking was the worst decision I've ever seen. Yes, worse than Les Motram's at Tannadice. You know what I mean.
McB
QUOTE(CC 33 @ Sep 29 2007, 18:01) *
Morton will be gutted they lost that one. Especially since Jani Sturm hit the winner laugh.gif

I was wondering how long it'd take for someone to mention that dry.gif
_d_
Yeh Morton can feel pretty hard done by really. Dundee started the game where they left off on Wednesday and totally dominated the opening 20 mins during which Morton looked like rabbits in the headlights. 10-0 was on the cards at that stage but Morton gradually worked their way into to it and the equaliser didn't come as any great surprise. A great strike from the lad. Second half was dominated by Morton and Dundee looked exhausted. However, Morton never took their chances, which is what it's all about, and Dundee dug out a goal that seemed to knock the stuffing out of Morton. I thought Morton were a decent enough side and have improved since the cup game, but they are lacking up front and that'll probably cost them over the season and see them finishing nearer the bottom than the top. Dundee, on the other hand look like they have goals in them even when they are struggling and that can get a team out of jail, as happened today.

vikingTON
QUOTE(_d_ @ Sep 29 2007, 23:37) *
Yeh Morton can feel pretty hard done by really. Dundee started the game where they left off on Wednesday and totally dominated the opening 20 mins during which Morton looked like rabbits in the headlights. 10-0 was on the cards at that stage but Morton gradually worked their way into to it and the equaliser didn't come as any great surprise. A great strike from the lad. Second half was dominated by Morton and Dundee looked exhausted. However, Morton never took their chances, which is what it's all about, and Dundee dug out a goal that seemed to knock the stuffing out of Morton. I thought Morton were a decent enough side and have improved since the cup game, but they are lacking up front and that'll probably cost them over the season and see them finishing nearer the bottom than the top. Dundee, on the other hand look like they have goals in them even when they are struggling and that can get a team out of jail, as happened today.

Correctly identified.
Of course, we were missing Russell today, but quite frankly Templeman is not good enough to start for us in this predicament.
Our season's made difficult enough by those tits at the back never mind having a striker who cannot score.
A luxury player we can ill-afford.
doogster
More or less agree with the above. Morton were much better than the cup game, were much better than us for sustained periods of the game, couldn't score in a brothel and probably deserved a point. The header that flew over the bar in the second half should have been the winner.

Having said that, we didn't play well, looked like we were out for a stroll in the park but got 3 points. I know which one I'd take.

Sheilds was my MOM - looked like a player with a point to prove.

These are the results that we haven't been getting for the last two seasons.

I suppose I should be happy! laugh.gif laugh.gif
stevedee
QUOTE(Dunning1874 @ Sep 29 2007, 22:56) *
Thought we were worth a point today. First half, we got hammered for half an hour, could easily have been at least 3 - 0 down, then slowly fought our way back into the game, but never looked like scoring until a great strike from Brian Graham.
2nd half, this time it was us who dominated for half an hour, Templeman missing a total sitter, then Dundee got a goal with what I think was their first chance of the entire half, disgraceful defendng for that, as there was with the first. Get Harding to f**k now.
Thought the ref was poor, IMO both sides had a stonewall penalty turned down and Shields booking was the worst decision I've ever seen. Yes, worse than Les Motram's at Tannadice. You know what I mean.

Pretty much agree with all of that. Left feeling we had used our get out of jail card, but happy.
Ref was trying to be a star. Stop/start wi daft inconsistent decisions all day. It was never a game deserving 8 yellows from the ref.
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
Was absolutely gutted we didn't leave with AT LEAST a point today, that Templeman miss was going through my head all night mad.gif

Shocking start, looked like a thumping was on the cards but we came into the game, and I had just said to my mate in conversation that I thought half time was going to come too early for us when wee Brian Graham scores a cracker. The boy is impressing me with every passing game, looks to be a good prospect.

Came out in the 2nd half and dominated possession without making many chances until said miss, from which Dundee seemed to draw a bit of confidence, and a classic counter attack sees them get back in front through who else but Sturm sad.gif. We then tried and tried but Dundee defended well in the last 10 minutes, Palenik being especially good, to see out the game.

All in all, more signs of improvement but we need to start picking up points or we could be bottom very soon.

sad.gif
Steak & Barley
Like Nacho I listened to the game and the first 20 minutes were torture as Dundee ripped us to bits. A lot more encouraging as we started to play and over the piece it sounded like we were worth a point.

I honestly never expected to get anything from the game so I'm reasonably happy with the overall performance. Once again our defence led by Hinge and Bracket are the weakest link and until that's sorted we're likely to be on the end of this result quite often.
Martins Hardies Love Child
QUOTE(CC 33 @ Sep 29 2007, 18:01) *
Finally.....will somebody at the club please give Danny Griffen his papers. After selling the jerseys for two goals and a penalty on wednesday he had another rotter today and nearly gave away a penalty again. f**k OFF GRIFFEN!

Good old Danny Boy, will do anything to destroy the Soap Dodgers. Saints Fan through and through. Send him back to us, anytime you wish.
Webby
It seems people fail to remember we had a huge cup tie on Wednesday just past and it quite clearly showed, there's a certain amount of our support that expect everything to be perfect 100% of the time like the treatment of Freddie Daquin for instance, personally I thought he was good against Morton without being spectacular yet there's always discontent whenever he gets tackled or mis-places the odd pass whereas players who have been under performing most of the season like Paul Dixon and at times Gavin Sw@nkie don't get anywhere near the same sort of treatment, why is that?

Morton were good with their centre midfield playing well, I was again impressed with your goalkeeper who was maybe at fault for our first goal but did everything else comfortably today. Overall have to be delighted with the 3 points dug in and showed again we can grind the results out and it's proved to be the stuff of champions before I just hope it proves the same for us. smile.gif

On a sidenote to the Morton fans who were there, You were taking some stick off the wee number 14 at half time laugh.gif, some of the football from the bairns was better than the pros laugh.gif
Dunning1874
QUOTE(WebbyDFC @ Sep 30 2007, 17:19) *
It seems people fail to remember we had a huge cup tie on Wednesday just past and it quite clearly showed, there's a certain amount of our support that expect everything to be perfect 100% of the time like the treatment of Freddie Daquin for instance, personally I thought he was good against Morton without being spectacular yet there's always discontent whenever he gets tackled or mis-places the odd pass whereas players who have been under performing most of the season like Paul Dixon and at times Gavin Sw@nkie don't get anywhere near the same sort of treatment, why is that?

Morton were good with their centre midfield playing well, I was again impressed with your goalkeeper who was maybe at fault for our first goal but did everything else comfortably today. Overall have to be delighted with the 3 points dug in and showed again we can grind the results out and it's proved to be the stuff of champions before I just hope it proves the same for us. smile.gif

On a sidenote to the Morton fans who were there, You were taking some stick off the wee number 14 at half time laugh.gif , some of the football from the bairns was better than the pros laugh.gif

Aye that was a great laugh, gutted he actually scored his penalty. laugh.gif

On a more serious note, I agree with you about Dixon, only seen him once, but I was expecting much better from a guy who's had so much hype.
Webby
QUOTE(Dunning1874 @ Sep 30 2007, 17:53) *
Aye that was a great laugh, gutted he actually scored his penalty. laugh.gif

On a more serious note, I agree with you about Dixon, only seen him once, but I was expecting much better from a guy who's had so much hype.

He can perform much better but folk don;t seem to get on his back too much, It appears to me he's getting a bit big for his boots mind you I'm only judging from the way he conducts himself on the pitch.

Incidentally it's been good to see a good reception from away fans from the kids, they were applauded off from the whole Dunfermline away support when they were at dens too, They're maybe wearing Dundee strips but after all they're only kids, I'd do the same at an away ground.
Dunning1874
QUOTE(WebbyDFC @ Sep 30 2007, 18:18) *
He can perform much better but folk don;t seem to get on his back too much, It appears to me he's getting a bit big for his boots mind you I'm only judging from the way he conducts himself on the pitch.

Incidentally it's been good to see a good reception from away fans from the kids, they were applauded off from the whole Dunfermline away support when they were at dens too, They're maybe wearing Dundee strips but after all they're only kids, I'd do the same at an away ground.

Aye, good to see the kids being applauded. That wee blonde guy in the away strip was a great wee player too, get him on a long term deal before the OF poach him! wink.gif
IainMorton
QUOTE(WebbyDFC @ Sep 30 2007, 17:19) *
On a sidenote to the Morton fans who were there, You were taking some stick off the wee number 14 at half time laugh.gif, some of the football from the bairns was better than the pros laugh.gif

That was a good laugh, was brilliant after he scored, kissed the badge then an opposition player went on to skin him a belter to score! laugh.gif laugh.gif

On the game, I can't really complain about the performance from Morton yesterday. We dominated most of the second half and if only Templeman buried that header we could have been looking at a 2-1 reversed scoreline. Gotta take the positives from it though into Tuesday night and Thistle next week, two huge games!
davidy233
There are highlights up on the official Dundee site now

Doesn't show big Chris' miss though - The video editor just isn't that cruel.
IainMorton
QUOTE(davidy233 @ Oct 1 2007, 10:46) *
There are highlights up on the official Dundee site now

Doesn't show big Chris' miss though - The video editor just isn't that cruel.

I'd like to see that again actually. How close was he when he headed the ball? I'm sure he was only about 6 yards out!
davidy233
QUOTE(IainMorton @ Oct 1 2007, 11:19) *
I'd like to see that again actually. How close was he when he headed the ball? I'm sure he was only about 6 yards out!

If that cool.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.